Entire home

Oceanfront Dog Friendly Home in Salvo with Hot Tub and Easy Beach Access

Photo gallery for Oceanfront Dog Friendly Home in Salvo with Hot Tub and Easy Beach Access

A wooden deck with a table and chairs, a covered seating area, and a view of the ocean.
A two-story house with a wooden deck and a balcony.
A cozy interior with wooden walls, a fireplace, and large windows offering a view of the beach.
A kitchen with wooden cabinets, a white refrigerator, a microwave, and a stove. There are stools around the kitchen island.
A spa tub on a wooden deck with a view of a building in the background.

Reviews

8.2 out of 10
Very good

Highlights

  • The great outdoors
    Guests love the outdoor space here.
  • Discover nearby landmarks
    Walk to Pamlico Sound

Popular amenities

  • On beach
  • Spa pool on site
  • Patio
  • Dog-friendly
  • Barbecue
  • Air-conditioning

Explore the area

View map
Salvo, NC
  • Place, Salvo Beach
    ‪6 min walk‬
  • Place, beach
    ‪11 min walk‬
  • Place, Pamlico Sound
    ‪17 min walk‬
  • Airport, Manteo, NC (MEO-Dare County Regional)
    ‪47 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

5 bedrooms (sleeps 10)

First Level Bedroom

1 Queen Bed

First Level Bedroom

2 Single Beds

First Level Master

1 King Bed

Ground Level Bedroom

1 Single Bunk Bed

Second Level Master

1 King Bed

3 bathrooms

First Level Jack and Jill Bath

First Level Master Bath

Second Level Master Bath

Spaces

Deck or patio
Porch or lanai
Kitchen
Separate dining area
Garden
Dining area

Add dates for prices

Similar properties

About the area

Salvo

Located on the beach, this holiday home is in Hatteras Colony, a neighbourhood in Salvo. The area's natural beauty can be seen at Outer Banks Beaches and Cape Hatteras National Seashore. Ocean Air Sports and Hatteras Island Boardsports are also worth visiting. Jet skiing and kayaking offer great chances to get out on the surrounding water, or you can seek out an adventure with ecotours and hiking/biking trails nearby.
Map
Salvo, NC

What's nearby

  • Salvo Beach - 6 min walk - 0.6 km
  • beach - 11 min walk - 0.9 km
  • Pamlico Sound - 17 min walk - 1.4 km
  • Rodanthe Pier - 8 min drive - 5.6 km
  • Cape Hatteras National Seashore - 22 min drive - 31.7 km

Getting around

  • Manteo, NC (MEO-Dare County Regional) - 47 min drive

Restaurants

  • ‪Dough Shack - ‬5 min drive
  • ‪Watermen's Bar & Grill - ‬3 min drive
  • ‪Good Winds Seafood & Wine Bar - ‬5 min drive
  • ‪Waves Coffee & Candies - ‬5 min drive
  • ‪Dairy Queen - ‬4 min drive

Frequently asked questions

Is Oceanfront Dog Friendly Home in Salvo with Hot Tub and Easy Beach Access pet-friendly?

Yes, this property allows dogs (limit 2 total).

How much is parking at Oceanfront Dog Friendly Home in Salvo with Hot Tub and Easy Beach Access?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at Oceanfront Dog Friendly Home in Salvo with Hot Tub and Easy Beach Access?

Check-in begins at 6:00 PM.

What time is check-out at Oceanfront Dog Friendly Home in Salvo with Hot Tub and Easy Beach Access?

Checkout is at 10:00 AM.

Where is Oceanfront Dog Friendly Home in Salvo with Hot Tub and Easy Beach Access located?

Nestled on the beach, this Hatteras Colony holiday home is within a 15-minute walk of Salvo Beach and Pamlico Sound. Rodanthe Beach and Rodanthe Pier are also within 3 miles (5 km).

Reviews

8.2

Very good

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 8 out of 21 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 9 out of 21 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 2 out of 21 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 2 out of 21 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 0 out of 21 reviews

8.4/10

Cleanliness

9.2/10

Check-in

8.6/10

Communication

9.4/10

Location

9.0/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
The kitchen was well equipped and the views were great
Stayed 7 nights in Oct 2026
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Only complaint was cleanliness. There was visible mildew in bathrooms on hardware etc. and it was apparent only light cleaning took place between guests.
Stayed 7 nights in Jun 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 13 August 2026
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, Samantha. We're disappointed to hear the cleaning at Salvocean - #138 did not meet our usual standards, particularly regarding the bathroom mildew you noticed. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention and will share your feedback with our team as we work to ensure the home is properly prepared for future guests.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Time Away

Upon arrival, this house was very clean. Views from the great room and upper deck were great. Very comfortable living. Everything worked as designed and the hot tub was wonderful
Stayed 7 nights in May 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 20 June 2025
Thank you so much for your wonderful description of your stay and this 5-star review, John!
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Check-in, communication, listing accuracy
Disliked: Location
The place was dirty. Bathrooms had sand and hair in the tubs and showers. When we spoke with them they apologized and said power had been out so it was dark. I guess they clean at night because lots of windows and can see fine. They did offer to send someone to clean but we had already resolved and think its weird with us there. Next issue was that they send people while we are there to fix stuff that the last people complained about. I dont want strangers in the house with me and my family. Moreover they never even let us know they were coming ao strangers are just on the property. Up on the decks with my family and they can see in the bedrooms. Just not normal where I am from. Lastly, they turned the AC off about an hour before we had to leave. This seemed very intentional to push us out. Would never stay at a Surf & Sound property again.
Stayed 7 nights in Sep 2026
Response from Management on 7 October 2026
Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed feedback, Sean. We’re sorry that the cleanliness of the bathrooms was not up to expectations upon your arrival, and we understand your hesitation about having maintenance personnel at the home during your stay, particularly when you were not expecting anyone to arrive. We also regret that you did not feel adequately informed about those visits and understand how that could have made you and your family uncomfortable. We’re also sorry for the frustration surrounding the A/C at the end of your stay. We appreciate you bringing these concerns to our attention, and we’ll share your feedback regarding cleanliness, communication, maintenance visits, and the A/C with the appropriate teams for review. We’re disappointed to hear that these issues affected your overall experience and appreciate you choosing Surf or Sound Realty.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Making Memories

We thoroughly enjoyed this property! The view of the water and dunes by day and the stars at night was beautiful. I also felt safe with the family able to keep social distance. This part of of the Outer Banks provides that space and a more peaceful break. The dunes did make going to the beach a commitment, but that was a great memory filled with lots of laughter making up and down the dune.
Stayed 7 nights in Jun 2020
Response from VrboOwner on 5 September 2020
Hi Beth, Thank you for your 5-star review it means a lot to us. We're so happy you enjoyed Salvocean, we hope to see you again next year!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Break during covid summer

Nice place. Clean and well appointed with linens and plenty of kitchen things. Could use more outdoor furniture and upgrade to existing stuff which isn’t that comfortable. Short walk to the beach over the dune. Beware the dune here is quite a hill. Very peaceful location.
Stayed 7 nights in Jul 2020
Response from VrboOwner on 5 September 2020
Hi Beth, Thank you for the 5-star review it means a lot to us. We greatly appreciate your feedback on the furniture, it's reviews like yours that will help us improve on guest experiences in the future. We hope to see you again next year!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Peaceful and Secluded

Location is tough to beat as it is right on the beach, but secluded enough that you aren’t struggling to find space on beach. In fact its nicely private, meaning you may interact with a few others but not if you don’t want too. Also there are stores not too far to stock up, but once you are there we didn’t really leave. Kids had a great time, and the 3 floors of living space allowed the 5 adults some opportunities for privacy. Hole process was easy and well run.
Stayed 7 nights in Jun 2019
Response from VrboOwner on 22 March 2020
Marc thank you for sharing your experience. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and so glad we could help make your vacation a peaceful and easy process. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Island again soon!
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Amazing!

