Entire home

Historic Old Towne Southern Charm

Photo gallery for Historic Old Towne Southern Charm

A modern kitchen with white cabinets, a central island, hanging pots, and a black trash bin.
A bedroom with a bed, a chair, a desk, and a ceiling fan.
A candy store with a variety of sweets displayed in glass cases.
A waterfront restaurant with a prominent sign and a brick-paved entrance.
A living room with a sofa, chairs, a coffee table, and a ceiling fan.

Reviews

9.2 out of 10
Wonderful

Highlights

  • Firepit available
    One of the few properties with a dedicated outdoor firepit.
  • Centrally-located
    You're never far from where you need to be with this convenient location.
  • Discover nearby landmarks
    Close to Waterside District

Popular amenities

  • Balcony
  • Dog-friendly
  • Air-conditioning
  • Refrigerator
  • Internet
  • Washing machine

Explore the area

View map
Portsmouth, VA
  • Place, Children's Museum of Virginia
    ‪5 min walk‬
  • Place, Portsmouth Naval Shipyard Museum
    ‪6 min walk‬
  • Place, Waterside District
    ‪19 min walk‬
  • Airport, Norfolk, VA (ORF-Norfolk Intl.)
    ‪23 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

2 bedrooms (sleeps 8)

Bedroom 1

1 Queen Bed

Bedroom 2

1 King Bed and 1 Single Bed

Living Room 1

1 Double Sofa Bed

2 bathrooms

Bathroom 1

Towels provided · Toilet · Shower only

Bathroom #2

Towels provided · Toilet · Shower only · Hair dryer

Spaces

Deck or patio
Kitchen
Balcony
Number of living rooms
Garden

Add dates for prices

Have a question?

AI iconBeta

Get instant answers with AI powered search of property information and reviews.

Similar properties

About the area

Portsmouth

Portsmouth is home to this holiday home. Travellers eager for a bit of culture can stop by Veterans United Home Loans Amphitheater at Virginia Beach, while those who have shopping on the agenda may want to visit Waterside District and Greenbrier Mall. Looking to enjoy an event or a game while in town? See what's going on at Harbor Park, or consider a night out at Froggies.
Map
Portsmouth, VA

What's nearby

  • Commodore Theatre - 5 min walk - 0.4 km
  • Children's Museum of Virginia - 5 min walk - 0.4 km
  • Portsmouth Naval Shipyard Museum - 6 min walk - 0.6 km
  • Waterside District - 19 min walk - 1.6 km
  • Town Point Park - 7 min drive - 4.4 km

Getting around

  • Ft Norfolk-Medical Center Station - 6 min drive
  • Norfolk Station - 8 min drive
  • Norfolk, VA (ORF-Norfolk Intl.) - 19 min drive

Restaurants

  • ‪McDonald's - ‬7 min walk
  • ‪Subway - ‬13 min walk
  • ‪Church's Chicken - ‬6 min walk
  • ‪Waterside Marina - ‬7 min drive
  • ‪The Bier Garden - ‬3 min walk

Frequently asked questions

Is Historic Old Towne Southern Charm pet-friendly?

Yes, this property allows dogs (limit 2 total) with a maximum weight of up to 23 kg per pet.

How much is parking at Historic Old Towne Southern Charm?

This property doesn't offer parking.

What time is check-in at Historic Old Towne Southern Charm?

Check-in begins at 3:00 PM.

What time is check-out at Historic Old Towne Southern Charm?

Checkout is at 11:00 AM.

Where is Historic Old Towne Southern Charm located?

Situated in Portsmouth, this holiday home is within 1 mi (2 km) of Commodore Theatre and Waterside District. Portsmouth Art and Cultural Center and Emanuel AME Church are also within 5 minutes. MacArthur Square Station is 28 minutes by foot.

Reviews

9.2

Wonderful

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 36 out of 50 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 8 out of 50 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 4 out of 50 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 1 out of 50 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 1 out of 50 reviews

9.4/10

Cleanliness

10/10

Amenities

10/10

Property conditions & facilities

9.6/10

Check-in

9.8/10

Communication

9.6/10

Location

9.2/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Our stay was good in the whole. The lock set up wasn’t ideal, however the property manager was tireless in getting it re programmed. The apartment was clean and the location ideal for exploring the Norfolk area. Our stay was fun and the apartment was just right for our needs.
Stayed 4 nights in Oct 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 24 October 2026
Thank you for sharing your feedback! We’re glad you enjoyed your stay, found the apartment clean and comfortable, and appreciated the convenient location for exploring the Norfolk area. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience with the lock and appreciate your patience while we worked to resolve the issue. We’re happy we could get everything sorted out and that the apartment met your needs. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
The Host was very responsive to our messages and the property was a great fit for our family!
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
The host Latonya is very accommodating. We loved the location and everything was close by and how quick it was to get to the beach.
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Amazing host! Great property, she even left little snacks.
Stayed 5 nights in Jul 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
We had so much fun exploring the Historic Downtown houses, businesses and market on Saturday. Great location for access to all the neighboring cities. Less than a half hour drive to the beach and lots of family fun.
Stayed 10 nights in Jun 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Great communication with our host, home was clean and decorated beautifully. The kitchen is perfectly equipped, and included many extra touches. Great location in walking distance to many restaurants, etc. It was an exceptionally hot few days, so the main a/c unit couldn’t keep up, but the window unit kept us very comfortable in the bedroom.
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 19 August 2026
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We truly appreciate your kind words about the cleanliness, décor, fully equipped kitchen, and thoughtful extra touches. We’re also glad the location made it easy for you to enjoy the nearby restaurants and attractions. We know the temperatures were exceptionally hot during your stay, and we’re happy the additional window unit helped keep you comfortable. It was a pleasure hosting you, and we would love to welcome you back to Garden of Lotus again!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Charming property. Host was friendly and accommodating. House was clean and very pleasant.
Stayed 4 nights in May 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Loved our stay
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2025
Verified review

4/10 Poor

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location
Latoya property was just as the pictures shown on the website. Everything was clean but the foul animal smells was troubling especially in the entrance way of the apartment. I was so turned off by the smell I was forced to sleep in the upper bedroom were the smell was not present. When I mentioned the odor she said it was the wood of the old home. I did not make a fuse because I was barely in the home due to planned events but historic downtown Virginia will never be considered as a rental place for me…
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 27 September 2026
Thank you for sharing your feedback. While I’m glad you found the property clean and as pictured, I do want to clarify a few points for future guests. Unfortunately, it seems this home was not a good fit for you. You arrived after 11:00 PM and had not reviewed the check-in instructions prior to your arrival. As a result, you had to reach out to me during the late-night hours for assistance with accessing the property, even though the check-in instructions had been provided in advance. Regarding the odor you described as a “foul cat smell,” there have never been cats kept in the home. You advised me that once you reached the landing of the primary living area of the home, you no longer smelled the odor. I understand that historic properties may not appeal to everyone, and I respect that this particular home and the historic downtown area were not your preference. I do, however, encourage future guests to carefully review the complete listing and check-in instructions before booking and arriving so they can determine whether the property is a good fit for their needs.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Perfect property for our group.
Stayed 4 nights in Jan 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Best location, well decorated, ready to use kitchen, very comfortable
Stayed 7 nights in Nov 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
My stay was excellent, clean, charming and very spacious
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 20 October 2025
Hi Carla, Thank you so much for taking the time to rate your stay with us! We’re thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful experience and honored that you gave us a perfect 10/10. Your kind words and support truly mean the world to us. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Had a great experience!
Stayed 2 nights in Nov 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 1 December 2025
Zachary it was a pleasure to host you. We are delighted that you had a great experience and welcome you back again in the future.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great stay

Very clean and a great location
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 20 August 2024
Brian, thank you for taking time to review your stay. We are pleased to know that our home was suitable for you and your family.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Yes, the house was such fun and we loved Old Town. It was a great way to celebrate a birthday!
Stayed 3 nights in Jan 2026
Verified review

2/10 Terrible

Disliked: Cleanliness, location, listing accuracy
Host will ask you to keep your toddler quiet during normal times of the day that are not listed as quiet hours when they were just walking through the house. host lives right below you which isn’t listed in the listing, also cockroaches in the kitchen REALLY bad!
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 17 July 2026
Thank you for your feedback. I would like to provide additional context for future guests. The toddler was not simply walking through the home. Beginning at approximately 6:30 a.m., there was repeated running throughout the upstairs unit. It was not until the 10:00 a.m. hour that I politely asked that the running inside the home be minimized. The request was made not only out of consideration for the shared living arrangement, as the upstairs unit is directly above the host’s residence, but also for the child’s safety. There are several areas within reasonable walking distance, including a playground designed for young children, that provide a more appropriate space for active play. The listing clearly states that the host resides in the downstairs unit. This information is disclosed prior to booking, and guests are encouraged to review the listing in its entirety to ensure the property meets their expectations. Regarding the insect reported, homes in this historic waterfront area may occasionally experience water bugs. When the concern was brought to my attention, I responded promptly and addressed it immediately. If there had been a legitimate issue that warranted a refund, I would have been happy to work with the guests to reach a fair resolution. My goal is always to provide a comfortable stay while responding promptly and professionally to any concerns that arise.
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Good location

Host was great and the home is conveniently located to walk downtown and to the waterfront.
Stayed 3 nights in May 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 30 May 2025
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We noticed you rated your experience 3 out of 5, and we truly appreciate your honesty. We’re always striving to improve, and your feedback is important to us. Could you please share what we could have done to make your stay more enjoyable? We’d love the opportunity to learn and do better.
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Check-in, communication, location
Overall our stay was good and the host was great in terms of communication and friendliness. There is a lot of space and plenty of extra blankets, pillows, etc. I was a bit disappointed in the (lack of) cleanliness and a few of the lights and main living room TV not working (we suspected that it could just be a faulty extension cord) given the price of our stay, but I would consider staying there again if traveling in this area. A good deep clean would really elevate this property as a rental, but we really appreciated the kitchen and laundry amenities. Thanks for the stay!
Stayed 4 nights in May 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 21 May 2026
Thank you for your feedback. We do appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. However, at no point during your stay were we made aware that the TV was not working. We had guests check out prior to your arrival and no concerns regarding the TV were reported. Regarding cleanliness, after each guest we complete a deep cleaning of the property, so we are unsure specifically what areas you felt were not clean. We certainly understand that everyone’s standards and expectations may differ. We also had the opportunity to speak face to face during your stay, and at no point were any concerns or issues expressed to us. In fact, our interactions seemed to indicate that everything was going well. That said, we are glad you enjoyed the space, kitchen, laundry amenities, and our communication and hospitality. We appreciate your stay and your feedback.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
The host was excellent. The location was the best part and the house was perfect for our group. It had two living areas and a table that seated 8 people for our Thanksgiving feast.!!
Stayed 8 nights in Nov 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

great time

great location and a great host I would stay again
Stayed 5 nights in Sep 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 17 October 2024
Randy thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and cannot wait to have you visit with us again. Best Latonya
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

A great place to stay!

Latonya did a great job at making us feel welcome and at home! The rental is very well taken care of and very close to many attractions and beaches. 10/10 would recommend and will definitely return if we come back to the area!
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 20 October 2025
Hi Daniel, Thank you so much for your sweet review! It truly makes me happy to know you felt welcome and at home — that’s exactly what I hope for every guest. I’m so glad you enjoyed the space and the nearby attractions. You were such a pleasure to host, and I’d love to have you back anytime you’re in the area!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Virgina beach getaway

you will not be disappointed this place, and the owner are awesome!
Stayed 7 nights in Sep 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 17 October 2024
Dan thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are so delighted that you had an awesome stay! We look forwarded to having you again in the future. Best Latonya
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great location

Perfect for visiting everything in Portsmouth and the Hampton Roads area. Spacious well stocked unit.
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 20 October 2025
Thank you for your kind review! I’m glad you enjoyed the convenient location and found everything you needed for a comfortable stay. You’re welcome back anytime!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great Area and Nice House

Enjoyed our stay, very close to lots of attractions. Nice unit for family groups. Nicely decorated.
Stayed 4 nights in Jul 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 29 September 2024
Hi Mary, thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed visiting with us and we welcome you back anytime.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities, communication
Great property and so close to all Olde Towne Portsmouth has to offer. I'll be back! :-)
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2025
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback