Secluded Lakefront Retreat on the Whitefish Lake Chain of Lakes

Photo gallery for Secluded Lakefront Retreat on the Whitefish Lake Chain of Lakes

A spacious kitchen with a central island, wooden dining table, and chairs. There is a large clock on the wall and a staircase leading to another level.
A spacious living area with a staircase, two grey sofas, a coffee table, and a kitchen in the background.
A spacious living area with a gray sofa, a wooden coffee table, and a large window offering a view of the outdoors.
A spacious living room with a fireplace, large windows, and a high ceiling with exposed beams.
A spacious kitchen with a large island, white cabinetry, and a view of the outdoors through a large window.

Reviews

9.6 out of 10
Exceptional

Highlights

  • Arcade/game room
    A rare find - fun for all ages with on-site arcade/game room.

Popular amenities

  • Spa pool on site
  • Patio
  • Toys
  • Barbecue
  • Air-conditioning
  • Refrigerator

Explore the area

View map
Pine River, MN
  • Place, Arrowhead Lake
    ‪2 min walk‬
  • Place, Gull Lake
    ‪46 min drive‬
  • Place, Brainerd International Raceway
    ‪53 min drive‬
  • Airport, Brainerd, MN (BRD-Brainerd Lakes Regional)
    ‪57 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

5 bedrooms (sleeps 17)

Bedroom 1 (Primary Bedroom Main House)

1 King Bed

Bedroom 2 (Upstairs Bedroom Main House)

1 Queen Bed and 1 Double Bed

Bedroom 3 (Large Basement Bedroom Main House)

2 Queen Beds and 1 Single Bunk Bed

Bedroom 4 (Small Basement Bedroom Main House)

1 Queen Bed

Bedroom 5 (Bunkhouse Above Garage)

2 Double Beds, 1 Queen Bed and 1 Single Bed

2 bathrooms, 1 half bathroom

Bathroom 1

Toilet · Shower only

Bathroom 2

Toilet · Shower only

Bathroom 3

Bathtub · Toilet · Shower only

Bathroom 4

Bathtub or shower · Toilet

Bathroom 5

Toilet

Spaces

Deck or patio
Kitchen
Garden

Add dates for prices

Similar properties

About the area

Pine River

Located in Pine River, this holiday home is on the waterfront. Upgaard Wildlife Management Area and Crow Wing State Forest reflect the area's natural beauty and area attractions include Paul Bunyan Scenic Byway and Kicks on Route 66. Enjoy the area's slopes with cross-country skiing, and don't miss out on the ice skating.
Map
Pine River, MN

What's nearby

  • Arrowhead Lake - 2 min walk - 0.2 km
  • Cross Lake Recreation Area - 23 min drive - 24.8 km
  • Gull Lake - 46 min drive - 59.1 km
  • Brainerd International Raceway - 53 min drive - 68.8 km
  • Northern Lights Casino - 59 min drive - 81.0 km

Getting around

  • Brainerd, MN (BRD-Brainerd Lakes Regional) - 63 min drive

Restaurants

  • ‪Moonlite Bay Family Restaurant & Bar - ‬23 min drive
  • ‪The Wharf - ‬26 min drive
  • ‪The Yellow House - ‬26 min drive
  • ‪Norway Ridge Supper Club - ‬34 min drive
  • ‪Old Milwaukee Saloon & Eatery - ‬34 min drive

Frequently asked questions

Is Secluded Lakefront Retreat on the Whitefish Lake Chain of Lakes pet-friendly?

No, pets are not allowed at this property.

How much does it cost to stay at Secluded Lakefront Retreat on the Whitefish Lake Chain of Lakes?

As of 29 October 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Secluded Lakefront Retreat on the Whitefish Lake Chain of Lakes on 8 November 2026 start from NZ$2,588, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.

How much is parking at Secluded Lakefront Retreat on the Whitefish Lake Chain of Lakes?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at Secluded Lakefront Retreat on the Whitefish Lake Chain of Lakes?

Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.

What time is check-out at Secluded Lakefront Retreat on the Whitefish Lake Chain of Lakes?

Checkout is at 10:00 AM.

Where is Secluded Lakefront Retreat on the Whitefish Lake Chain of Lakes located?

This family-friendly Pine River holiday home is located on the waterfront, steps from Arrowhead Lake and within 9 mi (15 km) of Paul Bunyan Scenic Byway and Big Trout Lake. Kicks on Route 66 and West Fox Lake are also within 12 miles (20 km).

Reviews

9.6

Exceptional

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 12 out of 14 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 1 out of 14 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 0 out of 14 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 1 out of 14 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 0 out of 14 reviews

9.8/10

Cleanliness

9.4/10

Check-in

9.4/10

Communication

9.6/10

Location

9.4/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great Vacation

Very clean, great communication, perfect long weekend winter vacation!!
Stayed 3 nights in Feb 2024
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great Family Time

We had the best time staying here! It was BEAUTIFUL and came with so many things such as toilet paper, paper towels, spices, cleaning supplies, coffee, games, and so much more!!!We will def be going back!
Stayed 2 nights in May 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Excellent

We had a great time at your cabin. Everything was clean and as advertised with plenty of space. It was the perfect spot for our group trip!
Stayed 3 nights in Sep 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 24 September 2023
We very much enjoyed hosting Joe and his party at our property. We hope Joe will stay with us again sometime in the future!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Weekend stay

Patrick was very accommodating and the place was in great shape. It had all of the amenities and necessary kitchen items we needed which came in handy. It was warm and cozy, would recommend.
Stayed 2 nights in Feb 2023
Verified review

4/10 Poor

Disliked: Check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
There were several significant issues with this property and its host that prospective renters should be aware of before booking.First, the check-in process was poorly handled. The host's pre-arrival communication indicated that check-in details would be provided in advance. They were not. We had to follow up ourselves to obtain the entry instructions, which is not an acceptable way to welcome guests.Second, and more seriously, the host disclosed in the listing that cameras were present at the front of the property facing the driveway. What was not disclosed is that there are multiple additional cameras on the back of the property overlooking the deck and private outdoor areas. Those cameras also record audio. This was never mentioned in the listing, and we did not discover it until we arrived.The undisclosed cameras are a direct violation of Vrbo's surveillance disclosure policy, which requires hosts to disclose the location and coverage of all exterior devices in writing on the property listing. The host did not do that.We filed a formal complaint with Vrbo. Vrbo contacted the property owner regarding this matter. As of the time of this review, more than two weeks have passed with no resolution, which I understand is due to a lack of response from the owner.If accurate disclosure matters to you, and if you expect your host to communicate proactively and honestly, look elsewhere.
Stayed 7 nights in Jul 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 17 September 2026
I am sorry you did not have a superior experience at our property. It was a surprise seeing all of your concerns in your review for the first time, since you never reached out to us letting us know that you felt anything was amiss or concerning to you during or after your stay. We pride ourselves on responding to and making right any guest concerns or problems and soon as they contact us. We never heard from you after your last email to us, sent to us one day before your check-in. We sincerely apologize for not sending you the check-in details in advance as promised. That is our fault and we own that mistake. Missed check-in notifications are not something that has happened with us previously or since, and if we had known it was an issue for you, we would have found a way to make it right for you immediately. We still are willing to do so if you just reach out to us directly. Regarding your comments about the security cameras on the outside of our property, we have very good reasons for those we want all guests to understand: We do not have any cameras on the inside of our property, only on the outside. We do not have cameras facing any areas where guests typically spend any time. None of our cameras record audio. We have only four cameras: 1. One pointing at the garbage bins on the driveway by the garage 2. One pointed at the steps leading to the main door of the main house 3. One pointed at the sliding glass door on the upper deck on the lake side of the house 4. One pointed at the yard from the vantage of the primary bedroom sliding glass door We have two very important reasons for these cameras, both of which are for the benefit of our guests: 1. We have nuisance bears in the area that occasionally get into the outdoor trash bins and spread the trash all around the property, which can be a big mess and pretty gross. The only way we can know when this has happened with enough time to clean it up right away and before the next guests arrive is by using the cameras. We do not want guests to arrive with stinky trash everywhere, which is what happened occasionally before we had the cameras. 2. Our property is very secluded and it is vacant some of the time in the off season (Nov to Apr) between guest bookings. The cameras help us deter and detect intruders so that our guests do not arrive at our property after a break-in or feel insecure in our remote and secluded location. Although break-ins in the area are very rare, we do not want out guests to feel unsafe in any way. The cameras help us monitor the property and protect it from intruders or vandals or criminals of any kind, without interfering with the privacy of our guests. We have specifically positioned all cameras to minimally allow us to view only those specific places where bear or potential intruder activity might occur. We have no reason or desire for our exterior cameras to monitor our guests during their stay with us, and we took great care to position them accordingly. We have added wording to our listing explaining why the cameras are there. If you would like to discuss any of these matters, we are always happy to talk to you or any guest about any concerns.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
We had a great time! We had 5 kids and 7 adults, there was plenty of room for the kids to run around and the adults to relax. The house was beautiful. We enjoyed the game room in the garage and the use of the kayaks. We loved that it was set of a huge chain of lakes. We rented jetskis one day and it was a breeze to switch out riders with the dock on the property. Patrick responded very quickly when I reached out a couple of times. Would recommend this property to everyone!
Stayed 4 nights in Jul 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Right on the lake with access to the greater whitefish chain. The house was clean and plenty of room for guests. The kitchen was clean and had all the utensils we needed.
Stayed 4 nights in Jun 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Such a stunning property!

We had such a great time relaxing and hanging out at this gorgeous property. So fun to walk around the lakes, spend time cooking together in the kitchen, and playing games in the garage!
Stayed 2 nights in Dec 2022
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great place

Great place!
Stayed 3 nights in Nov 2022
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Family Gathering 9/22-9/25

The property was very nice and located in a good area. We love that we can use the dock for our boat for the guys to go fishing. We all had a lovely time. The only thing I suggest is adding motion lights around the entrance door and maybe separate the beds since they were too close to each other for privacy. We would go again with less people next time around.
Stayed 3 nights in Sep 2022
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Whitefish Lake Home

This property is amazing. The house is updated and has plenty of room for our family get together. The bunk house was a nice addition for more quest. Lots of restaurants and activities to do near by. Overall we all loved the place and enjoyed our short stay here. We’ll definitely be back in the future.
Stayed 3 nights in Sep 2022
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Stayed 7 nights in Jul 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Stayed 2 nights in Jan 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Stayed 3 nights in Sep 2024
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback