Relaxing Retreat with Firepit & A+ Design | Charcoal Chalet by AvantStay

Photo gallery for Relaxing Retreat with Firepit & A+ Design | Charcoal Chalet by AvantStay

A house with a deck, a lawn, and a view of trees.
A two-story house with a dark exterior, a front porch, and a staircase leading to the entrance.
A wooden deck with wicker furniture and a table set with drinks and snacks.
A living room with two sofas, a glass coffee table, and a rug.
A dining room with a wooden table, yellow cushioned chairs, a patterned rug, and large windows with a view of a green lawn.

Reviews

8.6 out of 10
Excellent

Highlights

  • Made for relaxation
    Top-rated for comfort — guests feel right at home here.
  • Centrally-located
    You're never far from where you need to be with this convenient location.

Popular amenities

  • Patio
  • Barbecue
  • Air-conditioning
  • Refrigerator
  • Internet
  • Washing machine

Explore the area

View map
New Paltz, NY
  • Place, New Paltz Golf Course
    ‪3 min drive‬
  • Place, State University of New York-New Paltz
    ‪6 min drive‬
  • Place, Mohonk Preserve Visitor Center
    ‪13 min drive‬
  • Airport, Newburgh, NY (SWF-Stewart Intl.)
    ‪30 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

4 bedrooms (sleeps 7)

Bedroom 2

1 Queen Bed

Bedroom 3

1 Single Bed

Bedroom 4

1 Double Bed

Primary Bedroom

1 Queen Bed

1 bathroom

Full Bathroom 1

Spaces

Deck or patio
Kitchen
Garden
Dining area

Add dates for prices

Similar properties

About the area

New Paltz

Located in New Paltz, this holiday home is in the mountains. G. Steve Jordan Gallery and Samuel Dorsky Museum of Art are cultural highlights, and some of the area's attractions include Hudson River Maritime Museum and Trolley Museum of New York. Looking to enjoy an event or a game while in town? See what's going on at Loren Campbell Memorial Field, or consider a night out at Mohonk Mountain House.
Map
New Paltz, NY

What's nearby

  • New Paltz Golf Course - 3 min drive - 2.2 km
  • State University of New York-New Paltz - 6 min drive - 3.9 km
  • Mohonk Preserve Visitor Center - 13 min drive - 14.9 km
  • Mohonk Golf Course - 15 min drive - 12.4 km
  • Mohonk Lake - 22 min drive - 17.0 km

Getting around

  • Poughkeepsie Station - 24 min drive
  • Newburgh, NY (SWF-Stewart Intl.) - 29 min drive

Restaurants

  • ‪McDonald's - ‬5 min drive
  • ‪Taco Bell - ‬4 min drive
  • ‪Dunkin' - ‬5 min drive
  • ‪Burger King - ‬4 min drive
  • ‪Sideshow Kitchen & Bar - ‬3 min drive

Frequently asked questions

Is Relaxing Retreat with Firepit & A+ Design | Charcoal Chalet by AvantStay pet-friendly?

No, pets are not allowed at this property.

How much does it cost to stay at Relaxing Retreat with Firepit & A+ Design | Charcoal Chalet by AvantStay?

As of 1 November 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Relaxing Retreat with Firepit & A+ Design | Charcoal Chalet by AvantStay on 4 November 2026 start from NZ$1,390, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.

How much is parking at Relaxing Retreat with Firepit & A+ Design | Charcoal Chalet by AvantStay?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at Relaxing Retreat with Firepit & A+ Design | Charcoal Chalet by AvantStay?

Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.

What time is check-out at Relaxing Retreat with Firepit & A+ Design | Charcoal Chalet by AvantStay?

Checkout is at 11:00 AM.

Where is Relaxing Retreat with Firepit & A+ Design | Charcoal Chalet by AvantStay located?

Situated in the mountains, this holiday home is within 2 miles (3 km) of New Paltz Golf Course, Nyquist-Harcourt Wildlife Sanctuary and Huguenot Street Historic District. G. Steve Jordan Gallery and State University of New York-New Paltz are also within 3 miles (5 km).

Reviews

8.6

Excellent

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 8 out of 13 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 2 out of 13 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 2 out of 13 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 0 out of 13 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 1 out of 13 reviews

9.4/10

Cleanliness

9.6/10

Check-in

8.8/10

Communication

9.4/10

Location

9.0/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Beautiful property with kind, attentive host(s). It was spacious, clean, and well appointed. We were just out of town enough to avoid traffic with ease of access to all the main roads to get all around the adjoining areas. Would DEFINITELY stay again.
Stayed 4 nights in Oct 2026
Response from Relaxing Retreat with Firepit & A+ Design | Charcoal Chalet by AvantStay on 28 October 2026
Thank you! Just outside the traffic, with everything still in reach, that's where the location math is working. We'll definitely be ready for your return!
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Great location and loved fire pit.
Stayed 5 nights in Sep 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 21 September 2026
Nothing beats gathering around the fire pit! Happy the location worked out great, too. Thanks for staying with us!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Very nice home with comfy furniture, lovely decor and amenities. Guests have space to share as well as spread out.
Stayed 3 nights in Oct 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Property was clean, accurate to pictures, most appliances worked well, beds were comfortable, and there were enough towels, toilet paper, and other necessities for our stay. Check in was easy and check out procedures were easy and reasonable. Great experience for our time in and around New Paltz. Good and comfortable for a group.
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 4 August 2026
Glad the home matched the photos and had everything stocked and ready for your group. Easy check-in and reasonable checkout procedures make a real difference on a group trip, so we're happy that side of things went smoothly too. Thank you for the thorough feedback, and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again in New Paltz.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
We had a wonderful stay here. They had everything well provided for, very clean, and overall a great experience being at this rental.
Stayed 4 nights in Mar 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 22 March 2026
Thank you for your wonderful feedback! We’re thrilled to hear you had a great stay and found everything well provided and very clean. It was a pleasure hosting you, and we’d love to welcome you back anytime!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Everything was great
Stayed 2 nights in May 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 4 May 2026
Thank you so much for the kind words! We're so glad to hear everything was great during your stay. We'd love to welcome you back anytime!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Our stay was incredibly comfortable. It was clean and had everything we needed.
Stayed 6 nights in Dec 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 7 January 2026
Thank you for your feedback! We’re glad you found the stay comfortable, clean, and well-equipped. We’d love to host you again!
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
The house is located fairly close to a busy roadway, so there is noticeable traffic noise from cars passing by, sometimes at higher speeds. Because of this, it isn’t quite as peaceful or quiet as you might expect from the location.The house itself is nicely decorated and is comfortable. The Wi-Fi could definitely be better, as the connection isn’t very strong or reliable.The biggest issue, however, is the smell inside the house. There is a noticeable musty, moldy odor that gives the home an older feel. It was strong enough that I purchased Gain spray and several air fresheners to help make the space more comfortable during my stay. Finally the town is relatively close and has a few restaurants and coffee shops to choose from
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 15 September 2026
We appreciate you sharing this balanced feedback, and we're glad the home's comfort and decor stood out, along with the restaurants and coffee shops in town nearby. We're sorry the stay wasn't as fresh and restful as it should have been. Your notes have been shared with the team responsible for the home, and the home is receiving a thorough review, including the air quality concern you described. We've also flagged the Wi-Fi for evaluation. We appreciate you bringing these to our attention, and should you consider staying with us again, we'd welcome the chance to provide a more comfortable visit.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
The host was very welcoming, home was a very clean and cozy (perfect for our family of 5). Backyard space was great for snowball fights & s'mores. Comfy beds & well stocked kitchen. Quick drive to market & restaurants. Look forward to another quiet retreat in New Paltz!
Stayed 3 nights in Dec 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 16 January 2026
We’re so happy you and your family enjoyed your stay! It sounds like you made the most of the cozy home and backyard. We’d love to welcome you back for another peaceful retreat in New Paltz soon!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
It was a great stay. We had a concern that was addressed promptly and professionally. Overall it was a great experience.
Stayed 4 nights in Jul 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 29 July 2025
Thank you, Katherine. We’re glad to hear you had a great stay and that any concerns were addressed promptly. We’d be happy to welcome you back anytime.
Verified review

2/10 Terrible

Liked: Check-in
Disliked: Communication, listing accuracy
Unfortunately, our stay was very disappointing and did not meet the standard we expected.We booked this property for a special birthday celebration, but several issues significantly affected our three-night stay.There was an active roof leak in the ceiling that required us to place a bucket underneath it. Although it was reported, it was not addressed until we checked out.The highway noise was also extremely loud, particularly in three of the bedrooms. The traffic continued throughout the night and made it very difficult for all of us to get adequate sleep. While there was one previous review mentioning noise, the extent of the noise was far greater than we anticipated from the listing.Most concerning, there was an unfinished floor threshold between the kitchen and dining area, marked with yellow-and-black caution tape. Unfortunately, I struck my toe against it and fractured my toe, resulting in significant pain during and after our stay. This was particularly troubling because it was an obvious safety concern that could have been prevented with proper completion or protection of the area.I understand that unexpected maintenance issues can happen, but the combination of the roof leak, excessive noise, and safety hazard resulting in an injury made this a very difficult stay.I would encourage the owners to address the maintenance and safety issues and to provide more accurate disclosure regarding the highway noise before hosting future guests.
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2026
Response from Relaxing Retreat with Firepit & A+ Design | Charcoal Chalet by AvantStay on 19 October 2026
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, and we’re truly sorry your birthday celebration was affected. We were concerned to read that you were hurt during your stay, and your well-being is important to us. Your feedback has been shared with the team responsible for the home for a thorough review, and our guest experience team would welcome the opportunity to connect with you directly.
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Really nice home. All furniture including the couches, beds and linens were very cozy. Roomy, clean, modern decor, fully stocked with anything you'd need. A couple cons for us that may not matter to others. It was on a busy road so kind of noisy. the stairs up to the second floor were very steep which is typical of an old house but they were irregular at the top and the banister didn't go all the way to the top. That can be fixed easily. The check in/out was super easy but I had to contact the host for check in info and we had already left before check out info was provided. Great house
Stayed 3 nights in Oct 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 9 October 2025
Thanks so much for your thoughtful and detailed review! We're glad to hear you found the home cozy, clean, and well-stocked—it’s great to know the space worked well for you overall. We appreciate you pointing out the areas that could use some improvement, especially regarding the stairs and communication around check-in and check-out. Your feedback is really helpful and gives us a chance to make things even better for future guests. Thanks again for staying with us, and we’d love to welcome you back anytime!
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, location, listing accuracy
Disliked: Communication
The home is cozy and clean. Beds are very comfortable and the location was close to town. The home is on a main road and can be hard to find at night. My biggest complaint is communication with the company was lacking. We had an after hours issue that we couldn’t get any help with until the next day. Hopefully they corrected this. In addition, we didn’t get check out instructions until we left. Communication is the biggest problem but the house is nice.
Stayed 4 nights in Jul 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 26 September 2025
Hi Nicole. Thank you for sharing your feedback and for noting that the home was cozy, clean, and in a convenient location with comfortable beds. We’re so glad those aspects made your stay enjoyable. We are sorry to hear about the challenges with communication, both regarding the after-hours issue and the timing of check-out instructions. This is not the standard we strive to uphold, and we’ve shared your comments with our team to ensure improvements are made. We truly appreciate your thoughtful feedback and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a smoother experience in the future.
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback