Located in Thornton, this holiday home is in the mountains. Ice Castles is a popular attraction and the area's natural beauty can be seen at White Mountain National Forest and Loon Mountain. White Mountain Central Railroad and Rhino Bike Works are also worth visiting.
White Mountain National Forest - 3 min drive - 1.8 km
Owl's Nest Resort & Golf Club - 9 min drive - 10.1 km
Ice Castles - 12 min drive - 20.0 km
Loon Mountain Resort - 13 min drive - 21.1 km
Flume Gorge - 14 min drive - 27.5 km
Getting around
Laconia, NH (LCI-Laconia Municipal) - 52 min drive
Restaurants
Dunkin' - 10 min drive
Mad River Tavern - 8 min drive
Benton's Sugar Shack - 14 min walk
Sunset Grill - 11 min drive
The Little Red Schoolhouse - 12 min drive
Frequently asked questions
Is Luxury White mountains log home - near Owl’s nest, Loon, Waterville w in-law Apt pet-friendly?
No, pets are not allowed at this property.
How much does it cost to stay at Luxury White mountains log home - near Owl’s nest, Loon, Waterville w in-law Apt?
As of 26 October 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Luxury White mountains log home - near Owl’s nest, Loon, Waterville w in-law Apt on 28 October 2026 start from NZ$4,715, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
How much is parking at Luxury White mountains log home - near Owl’s nest, Loon, Waterville w in-law Apt?
On-site parking is available at the property.
What time is check-in at Luxury White mountains log home - near Owl’s nest, Loon, Waterville w in-law Apt?
Check-in begins at 3:00 PM.
What time is check-out at Luxury White mountains log home - near Owl’s nest, Loon, Waterville w in-law Apt?
Checkout is at 10:00 AM.
Where is Luxury White mountains log home - near Owl’s nest, Loon, Waterville w in-law Apt located?
Situated in the mountains, this holiday home is 1 mi (1.7 km) from White Mountain National Forest and within 6 miles (10 km) of Jack O'Lantern Resort Golf Course and Owl's Nest Resort & Golf Club. Campton Town Hall and Blair Bridge are also within 9 miles (15 km).
Reviews
9.6
Exceptional
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
The property was terrific for my group of fellow golfers. The kitchen was well stocked and the outdoor barbecue was perfect. Kevin was quickly to respond to all communications sent his way. We already re-booked our 2027 weekend away.
We went to this beautiful home with our children their spouses and our grandchildren. There was plenty of room for all. The leaves were changing and the view from the deck was amazing. The game room was also a huge hit.The host was quick to respond to any questions we had.
This is a wonderful home, very clean. Has everything you would want when away from your own home. Beds are super comfy, great kitchen and plenty of space for 12 people. Close to everything. Benton’s Sugar Shack super close for breakfast but really no need to leave the kitchen has everything you would need to make a great breakfast. Second time staying and looking forward to a third .
Highly recommend this property! The house was beautiful, very clean, comfortable, and well-equipped. Owner and property manager pleasant and responsive. We would love to stay again!
It was perfect for our stay. One of the nicest places we have stayed. Lots of room and the cleanliness was superb. Kevin responded immediately for a couple questions we had. Would definitely stay again. Hopefully next year
Great house and plenty of room. We rented this home for our 30th annual motorcycle riding trip and this house afforded us the six separate sleeping areas we were looking for. All bedrooms are air conditioned and comfortable and the screened-in porch is a great addition to enjoy the cool nights outside without bugs!! The owner of the home was super easy to work with.
We had a group of extended family come for graduation weekend. The house was perfect for all our guests. The rain thwarted our outdoor, on campus, lunch plans and we were able to have our whole group over for lunch with plenty of room and beautiful views.
The property was as advertised, and Kevin made the check in seamless! The house was clean and the linens and furnishings were very comfortable! The kitchen was stocked with all of the pans we could have needed! I would absolutely return to this very well maintained home again!
The house, especially the great room was stunning. It was very spacious, open and comfortable. The kids enjoyed the game room on the basement level and everyone took advantage of the massage chair. An added bonus were the heated floors on the main level. It was quite the treat after our snowy outdoor activities. The property was close to all of the attractions we planned to do. Although we couldn’t enjoy the back deck and fire pit because the weather I can imagine how serene it would be in warmer weather. We all enjoyed our stay.
The house was perfect for our every need. The spacious main floor with kitchen and sitting area was more than big enough for all of us. Downstairs with the games and massage chair was a big hit. Fire pit out back as well.
We hope to be back same time next year.
Thanks
Aaron
We had the pleasure of staying at this beautiful home as we were attending a wedding at Owl's Nest, which is just 10 minutes away. The home as perfect for our family of 9, which included an infant. There is the equivalent of an in-law apartment in the house that was perfect for the baby/parents, and all of the additional beds and rooms allowed the rest of us to spread out. There is plenty of room to spread out, such as the deck, the huge porch, and the amazing basement, which had plenty to keep everyone entertained (pool table, massage chair, hockey game). The kitchen is fully stacked and the appliances are top-end. An added bonus is that the house is surrounded by mountains and rivers that give you plenty of options for hikes and outdoor activity. This home is a true gem and worth every penny.
This property was an excellent place for our group whom was touring the White Mountains on street bikes. Wonderful kitchen area that accommodated our love for cooking and we really enjoyed the screened in porch area. Stunning Master bed / bath and great rooms for the rest of our group. The layout offers a nice selection for various taste. Communication with the property owners was prompt and issues were addressed immediately. Would recommend to others.
Stayed 5 nights in Aug 2023
Verified review
6/10 Okay
Verified traveller
19 July 2019
Liked: Check-in, location, listing accuracy
Disliked: Cleanliness, communication
Nice location but issues with house.
The house is large and conveniently located with a nice view overlooking the river. The house is nicer than the photos. There were also ample spices, condiments, etc.
Unfortunately the negative outweighed the positive.
The floors were filthy. Everyone in our group of 12 had blackened feet from walking inside the house. This dirtiness extended to the enclosed porch and the hot tub, which was covered in pollen and dirt.
While we didn't expect curtains (the house is in the woods), we did expect privacy in the bathrooms. Unfortunately, there was no curtain on the unfrosted window in the master bath, which looks out at the hot tub. We hung a towel, but it wasn't large enough to cover the window. The bathroom above the garage doesn't have a curtain and looks across to a bedroom in house, also no curtain. Awkward.
We struggled to cool the house. Eventually, we realized the ceiling fans were rotating backwards. It took us a half hour to find the remotes - one was in a different room and one was buried in a drawer. The batteries in both were dead (we obtained replacements). With the fans working, the house was much cooler.
The biggest issue was that when we woke up the second day there was no hot water. We contacted the owners, and they responded a couple hours later to let us know that no one could come because it was a holiday. Later they told us someone was indeed coming. When we returned later, it still was not fixed so we called the owners and emailed for a status. We received no response and tried both again later. No response. They emailed the next day (no phone calls were returned). Quote:
"We’re doing everything we can but it was July 4th yesterday and no one was open and we were hosting people and couldn’t check our phone constantly. I’ve been calling hot water companies but don’t have a timeframe."
While we know that getting a repairman on a holiday is hard, we expected better communication. We too were entertaining guests at the house we were paying them to rent, and this note implied that the owners' holiday was more important than addressing the needs of their customers.
After 24 hours with no hot water, the issue was fixed.
In short, we felt that the owners didn't care much about ensuring a positive experience for guests. Problems can occur, and owners should be prepared to manage these issues. Basic levels of cleanliness and privacy should also be maintained. Without these issues, it would have been a great vacation home.
Stayed 4 nights in Jul 2019
Response from VrboOwner on 1 April 2020
Hello Chris,
We let your party check in four hours early with no additional charge, which most rentals don’t allow. Our house is spotless. And pollen is everywhere. It’s impossible to dust off pollen just before guests arrive.
The hot water situation was fixed in 24 hours and we had someone in there on July 4th. I hope you have better luck with other VRBOs in the future - ones with no pollen on the deck and curtains everywhere.
The house was beautiful and very clean! The space the house provided was perfect for our group. There were a few little issues but Michelle was super responsive and things were dealt with very promptly! I would highly recommend this property!