Cottage on The Beach - Moetapu Bay Bach

Bach or holiday home | Marlborough | #31501

9.5/10 (4 ratings)
  • 6 people
  • 2 bedrooms
  • 2 beds
  • 1 bathrooms
  • Kids ok
  • Pets ok
  • No smoking


Cottage on The Beach is a traditional 2 bedroom Moetapu Bay bach. Enjoying a fantastic location right on the beach, this low key Marlborough Sounds base is a fantastic option to get away from it all and relax!

This secluded Moetapu Bay bach includes cosy and compact open plan living with a fireplace for cooler stays. The living area flows outdoors where you can enjoy dining alfresco with peaceful surrounds, or wander down to the waters edge!

Bedroom 1 at this Moetapu Bay bach is fitted with a double bed, while bedroom 2 is accessed from the front porch and includes 1 single bunk set plus 1 single bed. There is also a day bed in the lounge when required.

All the basics are on hand for a classic kiwi stay. Plus, the outdoor shower is on hand after days at the beach, or make the most of the kayaks for days on the water! Nearby activities include fishing charters, kayaking, and boat cruises based in Havelock. You can walk the famous Queen Charlotte walkway from nearby Anakiwa and Te Mahia. Plus, Blenheim and the extensive Marlborough vineyards are only an hour's drive away.

For a laid back private hideaway, make your way to Moetapu Bay and settle in at Cottage on The Beach!

Special conditions: *There is no washing machine, all washing can be done in the outdoor portable washtub. *There is no stove, but there are 2 hot plates, the microwave is also a convection oven, and there is a BBQ. *The car park is located halfway down the driveway on a small gravel area off the road to the left. Please park your vehicle under the Pohutukawa tree. There is enough space for 2 cars. Parking on the driveway is not permitted. It is a 3-5 minute walk from the car park to the cottage and it is steep in places. Please take the right-hand path at the first fork in the track (the left hand tracks heads back up to the neighbour's house). There is a wooden bridge 100m before you reach the cottage so please take care when crossing. Care should also be taken while walking down the track as there are lots of regenerative native trees and the track becomes slippery when wet. Please bring a torch with you in the event that you are arriving in the evening. *You are allowed to use firewood from ...


  • Barbecue - Gas
  • Fridge
  • Kayak(s)
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Radio/Hi-Fi/Stereo
  • TV

Bed layouts

  • Bedroom 1

  • Bedroom 2

    1 x Bunk bed
    1 x Single bed

  • Lounge 1

    Other sleeping area

Availability & rates*

Maybe booked

  • Extras: Cleaning $POA (required); Linen $25.00 per person (optional)
Rate period Week day Weekend/Holiday
Off Peak
25-Oct-16 to 30-Nov-16
$95/night $95/night
2 night minimum stay
01-Dec-16 to 16-Dec-16
$125/night $125/night
2 night minimum stay
High Peak
17-Dec-16 to 29-Dec-16
$185/night $185/night
High Peak New Years Eve
30-Dec-16 to 02-Jan-17
$185/night $185/night
9 night minimum stay
High Peak - New Year
03-Jan-17 to 11-Jan-17
$185/night $185/night
7 night minimum stay
12-Jan-17 to 08-Feb-17
$165/night $165/night
2 night minimum stay
09-Feb-17 to 28-Feb-17
$125/night $125/night
2 night minimum stay
Off Peak
01-Mar-17 to 13-Apr-17
$95/night $95/night
2 night minimum stay
14-Apr-17 to 17-Apr-17
$165/night $165/night
4 night minimum stay
Off Peak
18-Apr-17 to 15-Jun-17
$95/night $95/night
2 night minimum stay

*Pricing may vary depending on the dates you choose and the number of guests. Additional charges (extras) and minimum stay criteria may also apply. Bookings paid for through Bookabach online payments incur a 3% credit card transaction fee.

Reviews (4)

Stayed here? Add a Review

  • I loved it, but it wouldn't suit someone who wanted it posh

    I loved it, but it wouldn't suit someone who wanted it posh. Be prepared to carry what u need up and down a hill if you drive to the batch. Great outlook and loved the stereo and your music. Thank you for sharing your holiday place.

    KyraC699 new member Apr 2016

  • Awesome location, great for those who want to get away from it...

    Awesome location, great for those who want to get away from it all.

    wendyco10wendy new member Feb 2016

  • This Bach was perfect for our needs

    This Bach was perfect for our needs. It is rustic (no bad thing) and the location is fantastic and there was everything you needed for a great stay. It is perfect for a small family and we had a wonderful time. Thank you.

    katecrowley 100%|1x Dec 2015

  • The picturesque location, doorstep access to a private beach and the water,...

    The picturesque location, doorstep access to a private beach and the water, along with the beautiful native bush setting were the highlights of this property.

    JusteneA new member Jul 2015

    Owner/manager responds:

    Thanks for the feedback, Justene! It is a beautiful setting. Hope to see you again soon.

    Bachcare 98%|2575x

From $95 NZD per night*
Select your dates for a quote

Traveller Protection

You are protected by our
Basic Rental Guarantee

More info

About the Owner/Manager, Bachcare

Logo image

Member since May 2006
Responds within 24 hours

View profile
Open in Google Maps