Birmingham is home to this cabin. Sloss Furnaces and Liberty Park & Statue of Liberty Replica are local landmarks, and some of the area's activities can be experienced at Avondale Brewing Company and Highland Park Golf Course. Looking to enjoy an event or a game? See what's going on at Barber Motorsports Park or Birmingham Jefferson Convention Complex.
The Outlet Shops of Grand River - 5 min drive - 9.0 km
Birmingham Race Course Casino - 6 min drive - 5.2 km
Liberty Park & Statue of Liberty Replica - 8 min drive - 14.5 km
Getting around
Birmingham Station - 17 min drive
Birmingham International Airport (BHM) - 11 min drive
Restaurants
Jack's Family Restaurant - 5 min drive
The Crab Barrack - 6 min drive
King Buffet - 6 min drive
Golden Rule Bar-B-Q and Grill - 4 min drive
Shell - 5 min drive
Frequently asked questions
Is The Cabin of Birmingham pet-friendly?
Yes, this property allows dogs (limit 2 total) with a maximum weight of up to 23 kg per pet.
How much does it cost to stay at The Cabin of Birmingham?
As of 31 October 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at The Cabin of Birmingham on 30 December 2026 start from NZ$1,506, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
How much is parking at The Cabin of Birmingham?
On-site parking is available at the property.
What time is check-in at The Cabin of Birmingham?
Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.
What time is check-out at The Cabin of Birmingham?
Checkout is at 11:00 AM.
Where is The Cabin of Birmingham located?
Located in Birmingham, this family-friendly cabin is 2.9 mi (4.6 km) from Train Watching Platform, and within 6 mi (10 km) of The Outlet Shops of Grand River and Cahaba River. New Bethel Baptist Church and Birmingham Race Course Casino are also within 6 miles (10 km).
Reviews
8.8
Excellent
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Pros of the property:Close to Barber race track, grocery stores and restaurants. Great game room in basement. Good laundry. Mattresses in most rooms were comfortable.Cons:The house was not very clean.The house has an active ant and cockroach issue. The desk in the loft was covered in mouse poop though I never saw one. Dead cockroaches in the downstairs bathroom.The neighbors dogs are very loud and would start barking very early.
A pleasant experience. Property was in a nice quiet neighborhood. Easy access from Highway but still tucked away and quiet. The Property owners communicated well.
Stayed 2 nights in Mar 2026
Verified review
4/10 Poor
Ruthanne R.
20 September 2026
Liked: Check-in, location, listing accuracy
Disliked: Cleanliness, communication
Unfortunately our experience wasn’t ideal. Upon arrival we found several live and dead cockroaches in the home. We understand that an occasional bug happens but we encountered over a dozen live roaches and one even crawled on my daughter in the upper loft while she was in bed. There were cockroach pellets all over the beds and all over the floors. We texted the owner and she originally offered to send cleaning people but never followed up and instead requested pictures and video (we have sent those to her). My husband purchased Borox to spread in the areas where we often found roaches to help the situation. Communication was poor with the owner either taking hours to respond or not responding at all. The owner did offer to refund our nights if we decided to leave but we were a party of 7 in town for a wedding and our options were limited. Under these circumstances I try to give the owner the opportunity to offer solutions but I felt that they offered no assistance. I’d highly recommend they get a good exterminator to regularly treat the property and monitor the cleaning of the floors and under beds and furniture. Also the kitchen could use some more silverware for larger groups, new knives as several have broken tips and several lights need bulbs replaced. The cabin is a neat place with lots to offer but it needs maintenance for the comfort and safety of its customers.
We only stayed one night at the property but it was lovely and clean with all amenities available and close to local services/ restaurants.
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2024
Verified review
10/10 Excellent
Teresa
20 October 2025
Liked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities, communication
This lovely cabin has multiple rooms with a variety of sleeping spaces that we really appreciated: king bedroom, quad bunk bedroom, and a loft with two double beds, plus three full bathrooms. This was great for our group of family and friends. We also appreciated all of the amenities in the kitchen, soaps/shampoos, plenty of towels, and a game room in the lower level. It was also a 15 minute drive to Barber race track, shopping, and restaurants. We look forward to a future stay!
A pleasant experience. Property was in a nice quiet neighborhood. The Property owners communicated well. We definitely would keep listing saved to use again if in Alabama again.
We really enjoyed the cabin. The game room was perfect for the kids. The entire family enjoyed the Jenga blocks. We had everything we needed. We will be planning to return for a longer stay
This was our 2nd time staying for a conference, and we had an awesome time! It’s surprising how few places there are in Birmingham to stay with an entire group of 8 people with enough bed/room options for mixed company. Very peaceful. Smooth in/out. No nonsense. Will come back!
Location perfect for our purpose. We liked the open kitchen/living area. Bedrooms and baths fine. Sufficient plates/utensils but nonstick pans heavily used/scratched and other cooking items minimal. We weren't disappointed though and it worked for our short stay.
Stayed 2 nights in Dec 2024
Verified review
6/10 Okay
Rachel I.
13 September 2025
Liked: Check-in, communication, listing accuracy
The host was very quick to reply while we were staying at the location & did their best to make sure we had what we needed for a comfortable stay. There were some issues I noticed that had to do with the cleaning crew but other than that, it was just what we needed. There is a sharp corner in the stairway leading to the loft and we did have some trouble keeping my toddler away from it but I recommended that the host get a baby gate for guests with babies. The equipment in the kitchen worked well. No complaints there. But the some of the games in the basement didn't work & that was a bit of a disappointment. Regardless, the kids still enjoyed it & it was a nice stay for what my family & I needed.
Stayed 1 night in Sep 2025
Verified review
2/10 Terrible
Jessica H.
30 March 2023
Liked: Cleanliness, check-in
Disliked: Communication, listing accuracy
Let down
It started off great while booking and asking questions was answered quickly. Once we arrived we had to go around and plug up everything in the house. Online says there is a jacuzzi or jetted tub however it doesnt work. I contacted the owner and they said they were sorry and the wife would answer me before my departure on what she can do to make it right. That was the last i heard from them. I have messaged several times and no response. The game room was freezing cold and not enjoyable. My main complaint is the no response and also the false advertising online.
Look for a different place to stay, property & owners need improvement!
Initially, it looked nice/smelled good. But everything was covered in dirt/dust. We opened the basement door, the musty smell of mildew was strong. It was dirty, including the games. Several loose/incorrect cover plates on outlets are in multiple rooms like the basement, the floor outlets had improper covers, which left outlets exposed on sides, which is dangerous. The owners use open game rm area for storage of random junk. We couldn’t use the basement futon due to smell & dirt downstairs. Of all cabins we’ve rented, this was the filthiest, least maintained. The upstairs shower leaked filthy, discolored water into the downstairs bathroom, which damaged several items. We called the owner, sent videos, and he seemed surprised. It had happened before. The wall, vanity, window, and curtain had old water stains & damage. The owner said, “just go ahead & continue to use it”. We said we could not keep using it, as it pours water into the downstairs bathroom, making more to clean up. Then we were unable to use 1 of the showers, left with only a tiny clawfoot tub. The owner said a plumber could come the next day. With our sched (including a wedding) we couldn’t wait for that. Owner offered if we could find new place, he would refund our money. We spent hours to find a place for a family of 7 (and 2 dogs) but couldn’t. The owner offered to (at least partially) reimburse but had to speak with his wife to get a “number”. After, we received no further contact. Before chk out, we got a message from them saying, “we hope you're enjoying your 5-star experience”. We said NO, then Terri responded by blaming us for having more people than we booked (which was untrue, proof on their video camera). She said if we had left right away, they would refund money, but since we didn’t, they would not. She said they did a walk thru before we arrived, everything was perfect. Shocking, due to the condition, but speaks to their inexperience. Had we found a new place, I don't think we would have got any refund, since they don’t honor their word. We never asked for refund for probs (as claimed by Terri)…this was offered by her husband. IF you book this bring your own TP, paper towels & trash bags. They gave 1 trash bag, 1 partial roll of paper towels, 2 partial rolls of TP in the bathrooms, for 7 people over 6 nights. Other things to note that are not controlled by owner: The neighbor’s dog is left out and barks continuously, day and night, which is heard in cabin.
Stayed 6 nights in Nov 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 1 January 2023
Mel, we did our best to accommodate you and if you were unhappy, you had the ability to find another place with a full refund. You had 7 people and there are 7 beds (8 with the futon), but you stated there weren’t enough beds without the futon. The only way that is true is if you had extra guests, which we are completely fine with btw, but I’m uncertain what you wanted us to do. We give our very best to our guests and though I am sorry we fell short with you, I do not know what more we could’ve done to make you happy. We attempted to try to help with whatever you needed during your stay and you asked my husband several times about getting refunded even though you chose to stay. We take a lot of pride in our place and are accessible 24/7 as we live very close. We are always open to solutions and if you had any, we would be open to hearing them.
The quiet neighborhood setting is a nice relief from a long day at the Motorsports park near by. With shopping and restaurants a short drive, it makes the house a great choice.