Located in Encanto, a neighbourhood in San Diego, this holiday home is in the mountains. Seaport Village and Fashion Valley Mall are worth checking out if shopping is on the agenda, while those wishing to experience the area's popular attractions can visit San Diego Zoo and USS Midway Museum. Travelling with kids? Don't miss Waterfront Park and Sesame Place San Diego.
St. Stephen's Church of God in Christ - 7 min drive - 2.7 km
Petco Park - 10 min drive - 11.6 km
San Diego Convention Center - 11 min drive - 12.3 km
San Diego State University - 11 min drive - 6.7 km
San Diego Zoo - 12 min drive - 13.8 km
Getting around
Encanto - 62nd St Trolley Station - 4 min drive
Old Town Transit Center - 14 min drive
San Diego, CA (MYF-Montgomery Field) - 13 min drive
Restaurants
Sam's Club Cafe - 5 min drive
McDonald's - 3 min drive
Jack in the Box - 3 min drive
Vaqueros Carne Asada - 5 min drive
Jack in the Box - 3 min drive
Frequently asked questions
Is "Medallion" Modern City Estate 7bed/5bath AC + VIEW pet-friendly?
Yes, this property allows pets (limit 2 total) with a maximum weight of up to 23 kg per pet.
How much does it cost to stay at "Medallion" Modern City Estate 7bed/5bath AC + VIEW?
As of 27 October 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at "Medallion" Modern City Estate 7bed/5bath AC + VIEW on 8 November 2026 start from NZ$2,573, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
How much is parking at "Medallion" Modern City Estate 7bed/5bath AC + VIEW?
On-site parking is available at the property.
What time is check-in at "Medallion" Modern City Estate 7bed/5bath AC + VIEW?
Check-in begins at 5:00 PM.
What time is check-out at "Medallion" Modern City Estate 7bed/5bath AC + VIEW?
Checkout is at 10:00 AM.
Where is "Medallion" Modern City Estate 7bed/5bath AC + VIEW located?
Located in the mountains, this family-friendly holiday home is within 6 mi (10 km) of San Diego State University, Balboa Park, and Cal Coast Credit Union Open Air Theater. San Diego City College and Viejas Arena are also within 6 miles (10 km).
Reviews
9.2
Wonderful
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
House was one of a kind experience! Eric and Paula were great host! We had a little hiccup with the neighbor but other than that the stay was amazing!!
Lovely property with great accommodations and location! Just far enough to be away from the hustle and bustle of down town yet close enough to get to where you need to be in a moments notice. Eric was great in communicating any needs I had and was very attentive to random questions that popped up!
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 12 September 2026
We’re so glad you had a great experience. We would love to host you anytime in the future.
Love this place, the host is great and communication was great. Stayed here before and look forward to coming back and staying again. Brought a youth group and there was plenty of room and activities.
Stayed 5 nights in Jun 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 27 July 2026
Thank you for staying with us again and we’re so glad you had a 10 out of 10 experience!!
The house was perfect for our annual family reunion! It was clean and comfortable. Our host, Eric, was quick to respond to our questions, and was so friendly. Parking was ample and we loved all of the rooms. Thank you so much!!
Stayed 6 nights in Jul 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 18 August 2026
We’re so glad you had an excellent time together at the house! We appreciate the opportunity to host your family! We would love to have you back anytime!
This place is huge! Perfect spot if you have a big group. Not too far from everything and quick access to the highway. There are plenty of beds, everything you need in the kitchen to cook and lots of hangout space. A/C worked good, beds were pretty solid, and priced fair.
Host was communicative and quick to respond when small things went wrong. Sent someone out next-day when the lock battery ran out, which was great. Cleaning crew didn’t do the best job but I let the host know and they said they would pass on so hopefully fixed in the future.
Stayed 6 nights in Aug 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 18 August 2026
Thank you! We’re glad you had an excellent experience and we appreciate your feedback about the cleaning and we spoke to the team to do a better job with the floors going forward!
The host was very prompt with replies to questions. House was easy to get to and the accommodations were clean. The roosters, barking dogs, and lack of washcloths, hand towels and dish towels prevented the 5-star rating.
Stayed 3 nights in Feb 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 15 March 2026
Thank you! We’re so glad you had a great experience!! Our apologies for the rooster and dogs that isn’t a common occurrence for the house .. we have asked cleaners to add more towels for our guests! Thank you for the feedback… We thank you for the opportunity to host you and welcome you back anytime!!
It was a fun place with games and activities provided which was great for our group. The host provided a video that walked through the house explaining where things were and how to operate appliances which was helpful. And he gave us a heads up about something that the cleaners had noticed before we checked in and was on top of addressing it right away.
House was awesome! Had a group of around 20 and it fit everyone. The host was super responseful and accommodating.Didnt feel cranned or anything even with 20 guys and the amenities where/view were great as well.Check-in/check-out was simple.Would recommend!
Stayed 3 nights in Feb 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 15 March 2026
Thank you! We’re so glad you had a 10/10 experience!! We thank you for the opportunity to host you and welcome you back anytime!!
Check in process was flawless and the place was super nice! Enjoyed staying there and will definitely keep it in mind if I end up staying in the area again
Stayed 6 nights in Mar 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 15 April 2024
Thank you for the 5star review!! . We are glad that you loved it. Look forward to hosting you anytime in the future.!!
This house was AMAZING! And so was the host, Eric!We had 8 adults, 2 kids and 2 small dogs in our group. Plenty of room to spread out. Various games and board games for the kids and adults. Kitchen was well supplied and roomy to fit a couple of cooks. We went in March and there was a lovely evening breeze. We made use of some of the beach supplies. Neighborhood was quiet in the evening. Freeway not far away. Downstairs was huge with 3 bedrooms, 2 baths and 2 living rooms. We highly recommend this house for your group!
Good lodging solution for a large family gathering, in town for a funeral. We had everything we needed, and a nice place to spend time together. Good location; easy to get to everywhere we needed to go.
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 18 April 2025
Thank you, Rebecca. We’re glad our home could provide a comfortable space for your family during such a meaningful and difficult time. It’s great to know the location and setup worked well for your needs. Wishing you and your family all the best, and we appreciate you choosing to stay with us.
We stayed at this property with a group of 7 adults and the place was perfect. Plenty of room in the house, amazing yard, and plenty of parking when we brought a small trailer. The hosts were very helpful, prompt at replying and made sure we had everything we needed. Check in and check out were super easy. Would highly recommend this place and hosts!
Stayed 5 nights in Feb 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 18 April 2025
Thank you so much, Ephriam! It was a pleasure hosting you and your group. We're really happy to hear the house and yard worked out so well for everyone—and that the parking was convenient for your trailer! Thanks as well for the kind words about our communication; we always aim to make the stay as smooth and enjoyable as possible. You’re welcome back anytime!
I'll start by saying the property did fulfill our needs; cleaned, lots of beds, bathrooms, and places to sit. The host was responsive and checkin was a breeze.That said, the property itself is very dated and in a not visually attractive neighborhood IMHO, both of which came as unwelcome surprises given the substantial rental rate.A few details: The dishes, pots, cooking utensils, cups, etc. are a random collection of old, odd pieces and often not enough of them for the large party we were. Many of the walls and other surfaces were scuffed up or otherwise in need of painting or an update. The exterior and landscaping are tired and in need of a refresh. The air conditioning is substandard, augmented by a collection of very loud indoor cooling units.So, yeah, I was disappointed in the value for cost. But it worked.
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 18 August 2026
Thank you for the thoughtful feedback. We’re glad to hear the home was clean, spacious, well-equipped with beds and bathrooms for your group, and that check-in and communication went smoothly.
We’re sorry the home didn’t fully meet your expectations in terms of value. We host many large groups and are fortunate that the overwhelming majority of our guests have had wonderful experiences, but we certainly understand that every guest has different preferences.
We do want to clarify a couple of points for future guests. The home has central air conditioning through the upstairs of the house. Because we often host groups of 15–20 people during the warmest part of the summer, with that amount of body heat and different guests comfort levels .. some want it cold cold some want it cool etc we also provide several supplemental portable AC units so guests can cool individual rooms to their preferred temperature. These are intended as an extra amenity rather than a replacement for the central AC. Abd provide flexibility for a large group’s temperature preference!
We also regularly touch up paint and maintain the home, although with large groups staying each week, occasional scuffs can happen between touch-ups. We appreciate the feedback regarding the kitchen inventory and will use it as an opportunity to review and refresh those items.
As for the neighborhood, the home is located in a well-established San Diego neighborhood where homes are typically around the $1M range. It isn’t a $5–10M luxury coastal neighborhood, and we try to price the property accordingly while offering something that can be difficult to find in San Diego: a large home with plenty of beds, bathrooms, gathering spaces, and amenities that can comfortably accommodate big groups.
We appreciate you staying with us and are glad the home ultimately worked well for your group.
This home was great for our family vacation. The seven bedrooms and five bathrooms gave us plenty of space for ten adults and three small children. We enjoyed the large gathering spaces too. The kitchen was nice and had great pantry space. We also enjoyed using some of the beach equipment on our trip to Coronado. The beds were comfortable and the home was close to everywhere we wanted to go. Checking in and out was easy and our host was responsive to every question we asked. We would stay here again!
Stayed 5 nights in May 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 2 July 2025
Thank you so much, Newell, for your kind words! We’re so glad to hear the home worked well for your family and that everyone—from the little ones to the adults—had the space and comfort they needed. It's great to know you enjoyed the kitchen, gathering areas, and beach gear for your Coronado trip. It was a pleasure hosting you, and we truly appreciate how smooth and respectful your communication was throughout. You’re welcome back anytime!
Awesome place to stay! The house was huge with lots of rooms and bathrooms for my big family of 20! So thankful there are places like this that can accommodate big families within reasonable pricing! There were lots of amenities to keep us occupied and entertained! Will definitely be staying here when we visit San Diego again! Thank you Eric & Paula for the attentive service, the great house, and for allowing us to enjoy your home!
Stayed 4 nights in Apr 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 13 April 2024
Thank you for staying with us!! We’re glad you had a 5 star stay and we hope to host you anytime in the future!!
All that it was made out to be. Eric was super helpful and the property was perfect. Only thing that was an issue was trash was full when we got there and didn’t get picked up for days. That is the city schedule not the property issue.
Stayed 5 nights in Jun 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 2 July 2025
Thank you so much for your kind review, Randall! We're happy to hear the property was a great fit for your group and that everything met your expectations. It was a pleasure hosting you, and we truly appreciate your understanding about the trash pickup timing — you're absolutely right, it's tied to the city’s schedule, but we're working on ways to manage that better between guest stays. Thanks again, and we’d love to welcome you back anytime!
Verified review
8/10 Good
sanjay j.
18 December 2025
Liked: Check-in, communication, listing accuracy
The property was as advertised, enough sleeping spaces for 14. Eric & Paula are very attentive and good hosts, got attention to anything we found quickly, like clogged drain. Hopefully the washer is working now. They arranged for mid week cleaning at our cost. Only thing would have been better if they paid attention to readiness of the home before we walked in. Like clogged drain, outdoor areas not swept, webs on outdoor furniture. We cleaned these and could enjoy. Will we stay again-YES.
Stayed 6 nights in Nov 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 2 January 2026
Thank you for your thoughtful and detailed review. We’re glad to hear that the home met your expectations, comfortably accommodated your group, and that you found us responsive and attentive during your stay. We truly appreciate you recognizing our quick communication and support.
We also appreciate your constructive feedback regarding the home’s readiness upon arrival. This is not the standard we aim for, and your comments have been shared with our cleaning and maintenance team to ensure closer attention to outdoor areas and pre-arrival checks going forward. The washer and drain issues have since been addressed to prevent future inconvenience.
Thank you again for choosing our home and for your helpful input. We’re happy to hear you would stay with us again and would be glad to host you in the future.