Crooked Mile Cottage - by the sea

Cottage | Hokitika | #34847

8.4/10 (20 ratings)
  • 9 people
  • 3 bedrooms
  • 6 beds
  • 1 bathrooms
  • Kids ok
  • Pets ok
  • No smoking

Description

  • Right in the heart of Hokitika, 100m to the beach
  • Perfect for a family, group of friends or business trip.
  • Fully fenced, large backyard. An old house with many quirks and interesting features

This cottage is nearly 100 years old with many of it's original features. Right in the historic heart of Hokitika. Hokitika is the perfect spot to stay - all the big attractions are within reach in a day.

If you don't like old houses, this is not the place for you. It has it's quirks but it is clean and has been freshly decorated. Don't expect a modern house.

***Please send me a message about yourself and your group at the time of booking - this is important to us*****

The galley kitchen is small but functional.

The lounge/dining area is small but cosy with a woodburner (for use in winter).

There are electric blankets on most beds. (Please turn them off in the morning)

A new bathroom has been installed. (Note it is a low pressure shower).

We provide books and toys for children.

Portacot available on request.

**Please tell me what time you are arriving so I can meet you at the house. If I am unavailable I will text you instructions on how to enter the house.

Respect the neighbours -no parties, no unregistered guests.

Please leave the house as you found it - clean & tidy.

NOTE: THE HOUSE CAN COMFORTABLY SLEEP UP TO 9 BUT THERE IS ONLY 1 BATHROOM.

**Hokitika and the West Coast has many amazing attractions, many of them free! We are 1 1/2hrs to the glacier and 1 hour to Punakaiki. Christchurch is 3hrs drive. Hokitika Gorge is 40mins drive.

If you are staying 2 days or more, you can borrow our picnic hamper and set off for a picnic at one of the many beautiful spots on the coast. Just bring your picnic food!

DOGS: if you want to bring a dog, this must be discussed first. Dogs must stay outside or in the laundry at all times. If there are signs of a dog having been inside, an additional cleaning fee will be charged. There is a shed and a kennel provided. Please bring your own pet bed. All dog droppings must be picked up. Please also be honest about the number of dogs and their size when booking.

Special conditions: Please inform us of your arrival time e.g 5-5.30pm Pets allowed by prior approval only. Please email us to discuss the pet and our requirements. No shoes inside No smoking inside Turn off all heating and electric blankets when you leave. **Wildfoods weekend = 2 night min. Preference given to larger groups. No parties**

Facilities

  • Barbecue - Gas
  • Cot available
  • Electric blankets
  • Fireplace
  • Freeview (TM)
  • Fridge
  • Internet (WiFi)
  • Microwave
  • Mobile coverage - Spark
  • Mobile coverage - Vodafone
  • Oven
  • Shower
  • TV
  • Washing machine

Bed layouts

  • Bedroom 1

    1 x Bunk bed
    1 x Queen bed

  • Bedroom 2

    1 x Queen bed
    1 x Single bed

  • bedroom 3

    2 x Single bed

Availability & rates*

Available
Maybe booked
Booked

  • Cleaning: Visitors to clean-up and leave the property as found.
  • Extras: Linen FREE (included)
  • AA Smartfuel: Get 10c/litre fuel discount when you book and stay at this property for TWO nights or more [More info]

  • Multi-night stay: Get 1 FREE night when you stay for 7 nights or longer. Not valid for periods where a last minute discount applies. Free night applies to lowest priced night.

Rate period Week day Weekend/Holiday
Default Tariff
23-Jan-17 to 09-Mar-17
$155+/night $155+/night
For up to 2 people. Extra occupants: Adults: $25/night; Children: $20/night;
Wildfoods Weekend
10-Mar-17 to 12-Mar-17
$165+/night $165+/night
For up to 2 people. Extra occupants: Adults: $25/night; Children: $20/night;
2 night minimum stay
Default Tariff
13-Mar-17 to 23-Jan-18
$155+/night $155+/night
For up to 2 people. Extra occupants: Adults: $25/night; Children: $20/night;

*Pricing may vary depending on the dates you choose and the number of guests. Additional charges (extras) and minimum stay criteria may also apply. Bookings paid for through Bookabach online payments incur a 3% credit card transaction fee.

Reviews (20)

Stayed here? Add a Review

  • Great spot in Hoki- close to both town and the beach

    Great spot in Hoki- close to both town and the beach. Excellent communication from Michelle. Would definitely stay again when in Hoki. Thanks Michelle!

    Hamilmk 100%|1x Jan 2017

  • This was a very comfortable cozy no frills home away from home...

    This was a very comfortable cozy no frills home away from home in Hokitika. The location is great--convenient to town and the beach as well. The house is perfect for a family--cozy wood stove with plenty of wood, basket of toys for the kids, extra blankets and pillows, good reading material about the town.

    DaraA562 new member Jan 2017

  • Location is great

    Location is great. Neat and tidy character home..

    OmarS821 new member Jan 2017

  • Great location, nice space for a family group if you can manage...

    Great location, nice space for a family group if you can manage 1 bathroom. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend the property!

    Kirstin 100%|2x Dec 2016

    Owner/manager responds:

    Thanks for staying and I'm really pleased you enjoyed the house and Hokitika. Hope you can return someday.

    MichelleBl14 100%|25x

  • Michelle is very nice and I wish I could give a better...

    Michelle is very nice and I wish I could give a better rating, but unfortunately our experience left a bit to be desired. House's very cute, but too small for 7, let alone 9. It is partly our fault as we saw there was only 1 bathroom, but it can be confusing if you say it accomodates so many. Other issue was the shower, which has terrible pressure and it's very hard to keep a temperature. Kitchen lacks appliances, barely functional, mattresses old and soft, sorry, there's room for improvement :(

    Julianalac 100%|4x Dec 2016

    Owner/manager responds:

    Thanks for the feedback. Sadly we'd need to totally remodel the house to add another bathroom. It's clear in the listing there's 1 bathroom. It's a low flow system but functions fine. Your comments about the kitchen & beds are a 1st. The queen beds are new & high quality. All our guests love them. Kitchen has all appliances needed other than a dishwasher as stated. See previous review. Seems you didn't enjoy a typical 100yr old Kiwi bach. You left damage and mess. More suited to a hotel

    MichelleBl14 100%|25x

From $155 NZD per night*
Select your dates for a quote
In
Out

Traveller Protection

Book and pay online for our
Book with Confidence Guarantee™

More info

About the Owner/Manager, MichelleBl14

Member since Apr 2015
Responds the same day

Feedback
Properties
Profile image
View profile
Open in Google Maps