Rustic 1920s Lakefront Cabin with 2 Bedrooms + Sleeping Porch

Photo gallery for Rustic 1920s Lakefront Cabin with 2 Bedrooms + Sleeping Porch

A rustic cabin with a stone chimney, large windows, and a green exterior.
A wooden dock with metal railings extending over calm water, surrounded by dense green trees under a clear sky.
A cozy living room with a stone fireplace, wooden furniture, and a high ceiling with exposed beams.
Porch overlooking the lake
A cozy bedroom with a large bed, two bedside lamps, a patterned rug, and artwork on the walls.

Reviews

9.2 out of 10
Wonderful

Highlights

  • The great outdoors
    Guests love the outdoor space here.
  • Centrally-located
    You're never far from where you need to be with this convenient location.

Popular amenities

  • Porch or veranda
  • Barbecue
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Kitchen
  • Air-conditioning
  • Refrigerator

Explore the area

View map
Waupaca, WI
  • Place, Hartman Creek State Park
    ‪5 min walk‬
  • Place, Long Lake
    ‪6 min walk‬
  • Place, Crystal River
    ‪3 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

3 bedrooms (sleeps 8)

Bedroom 1

1 Queen Bed

Bedroom 2

2 Single Beds

Outdoor Sleeping Porch

4 Single Beds

1 bathroom

Bathroom 1

Toilet · Shower only · Hair dryer

Spaces

Porch or lanai
Kitchen
Separate dining area
Garden
Dining area

Add dates for prices

Similar properties

About the area

Waupaca

Located in Chain O' Lakes, a neighbourhood in Waupaca, this cottage is in a rural area and on the waterfront. Foxfire Golf Club and Central Waters Brewing Company are worth checking out if an activity is on the agenda, while those wishing to experience the area's natural beauty can explore Hartman Creek State Park and Pickerel Lake State Natural Area. Jet skiing and kayaking offer great chances to get out on the surrounding water, or you can seek out an adventure with ecotours and cycling nearby.
Map
Waupaca, WI

What's nearby

  • Hartman Creek State Park - 5 min walk - 0.4 km
  • Long Lake - 6 min walk - 0.5 km
  • Columbia Lake - 11 min walk - 0.9 km
  • Round Lake - 3 min drive - 1.8 km
  • Crystal River - 3 min drive - 1.8 km

Getting around

  • Appleton, WI (ATW-Appleton Intl.) - 51 min drive

Restaurants

  • ‪McDonald's - ‬11 min drive
  • ‪Culver's - ‬10 min drive
  • ‪Waupaca Woods Restaurant - ‬11 min drive
  • ‪Dairy Queen - ‬12 min drive
  • ‪Clear Water Harbor Bar - ‬7 min drive

Frequently asked questions

Is Rustic 1920s Lakefront Cabin with 2 Bedrooms + Sleeping Porch pet-friendly?

No, pets are not allowed at this property.

How much is parking at Rustic 1920s Lakefront Cabin with 2 Bedrooms + Sleeping Porch?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at Rustic 1920s Lakefront Cabin with 2 Bedrooms + Sleeping Porch?

Check-in begins at 3:00 PM.

What time is check-out at Rustic 1920s Lakefront Cabin with 2 Bedrooms + Sleeping Porch?

Checkout is at 11:00 AM.

Where is Rustic 1920s Lakefront Cabin with 2 Bedrooms + Sleeping Porch located?

Located in Chain O' Lakes, this cottage is within a 15-minute walk of Hartman Creek State Park, Long Lake and Columbia Lake. Crystal River and Round Lake are also within 1 mile (2 km).

Reviews

9.2

Wonderful

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 19 out of 27 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 6 out of 27 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 1 out of 27 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 0 out of 27 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 1 out of 27 reviews

8.6/10

Cleanliness

9.8/10

Check-in

10/10

Communication

9.8/10

Location

9.2/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
The cabin is rustic but equipped with everything you need. We loved the location with easy access to the upper chain. We utilized the kayaks and canoe for family adventures.
Stayed 7 nights in Jul 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
We had a wonderful time at this cottage. The cottage was very charming with private and peaceful outdoor area both by the cottage and the lake.
Stayed 7 nights in Jun 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great location

The house was as advertised: rustic, but serviceable. Beautiful on lake location.
Stayed 3 nights in Sep 2024
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Family getaway

Loved the location! Great time with our family for swimming, kayaking/canoeing and of course the fire at night. The front porch was a nice bonus
Stayed 3 nights in Sep 2024
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Thank you so much! This was perfect! Loved your cabin!
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Our first visit

Wehad a relaxing getaway in a beautiful location. The lake life was a great time.
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2023
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Fall Stay

Location was great. Enjoyed view of lake. Screen porch was nice for cool evening game nights.
Stayed 3 nights in Sep 2024
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Quaint lake stay

We appreciated the convenience of having kayaks and canoes available on site. Definitely an older cottage pieced together but with a lot of history.
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2024
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Peaceful Cottage Retreat

We loved our stay at Castle Point! I'm not exactly sure how old the cottage is, but it feels virtually untouched from it's original state. We loved the charm of the cottage and the peacefulness of the property.
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2024
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Rustic Relaxation

This cabin was just what we were looking for. A peaceful getaway that brought back childhood memories of family gatherings at the lake. Felt like a trip back in time with a few modern amenities.
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2024
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Relaxing

The property is just as described- an older property. But everything you need is provided to enjoy a relaxing stay. The property is secluded and the lake frontage is so nice.
Stayed 5 nights in Jun 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Wonderful vacation

Great stay in a rustic cabin. A real up north feel to the property. Close to downtown and other fun activities. The cabin was clean and well equipped with everything for cooking. The air conditioning was a plus on warm days. We will definitely stay again.
Stayed 4 nights in Jun 2024
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Kayaking getaway

4 ladies enjoying their time in Waupaca.
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2024
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Return to Castle Cabin

We had a great time - Such a turn back the clock kind of place - could us a good dusting a and Mop - Dust and cobwebs in corner and under furniture
Stayed 6 nights in Aug 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 13 September 2024
Thank you for your review! Going forward we will try to sweep/dust under furniture and in corners better.
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Check-in, communication, location
Disliked: Cleanliness

Cute but disappointing

The location and dock were great. We were aware that it was an old cabin, and it definitely is. The inside twin beds were uncomfortable. Worst part was the mice feces we found by the pots and pans.
Stayed 3 nights in May 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 9 June 2025
I am so sorry about the mouse feces. We will be sure to check closer and clean that up in the future. I wish you had told us about it during your stay we could have taken care of it immediately.
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Grew on us

Interesting property with a lot of history. Living room had musty smell. Outdoor areas were great ! Lots of amenities/things you may need in the cabin. Bathroom space a bit challenging for couples. Overall enjoyed our stay and awesome fire pit area.
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2023
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Top notch

The Castle Point cabin was the perfect location for our first visit to The Chain O Lakes. It felt rather secluded, and was very peaceful sitting on the screened in porch in the mornings. All of the added amenities were wonderful. We used the firepit and kayaks everyday we were there. I enjoyed learning about the history of the cabin and all of the nostalgia of Chain of Lakes memorbilia around the cabin. I hope to one day return to Castle Point.
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2023
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Everything you need

This is an older cottage/cabin that is well cared for and nicely updated. There is great history about it and the surrounding area. The location is perfect on the Chain of Lakes whether you are kayaking or pontooning. It is on a quiet no wake lake with awesome access to wake lakes if you want it. The owners provide almost everything you could need for the stay except your own clothes. It was just what adults and kids needed!
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2023
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great Traditional Waupaca Cottage Stay

We loved staying at this cottage! It has a traditional lakeside cottage feel with wood floors and big screened-in porches. If you want super modern, this is not the place for you. However, this cottage has a lot of charm, was clean, and everything worked well. The fire pit area is great for s'mores and conversation. While there is no sandy bottom swimming area, Beasley is a great lake for swimming in deep water right off the dock. Communication with the owner was great.
Stayed 7 nights in Aug 2023
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Cozy castle cottage

Great location, good space between neighbors. Cottage is stocked with all you need.very peaceful. However we did stay in late September when tourist season was fizzled out. Campfire and kayaks on a clear lake was a great getaway. Only disappointment was I found a dirty woman’s underwear thong at The base of my sheets when I rolled them up To be laundered at the end of our stay! So I Assume they were not laundered when I checked in
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 24 September 2023
I am very sorry that happened! Our cleaner has been with us for 3 years and we have always received great reviews for cleanliness. She assured me the sheets had been washed and is baffled as to how that happened.
Verified review

2/10 Terrible

Disliked: Cleanliness, check-in, location, listing accuracy

Dead shallow lake

No sun, no fish stream, Lee shallow water too far from water in the house very uncomfortable
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 14 June 2024
Due to the grammatical errors and typos in this review I am not entirely sure what this guest is trying to say, but I will do my best to respond. I don’t know if they are complaining about the weather or no sun on the cottage but yes the cottage is in the woods so it is mostly shaded (a plus in our opinion). The lower yard and dock get full sun. As for the quality of fishing we don’t advertise or cater to fishermen so I suggest anyone interested in fishing on our lake do their own research. (We do see fishermen all the time and Beasley Lake has a maximum depth of 50 feet). It also appears they disliked “check-in”. This guest requested an early check-in which we accommodated allowing them to arrive 3 hours early! Finally, they also disrespected our property by rearranging and doing strange things with the furniture (stacked a luggage rack and pillow on top of a table and put the TV on top)! They also left trash in the fire pit.
Archival

10/10 Excellent

Great cabin!

My family loved this wonderful cabin! The chain o lakes area is a great place to spend a week with the family, and this cabin is our family's new favorite in the area! It is on a quiet lake that's great for swimming without the noise and waves of power boats. The cabin itself is set further apart from its neighbors than other places we've stayed, and we enjoyed having more space for the kids to run around and play games where we could see them. It is rustic, so we really felt like we were getting away, but it has everything you need to be comfortable. Over our week we cooked many great meals in the kitchen! The kids loved the sleeping porch, even on nights when it was raining. Just two doors down is a fun mini golf course, and we took the car into town a few times to check out the cute shops in town and of course to buy some of that famous cheese curd! The cabin's fire pit was a lot of fun at night. This is a great spot to kick back and relax for a week -- we will definitely be back!
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Nice historic home, originally built in 1820.

Wonderful historic property. Lots of living and sleeping space. Excellent no-wake lake location. Had an ant problem on the kitchen countertops and the utencil drawer. Floors were clean except under funiture and beds. No towels available...though the owner did state this, it seems, for the price, towels should be included. Wood for campfire was wet from rain. Wood that was partially covered by a tarp was moldy. The kayaks, chairs, paddles, and life preservers were ample. The fireplace was not usable, though evening temps dropped to 51 degrees. There were. Ample space heaters. The gas oven would not light. The grill was charcoal only. No dishwasher.
Stayed 4 nights in Aug 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 13 September 2024
Thank you for your review! It sounds like you enjoyed your stay. Sorry about the ants. No one else had complained all summer and our cleaner said she never saw any so we were unaware they were present. We will watch for them so we can try to remedy any problems in the future. We suggest to guests to just keep food tightly wrapped and clean up crumbs as to not attract them. Floors have since been swept under the furniture. As for the other things mentioned in your review they are all clearly stated on the VRBO description or in the Welcome Guide (no dishwasher and charcoal grill). It’s fairly common for other cottages in the area to not provide bath towels (some don’t even provide sheets!). We think our rate is on par with or less than other 2 br cottages. Yes, there is one burner on the stove that is not working (there should be sign - we hope to fix it by next summer). All other burners were tested and working after check-out. The fireplace is on if the HIGH temperature is below 60 (it was in the 70s-80s during your stay). That may have not been clear but we have since made it so. We are getting rid of the tarp and yes the firewood isn’t covered but we think it’s a nice extra since most cottages don’t provide firewood. Also the cottage was built around 1920. :)
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
This place is awesome!!!!!! It was like stepping back in time to a simpler life. The location can't be beat. We went canoeing, swimming, walked to mini golf, walked to the park, drove 5 min to the Casino for a bite to eat, etc. The canoeing and access to the smaller chain lakes is literally right outside the property. You can canoe or kayak through small connecting river ways that take you to other lakes. It's amazing! The water is crystal clear and the temp was perfect.My only caution is simply to be aware that it is not super clean, and what I mean by that is that they don't clean/sweep under the beds or on the windowsills or such. Not thorough, and that isn't due to the age of the home, that is just that they don't address those areas. So there are many areas of the home with dust build up. Sheets are clean, bathroom is clean, kitchen is clean, so the main areas are good to go! But really, the rustic nature of the place and the location make for amazing memories, a little dust won't hurt anyone compared to the relaxing time you'll spend.The management couldn't be more responsive and is excellent to work with!I would highly recommend this spot to everyone and anyone of all ages. We had our 6yr old with us and had my in-laws come visit during the day (78yrs old) and all were happy. A true joy. We hope to go back next summer!
Stayed 5 nights in Jul 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 17 July 2025
Thank you for your wonderful review! As for the dust under furniture etc. I will relay this information to our cleaner. I personally have noticed that and try to address those areas myself when I am there but I think due to the rustic nature of the cabin and there being no central HVAC with a filter the dust builds up quicker than normal. Glad you had such a good time!
Archival

10/10 Excellent

Love this place

We have stayed at this cabin two years in a row and expect to back in the future. We love the Waupaca area and this cabin is the right combination of getting away from it all and being comfortable and connected. The cabin is on the small, quiet, no-wake Lake Beasley. The lake is clear and great for swimming, kayaking, fishing and canoeing. It was great that two kayak's and two canoes were provided. The only negative to the property is that the shoreline is mucky. If you had small children that wanted to walk right in to the lake from the shore this place would not work. However, it does have a long pier with an attached floating raft that goes far enough into the lake that you can jump and swim right off the end and be in good water for swimming. There is a large area shown in the picture with a fire pit. We used it most nights. The cabin itself is certainly not luxurious, but has everything you really need. Including a tv with cable and internet access. Beds are comfy and each bedroom has a air conditioner/heater that when on can really heat/cool the entire cabin. We had to use the heater one night that got pretty chilly! We also love the Waupaca area. We have a favorite restaurant (The Wheelhouse), ice cream place (Scoopers) and we love to hike and bike in Hartman State Park which is basically across the road. The owners of this cabin also will consider pets, which is great. I think our dog had as much fun on vacation as we did. We just love sitting on the pier and drinking coffee in the morning and looking out over the lake. That is truly paradise to us.
Response from VrboOwner on 28 June 2022
Hi Patty, we are so glad you enjoyed the cabin. Thank you for the nice review! -Jennifer Castle
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback