New Castle Chamber of Commerce - 2 min walk - 0.2 km
Iron Mountain Hot Springs - 15 min drive - 21.3 km
Glenwood Hot Springs - 16 min drive - 23.1 km
Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park - 20 min drive - 24.5 km
Restaurants
McDonald's - 2 min drive
Burning Mountain Pizza & Subs - 10 min drive
Hogback Pizza - 1 min walk
Hacienda El Patron - 3 min walk
New Castle Coffee - 2 min drive
Frequently asked questions
Is Tombstone at the Ore House Inn pet-friendly?
Yes, this property allows dogs (limit 2 total). Some restrictions may apply, so please contact the property for more details.
How much does it cost to stay at Tombstone at the Ore House Inn?
As of 29 October 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Tombstone at the Ore House Inn on 1 March 2027 start from NZ$436, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
How much is parking at Tombstone at the Ore House Inn?
On-site parking is available at the property.
What time is check-in at Tombstone at the Ore House Inn?
Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.
What time is check-out at Tombstone at the Ore House Inn?
Checkout is at 10:00 AM.
Where is Tombstone at the Ore House Inn located?
Located in the heart of New Castle, this condo building is steps away from New Castle Town Hall and New Castle Chamber of Commerce. Lakota Canyon Golf Club and Colorado River are also within 3 miles (5 km).
Reviews
9.4
Exceptional
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
We enjoyed our time in New Castle great location in the small town. Very spacious.
Stayed 3 nights in Oct 2023
Verified review
10/10 Excellent
Joseph R.
21 February 2018
Great spacious spot between ski days
John was responsive setting things up, and the place worked perfectly for our needs. Would definitely stay again.
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2018
Response from VrboOwner on 2 April 2020
Thanks Joe! We are somewhat new to this, but put our heart and soul into this venture. We appreciate the great review! Thanks for staying and leaving the place in great shape for our cleanup crew!
This was a great place to stay, lots of room and great amenities. Met the owners when we first arrived and they were very friendly. We got to visit Glenwood caverns the next day and got a nice discount from the inn which was great! Would definitely stay again!
Such a fun place for our family to visit. Felt like we were in the comfort of our own home with funner decor! John and Cori were so easy to communicate with as well!! Will definitely be coming back for a longer stay!!
Very unusual historic building with modern comfort. The Tombstone room that we stayed in was apartment size, equipped with everything we needed. It sure beat a hotel room!
Got into town after long trip and owners were very responsive and access was explained promptly. Property was clean well maintained and had good ambience. We would be there again. Sorry we could only spend one night.
We had a nice stay in the Tombstone room. There was plenty of space for our family and the kitchen was nicely stocked with the essentials. We enjoyed the view from our room which is over the restaurant overlooking the town.
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2019
Response from VrboOwner on 2 April 2020
Thanks, Come back any time!
Verified review
10/10 Excellent
Dan C.
29 March 2019
Cute & Convenient
Great room, friendly property manager. Stayed with a family of 6...and our dog.
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2019
Response from VrboOwner on 2 April 2020
Thanks Dan, and thanks for leaving our place so sparkling clean! Come back any time!
New Castle is a place we’ve never been to. A quiet place to escape after spending time in Glenwood Springs. We liked the Ore House Inn. Very unique with the themes to all the rooms. Plenty of things for the kids to do and appreciated having the Laundry facilities in house to catch up on laundry.
We enjoyed our stay at this property…we wanted to visit both Aspen and Vail and our place was equal distances between both. Place was very clean and roomy. Would recommend it highky
Stayed 5 nights in Jun 2022
Verified review
10/10 Excellent
Amy K.
21 April 2018
Great place!
Our stay really exceeded our expectations. John and Cori were both great and all of the staff at Elk Creek Mining. We were greeted with a smile, late at night for our check in by Johnny, who showed us around and made sure we were comfortable. Everything we could have needed was provided and extremely clean. Would highly recommend to anyone staying in the area!
We had anouther very enjoyable stay the Oar house. The host John was easy to contact and very accommodating. We chose the Tombstone since it is one of the larger units, large kitchen & family room giving us plenty of room to relax. This is our go to when visting New Castle.Jeff & Barb
There were three of us-parents and an adult "child," so it was really nice to have the privacy of a bedroom, which we gave to him, while we slept in the comfortable pull-out sofa in the living room. As we get up earlier than he does, we could make mild noise and he never heard us. There's a full kitchen too, and room for more people. We took a nice early morning walk on the backstreets, which we enjoyed.
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2019
Response from VrboOwner on 2 April 2020
Thanks Judith! I've been a bit laid up with some surgery; happy you enjoyed your stay!
Verified review
6/10 Okay
Jeff L.
24 April 2018
dissapointed
steep stairs for carrying luggage up, sleeping arrangements were fair at best
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2018
Response from VrboOwner on 2 April 2020
We were in constant contact with the guest about sleeping arrangements. There are 2 rollaway beds and 2 queen sleepers as well as the queen bed in the bedroom; we provided linens for the sleepers. Instead the guest decided to pull mattresses off of rollaway beds and sleep on the floor. While we are sorry sleeping arrangements were not as comfortable as they would have liked, we understand why, and the guest never contacted us with any questions after check in.
Verified review
6/10 Okay
Mark Z.
29 September 2024
Liked: Cleanliness
Disliked: Check-in, listing accuracy
Photos are not accurate.
First, there is no restaurant/bar below the units. It is now a hair salon. Second, the photos f the Tombstone suite are not accurate. Main bedroom is different. This entire boutique rooms hotel is for sale. There is no hotel style security lock on any of the doors. We found the hallway door to the bedroom door unlocked.
Stayed 1 night in Sep 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 30 September 2024
1. Our photos are ABSOLUTELY ACCURATE! The only thing different in the bedroom is the paint color on the wall! That unit was completely reappointed less than 1 year ago!
2. We are happy that you read our reviews (some of which mentioned our restaurant that we closed 2 years ago when we expanded our hotel); We are unhappy that you neglected to read our property description which does not mention a restaurant downstairs.
3. The (2)133 year old doors in our Tombstone Suite have both a key lock and A deadbolt! And the exterior doors to the upstairs portion of our hotel have electronic locks with a keypad! We again apologize that we left your bedroom door unlocked after my wife went in to inspect your room to make sure it was perfect!
4. We bought our building in 1999, completely renovated the downstairs and opened a very busy restaurant! in 2017 we took on the painstaking task of transforming the upstairs of our 125 year old building into a hotel and finished in December of 2022 after closing the restaurant we had operated for 23 years and transforming the downstairs portion into an 1100 sq foot suite and commercial space where our tenant Salon West operates. After a combined 70 years in the restaurant business and 5 years of converting our building into a hotel, we have decided it is time for us to transition out of this aspect of our lives. My wife and I still operate our hotel on a daily basis and plan to until the day perhaps comes when someone else would like to take over a project that has been 25 years in the making!
Verified review
2/10 Terrible
Vanessa M.
8 March 2023
Disliked: Cleanliness, location, listing accuracy
smell
the entire room smelled like bleach, we waited 45 minutes and ended up having to leave and book else where. the building was a lot more outdated than we anticipated and what the photos had shown. very unsettling experience.
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 9 March 2023
We do use bleach in the bathroom and on the floors to disinfect them! The reason your room may have smelled a little strong is that you kept requesting an early check in and we had to scurry to accommodate your request having 7 rooms to clean at our property that day. The previous guest checked out at 11 and you requested a 1 p.m. check in! Our pictures and the "theme" of the room is "Tombstone" and is reflected throughout! The pictures taken are all of the room itself.
Four people, one washcloth in the room. Text the owner who told me to find a housekeeper to ask for more ( I’m already undressed to shower) or he could leave some hanging on the door. Got home after a late evening and still no washcloths. Text again the next morning and finally got a knock on the door and got handed two, stiff what looked to be dishcloths.
Ok for the price.
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2020
Response from VrboOwner on 5 August 2020
I sorry, you felt way, but I did text the housekeeper and asked her to hang them on your door; I did not ask you to find the housekeeper, I apologize that I did not follow up to make sure they were delivered, the washcloths I handed to you were brand new and that is why they were a bit stiff.
Our stay at Tombstone was a lot of fun. We were initially concerned with there only being one bed, but the kids got a kick out of all couches and sleeper sofas. The biggest thrill of the week was when the kids found Mario 3.
My only minor complaint was that I did t know that the laundry in the back required money. Every other VRBO that I have booked has had laundry included. I at least would have brought some quarters had I known.