Ruakituri Retreat - Serene river frontage

Lodge | Gisborne | #2596

  • 10 people
  • 4 bedrooms
  • 7 beds
  • 2 bathrooms
  • Kids ok
  • No Pets
  • No smoking

Description

  • Absolute private river frontage with 8 fabulous pools to fish directly below the retreat
  • Tranquil setting with commanding views of the Ruakituri river and majestic hills across the river
  • Set on 12 acres of private park like grounds perfect for a fly fishing base or just a break away

The Ruakituri Retreat offers a secluded but affordable private luxury escape with 70 km of world class trout fishing. A place where you choose your own pace. Perfect for a break away to seek adventure & tranquility.

The Retreat is nestled deep in the Ruakituri Valley which meanders its way beneath the spectacular Huiarau mountain range. The retreat offers a unique opportunity to experience the pristine scenic beauty of New Zealand's rural & wilderness countryside.

Set on 12 acres of private park land the Retreat is surrounded by exotic and native bush. The property offers private river frontage with serene river views of the famous Ruakituri River from the rooms & grounds.

The Ruakituri river offers approx 70 km of arguably some of the best rainbow & brown trout fishing in the world. All trout are completely wild, which when combined with the rugged river environment they live in makes for world class fly fishing. The Ruakituri is an internationally renowned trout fishery with unmatched scenic beauty, large stretches of fishable water & the chance to catch magnificent trophy trout!

As well as stunning scenic beauty there is the opportunity to experience wilderness hiking, fly fishing for large wild rainbow & brown trout, recreational painting or relax and enjoy the friendliness of the local farming community.

The range of hiking trails and bush walks accessible from the Retreat are sure to satisfy all fitness levels & ages. From a gentle stroll around the grounds or down to the river, a full day trip to Waitangi falls, or a 4 day trek around beautiful lake Waikaremoana, this area offers stunning scenery parallel to any in New Zealand.

The retreat is only 1 hr 20 min drive from the famous Eastwood hill arboretum.

A great place to take the family to fish, swim, hike, picnic, canoe & just enjoy the tranquil setting.

The 3 minute journey from the river view veranda to the home pool to catch a 5lb trout virtually off your front lawn is fantastic!

Special conditions: A cleaning fee of $60 applies to all bookings. Smoking is not allowed inside but is allowed outside only. Dishwasher should be put on before guests depart. House is ideal to accommodate families & is well set up to cater for traveling fly anglers to use as a base to fish the Ruakituri River & surrounding region. The small organic orchard beside the house offers a range of seasonal fruit which are free to be used by guests during their stay. Please email for all booking inquiries

Facilities

  • Barbecue - Gas
  • Bath tub
  • Clothes dryer
  • Dishwasher
  • DVD player
  • Easy access
  • Electric blankets
  • Fireplace
  • Fridge
  • Microwave
  • Mobile coverage - Spark
  • Mobile coverage - Vodafone
  • Oven
  • Radio/Hi-Fi/Stereo
  • Shower
  • TV
  • Washing machine

Bed layouts

  • Bedroom 1 Queen size bed

    This main bedroom is spacious with a small outside balcony. The room features polished timber floors & large windows with a view out over the river and mountainous hills in the background.

    1 x Queen bed

  • Bedroom 2 Queen size bed

    This upstairs bedroom has peaceful views over the park grounds. The room is comfortable & warm with a sunny afternoon aspect, polished timber floors and two large windows.

    1 x Queen bed

  • Bedroom 3 Queen size bed

    Bedroom 3 is a warm sunny room upstairs capturing the morning sun views over the river with mountainous hills in the background. Features polished timber floors two large windows & a large wardrobe.

    1 x Queen bed

  • Bedroom 4

    A smaller bedroom located downstairs with a bunk bed with top and bottom configuration.

    2 x Bunk bed

  • Sitting room

    Combined living/sleeping area,There are two fold out double size sofa type beds situated in the sitting room lounge area. Two separate adjoining lounges provide plenty of space if the fold out sofa beds are to be used.

    2 x Fold-out sofa bed

Availability & rates*

Available
Maybe booked
Booked

  • Extras: Linen FREE (included); Cleaning $60.00 per stay (required)
Rate period Week day Weekend/Holiday
Low Season
03-Dec-16 to 23-Dec-16
$140/night $140/night
High Season
24-Dec-16 to 08-Jan-17
$170/night $170/night
Low Season
09-Jan-17 to 02-Feb-17
$140/night $140/night
High Season
03-Feb-17 to 09-Feb-17
$170/night $170/night
Low Season
10-Feb-17 to 13-Apr-17
$140/night $140/night
High Season
14-Apr-17 to 17-Apr-17
$170/night $170/night
Low Season
18-Apr-17 to 20-Apr-17
$140/night $140/night
High Season
21-Apr-17 to 26-Apr-17
$170/night $170/night
Low Season
27-Apr-17 to 19-Oct-17
$140/night $140/night
High Season
20-Oct-17 to 24-Oct-17
$170/night $170/night
Low Season
25-Oct-17 to 03-Mar-18
$140/night $140/night

*Pricing may vary depending on the dates you choose and the number of guests. Additional charges (extras) and minimum stay criteria may also apply. Bookings paid for through Bookabach online payments incur a 3% credit card transaction fee.

Reviews (8)

Stayed here? Add a Review

  • Despite a few issues with the water supply which the owner very...

    Despite a few issues with the water supply which the owner very quickly resolved, my family and I enjoyed a very peaceful and relaxed stay in a beautiful location. While we are not fishermen, and the lodge and river are obviously a perfect place to stay if you are into fishing, the kids just enjoyed exploring and playing in the river and we enjoyed sitting out on the veranda with a glass of local wine drinking in the wonderful scenery. Would recommend.

    HelenBa22 100%|5x Mar 2016

    Owner/manager responds:

    Thanks for the great feedback we appreciate your comments and are really happy you and your family had a great stay. The veranda over looking the river is one of our favorite places in the world.... We refer to it as the "Deck of knowledge" as a result of some of the broad discussions it generates under the stars! We are in the process of making a few improvements and upgrades to the property so would love for you to visit again in the future. Cheers

    breakaway 100%|31x

  • Didn't feel it was as attractive the second time as the first,...

    Didn't feel it was as attractive the second time as the first, the house really needs some work done to it, beautiful setting though, love the peace and quiet, ended up with a beautiful 3 pound brown trout as well, made my 12 year old boys day, you should have seen the smile.

    LincolnW 100%|3x Mar 2016

    Owner/manager responds:

    Thanks for the feed back which is important for us. Really pleased your son was successful in landing a good trout during your stay! We have taken the opportunity to make a few upgrades and improvements to the Retreat since your stay and there are a range of additional upgrades we are putting in place over the coming months.

    breakaway 100%|31x

  • Unfortunately the river was very coloured during our stay so fising was...

    Unfortunately the river was very coloured during our stay so fising was not great however, the peaceful setting and bach facilities made up for it!

    franan482 new member Feb 2010

    Owner/manager responds:

    Yes when the river discolours from heavy rain it can make the fishing tough. In these conditions try driving up river to around Papuni station to get above some of the smaller streams which can discolour the river when it rains.

    breakaway 100%|31x

  • A great retreat away from the day to day routine...

    A great retreat away from the day to day routine. Perfect for our extended family get-together. Great swimming spot just below the bridge.

    kirsas837 100%|1x Jan 2009

    Owner/manager responds:

    Thanks for the feedback and pleased you had a great time. Swimming just below the house is also fun and handy. There is a track from the top paddock which you can drive down to the river from if you have a 4WD.

    breakaway 100%|31x

  • We had a great stay at the bach

    We had a great stay at the bach. Everything was provided and all great quality, clean and tidy. Lovely to have the CD player and a good selection of CDs! Fantastic position overlooking the river, very peaceful, only animal noises and birds song.

    kathas502 new member Nov 2008

    Owner/manager responds:

    Thanks for the great feedback!

    breakaway 100%|31x

From $140 NZD per night*
Select your dates for a quote
In
Out

Traveller Protection

You are protected by our
Basic Rental Guarantee

More info

About the Owner/Manager, breakaway

Member since Aug 2004
Responds within 24 hours

Feedback
Properties
Profile image
View profile
Open in Google Maps