Located near the beach, this holiday home is in Hatteras Colony, a neighbourhood in Salvo. The area's natural beauty can be seen at Outer Banks Beaches and Cape Hatteras National Seashore. Travelling with kids? Consider Ocean Air Sports and Hatteras Island Boardsports. Discover the area's water adventures with jet skiing and kayaking nearby, or enjoy the great outdoors with ecotours and hiking.
Cape Hatteras National Seashore - 22 min drive - 31.7 km
Getting around
Manteo, NC (MEO-Dare County Regional) - 46 min drive
Restaurants
Dough Shack - 4 min drive
Watermen's Bar & Grill - 3 min drive
Good Winds Seafood & Wine Bar - 5 min drive
Waves Coffee & Candies - 5 min drive
Dairy Queen - 4 min drive
Frequently asked questions
Does Oceanview Dog Friendly Home w/ Private Pool, Hot Tub, Indoor and Outdoor Games have a pool?
Yes, this property has an outdoor pool.
How much does it cost to stay at Oceanview Dog Friendly Home w/ Private Pool, Hot Tub, Indoor and Outdoor Games?
As of 29 October 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Oceanview Dog Friendly Home w/ Private Pool, Hot Tub, Indoor and Outdoor Games on 31 October 2026 start from NZ$1,984, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
Is Oceanview Dog Friendly Home w/ Private Pool, Hot Tub, Indoor and Outdoor Games pet-friendly?
Yes, this property allows dogs (limit 2 total).
How much is parking at Oceanview Dog Friendly Home w/ Private Pool, Hot Tub, Indoor and Outdoor Games?
On-site parking is available at the property.
What time is check-in at Oceanview Dog Friendly Home w/ Private Pool, Hot Tub, Indoor and Outdoor Games?
Check-in begins at 6:00 PM.
What time is check-out at Oceanview Dog Friendly Home w/ Private Pool, Hot Tub, Indoor and Outdoor Games?
Checkout is at 10:00 AM.
Where is Oceanview Dog Friendly Home w/ Private Pool, Hot Tub, Indoor and Outdoor Games located?
This family-friendly Salvo holiday home is located by the sea, within a 10-minute walk of Salvo Beach and Pamlico Sound. Rodanthe Beach and Waves Village Watersports Resort Adventure Activities are also within 3 miles (5 km).
Reviews
8.6
Excellent
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
We're delighted to hear your family enjoyed their stay at Changes in Attitude - #476, Alex! Thank you for choosing Surf or Sound Realty and for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to host you again on your next Outer Banks getaway!
We are a young family (8YO, 4YO, 2YO) so the walk to the beach was a slight hurdle given the distance & dune climb. Otherwise, the property fit our family and matched the online description. The pool was a nice way to spend afternoons after lunch or evenings after dinner. Close proximity to severely delicious restaurants & a grocery store (20 mins drive).
Stayed 7 nights in Aug 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 16 September 2026
Thank you for sharing your experience, Samantha! We're glad Changes in Attitude - #476 was a good fit for your family and that the home matched its online description. We're also happy the pool provided a relaxing way to spend afternoons and evenings, and that you enjoyed the nearby dining and grocery options. We understand that the walk to the beach and dune climb can be a little challenging with young children, and we appreciate you sharing that feedback. Thank you for choosing Surf or Sound, and we hope to welcome you all back for another Hatteras Island vacation!
We had a wonderful stay! We loved being able to bring our furry friends with us and the pool, hot tub and bikes were a hit with everyone. It was also an easy walk to the beach. The house was clean and communication with the rental company was amazing. They checked on us and made sure everything went well with check in and with the house. We would definitely stay here again.
Stayed 7 nights in Jun 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 14 July 2026
Thank you, Karen, for your wonderful review of Changes in Attitude - #476! We're delighted to hear you and your furry friends had such an enjoyable stay and that the pool, hot tub, bikes, and easy beach access were highlights of your vacation. It's also wonderful to know our team helped make your stay as smooth as possible with responsive communication and check-ins along the way. We truly appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back for another Outer Banks getaway!
Family vacation went extremely well. Great home! I would book again!
Had a wonderful trip!
Stayed 7 nights in May 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 9 July 2025
We are thrilled you enjoyed your vacation experience so much, Jessica! Thank you so much for your 5-star review. We look forward to hosting you again soon!
Well maintained, beautiful house, perfect location. It had everything we needed and the hosts were at your service if anything was needed. Plenty of space for everyone.
Stayed 7 nights in May 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 18 June 2025
Thank you so much for your compliments about our service and Changes In Attitude - #476, Corin! We really appreciate your 5-star review!
House was perfect for our 10 guests, close to tye beach, clean when we arrived, the beds were amazing and the hot tub was great in the chilly weather we had, would definitely stay here again.
Stayed 7 nights in Mar 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 27 April 2024
Hi Thomas, thank you for the 5-star review of Changes In Attitude - #476! This dog friendly ocean view home in Salvo is a great destination for any vacation! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and will pass your compliments on to our housekeeping team regarding the property. We hope to see you again soon at the beach! -Your friends at Surf or Sound Realty
It was very nice. The whole process was simple and easy.
Stayed 7 nights in May 2019
Response from VrboOwner on 3 April 2020
Karen, we are thrilled to hear your first family vacation in 5 years was a simple, easy and enjoyable experience. Thanks for making us a part of the fun. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Island again soon!
Verified review
6/10 Okay
Corin J.
14 June 2025
Liked: Check-in, communication
Disliked: Cleanliness, listing accuracy
The walls in the furniture had literal dirt on them. I had to clean the floors myself because my children and my baby, especially we were covered in dirt from the floor
The home itself was great. The issue was property management. Our stay was delayed by a hurricane. 100% understandable. I would have even been fine with a dirty home lol but instead- unrelated to any weather events- there were issues with the amenities. Dishwasher broken, main living area TV no remote to be found unable to turn on; ok fine whatever, but hot tub unusable leaking terriblly we couldn’t keep it safely filled the motor wouldnt turn off and the outside lights didn’t work. I reached out Monday am was told some would come that day for tv, lights and dishwasher and the hot tub folks come Wednesday due to staffing (storm etc) not sooner. The next day came and went no one showed up then Wednesday property mngt texted me asking why I gave less than 5 stars review upon check in. I reiterated all the before and the new person promised someone would be out the following day. No one came. Friday morning I sent another message stating no one ever addressed our issues, we were leaving the next day, don’t bother and please let me know about a partial refund for being unable to use the hot tub. Given an Apology and told manger would be in touch. Friday evening partner and I come back from the beach, kiddo 12had stayed back to relax with the dog and a repair guy let themselves into the house when it was just her!! Looked and the dishwasher and left but still what the heck??! Called and got big talk of the vendor will be reprimanded but we won’t rent from surf or sound ever again.
Stayed 7 nights in Aug 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 18 September 2025
Katharine, we're very sorry that your stay at Changes In Attitude - #476 was disrupted by maintenance and amenity issues. We understand how frustrating it must have been to have a broken hot tub, dishwasher, and other problems during your vacation. Your feedback has been shared with our team to ensure these concerns are addressed, and we truly appreciate you bringing them to our attention so we can improve for future guests.
Recently had a great stay at this property in Salvo. The house was clean and location was good. A little distance to the beach if you have young kids with a lot of gear. We had a rough week weather wise, but that is unpredictable. Pool is small, but great for a small group.
Stayed 7 nights in Jul 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 7 January 2022
Hi Derek,
We are so glad you enjoyed your time at Changes in Attitude - 476! We hop you'll visit Hatteras Island again soon.
- Your Friends at Surf or Sound Realty
Verified review
2/10 Terrible
darcy g.
22 July 2021
Liked: Check-in, location
Disliked: Cleanliness, listing accuracy
Filthy and disappointing
Place was filthy, both inside and out. Ceiling fans had dirt hanging off of them which made them unusable. Had not been dusted in forever. Floors had not been swept, vacuumed or washed. Garbage was strewn about, empty cans, bottles. Bedding was filthy, comforters stained, dirty, not useable. Had to buy our own blankets. Mattresses had no mattress covers so we were on top of a thin sheet sleeping on god knows what was on the mattresses. Oven was so dirty that whenever we turned it we had to deal with the smoke alarm. The pool had a leak, the hot tub quit working and one of the king beds collapsed under my son (who by the way is very fit). Screens were missing from windows in screened porch which made it useless. Property management sent a very rude, grumpy older gentleman to our rental to address cleanliness issues. He made us very uncomfortable. I highly recommend owners find a new property management company as this one, Surf or Sound does a horrible job!
Hello Brandy,
Thank you for your review and for staying with us at 476 - Changes in Attitude! We look forward to seeing you on Hatteras Island again soon!
- Your Friends at Surf or Sound Realty
We enjoyed our stay at this home. It was clean and as described on the listing.
Stayed 7 nights in Jun 2020
Response from VrboOwner on 22 December 2020
Hi Chad,
Thank you for your review of your stay with us this summer. We're thrilled to hear that we provided a 5-star experience for you. We hope to see you again next year!
In general it was good. We had a great vacation. The house has a good amount of space a many amenities. We had a few minor issues: the dryer kept turning off. We had to restart it 5-6 times during a cycle. The hot tub also had some problems. It would stop heating. The house is a little close to NC-12. We loved the pool. The neighborhood is great and the beach is awesome.
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, Hope! We're glad your stay at Changes In Attitude - #476 was a positive one. It's always our goal to provide a comfortable and enjoyable experience, and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again for another memorable stay.
Verified review
8/10 Good
Verified traveller
31 May 2025
Stayed 7 nights in Apr 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 3 June 2025
Thank you, Kara! Please know we are always eager to know what we could be doing better - to earn a 5th star from you!