Old Bay Hideaway Oceanfront Cottage Duck

Photo gallery for Old Bay Hideaway Oceanfront Cottage Duck

A wooden deck with chairs and a railing overlooking the beach.
A spacious living room with a ceiling fan, a fireplace, and a view of the kitchen.
A dining area with a wooden table and chairs, a kitchen with blue cabinets, and a fireplace with a painting above it.
A kitchen with blue cabinets, a white stove, and a patterned rug leading to a sliding glass door.
A spacious living area with a wooden floor, a dining table with chairs, a sofa, and a TV. Large windows offer a view of the ocean.

Reviews

8.0 out of 10
Very good

Highlights

  • The great outdoors
    Guests love the outdoor space here.
  • On the beach
    A rare beachfront property in the area - enjoy direct access to the beach and sea.
  • Discover nearby landmarks
    Walk to beach

Popular amenities

  • On beach
  • Spa pool on site
  • Patio
  • Outdoor pool
  • Barbecue
  • Pet-friendly

Explore the area

View map
Kitty Hawk, NC
  • Place, beach
    ‪1 min walk‬
  • Place, The Sanderling Spa
    ‪4 min drive‬
  • Place, Corolla Beach
    ‪9 min drive‬
  • Airport, Manteo, NC (MEO-Dare County Regional)
    ‪62 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

4 bedrooms (sleeps 8)

Bedroom 1

1 King Bed

Bedroom 2

1 Queen Bed

Bedroom 3

1 Queen Bed

Bedroom 4

2 Single Beds

2 bathrooms

Bathroom 1

Towels provided · Bathtub or shower · Toilet

Bathroom 2

Towels provided · Bathtub or shower · Toilet

Spaces

Deck or patio
Kitchen
Separate dining area
Dining area

Add dates for prices

Similar properties

About the area

Duck

Located in Kitty Hawk, this cottage is on the beach. The Sanderling Spa and Pine Island Racquet & Fitness Center are worth checking out if an activity is on the agenda, while those looking for area attractions can visit Nor'Banks Sailing and Corolla Raceway. Ready for a night out? Consider The Village Table & Tavern and Tap Shack. Jet skiing and kayaking offer great chances to get out on the surrounding water, or you can seek out an adventure with mountain biking and cycling nearby.
Map
Kitty Hawk, NC

What's nearby

  • beach - 1 min walk - 0.1 km
  • The Sanderling Spa - 4 min drive - 2.4 km
  • Duck Boardwalk - 9 min drive - 6.6 km
  • Corolla Beach - 9 min drive - 8.9 km
  • Nags Head Fishing Pier - 41 min drive - 36.2 km

Getting around

  • Manteo, NC (MEO-Dare County Regional) - 54 min drive

Restaurants

  • ‪Duck Donuts - ‬7 min drive
  • ‪Sunset Grille & Raw Bar - ‬6 min drive
  • ‪Coastal Cravings - ‬7 min drive
  • ‪Tullio's Bakery & Cafe - ‬7 min drive
  • ‪NC Coast Grill & Bar - ‬7 min drive

Frequently asked questions

Does Old Bay Hideaway Oceanfront Cottage Duck have a pool?

Yes, this property has an outdoor pool.

How much does it cost to stay at Old Bay Hideaway Oceanfront Cottage Duck?

As of 30 October 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Old Bay Hideaway Oceanfront Cottage Duck on 4 November 2026 start from NZ$3,545, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.

Is Old Bay Hideaway Oceanfront Cottage Duck pet-friendly?

Yes, this property allows pets (limit 2 total).

How much is parking at Old Bay Hideaway Oceanfront Cottage Duck?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at Old Bay Hideaway Oceanfront Cottage Duck?

Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.

What time is check-out at Old Bay Hideaway Oceanfront Cottage Duck?

Checkout is at 10:00 AM.

Where is Old Bay Hideaway Oceanfront Cottage Duck located?

Nestled on the beach, this Kitty Hawk cottage is within 2 mi (3 km) of The Sanderling Spa, Nor'Banks Sailing and The Village Table & Tavern. Duck Boardwalk is 2.9 mi (4.6 km) away.

Reviews

8.0

Very good

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 2 out of 3 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 0 out of 3 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 0 out of 3 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 1 out of 3 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 0 out of 3 reviews

8.8/10

Cleanliness

10/10

Check-in

9.4/10

Communication

10/10

Location

8.0/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Great location. - perfect main level deck overlooking the ocean.
Stayed 4 nights in Mar 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 20 April 2026
Thank You! Hope to have you back!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Great view from the deck and upper level. We watched dolphins, osprey and rabbits daily and the Sanderling property is just beautiful. The host was very responsive if we had questions. The house is an update in progress just as the description says but it’s comfortable and clean and in a great location.
Stayed 7 nights in Apr 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 20 April 2026
Glad you had a great time. Hope to have you back again
Verified review

4/10 Poor

Liked: Check-in, communication, location
Disliked: Listing accuracy
This home has a mold problem, wherein the entire home has a strong odor of mustiness, mold and mildew. At the owner's suggestion, the only way to mitigate the situation is by opening sliders and windows. We couldn't tolerate what we felt was an unhealthy environment and had to leave after two nights, which left us scrambling to find suitable accommodations for ourselves and our dog. The description in the listing with VRBO describes this home as being in the process of being updated but rated "9/10". The listing also claims to be 30% lower than weekly rental fee comparisons, which we found to be an exaggeration. The owner did refund the remaining 5 days fee to us, which was fair. However, after traveling 12 hours to reach our one week beach vacation, the disruption of packing back up after 48 hours, and relocating was significant. Hopefully the owner will find a way to resolve this, since the location and dog-friendly features do give this rental great potential.
Stayed 7 nights in Oct 2026
Response from Management on 19 October 2026
There is not a mold issue. There was a NorEaster that tore off the siding right before their stay. The wall got damp from the moisture creating a musty smell. The siding is now being replaced. Difficult guest to work with. Poor communication. I gave them the option to cancel with a refund due to storm damage. They were still not satisfied. Not a guest I would rent to again.
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback