Cabin

Virginia's House | Hocking Hills, Unique Retreat

Photo gallery for Virginia's House | Hocking Hills, Unique Retreat

A modern cabin with a fire pit, outdoor seating, and a hot tub.
A bedroom with a large window, a bed with green and beige pillows, a ceiling fan, and a nightstand with a lamp.
A cabin with a deck, a hot tub, and a fire pit surrounded by trees.
A modern living room with a sofa, a coffee table, and a large window.
A modern kitchen with a central island, green cabinets, a black refrigerator, and a window with a view.

Reviews

8.8 out of 10
Excellent

Highlights

  • Made for relaxation
    Top-rated for comfort — guests feel right at home here.
  • Discover nearby landmarks
    Near Wayne National Forest Athens Unit

Popular amenities

  • Spa pool on site
  • Barbecue
  • Air-conditioning
  • Refrigerator
  • Onsite parking available
  • Fireplace

Explore the area

View map
Creola, OH
  • Place, Wayne National Forest Athens Unit
    ‪1 min walk‬
  • Place, Hocking Hills State Park
    ‪13 min drive‬
  • Place, Old Man's Cave
    ‪23 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

1 bedroom (sleeps 2)

Bedroom 01

1 King Bed

1 bathroom

Bathroom 1

Bathtub · Toilet · Shower only

Spaces

Kitchen

Add dates for prices

Have a question?

AI iconBeta

Get instant answers with AI powered search of property information and reviews.

Similar properties

About the area

New Plymouth

Located in New Plymouth, this cabin is in a rural area. The Perfect Touch Massage & Traveling Spa and R Adventure Park are worth checking out if an activity is on the agenda, while those wishing to experience the area's natural beauty can explore Hocking Hills State Park and Lake Hope State Park. Take some time off to enjoy the health/beauty spas in the area, or get some fresh air with adventures like hiking nearby.
Map
Creola, OH

What's nearby

  • Wayne National Forest Athens Unit - 1 min walk - 0.0 km
  • Hocking Hills State Park - 13 min drive - 14.2 km
  • Old Man's Cave - 23 min drive - 25.9 km
  • Hocking Hills Regional Welcome Center - 28 min drive - 33.7 km
  • Ohio University - 39 min drive - 47.0 km

Restaurants

  • ‪Lake Hope Lodge - ‬24 min drive
  • ‪Pizza Crossing - ‬16 min drive
  • ‪Granny's Acres - ‬8 min drive
  • ‪Owl's Nest - ‬20 min drive
  • ‪Village Inn - ‬17 min drive

Frequently asked questions

Is Virginia's House | Hocking Hills, Unique Retreat pet-friendly?

No, only service animals are welcome at the property.

How much is parking at Virginia's House | Hocking Hills, Unique Retreat?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at Virginia's House | Hocking Hills, Unique Retreat?

Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.

What time is check-out at Virginia's House | Hocking Hills, Unique Retreat?

Checkout is at 11:00 AM.

Where is Virginia's House | Hocking Hills, Unique Retreat located?

Situated in a rural location, this cabin is steps from Wayne National Forest Athens Unit and within 9 mi (15 km) of Hocking Hills State Park and Stone Valley Ranch. Continuing Healthcare Solutions and Lake Hope State Park are also within 9 miles (15 km).

Reviews

8.8

Excellent

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 32 out of 56 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 15 out of 56 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 7 out of 56 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 1 out of 56 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 1 out of 56 reviews

8.8/10

Cleanliness

2.0/10

Amenities

10/10

Property conditions & facilities

9.6/10

Check-in

9.2/10

Communication

8.4/10

Location

8.8/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
The place was great. Very remote, it was the perfect getaway.
Stayed 4 nights in Aug 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 6 September 2026
We’re happy the remote setting was just what you needed for a peaceful getaway! Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to welcome you back for another escape!
From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

Great unplugged getaway for our 10 year anniversary!

We had previously stayed in the Emerson which we LOVED, but Virginia's House felt a little "fancier" which was perfect for the occasion. The decor was simple and romantic and the location of this cabin feels a little more secluded. We expect we will stay at Wilder again in the future!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
The house was lovely and very quiet. The hot tub was a nice addition after hiking all day. Wonderful to be able to see stunning view of the stars.
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 14 September 2026
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We’re thrilled you enjoyed the peaceful house, relaxing hot tub, and beautiful starry skies after your hiking adventures. We’d love to welcome you back for another getaway!
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
The hot tube failed the second night and was not able to use. That sucked and was a main reason why we purchased this cabin. I did love the area. Just wanted everything to work.
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Beautiful place to stay. My husband and I enjoyed it. Although we spent most of our time enjoying the trails and exploring the near by towns. It was nice to have somewhere to relax. Thanks.
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 28 August 2026
Thank you for the lovely review! We’re happy you and your husband had a wonderful time exploring the trails and nearby towns, while still having a comfortable place to unwind afterward. We hope to see you again!
From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

Loved it and will do it again

I loved how quiet it was and how peaceful it was
Response from VrboOwner on 26 October 2026
Thank you so much, Kayvona, for your wonderful review! We’re so happy to hear you enjoyed the peaceful and quiet atmosphere of the cabin. Creating a relaxing getaway where guests can unwind and reconnect with nature is exactly what we hope to provide. We truly appreciate you choosing to stay with us and would love to welcome you back for another peaceful Hocking Hills escape!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
We stayed in the Virginia's house cabin. The property was as described by the hosts. very clean, very discreet and private. The property was close to other cabins but at the same time it was far away from anything else. we didn't even know the other cabins were there. We have Tmobile cell service and had no issues the entire weekend at the cabin. We enjoyed the disconnect from the world and the surrounding hiking and everything that hocking county has to offer. The only downside that the property had was the driveway and it is gravel, with big divets and just go slow and navigate it and you will be fine. Great time and will visit and recommend to others.
Stayed 3 nights in Oct 2026
From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

Peaceful

No WiFi, forest views, peaceful, unplugged getaway
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Check-in, communication, location
A great stay with everything we needed! Some quirks in the house, but overall a great time. Pricing could be a bit lower for the stay. Would recommend.
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 1 May 2026
Thank you so much for staying with us and for the thoughtful feedback—we’re really glad you had a great time overall! We appreciate your note on pricing and will definitely keep that in mind. We’d love to host you again anytime!
From a partner site

8/10 Good

All over it was a great experience

Loved the hot tub and two things needs to addressed there is no mirror in the bedroom, and no WiFi option at all , also wants to notify that fire extinguisher tag was expired. Other than that our stay was comfortable.
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, listing accuracy
Nice cabin. Bathroom ceiling needs attention. Excellent communication. Listing stated to print confirmation sheet with map of cabins due to spotty service. We had no service while there which made it hard for us learn our way around. Local maps in the cabin may be helpful to people unfamiliar with the area. Overall very relaxing and quiet stay.
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 16 August 2026
Thank you for the thoughtful review! We’re glad you enjoyed the peaceful cabin and our communication. We appreciate your feedback about the bathroom ceiling and local maps, and we’ll share this with our team. We’d love to welcome you back again!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

My wife and I had a wonderful stay. We really enjoyed
Stayed 2 nights in Nov 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 16 December 2025
Thank you for sharing your feedback, Russell! We’re glad you and your wife had a wonderful stay. We’d love to welcome you back!
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, listing accuracy
Disliked: Location
Bed was very uncomfortable. Half the hot tub jets did not work. Other than that, overall a great secluded cabin.
Stayed 5 nights in Aug 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 23 August 2026
Thank you for your feedback! We’re glad you enjoyed the secluded cabin. We’re sorry the bed was uncomfortable and that some of the hot tub jets weren’t working. We appreciate you letting us know and will share this with our team.
From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

Excellent getaway

I really like the peace and mind. Great getaway. After seeing other reviews, I can see where people would have a problem locating at night time. Definitely if there were snow. Beautiful summer getaway. Highly would recommend a AMN FM radio the game board was a nice touch.
Response from VrboOwner on 26 October 2026
Thank you for your wonderful review! We're so glad you enjoyed the peaceful setting and had a relaxing getaway. We appreciate your feedback regarding nighttime navigation and the radio suggestion, and we'll share it with our team. We're happy to hear you enjoyed the game board and hope to welcome you back again soon!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Wonderful stay!! Hot tube among the trees!! 10/10!!
Stayed 2 nights in Mar 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 27 March 2026
Thank you so much for the kind words! We’re thrilled to hear you loved the hot tub and had such a great stay. You’re always welcome back anytime—would love to host you again!
From a partner site

8/10 Good

Comfy home however, having a large window with no curtain and a dirty hot tub was disappointing.

Quiet, peaceful and description was accurate
Response from VrboOwner on 12 May 2026
Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us. We’re glad to hear you found the home comfy, quiet, and peaceful, and that the listing matched your expectations overall. We’re sorry to hear about the concerns with the uncovered window and the hot tub condition. We understand how this impacted your experience and appreciate you bringing it to our attention, we will make sure our team reviews and addresses both items to improve for future guests. We appreciate you staying with us and hope to have the opportunity to host you again for a better experience next time.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, location, listing accuracy
My wife and I loved celebrating our 35th wedding anniversary at the place, it had everything we needed for a relaxing few days not having a TV or Wi-Fi makes for a nice time to block out the world and reconnect to each other. It was so nice coming back to the place after a day of hiking to relax in the hot tub sit by the fire and see who was luckier at Yahtzee. The place was very clean. The kitchen had all basic cooking supplies. There was lack of cell service in the area so make sure to download maps ahead of time. Also included some of the sites we visited in the surrounding areas.
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 24 July 2026
Thank you for choosing to celebrate such a special milestone with us, happy 35th anniversary! We're honored to have been part of your celebration and are delighted to hear you had a relaxing and memorable stay. We hope to welcome you back for many more adventures together in the years ahead!
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Check-in, communication, location
The stay was peaceful and nice for a couple. Hot tub was clean. And the cabin was clean. The refrigerator was at 50 degrees upon arrival and wouldnt go much below 40 after trying to adjust the temp. Had to freeze our meat for dinner the next day to prevent spoilage. Were expected to wash dishes but there was nothing to wash them with, had to buy a sponge and washcloth. Also plan to being an all wheel drive vehicle or truck to get up the incline to the cabin. Overally happy stay would rate a 6.5 out of 10.
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 8 September 2026
Thank you for your feedback, Ashley! We’re glad you enjoyed the peaceful stay and found the cabin and hot tub clean. We appreciate you bringing these concerns to our attention and will be sure to review them with our team. We hope to welcome you back for an even better stay in the future!
From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

It was fantastic!!

Pictures were true, peaceful and a great place to have a perfect getaway.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great place

Newer cabin, clean, modern, nice. Easy booking process. We will definitely stay here again.
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
I honestly must say I had a wonderful time and would highly recommend it. If you want a little getaway away from the city this is a perfect location to sit back and unwind and get your thoughts together. definitely would recommend having a AM / FM radio. The entry is not actually bad that you see on Other reviews but of course, if you travel in the winter be expected to have a little slipping and of course you wanna find your location before dark. This location is in the woods. Also keep in mind there is no Internet whatsoever in the immediate area so have a good GPS.
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 15 July 2026
Thank you so much for your thoughtful review! We're delighted to hear you had a wonderful getaway and enjoyed the peaceful setting. We appreciate your feedback about the radio and your helpful tips for future guests. Thanks again for staying with us, and we'd love to welcome you back for another relaxing escape!
From a partner site

8/10 Good

Great staying

Very clean and comfortable , great cabin!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Beautiful place to stay. The weather was in the 90's. We enjoyed the peace and serenity.
Stayed 4 nights in Jun 2025
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
House was fully equipped, however there was a huge window with no blind. Hot tub needed cleaning but due to no cell service connection we could not report it. Would have been nice to use it after long hikes. Other than that, nice place to stay
Stayed 2 nights in May 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 13 May 2026
Thank you for your feedback. We’re glad you found the house well equipped and enjoyed your stay overall. We’re sorry about the hot tub not being in ideal condition and the inconvenience caused by the lack of service to report it. We’ll address this with our team. We also appreciate you pointing out the window without a blind and will review that as well. We’re happy you still had a nice stay and hope to host you again.
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location
The WiFi was nonexistent, not weather related they just don’t have any inspite of the listing showing it. The Tub also does not have any way to fill the tube without just running the shower
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 14 August 2026
Thank you for your feedback, Gary! We’re sorry the WiFi and tub setup didn’t meet your expectations. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention and will be reviewing these concerns with our team.
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback