Entire home

Astor St. John's River House

Photo gallery for Astor St. John's River House

A docked boat with a cabin and a small outdoor seating area with string lights.
A room with a wooden dresser, a chair, a mirror, and a door with blinds.
A compact kitchen with white cabinets, a stove, and a refrigerator. There's a window with a floral curtain, a small island with a towel, and a rug on the floor.
A single-story house with a fenced yard, a covered porch, and a small shed.
A living room with two blue sofas, a coffee table, a flat-screen TV mounted on the wall, and a window with floral curtains.

Reviews

9.6 out of 10
Exceptional

Highlights

  • Beach equipment
    A rare find — beach equipment ready to go for your days by the sea.
  • Discover nearby landmarks
    Near Ocala National Forest

Popular amenities

  • Patio
  • Barbecue
  • Air-conditioning
  • Refrigerator
  • Onsite parking available
  • Washing machine

Explore the area

View map
Astor, FL
  • Place, Ocala National Forest
    ‪1 min walk‬
  • Place, Stetson University
    ‪42 min drive‬
  • Place, Blue Spring State Park
    ‪55 min drive‬
  • Airport, Daytona Beach, FL (DAB-Daytona Beach Intl.)
    ‪62 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

2 bedrooms (sleeps 4)

Bedroom 1

1 Queen Bed

Bedroom 2

1 Queen Bed

1 bathroom

Bathroom 1

Shower only

Spaces

Deck or patio
Porch or lanai
Kitchen
Outdoor play area
Garden
Dining area

Add dates for prices

Similar properties

About the area

Astor

Located in Astor, Astor St. John's River House is on the waterfront. Cassadaga Spiritualist Camp is a local landmark, and the area's natural beauty can be seen at Lake Woodruff National Wildlife Refuge and Ocala National Forest.
Map
Astor, FL

What's nearby

  • Ocala National Forest - 1 min walk - 0.1 km
  • Stetson University - 42 min drive - 47.7 km
  • Blue Spring State Park - 55 min drive - 62.2 km
  • Wekiwa Springs State Park - 59 min drive - 79.5 km
  • LPGA International Golf Club - 60 min drive - 73.6 km

Getting around

  • DeLand Station - 37 min drive
  • Leesburg, FL (LEE-Leesburg Intl.) - 62 min drive

Restaurants

  • ‪Drifters Riverfront Bar & Grill - ‬15 min drive
  • ‪Castaways Restaurant - ‬15 min drive
  • ‪Subway - ‬14 min drive
  • ‪Sparky's Place Restaurant - ‬14 min drive
  • ‪Rose Garden Family Restaurant - ‬16 min drive

Frequently asked questions

Is Astor St. John's River House pet-friendly?

No, pets are not allowed at this property.

How much does it cost to stay at Astor St. John's River House?

As of 29 October 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Astor St. John's River House on 2 November 2026 start from NZ$595, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.

How much is parking at Astor St. John's River House?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at Astor St. John's River House?

Check-in begins at 2:00 PM.

What time is check-out at Astor St. John's River House?

Checkout is at 12:00 PM.

Reviews

9.6

Exceptional

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 20 out of 22 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 0 out of 22 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 1 out of 22 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 1 out of 22 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 0 out of 22 reviews

10/10

Cleanliness

10/10

Check-in

10/10

Communication

9.4/10

Location

9.4/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Great stay
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Cabin is setup nicely. Have stayed here many times. Perfect for a fishing getaway. Quiet, clean and great. Laura is very nice and always responds. Look forward to the other two trips later this year.
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
This is a amazing place to go when you want to reconnect with someone, because you dont have wifi or phone service, which wonderful to me because it gave us alot of quality time together. We will definitely be back.
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 10 June 2026
Thanks Beverly, I’m glad you got to disconnect 😄 We do plan on adding WiFi in the future for those that want to use. There is still just not great service in the area.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Nice little retreat on the St. Johns river

Perfect weekend fishing getaway. Very clean place & fit our needs perfectly. Would stay here again.
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2024
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Quick getaway

We just wanted a quick getaway and this place was exactly what we were looking for. We will be back for another visit
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great Location

Very simple and had everything. Able to clean fish, grill, parked boat under covered dock. Great accommodation
Stayed 4 nights in May 2024
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Perfect location for outdoor fun!

Clean, comfortable and cold ac! Direct water access is great!
Stayed 7 nights in Sep 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 1 October 2022
Caleb stayed twice in a row and was a great guest.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Comfortable Trip

Have stayed at this property several times now. Nice little place that fits our needs very well. Location, boat slip, cleaning station. Great air conditioning. Comfortable little house. Look forward to our next stay.
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2023
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Super Fish Cabin

Property was great. Laura has the cabin set up and ready every time. No complaints. Will stay again.
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2024
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Another great stay!

Three day fishing trip. Had a great time with my son-in-law. As usual the house and property were great. No issues. Look forward to future trips.
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2023
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great

Just what we needed
Stayed 4 nights in Apr 2024
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Excellent for a fishing trip for two

My son and I stayed and fished up and down the St John's river. Cabin was just big enough and was comfortable. Furnishings were good and thoughtful. Covered boat slip and cleaning station was nice. We enjoyed our trip and the property helped with that. Looking forward to next time.
Stayed 4 nights in Jun 2022
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Excellent

Oldest son and I had a great fishing trip. Water level was down so fishing was a little harder. But, the property was great as always. Laura had it fixed just right. Looking forward to next trip.
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 17 June 2025
Thanks Phil! I’ll do a rain dance before your next stay 🎣
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Good Time

Another good time. Laura was as helpful as always. Property is set up great for our fishing needs. Looking forward to next time.
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2023
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Wonderful trip!

My family and I stayed at the Astor home the week of the Fourth of July. We had a wonderful stay, my dad brought his pontoon boat so we spent a lot of time on the water. The home was cute and clean, stocked with everything we needed. The landlord was gracious and prompt on answering questions. We had a wonderful trip. The Burgers ♥️♥️
Stayed 6 nights in Jul 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 1 August 2022
Thanks Richard! Come back any time.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Fishing Trip

Good property I would suggest turning that ac down To 74 are 75 before guest arrived it was 86 in the house when we arrived miserable for 2 hrs
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2024
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location
Disliked: Listing accuracy

Shower

Shower didn’t work properly. Had to hold shower head in your hand to take a shower. Shower holder was broken…Website shows available WiFi…No Wi-Fi available
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 20 April 2024
Sorry Jimmy about the shower we did not know. But we do not advertise that we have WiFi if you’ll see the boxes that are checked in amenities it is not checked. For our price, we offer a great little place on the water, you’ll see most of our guests agree. Thank you for the feedback.
Verified review

4/10 Poor

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication
Disliked: Location, listing accuracy

Pierson 12-23

The property was extremely clean inside. The kitchen was well equipped with dishes/utensils and pots and pans. Laura was very responsive to communications. Those are the three positive things I have to say. On the other hand, we would not stay here again. We knew we were staying in a mobile home, but the pictures online were taken so viewers could not see that it was in a run-down mobile home park. We did not enjoy the canal view. We have stayed at several other properties in Astor with a much more pleasant water view. In the fenced yard, there were a large number of fire ant hills. The listing said there was a dishwasher - there was not. The coffee maker and the blender were mini-sized. Two things that are important to us are WiFi and a hair dryer. There were neither, even though there was cable TV. The bedrooms were of adequate size, but the beds were not comfortable. In the bathroom, there were some small bottles of shampoo, but I would suggest that renters bring their own toiletries. We felt that the cleaning fee was exorbitant for such a small place. Although the "per night" fee appears very reasonable, the total, after all fees are added, is no longer attractive. In my opinion, this property is best suited for hunters or fishermen who require only basic housing.
Stayed 3 nights in Dec 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 26 December 2022
Thank you for your feed back.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Love this place!
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Fishing trip

Great! Will rent again.
Stayed 6 nights in Dec 2022
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Good Times

Property was good. Laura was very helpful. Second time staying at this property. Would stay again.
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2022
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great Home-Very Quiet area

Perfect little home away for a trip to the springs. Laura is very responsive and knowledgeable about the area. I would recommend it to any small family or couple looking in the area.
Stayed 3 nights in Apr 2022
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback