Located in Lead, this cabin is in the mountains. Homestake Gold Mine and Broken Boot Gold Mine are local landmarks, and some of the area's activities can be experienced at Terry Peak Ski Area and Deer Mountain Ski Area. Looking to enjoy an event or a game while in town? See what's going on at Lyle Hare Stadium, or consider a night out at Outlaw Square. Take in the nearby slopes with skiing, or try out other outdoor activities such as sledging.
Historic Homestake Opera House - 5 min drive - 5.9 km
Homestake Gold Mine - 5 min drive - 6.3 km
Deer Mountain Ski Area - 7 min drive - 5.9 km
Getting around
Rapid City, SD (RAP-Rapid City Regional) - 77 min drive
Restaurants
Mustang Sally's - 10 min drive
Silverado Franklin Historic Hotel & Gaming Complex - 10 min drive
Saloon No. 10 - 10 min drive
Gold Dust - 10 min drive
Boars Nest - 12 min walk
Frequently asked questions
Is Modern Cabin with Hot Tub & Access To Swimming Pool, Paved Roads pet-friendly?
No, pets are not allowed at this property.
How much does it cost to stay at Modern Cabin with Hot Tub & Access To Swimming Pool, Paved Roads?
As of 31 October 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Modern Cabin with Hot Tub & Access To Swimming Pool, Paved Roads on 1 November 2026 start from NZ$1,350, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
How much is parking at Modern Cabin with Hot Tub & Access To Swimming Pool, Paved Roads?
On-site parking is available at the property.
What time is check-in at Modern Cabin with Hot Tub & Access To Swimming Pool, Paved Roads?
Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.
What time is check-out at Modern Cabin with Hot Tub & Access To Swimming Pool, Paved Roads?
Checkout is at 10:00 AM.
Where is Modern Cabin with Hot Tub & Access To Swimming Pool, Paved Roads located?
Situated in the mountains, this cabin is within 3 miles (5 km) of Living Map Theater, Historic Homestake Opera House and Black Hills Mining Museum. Homestake Gold Mine and Sanford Lab Homestake Visitor Center are also within 3 miles (5 km).
Reviews
9.4
Exceptional
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Amazing place and location! Would definitely stay there again!!
Stayed 4 nights in Aug 2026
From a partner site
10/10 Excellent
Mallory S.
26 October 2026
A Great Fall Weekend at Gilded Mountain!
Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was spotless.
I was very happy with the location.
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.
Reviewer Comments:
Our family loved the cabin. It was so cozy and perfect. We were impressed by the kitchen items available, the cleanliness of the property and the location. The Clubhouse was a fun place to visit. However, a lot of the items for the game rooms were in poor condition or missing (ping pong balls and pool sticks) so we couldn't fully partake. The proximity to Lead and Deadwood was perfect for going into town, but we still felt out in nature. Check in and Check out went well. Communication with owner was good.
It was home away from home. Had all that we could possibly need while away from our own home.
Stayed 7 nights in Jul 2026
From a partner site
10/10 Excellent
john h.
14 August 2026
.
Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was spotless.
I was very happy with the location.
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.
Reviewer Comments:
Great location, great house.
Thanks so much for your feedback Kristen! We're so happy to see you guys had a wonderful vacation! Thanks again for staying with us, hope to see you back again soon!
Plenty of room. We spent a lot of time at the club house also and the kiddos were never bored. Super close to skiing.
Stayed 4 nights in Mar 2025
From a partner site
10/10 Excellent
Teena N.
3 October 2025
Long family weekend get away
Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was spotless.
I was very happy with the location.
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.
Reviewer Comments:
Was a great space to spend a long weekend away with family just to relax and unwind. Will return in the future.
From a partner site
10/10 Excellent
Mari M.
25 December 2025
Cabin Christmas
Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was spotless.
I was very happy with the location.
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.
Reviewer Comments:
We had a great experience! We stayed for 6 days and had family come and go throughout our stay. We had everything we needed with bedrooms just as described. The kitchen had all things we needed. Kids and adults enjoyed the hot tub and close access to Spearfish Canyon. It was warm during our stay so we hiked a few times. The kids spent a day skiing with close access to Terry Peak.
It was a beautiful place, without a doubt a place to relax and release the stress of work and the city, I fell in love with the place and I would definitely return
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2023
From a partner site
10/10 Excellent
Lisa S.
16 June 2025
Great location and beautiful home
Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was spotless.
I was very happy with the location.
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.
Reviewer Comments:
The home was beautiful with plenty of room. Nice and clean. Everything you needed was there to use. View gorgeous!
2nd time at Guilded Mountain. Beautiful/rustic cabin. Everything worked like it should except the grill needed cleaning, worked great after that. We did a downhill bike ride from the cabin to deadwood using the Mickelson trail, almost never used the pedals!
We had a wonderful time at the cabin. Clean. The hot tub was nice. Our snowmobile trip was 5 minutes down the road. Thank You
Stayed 3 nights in Feb 2023
From a partner site
8/10 Good
Crystal K.
17 December 2024
Cozy Getaway
Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was spotless.
I was very happy with the location.
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.
Reviewer Comments:
Fun little cabin, close to the community room so the kids just walked down the hill. The hot tub was a little small and the jets were inconsistent but we were away from home enjoying the hills!
From a partner site
10/10 Excellent
A guest from Bismarck, ND
23 March 2023
Recommended
Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was spotless.
I was very happy with the location.
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.
Reviewer Comments:
Home away from home! Second time visiting their cabins and i love how their cabins each are their own individual style.
From a partner site
10/10 Excellent
A guest from Alexandria, SD
22 May 2025
Great place to relax!
Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was spotless.
I was very happy with the location.
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.
Reviewer Comments:
We enjoyed the beautiful view and the hot tub! The grill didn’t work, but we managed without. Management was responsive to my questions prior to arriving. There were no accommodations for my baby (no high chair, rocking chair, play yard, or crib). But overall we enjoyed our stay!
From a partner site
10/10 Excellent
Mark M.
23 March 2018
Great Stay for Terry Peak
Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was spotless.
I was very happy with the location.
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.
Reviewer Comments:
We really enjoyed our stay at the Claim Jumper. It was very roomy for our large group and the accomdations were great...especially the hot tub on the deck. We really felt we were nestled in a very nice place which made our family vacation very special. The Claim Jumper is even better than the pictures!
Stayed 3 nights in Mar 2018
Response from VrboOwner on 15 September 2023
Thank you for your feedback Mark! We're so happy to see you guys enjoyed your vacation and the accomodations at the Claim Jumper! Thanks for staying with us - hope to see you back again soon!
From a partner site
10/10 Excellent
Lori K.
7 April 2021
Easter get-away
Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was spotless.
I was very happy with the location.
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.
Reviewer Comments:
We were so very happy with this home... was perfect for our family😀. We were literally yards from the pool in the club house & this particular home had every appliance one could think of - plus lots of extra bedding! We will try & get this one again😀
Stayed 3 nights in Apr 2021
From a partner site
8/10 Good
A guest from WATERTOWN, SD
28 June 2023
Family vacation
Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was very clean.
I was very happy with the location.
I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.
Reviewer Comments:
We rented 3 cabins for our stay. Claim jumper, Saloon and Lazy Bear Lodge. Overall they were good. Biggest complaint would be the steps on the Saloon cabin. They wrte on a slant and quite slipoery when wet. A railing would be a great improvement. They were all pretty well stocked and clean.
Verified review
6/10 Okay
Susan S.
6 July 2022
Liked: Location, listing accuracy
Disliked: Cleanliness
Good Location, lacked basic amenities
This was a great location, not to far from Custer, badlands, devils tower, Deadwood and more. The house was dusty and floors could have been a little cleaner. The stove and grill did not work well. I feel for the amount of money it cost to rent this house we could have more basic supplies to start us out. Such as toilet paper, paper towels, trash bags and basic cleaning supplies. The family lobed the club house and pool!
Stayed 7 nights in Jun 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 15 September 2023
Thanks for your feedback Susan. We would have been happy to bring by some more supplies if you ran out of the 2 TP rolls per bathroom, paper towels, trash bags etc. that we stock. We checked the grill and it actually works great, so we're sorry if you had trouble getting it going. Thanks again for staying.
From a partner site
8/10 Good
Lawrence M.
12 June 2023
Black hills vacation
Rating Details:
The property manager was more than helpful.
The vacation rental was clean.
I was more than happy with the location.
I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.
Reviewer Comments:
We absolutely loved the peace and quiet the area the cabin was in. The amenities was more than adequate for our needs. It was equipped with house hold items plus it had board games witch was a pleasant surprise. The children enjoyed the pool area and made friends with other guest. There was only two minor hiccups, there was no power in the kitchen area and the stove top burner was out. The towels had a mildew smells to them. A simple text message fixed the power problem but the stove is still out. We washed the towels before using them and everything was ok. Overall my family enjoyed themselves and we plan on going back in the future.
From a partner site
6/10 Okay
A guest from Lead, SD
10 May 2023
Fun but not the best.
Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was somewhat dirty.
I was very happy with the location.
I was somewhat dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.
Reviewer Comments:
We had a fun weekend but had a few issues with our stay. The cabin has access to the club house that you pay extra for but we couldn’t use it due to the floor being removed and just sitting. We should have had a discount since it was not available. The Wi-Fi didn’t work in the house we were in and it was very dusty and somewhat dirty. It honestly just seemed like it hadn’t been cleaned all winter and we were the first guests. Pool was awesome.
From a partner site
8/10 Good
Dea P.
21 June 2023
June 2023 side by side vacation
Rating Details:
The property manager was more than helpful.
The vacation rental was very clean.
I was more than happy with the location.
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.
Reviewer Comments:
We had 8 people during our stay, 4 adults, 4 kids. Space was great for all of us. Had many items needed but weren’t aware that we needed to replace some items if we used them per the book. So FYI you may need to replace some items if you finish them(TP, soaps, aluminum foil). Had a couple questions and able to text message with a timely reply. Overall cabin was great? It is close to other cabins and parking can be tight (we had 2 vehicles with trailers & 2 side by sides) but we were able to park one vehicle in space for a private cabin that seems to be part of Claim Jumper. Hot water was maintained throughout our stay and that was usually both showers being used at same time, water pressure remained good too. Our biggest downfall was the clubhouse. Very disappointed with that as we had booked as it had a treadmill and an additional great space for the kids to hang out. However it is not overly usable. There is no treadmill and an incredible amount of dust. Looks like construction work being done. The pool table and game table was usable but it was so dirty in there it wasn’t enjoyable. Kids used the pool though which was great! I had friends from home comment to me that they have stayed at this resort area neatly 2 years ago and were working on the clubhouse then so just beware of this about the clubhouse if that’s an appealing thing for you. When I messaged about this I was informed they don’t manage the clubhouse but know they are working as fast as they can to get the tile work done.