This property and location was amazing. It was clean and had every utensil we needed. It is a little walk to the beach with three young children but definitely worth the beach space you get. We brought our mother who is 65 and she did pretty well with the walk, actually she enjoyed it. The only thing I would add is letting people know they need to bring their own toiletries and paper towels, dish soap, hand towels, etc. Overall it was a great spot. Thanks for having us!!
Stayed 7 nights in Sep 2020
Response from VrboOwner on 14 October 2020
Hi Ashlee, Thank you for your review and feedback. We're so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us at Salvocean. We hope to see you again next year!
Verified review

4/10 Poor

Liked: Check-in, communication, location
Disliked: Listing accuracy

Not as Advertised, old photos

Disappointed for sure. Do not recommend and won't return.
Stayed 7 nights in Sep 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 15 October 2024
We are so sorry to hear you found your stay to be such a disappointment, Greg. We do, however, appreciate your observations about the photos.
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, communication, location, listing accuracy

ALMOST heaven, but for my neck and back

Gorgeous location, screen porch was removed but not needed, kitchen and baths were dated, but decor was adorable and view was spectacular. The beds, however, made it difficult to get a good nights sleep. I have never felt a bed so hard as in the master. This is easily remedied with a thick topper, but I recommend investing in updated beds throughout as they all seemed cheaply made. ALWAYS invest in good shoes, a good photographer, and good mattresses. Rebuild on stairs was top notch with choice of 316SS screws and bullnose edge to bottom stair at landings. I would never allow anything else in a marine environment. I recommend hiring same craftsman to replace other screws which are badly rusted due to incorrect material choice, especially in chairs. Structure is showing signs of deterioration (house sways) and it is worth having an inspection of fasteners for choice in material and potential remedies.
Stayed 7 nights in Jun 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 25 June 2024
Thank you for your review! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay at Salvocean and will pass your suggestions over to our operations team and the owner for review. See you again soon at the beach! -Your friends at Surf or Sound Realty
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, location, listing accuracy

Nice time

Exactly like the property description. Great place to call home for a week
Stayed 7 nights in Jun 2022
Verified review

4/10 Poor

Liked: Check-in, location

Maintenance needed

There was a repaired moldy leak in kitchen ceiling, the frig sounded like a truck motor, there were numerous carpet stains, one screen panel was taped up on the porch.
Stayed 7 nights in Sep 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 18 October 2021
Hi Reed, Thank you for your review and your feedback. It's through helpful feedback like this we are able to ensure our high standards are achieved. Our teams work hard to ensure that our guests enjoy the best possible stay, and are only a call or email away from assisting you with any issues you may encounter. We hope you enjoyed the fantastic ocean front views at 138 Salvo Ocean, and look forward to seeing you on Hatteras Island again! - Your Friends at Surf or Sound Realty
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Blended Family Vacation

We made memories and started new traditions while ocean-front in OBX. There was room for everyone to stay comfortably and to have their own space as well as to gather and eat and play together. We want to make this an annual event for our family!
Stayed 7 nights in Jun 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 23 November 2021
Hi Latta, Thank you for your review and for staying with us at 138 - Salvocean. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you back again on Hatteras Island! - Your Friends at Surf or Sound Realty
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, location, listing accuracy
Disliked: Communication

Lovely but weathered

The location is perfect, the house lovely and roomy but a bit weathered - there was a broken window that was boarded and some drainage issues in the tub and the kitchen was missing some key pieces. Regardless, we enjoyed our stay very much but wish the house had a bit more care.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

fun time

the hill to the beach is a bit high, and the maintenance man came in unannounced, but it was a nice place and a fun time
Stayed 7 nights in Jul 2020
Response from VrboOwner on 10 December 2020
Hello, Thank you for your review of your stay with us this summer. Please accept our sincere apologies for the unexpected arrival of the maintenance crew. We're thrilled that we were able to deliver a 5-star experience for your stay. We hope to see you again next year!
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Needs attention

Needs some repair and cleaning carpet New pots and pans
Response from VrboOwner on 17 November 2020
Hi Frances, Thank you for your valuable feedback. It's these kind of things that we need to know from our guest to help us ensure a better experience for future guest. We hope to see you again soon.
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Has potential

The property has some real potential. Location is pretty good, nice view and all. The dune (as mentioned in other reviews) was no problem for me (32 years - pretty fit), but other members of our party did not want to go to the beach much because of it. That is not part of my overall rating, it’s obviously out of their hands. Here’s why I decided to do 3 stars only. - You pay a cleaning fee and I didn’t think the home was very clean. It wasn’t filthy, but I found a left behind water bottle from previous renters, some missed vacuuming and my in-laws shower curtain had mold on it. - Speaking of mold, there is or was serious leak in the ceiling in the kitchen which has black mold (?) growing on it. I went back to the pictures after arriving and it’s actually visible in the pictures. No way no one is aware of it. It’s right over the fridge in the kitchen. There’s another spot (no mold) in the twin bedroom closet. I’m not sure if the leak has been fixed, we didn’t notice water dripping, but that could be patched. - Fixtures.... fixtures in the bathrooms need to be replaced. There’s limescale or something on almost every bathroom fixture. Maybe I’m too squirmish, but washing my hands or showering when I look at that makes me feel dingy. - Bathrooms could also use more racks or hangers. Really no space to hang washcloths or towels. My bathroom had 1 towel bar (king size on 2nd floor). The jack and jill bathroom that connects a queen bedroom and 2 twin bedrooms also only had 1 towel bar. Even some over the door hangers would work. - For some reason there were only 5 chairs around the dining table. Not sure what happened to the 6th chair, there was no explanation. My guess is a previous guest spilled something onto the light colored fabric. It’s an odd choice, I was worried about my kids making a mess on those chairs. This made for fun juggling with each meal. - The wheels on the sliding door that probably gets used most is in serious need of replacing. 3rd floor right to face the ocean was such a struggle to open. - Some pots need to be replaced. They don’t sit flat on the stove top and just wobble, couldn’t get water to boil so had to use the lobster pot which is fun to clean, and here’s why... - The kitchen sink faucet just barely reaches far enough. Would have worked much better if the faucet had a higher arc or had a sprayer attachment. My party and I felt it could have been better with a few inexpensive updates.
Stayed 7 nights in Aug 2020
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, location, listing accuracy
Disliked: Check-in

Stay at Salvocean - June 2019

The property was very nicely located, only a walk across the dunes from the beach. It is worth noting the dunes are quite steep. The views from the living area were stunning and the screened in porch was a perfect place to eat at any time of day. The outdoor shower was very useful for keeping sand out of the house and the hot tub was a nice touch. The indoor decor was a little tired and outdated but perfectly functional. The only negative was that we were unable to get into the property until over an hour after the guaranteed check in time. Overall, if you want to spend a quiet week at the beach, this property is a wonderful place to do it.
Response from VrboOwner on 22 March 2020
Julia, thank you for sharing your experience. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the home and sounds like you had great weather too! We look forward to welcoming you back to the Island again soon!
Verified review

8/10 Good

Stayed 7 nights in Jul 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 17 September 2026
We appreciate your 4-star rating, Kimberley! Thank you for choosing Surf or Sound for your Outer Banks vacation, and we hope you enjoyed your stay at Salvocean - #138. We'd love to welcome you back again anytime!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Stayed 7 nights in Jul 2025
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback