Funky Designer Beach Home

Bach or holiday home | Mahakipawa Arm | #35533

8.1/10 (11 ratings)
  • 6 people
  • 4 bedrooms
  • 5 beds
  • 2 bathrooms
  • Kids ok
  • No Pets
  • No smoking


  • Surrounded by native bush for privacy with all day sun and views of the sea from the living areas
  • Huge front deck, flat lawn and large deck out back, secure and suitable for kids to play freely
  • Quirky bridges and benches situated along the many twisting limestone paths following the stream.

The Queen Charlotte drive is an outstandingly picturesque route between Picton and Havelock along the shores of the Queen Charlotte and Kenepuru Sounds in the Marlborough Sounds.

There are many holiday homes and life style dwellings dotted along the road surrounded by the bush and the sea.

This is one of those homes and is sited over the road from the Mahakipawa arm of the Mahau Sound. It is set back in the bush for privacy and appeal. The bach has been given a stylish urban renovation bringing the best of all worlds together in this remarkable property.

A small stream runs through the land down to the nearby sea and has quirky bridges and benches with twisted limestone paths following the stream. The almost level site is guarded at the gate by two good sized clumps of bamboo and a railway hut which when entered steps you into a modern office of taste, style and convenience. The limestone drive leads to a large deck on the lower level which is sheltered by the home and a sleep out.

Again, the sleep out is a tribute to the owners sense of style with its own funky log burner, luxurious carpet and clever design features.

The two bedrooms downstairs also have their own sitting room and log fire plus a newly renovated tiled bathroom. Up the spiral stairs is the living area, kitchen and master bedroom with ensuite and dressing room/office.

A family and/or group will love the flat lawn and large deck out back with white festoon lights forming an evening canopy of gentle light and the supersized outdoor black board edging the green lawn and a bush backdrop.

There are too many features to rave about, the owners have had their fun designing this home away from home but a change of plans means you too can enjoy the wonderful home they have created.


  • Barbecue - Gas
  • Bath tub
  • Boat ramp
  • Canoe(s)
  • Clothes dryer
  • Cot available
  • Dishwasher
  • Easy access
  • Fireplace
  • Freeview (TM)
  • Fridge
  • Internet (Broadband)
  • Internet (WiFi)
  • Kayak(s)
  • Life jackets
  • Microwave
  • Mobile coverage - Spark
  • Mobile coverage - Vodafone
  • Oven
  • Radio/Hi-Fi/Stereo
  • Shower
  • SKY TV ®
  • Toddler safe
  • Trampoline
  • TV
  • Washing machine

Bed layouts

  • Downstairs Bedroom 1

    1 x Single with rollaway bed

  • Downstairs Bedroom 2

    1 x Cot
    1 x Single bed

  • Master bedroom

    1 x King bed

  • Sleepout

    1 x Queen bed

Availability & rates*

Maybe booked

  • Cleaning: Visitors to clean-up and leave the property as found.
  • Extras: Linen FREE (included)
  • AA Smartfuel: Get 10c/litre fuel discount when you book and stay at this property for TWO nights or more [More info]

Rate period Week day Weekend/Holiday
Default Tariff
29-Mar-17 to 13-Apr-17
$220/night $250/night
2 night minimum stay
Peak Season
14-Apr-17 to 30-Apr-17
$280/night $320/night
2 night minimum stay
Default Tariff
01-May-17 to 06-Jul-17
$220/night $250/night
2 night minimum stay
Peak Season
07-Jul-17 to 23-Jul-17
$280/night $320/night
2 night minimum stay
Default Tariff
24-Jul-17 to 28-Sep-17
$220/night $250/night
2 night minimum stay
Peak Season
29-Sep-17 to 15-Oct-17
$280/night $320/night
2 night minimum stay
Default Tariff
16-Oct-17 to 16-Nov-17
$220/night $250/night
2 night minimum stay
Peak Season
17-Nov-17 to 20-Nov-17
$280/night $320/night
2 night minimum stay
Default Tariff
21-Nov-17 to 13-Dec-17
$220/night $250/night
2 night minimum stay
Peak Season
14-Dec-17 to 28-Feb-18
$280/night $320/night
2 night minimum stay
Default Tariff
01-Mar-18 to 29-Jun-18
$220/night $250/night
2 night minimum stay

*Pricing may vary depending on the dates you choose and the number of guests. Additional charges (extras) and minimum stay criteria may also apply. Service fees may also apply.

Reviews (11)

Stayed here? Add a Review

  • We loved this place, its exactly what we need in a weekend...

    We loved this place, its exactly what we need in a weekend stay in the Sounds. Very cute bach, pretty location, close to Havelock and Picton, all the equipment we need. We hope to be back!

    emmarr9 100%|6x Mar 2017

  • We had a lovely time staying for eight nights

    We had a lovely time staying for eight nights. The house is set right onto the edge of native bush with a stream so we had birdsong to wake us and fantails visiting the deck. Our children (8 and 9) loved the bedroom set away from the house. The home is not renovated to the same standard throughout. the downstairs bathroom is to a very high standard so we showered and used that one instead of our upstairs ensuite. The hob is electric and bring a proper grater if you need. Peaceful and fun place.

    MelanieYo2 100%|2x Feb 2017

  • Water access was not at all child friendly

    Water access was not at all child friendly. No play equipment for children as shown in photo. Couldn't connect to WiFi. I was bitten by a wasp from a nest near door. Luckily it wasn't my partner as she is allergic. Horrible smell in kitchen upon arrival. Had to flush kitchen sink to get rid of smell. Also had to remove out own rubbish. Property wasn't awful, just a lot of flaws easily fixed. And description and photos are misleading. Not worth our $300 a night. Unacceptable standards for price.

    AndrewWo11 100%|1x Jan 2017

    Owner/manager responds:

    I am sorry you didn't find our Bach to be what you expected although I do not think you can blame it on your wasp sting. As for removing your rubbish, as it is the remote marlborough sounds and there is no rubbish collection, it is pretty standard that you take your rubbish with you. We have had the sink checked today by a plumber and he has reported no issues. Description and photos are genuine so we wish you all the best for your next venture and Thanks for the feedback.

    MistyCoveWines 100%|11x

  • Lovely property

    Lovely property

    amanty713 new member Jan 2017

  • We really loved the property and the location was perfect for us...

    We really loved the property and the location was perfect for us as it was nice and private. The kitchen was fully kitted out which we loved and being able to have a soak in the big bath was a huge bonus for us as the weather was cold and rainy during out stay!

    kafoster012 100%|1x Nov 2016

From $220 NZD per night*
Select your dates for a quote

Traveller Protection

You are protected by our
Basic Rental Guarantee

More info

About the Owner/Manager, MistyCoveWines

Member since Apr 2015
Responds the same day

Profile image
View profile