Apartment

2 Mi to Main St: Newton Guest House

Photo gallery for 2 Mi to Main St: Newton Guest House

A living room with a sectional sofa, a coffee table, a patterned rug, a ceiling fan, recessed lighting, and a television mounted on the wall.
A dining area with a table, chairs, and a colorful rug. There is a ceiling fan and recessed lighting.
A single-story house with a red door, a stone foundation, and a small front yard.
A living room with a sectional sofa, a coffee table, a rug, and a ceiling fan.
A living room with a gray sectional sofa, a white coffee table, a patterned rug, a ceiling fan, and an exit sign.

Reviews

8.8 out of 10
Excellent

Highlights

  • Made for relaxation
    Top-rated for comfort — guests feel right at home here.
  • Centrally-located
    You're never far from where you need to be with this convenient location.

Popular amenities

  • Kitchenette
  • Air-conditioning
  • Pet-friendly
  • Refrigerator
  • Internet
  • Onsite parking available

Explore the area

View map
Newton, IA
  • Place, Skiff Medical Center
    ‪2 min drive‬
  • Place, Lincoln Park
    ‪2 min drive‬
  • Place, Newton Public Library
    ‪3 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

2 bedrooms (sleeps 6)

Bedroom 1

1 Queen Bed

Bedroom 2

1 Queen Bed

1 bathroom, 1 half bathroom

Full Bathroom

Half Bathroom

Spaces

Kitchen
Kitchenette
Separate dining area

Add dates for prices

Have a question?

AI iconBeta

Get instant answers with AI powered search of property information and reviews.

Similar properties

About the area

Newton

Newton is home to this apartment. The area's natural beauty can be seen at Rock Creek State Park and Jacob Krumm Nature Preserve, while Fred Maytag Bowl and Jasper County Historical Museum are cultural highlights.
Map
Newton, IA

What's nearby

  • Aurora Park - 1 min walk - 0.1 km
  • Agnes Patterson Memorial Park - 13 min walk - 1.1 km
  • Skiff Medical Center - 2 min drive - 2.5 km
  • Lincoln Park - 2 min drive - 2.1 km
  • Newton Public Library - 3 min drive - 2.9 km

Getting around

  • Des Moines International Airport (DSM) - 48 min drive

Restaurants

  • ‪Love's Travel Stop - ‬5 min drive
  • ‪Casey's General Store - ‬6 min drive
  • ‪McDonald's - ‬18 min walk
  • ‪Casey's - ‬14 min walk
  • ‪Culver's - ‬7 min drive

Frequently asked questions

Is 2 Mi to Main St: Newton Guest House pet-friendly?

Yes, pets are allowed at this property.

How much does it cost to stay at 2 Mi to Main St: Newton Guest House?

As of 28 October 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at 2 Mi to Main St: Newton Guest House on 20 July 2027 start from NZ$1,169, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.

How much is parking at 2 Mi to Main St: Newton Guest House?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at 2 Mi to Main St: Newton Guest House?

Check-in begins at 3:00 PM.

What time is check-out at 2 Mi to Main St: Newton Guest House?

Checkout is at 11:00 AM.

Where is 2 Mi to Main St: Newton Guest House located?

Situated in Newton, this apartment building is within a 15-minute walk of Aurora Park and Agnes Patterson Memorial Park. Lincoln Park and Thirty Acre Park are also within 2 miles (3 km).

Reviews

8.8

Excellent

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 10 out of 15 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 2 out of 15 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 1 out of 15 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 2 out of 15 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 0 out of 15 reviews

9.8/10

Cleanliness

10/10

Amenities

10/10

Property conditions & facilities

10/10

Check-in

9.4/10

Communication

9.6/10

Location

10/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
The location is perfect for our family. We will definitely be renting this house again.
Stayed 3 nights in Sep 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities, communication
This house was perfect for my mom and I to be able to visit with family in the area. Looking forward to staying there again.
Stayed 3 nights in Apr 2024
Response from Author on 2 May 2024
From the owner: "Marisa, you were a wonderful guest! You were very respectful of the house rules and left the place in great condition. We would be more than happy to welcome you back again in the future. I highly recommend you to other hosts without any hesitation."
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, location, listing accuracy

Nice central location

Nice little spot centrally located to enjoy Newton and Des Moines.
Stayed 2 nights in May 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 4 June 2024
From the owner: "It was an absolute pleasure hosting you at our guest house. From the moment you arrived, it was clear that you were a fantastic guest. You were incredibly clean and neat, taking great care of our space as if it were your own. We would be more than happy to welcome you back as our guest in the future."
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Quick stay for Grinnell football game

Great location. Accommodations were comfortable. We would stay again if we're in the area.
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2024
From a partner site

8/10 Good

Nice location

Nice location, adjacent to tennis courts/park. Several restaurants, gas stations and grocery store all within walking distance.
Response from VrboOwner on 21 November 2023
Hi Barbara, thanks for your review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay at this house. If there is anything we can do to provide a 5-star experience, please don't hesitate to reach out!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Nice property, including delish coffee pods. Nice towels were a plus. Only wish there was a full size fridge and maybe some cooking utensils. It was great to be right next door to pickleball courts and the Mexican restaurant across the street.
Stayed 4 nights in Aug 2025
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, listing accuracy

Clean and good location

Nice clean and convenient house. Small bedrooms for a family of 4 but comfortable
Stayed 6 nights in Dec 2024
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Clean and Quiet

I rented this house for my adult children while we visited family in Newton. It was clean and quiet, and we would book again.
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 26 July 2024
From the owner: ''It was an absolute pleasure hosting Rebekah and her guests. Communication was excellent, and they took great care of the property during their stay. Rebekah is a wonderful guest, and I would be more than happy to welcome her back anytime. I highly recommend her to other hosts without hesitation. Thank you, Rebekah, for being a fantastic guest!''
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Perfect for us.

Convenient location for our needs. Clean. Private.
Stayed 3 nights in Feb 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Everything we needed!

We were in town for my daughter’s graduation and this place couldn’t have been more perfect for us! We had to bring our elderly dog At the last minute and they are so accommodating of dogs—even lent us an extra dog bed for our dogs comfort! The washing machine is amazing too! Just everything was lovely! Thank you! And we highly recommend this place.
Stayed 7 nights in May 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 29 May 2025
From the owner: Stacy, David, and family: you couldn’t have been more perfect guests! Everyone was so incredibly polite, clean, and friendly. We loved having your dog Duchess stay as well. Our pup also really missed her when you guys left! We would gladly welcome all of you back if you happen to be in the area in the future. We are so glad you enjoyed every bit of your stay! -Samir & Braden
From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

Race days get away

Very clean and spacious. Although we did not bring pets with us this time, will definitely bring the next time. Only negative was no water/dryer.
Stayed 4 nights in Aug 2024
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

pet friendly means REALLY pet friendly

We have no regrets about choosing this property, but I would warn folks that there is a doggish smell in rainy weather.
Stayed 2 nights in May 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 30 May 2024
Shared from the owner:"We regret to hear about your experience during your recent stay at our property. We strive to provide a comfortable and pleasant environment for all our guests, including those with pets. It is surprising to hear that you found a "doggish smell" during rainy weather despite our rigorous cleaning protocols and professional yard maintenance to ensure a fresh and inviting atmosphere.While we understand that personal preferences vary, we would like to clarify that our property is indeed pet-friendly, as clearly stated in our listing. It is worth noting that only a small percentage of our guests choose to bring pets during their stays, and we take great care to maintain high cleanliness standards to accommodate all guests, regardless of their furry companions.We appreciate your feedback and would like to recommend considering one of our Downtown Des Moines locations for your future visits, where you can enjoy a different setting surrounded by shopping stores and restaurants. Additionally, our property is pet-friendly, as indicated in our listing. We apologize if this was unexpected. To find accommodations that do not allow pets, we recommend using search filters to select properties that explicitly prohibit animals.Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we hope that you will consider giving us another opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future."
Verified review

4/10 Poor

Liked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities, communication
The problem was the beds. My husband and I tried sleeping in one room. The bed was so hard we were tossing and turning trying to get comfortable. I ended up on the couch. He ended up with a sore shoulder. He also tried the other bed and it was the same. The mattress sits directly on a wire, mesh frame. There is no box spring. We left a day early because of the beds.
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2025
Response from Author on 16 May 2025
Hi Elizabeth, we appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. We're truly sorry to hear that the beds did not meet your expectations and that this impacted your stay. All mattresses and furnishings in the home are only eighteen months old, and we take pride in maintaining a comfortable, well-kept space. In light of your comments, we will review the current mattress setup to see if any adjustments can be made. Your input helps us continue to enhance the guest experience. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Verified review

4/10 Poor

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

unfortunate circumstance

I had travelled to Newton to celebrate my mother's 100 birthday. Location was great and easy to find, check in was easy, property was as lovely as advertised. I dropped off luggage and met with some friends and family. Returned later, watched 30 minutes of TV (also easy to manage), turned the heat down, and went to bed. Just about asleep and a banging noise seemed to come from the back. I got up to but could see nothing. Just about asleep again and a loud crashing noise seemed from the front - like someone was banging on the door or window. Again nothing - but upsetting. Through the night I eventually discovered that each time the furnace came on the banging noise (like a cover opening) and each time it went off the crashing noise - all night long. Needless to say a very restless and nearly sleepless night. I was too wired to try to sleep there again so I packed up and left early. I watched TV for 40 minutes and slept in a bed. Never used a towel, never even turned the water on in the kitchen. I hope this was unknown to the property owner and can be fixed. With the exception of this unfortunate situation the property was lovely and the experience with VRBO was completely satisfactory.
Stayed 2 nights in Mar 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 16 May 2025
From the owner: Hi Dennis, I am sorry for your experience. As one of the owners, I will frequently stay in this property all weekend long for class when there are no bookings. I have stayed in there for two full class weekends since your stay and have never once heard a banging noise from the heater.However, the city did hang two large plywood boards on the tennis court fence, which directly face the property. I have noticed that when people hit tennis balls off the boards, it will reverberate off the east wall of the property. That does make some significant banging noises similar to what you described.Again, I do apologize for the noise nuisance that this created. We do all we can to make the best possible stay, and we look forward to this property hosting many satisfied guests.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Nice clean, modern unit.Good communication with owner.Would ask that a more prominent street address would be installed.Very happy there.
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2026
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback