Sandy Beachfront House on Grand Traverse Bay

Photo gallery for Sandy Beachfront House on Grand Traverse Bay

A beach with white lounge chairs and a wooden table, a wooden pier extending into the water, and a clear view of the sea and distant land.
A modern kitchen with wooden cabinets, a white stove, and a microwave.
A coastal property with a beach, a gazebo, and boats in the background.
A kitchen with a fireplace, wooden cabinets, and a window with a view of trees.
A room with a large window overlooking the sea, two armchairs with patterned cushions, a small ottoman, a round wooden table, and a TV on a cabinet.

Reviews

9.0 out of 10
Wonderful

Highlights

  • Top-rated comfy beds
    Guests liked the comfy beds here.
  • Unmatched views, unforgettable moments
    Guests like the location for the scenic views.
  • Discover nearby landmarks
    Near Lake Michigan

Popular amenities

  • Pet-friendly
  • Air-conditioning
  • Refrigerator
  • Internet
  • Washing machine
  • Fireplace

Explore the area

View map
Traverse City, MI
  • Place, Grand Traverse Bay
    ‪1 min walk‬
  • Place, Traverse City Beach
    ‪14 min walk‬
  • Place, Front Street
    ‪18 min walk‬
  • Airport, Traverse City, MI (TVC-Cherry Capital)
    ‪6 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

3 bedrooms (sleeps 8)

Bedroom #1

1 King Bed

Bedroom #2

1 Queen Bed

Bedroom #3

2 Double Beds

2 bathrooms, 1 half bathroom

Bathroom 1

Toilet · Shower only

Bathroom 2

Toilet · Shower only

Half Bathroom 3

Toilet · Shower only

Spaces

Kitchen

Add dates for prices

Similar properties

About the area

Traverse City

Traverse City is home to this apartment. Shoppers can check out Front Street, while everyone can enjoy the natural beauty of Lake Michigan and Traverse City Beach. Pirate's Cove Adventure Golf and Centre Ice Arena are also worth visiting.
Map
Traverse City, MI

What's nearby

  • Grand Traverse Bay - 1 min walk - 0.1 km
  • Traverse City Beach - 14 min walk - 1.2 km
  • Traverse City State Park - 16 min walk - 1.4 km
  • Front Street - 18 min walk - 1.5 km
  • The Dennos Museum Center - 2 min drive - 1.9 km

Getting around

  • Traverse City, MI (TVC-Cherry Capital) - 6 min drive

Restaurants

  • ‪Culver's - ‬9 min walk
  • ‪Starbucks - ‬3 min drive
  • ‪Wendy's - ‬6 min drive
  • ‪Starbucks - ‬6 min drive
  • ‪Tropical Smoothie Cafe - ‬5 min walk

Frequently asked questions

Is Sandy Beachfront House on Grand Traverse Bay pet-friendly?

Yes, pets are allowed at this property.

What time is check-in at Sandy Beachfront House on Grand Traverse Bay?

Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.

What time is check-out at Sandy Beachfront House on Grand Traverse Bay?

Checkout is at 10:00 AM.

Where is Sandy Beachfront House on Grand Traverse Bay located?

Situated in Traverse City, this apartment building is steps away from Grand Traverse Bay and Lake Michigan. Front Street and Traverse City Beach are also within 1 mile (2 km).

Reviews

9.0

Wonderful

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 9 out of 13 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 3 out of 13 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 0 out of 13 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 0 out of 13 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 1 out of 13 reviews

8.8/10

Cleanliness

9.4/10

Check-in

9.4/10

Communication

9.6/10

Location

9.4/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Enjoyed our stay at the 60’s house! The house is clean, beds were comfortable and kitchen was stocked with everything needed for meals.
Picture from back porch.
Stayed 7 nights in Jul 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 8 August 2025
Thank you so much for your kind words! We’re happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the 60’s house and found it clean, comfortable, and well-stocked. It was a pleasure hosting you, and we’d love to have you back anytime!
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great sandy beach!

The beach was beautiful!
Stayed 4 nights in Jul 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 23 July 2024
We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful beach. Your positive feedback is greatly appreciated, and we hope to welcome you back for another relaxing stay!
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Beautiful Location

This was a family vacation. The location is convenient to everything and the backyard and view are STUNNING!
Stayed 5 nights in Jun 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 18 July 2023
Hey Richard, we are happy you and your family were able to enjoy the home. We hope to have you back soon!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great Time

Perfect location and a great house. Boat rental was just a mile down the road. Would absolutely stay here again!
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2021
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Fun retro beach house

This was a great location for our girls’ trip. Super cute house with plenty of space and awesome amenities to use outside.
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 25 October 2023
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay this summer at our Sixties Shore House! Thank you so much for your kind review.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Beautiful beach house ready for fun times

Great home with beautiful views. Stocked with beach chairs, kayaks, corn hole, beach towels, floats, etc. Nice sandy beach and shallow water. Nice interior amenities as well.
Stayed 4 nights in Jun 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 19 July 2024
Thank you for your wonderful review! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful views and the range of amenities provided. It’s great to know that you made the most of the beach chairs, kayaks, and other items. We're glad you found the sandy beach and shallow water enjoyable, and that the interior amenities met your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location

Great Beach!!

Stayed here with family for some relaxing beach time and loved it. The garage is fully equipped with kayaks, paddle boards, beach toys and lawn games! Nostalgic 60s feel inside, and amazing views for Grandma to sit inside and watch the kids play. Great spot! Would book again!
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 19 July 2024
Thank you for your wonderful review, Emily! We’re thrilled to hear that you and your family enjoyed the relaxing beach time and loved the variety of activities available in the garage. It’s great to know that the nostalgic 60s feel and amazing views provided a perfect experience for everyone, especially Grandma. We’d be delighted to host you again—looking forward to your next stay!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Very nice property

Perfect size for our group of 4 adults and 2 older teens. Plenty of space for us to spread out. Great location right on a sandy beach. Included the majority of items we needed; host was very responsive to anything else we needed or any questions we had. Situated nicely to all the attractions we wanted to see - easy day trip to Sleeping Bear dunes, several light houses and shopping. A stop at Moomers for ice cream is a must.
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2021
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

What a view!

Lovely beachfront in central location. Well appointed with very responsive management company. It’s on a busy street but did not detract from the experience. Amazing window in living room gives you views of the sunrise. Nice to have washer dryer, kayaks, bbq grill, firepit and adirondack chairs!! Recommend!
Stayed 7 nights in May 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 19 July 2024
Thank you for your lovely review, Amy! We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the beachfront location, the well-appointed amenities, and the responsive management. It’s great to know that the busy street did not impact your experience and that you appreciated the sunrise views from the living room window. Your recommendation means a lot to us, and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Better than advertised

This house was the perfect spot for a fall vacation with my kiddos. The location was very convenient and I can’t say enough about that view!! We loved watching the ducks on the water in the mornings and sitting around the solo stove on the beach in the evenings. My daughter is a baker so she appreciated the well appointed kitchen. There’s a bit of road noise so if you’re a light sleeper you may want a sound machine, but otherwise everything was absolutely perfect.
Stayed 3 nights in Oct 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 29 December 2024
Thank you for your lovely review, Jessica! We’re thrilled you enjoyed the view, the peaceful moments by the water, and the kitchen. We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you and your family back soon!
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great location on East Bay

We were pleased to find kayaks and paddle boards in the garage. The house appears to have been shut up for quite a while. There were spider webs to clean up in the hallways and bathrooms.
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2022
Verified review

2/10 Terrible

Liked: Location, listing accuracy
Disliked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication

UNSAFE, UNSANITARY PROPERTY TOTALLY UNACCEPTABLE FOR THIS OUTRAGEOUS AMOUNT OF MONEY I PAID FOR IT

We were so excited to be staying here but our dream vacation turned into a nightmare when my elderly father stepped off the step in the garage and fell on the hard concrete floor and broke his arm in 2 places, shattering his elbow & requiring immediate surgery to save it. There are no railings in any part of this property for any of the stairs located throughout, & there is also a dangerous circular divet in the center of the garage floor, which is what I thought was the cause of Dad's fall, but it was the back step near the entrance of the house inside the attached garage. I would not recommend staying here if you have elderly or young children for this reason. After the incident when I reported the property unsafe to the property management they said it is code compliant because none of the stair locations exceed the requirement for railings, but there is also an area of concern with the brick pavers leading from the driveway to the front porch entrance; the spaces in between them are not filled in with mortar or earth and the edges tripped me also. I am 57 but in very athletic condition. The other complaint I voiced to the property management was the fecal material & a huge ball of human hair found at the foot of the bedsheets in the master bedroom. This bed was obviously not stripped between guests. We didn't discover this until we stripped the bed for my father's homecoming after he had spent half the vacation sleeping in the hospital.No clean sheets. UNACCEPTABLE
Stayed 6 nights in Sep 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 29 October 2024
We understand that this was a particularly emotional trip for you and your family, given the circumstances with your father, as you shared with us prior to your trip that this would be your father's last vacation due to him not being well enough for such trips in the future, and we did everything within our power to accommodate your needs. Our team was more than happy to answer any questions you had during your stay and did so in a professional way. We take great pride in maintaining the highest standards for safety, cleanliness, and hospitality, and we are saddened that you felt the need to share such negative feedback despite our efforts. As expressed during your stay, we were saddened by the news of your father’s fall down the single step in the garage and wished him a speedy recovery. We strive for transparency and accuracy in our listing to ensure that guests are fully informed prior to booking, and we feel confident that our Sandy Beachfront property was presented exactly as described - it is a ranch style home with minimal steps in and out. In addition, the property is indeed up to code as we let you know this information immediately after his fall. We have taken all measures to make sure that the home is up to date and current on all codes as we take our guests' safety extremely seriously. We have never had any type of accident or fall at this property due to the way the home is laid out. We also received your complaint of the sheets being soiled 3 days after your check in date. Immediately after you reported dirty linens our team members did not embarrass you or investigate further into why you were reporting soiled sheets 3 days after checking in. Rather, we worked quickly to purchase a new set of sheets and dropped them to the home in a very short period of time. As we assured you, Bayshore Vacation Rentals has very strict protocols with cleaners including washing and changing all linens before guests arrival. We also have a subsequent inspection done by our personal staff to ensure our properties are up to the highest cleaning standards. Thus, we are confident there is no possible way the sheets were left in that condition when you arrived (plus your brother or whoever was sleeping in the bed would have noticed a smell immediately upon check in). Your reservation included you bringing a pet along, with this information we understand that accidents happen and that someone in your party must have had an accident in the bed at some point before you became aware of the soiled sheets. While we truly do understand it’s embarrassing to discuss, your false accusations about the property in a public review that damages our business is where we feel compelled to step in and say something. Bayshore Vacation Rentals cares deeply for our guests' experiences and always responds to guests needs in a quick and transparent manner, which is again why we feel it is necessary to share our side of the experience with your group. We wish you all the best. Kind Regards, Bayshore Vacation Rentals
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 24 August 2024
Thanks for rating us 5 stars, Judy! Looking forward to hosting your stay in the future!
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback