South Fork is home to this cottage. Wolf Creek Ski Area and Rio Grande Club are worth checking out if an activity is on the agenda, while those wishing to experience the area's natural beauty can explore Coller State Wildlife Area and Rio Grande. Wolf Creek Anglers and Rio Grande County Museum and Cultural Center are also worth visiting.
Denver and Rio Grande Western Railroad - 2 min drive - 2.6 km
Rio Grande National Forest - 4 min drive - 5.2 km
Wolf Creek Anglers - 4 min drive - 4.1 km
Rio Grande Club - 6 min drive - 6.3 km
Wolf Creek Ski Area - 34 min drive - 37.9 km
Restaurants
Gone Rogue - 4 min drive
Ramon's Mexican Restaurant - 3 min walk
Mountain Pizza & Taproom - 17 min walk
The Malt Shoppe - 3 min drive
Tiny Timbers Resort & Coffee Bistro - 5 min drive
Frequently asked questions
Is Rio Cabin - Serenity on the South Fork pet-friendly?
Yes, this property allows dogs (limit 1 total) with a maximum weight of up to 23 kg per pet.
How much does it cost to stay at Rio Cabin - Serenity on the South Fork?
As of 31 October 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Rio Cabin - Serenity on the South Fork on 4 November 2026 start from NZ$2,319, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
How much is parking at Rio Cabin - Serenity on the South Fork?
On-site parking is available at the property.
What time is check-in at Rio Cabin - Serenity on the South Fork?
Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.
What time is check-out at Rio Cabin - Serenity on the South Fork?
Checkout is at 10:00 AM.
Where is Rio Cabin - Serenity on the South Fork located?
Situated in South Fork, this cottage is within 3 miles (5 km) of Denver and Rio Grande Western Railroad, Rio Grande and Wolf Creek Anglers. Rio Grande Club and Rio Grande National Forest are also within 6 miles (10 km).
Reviews
9.6
Exceptional
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
The property was in a great location on the river and within walking distance to several restaurants.When we got there the floor was sticky, as was the cooktop. The only way to get ice from the refrigerator was to open the door and the water leaked from the refrigerator door.The major bathroom door was stuck and one of the cabinet doors was wonky. Luckily, my husband is a builder and remodel contractor and had tools with him to fix them.The outdoor furniture was in rather poor shape.In the other bedrooms there was no chest of drawers or anything but the floor to put our suitcases.
Great property and we all had a great time. Caught a couple of fish and loved the serenity provided by the sound of the river. Close to stores and amenities.
We could have stayed on the back deck 24/7 listening to the river and watching wildlife - it’s so peaceful. Home had everything we needed and beds were very cozy.
We absolutely loved the property. Very clean, well appointed, very spacious in the hot tub was great after a long day of skiing. Perfect location in the middle of town, close to everything. We will definitely be back.
Absolutely love this house from the location to everything inside of it!!! Best part was communication with the host!! It was AMAZING! Would definitely recommend this house to anyone looking!!!
We stayed here for a weekend and the home was amazing. It's well equipped with all of the essentials. The hot tub and back deck overlooking the river were perfect for enjoying morning coffee or an afternoon soak. The property manager was absolutely amazing, wonderful communication and just all around lovely. We will definitely be back.
The river is right in the back yard. So pretty and peaceful! Hot tub on the porch, when we would come back in the evenings the kids got in the hot tub and they loved it. Plenty of room in the house and everything you need to cook Our trip got cut short and family members were unable to come, but we can’t wait to come back!
This was a great home for our family ski vacation. Equipped and cozy, with plenty of sleeping space. Beautiful spot right on the river, and the hot tub on the deck was very appreciated. Convenient to Wolf Creek and Doc’s rentals. The drive down/up from the highway could be tough in some conditions, but we had no trouble with our van. JoyceAnn is nice and easy to communicate with. We hope to return. Recommended!
We enjoyed our stay here. The host was very helpful and always responded promptly. The hot tub was great, and the views from the back porch were amazing! There was plenty of space for 2 families. Pretty much everything we needed was provided, including an extra microwave when the one installed in the house was not working. A little more attention could be paid to the cleaning of the floors, as we found lots of dog hair and crumbs. But otherwise we really enjoyed our stay here.
This house sits right on the river- so close that the water is right at the edge of the deck. Also the deck is way bigger in person than in the photos. The hot tub is huge! The bedrooms were spacious and we got nice cool air coming in the windows at night.
The kitchen is large and open to the living & dining area so it was perfect for our whole family to be together while cooking or watching a movie on the large TV at night.
The best part was sitting on the deck and just hearing the water!
Also, the host was very quick to respond to questions. Overall a wonderful stay!
The inside was surface clean but the outside was not well maintained. The porch was very dirty. The grill was filthy. There were weeds in the flower pots (no flowers) and there were trees growing through the deck. There was no gas in the fire pit. Should try to clean a bit more.
Stayed 8 nights in Aug 2024
Verified review
6/10 Okay
Robert T.
17 July 2025
Liked: Check-in, communication, listing accuracy
Disliked: Cleanliness
The hot tub was very dirty. The shower curtain was very dirty. Bedroom door and bathroom door wouldn’t shut in master bedroom. Tv remote missing and was told to use a phone as a remote. Over all it could be a very nice place if it were taken care of better. Also ice maker machine wouldn’t work and the toaster cord was burnt. Toilet seat was loose was I was asked to tighten it up by manager. Spider webs inside and outside. I will not stay here again.
Stayed 6 nights in Jul 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 19 July 2025
We are sorry you did not have a good experience in this cabin on the river. I would like to address the issues you mentioned. The hot tub was pumped and filled with clean water JUST PRIOR to your arrival. We were not aware of the doors not closing properly but will certainly look into it. The tv remote was there for the previous guests. Wasn’t aware that it was gone until you called and told us. Unfortunately, we are very remote here in South Fork. A remote has been ordered but will be several days before it arrives.
You called and told us the toilet seat was broken after you had been there some time. My husband was on the way to the hardware store for a replacement when you called back and said it wasn’t broken, only needed to be tightened, and you offered to tighten it. You were not told to tighten it.
River properties are highly sought after because of the fishing. What makes the fishing so good are the certain insect hatches. Unfortunately, spiders thrive on the bugs as well. We do our best to keep webs removed but it can be a daily battle.
The house is in a lovely location on the river with a nice large deck. The kitchen is nicely outfitted with all the things you might need. The house was comfortable. While the river is only steps from the back deck, with a lovely view of trees across the river, the access to the river was impeded by lots of overgrowth and a funny structure which was in the way of being able to fish from the bank, only a few feet were accessible. The campfire turned out to be a propane table which was out of propane. The hot tub was over-chlorinated which burned your eyes and nose. The back deck was covered in spiderwebs. One bathroom was accessible by 2 pocket doors, one opened to the bedroom and one opened to a hallway. The lock was broken on the hallway door which made it awkward while staying with family, you want to be able to lock the door to the bathroom.
We enjoyed our time and the location is excellent so giving this house 4 stars but we were disappointed in the above items.
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2024
Verified review
10/10 Excellent
Marilyn D.
30 June 2026
Liked: Location
House being on the water was exactly what we wanted. Back porch was extremely nice all day. Near lots of fishing areas. House was clean except for spider webs on baseboards in dining room and back porch. But overall this house was perfect for us.