Entire home

Spacious Dog Friendly Retreat w/ Pool & Fireplaces

Photo gallery for Spacious Dog Friendly Retreat w/ Pool & Fireplaces

A wooden interior with a pool table, chairs, and a gaming table.
An indoor swimming pool with wooden ceiling beams, tiled floor, and red and black lounge chairs along the wall.
A cozy cabin interior with a stone fireplace, wooden walls, and a large window overlooking a scenic landscape.
An outdoor patio with a metal table and chairs, a grill, and a stone wall.
A large log cabin with a deck, hot tub, and multiple rooms.

Reviews

8.6 out of 10
Excellent

Highlights

  • Enjoy the heated pool
    A rare find in this area - swim in comfort or have a relaxing dip.
  • Discover nearby landmarks
    Near Deep Creek Lake

Popular amenities

  • Balcony or patio
  • Spa pool on site
  • Private pool
  • Barbecue
  • Free internet
  • Pet-friendly

Explore the area

View map
McHenry, MD
  • Place, Deep Creek Lake
    ‪14 min walk‬
  • Place, Funland Go Cart Racetrace
    ‪2 min drive‬
  • Place, Wisp Resort
    ‪3 min drive‬
  • Airport, Morgantown, WV (MGW-Morgantown Municipal)
    ‪49 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

7 bedrooms (sleeps 22)

Lower Level: Bedroom 1

2 Single Beds and 1 Queen Bed

Lower Level: Bedroom 2

1 Queen Bed

Lower Level: Bedroom 3

1 Queen Bed

Lower Level: Bedroom 4

1 Queen Bed

Lower Level: Living Area

1 Double Sofa Bed

Main Level: Bedroom (Suite)

1 King Bed

Upper Level: Bedroom 1 (Suite)

2 Single Beds and 1 King Bed

Upper Level: Bedroom 2 (Suite)

2 Single Beds and 1 King Bed

5 bathrooms, 1 half bathroom

Lower Level: Bath

Bathtub or shower

Lower Level: Bath

Bathtub or shower

Main Level: Attached Bath

Shower only · Jetted bathtub

Main Level: Powder Room

Upper Level: Attached Bath

Bathtub or shower

Upper Level: Attached Bath

Bathtub or shower

Spaces

Deck or patio
Kitchen
Balcony
Dining area

Add dates for prices

Similar properties

About the area

McHenry

Located in McHenry, this holiday home is in a rural area and on a lake. While the natural beauty of Deep Creek Lake and Deep Creek Lake State Park can be enjoyed by anyone, those looking for an activity can explore Wisp Resort. Take in the nearby slopes with cross-country skiing and snowboarding, or try out other outdoor activities such as snowmobiling and ice skating.
Map
McHenry, MD

What's nearby

  • Deep Creek Lake - 14 min walk - 1.2 km
  • Funland Go Cart Racetrace - 2 min drive - 1.8 km
  • Wisp Resort - 3 min drive - 3.2 km
  • Deep Creek Lake State Park - 12 min drive - 9.7 km
  • Swallow Falls State Park - 17 min drive - 17.0 km

Getting around

  • Hagerstown, MD (HGR-Hagerstown Regional) - 120 min drive

Restaurants

  • ‪McDonald's - ‬7 min drive
  • ‪Black Hawk Coffee + Kitchen - ‬6 min walk
  • ‪Burger King - ‬14 min walk
  • ‪The Rowdy Rooster Bar and Grille - ‬9 min drive
  • ‪Honi Honi Bar - ‬6 min drive

Frequently asked questions

Does Spacious Dog Friendly Retreat w/ Pool & Fireplaces have a pool?

Yes, this property has an indoor pool. Pool types include heated pools.

Is Spacious Dog Friendly Retreat w/ Pool & Fireplaces pet-friendly?

Yes, pets are allowed at this property.

How much is parking at Spacious Dog Friendly Retreat w/ Pool & Fireplaces?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at Spacious Dog Friendly Retreat w/ Pool & Fireplaces?

Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.

What time is check-out at Spacious Dog Friendly Retreat w/ Pool & Fireplaces?

Checkout is at 10:00 AM.

Where is Spacious Dog Friendly Retreat w/ Pool & Fireplaces located?

Situated on a lake, this holiday home is within 1 mi (2 km) of Funland Go Cart Racetrace and Deep Creek Lake. Sunset Blvd. and Possum are also within 2 miles (3 km).

Reviews

8.6

Excellent

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 6 out of 12 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 4 out of 12 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 1 out of 12 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 1 out of 12 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 0 out of 12 reviews

8.0/10

Cleanliness

10/10

Check-in

9.0/10

Communication

9.6/10

Location

9.4/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great property!

Plenty of room for a large group and close to everything! Pool was great for kids. Highly recommended :)
Stayed 3 nights in Sep 2022
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Goodbye

Wonderful place
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 20 September 2023
Love hearing that the home was wonderful Yoni! Thanks for the review and please come see us again soon! Madison, Railey Vacations
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Nice place just needed a little more attention in the cleaning department.

We had a great time. The house was large enough for all. Lots of kitchen items to use. The large deck was wonderful.
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 4 October 2022
We appreciate you taking the time out to leave us a review Jennifer! We are sorry to hear about the cleanliness of the home. We strive to provide the best rental experience possible and sometimes as we are human we miss our mark. In the future please call us with any issue you may have and we will quickly some take care of it. Otherwise we are so glad to hear you and your family had a great time with us and we hope to have the opportunity to rent to you again in the future! Madison Miller, Railey Vacations
Verified review

4/10 Poor

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, location, listing accuracy

Would have been five out of five if my left items were returned

We had an absolutely amazing trip and loved the location and property of this house. Unfortunately, after leaving a high-end blow dryer and straightener in the master bath under the sink, it overshadowed the awesomeness of the trip. Within one hour of leaving, we realized the items were there and contacted the online number immediately. After several attempts the following week, via phone and email it is evident my items are not coming back. Which is very disappointing.
Stayed 3 nights in Oct 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 2 December 2024
Thank you for your feedback. I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced regarding the loss of your personal items Elizabeth. I understand the frustration of misplaced belongings, and I regret that we were unable to locate and return your items. Customer satisfaction is our top priority, and we strive to provide a seamless and enjoyable experience for all our guests. Please accept our sincere apologies for this oversight, and I hope the overall quality of your stay was positive despite this unfortunate incident. We appreciate your feedback and will use it to improve our services going forward. Madison, Railey Vacations
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Nice location

Location was nice. The pool was nice, the water was a bit chilly though. Would have been nice to have it heated warmer for my grandson. The property was nice but we didn't care for the interruptions from maintenance during our stay. Day 1 the rental company had a cable repairman coming to replace a cable box and when the repairman showed up he didn't know what he was supposed to fix so we had to call the rental company and give my phone to the cable man so they could talk to each other. I mentioned about the cold water so they sent out a pool maintenance person the same day and he said he adjusted the heater to heat the water to 84 which was still chilly. Then again on day 4 the pool maintenance guy showed up unannounced to check the chemicals in the pool and we don't get up early while on vacation. Luckily my daughter was up and let him in but with the lack of privacy on the main floor (no curtains) she was downstairs in her pajamas and since we were checking out the next day I don't understand why the pool technician didn't show up then to add the chemicals because we were not allowed to use the pool for an hour after he left and if he had to add more chemicals it would have been 2 hours. Other than that the property was nice, but a lot of steps.
Stayed 4 nights in Nov 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 1 December 2022
We appreciate you taking the time out to leave us with your feedback Maria! We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you may have had during your stay and the mishap concerning communication with our pool department. Due to county laws, we are required to service our rental pools daily to ensure the safety of all guests and unfortunately due to the number of homes we have, we can’t always provide an exact time our techs will be arriving. Otherwise we are pleased that you and your family had a good time with us and we hope to have the opportunity to rent to you again to ensure the best rental experience possible! Madison Miller, Railey Vacations
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Disliked: Cleanliness

.

Beautiful house but wasn’t clean enough It had alot of dog hair as well!
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2022
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, location
Disliked: Communication

Beautiful Home, in need of some repairs

My family and I stayed here one year ago and I keep getting reminders to review the property. Obviously some things may be different now than they were one year ago. We were made aware that the property was on the market just a few days before checking in. We were told that it was possible that showings could be scheduled during our stay but that someone would contact us ahead of time and we would have the option of saying that we did not wish for anyone to come by. I was not contacted about any showings during our stay. On the first day that we were there, 2 men came to the door saying they were there to haul away an old grill and deliver a new one. They needed to come inside to do this. I was very uncomfortable because this had not been communicated to me ahead of time and I had no way of knowing who these people were but I said sure go ahead. I contacted the property management company after that and let them know that I would appreciate a heads up if anyone else would be coming by. The following day, the pool maintenance person showed up to check on the pool and add chemicals. After, we were told to stay out of the pool for an hour or so. I was not aware that pool maintenance would happen every day, but they did return every day that we were there. The first time the person knocked on the door and I let them in. The second time I didn't make it to the door fast enough and the man just punched in the security code and let himself in. It made me uncomfortable knowing that any number of people were walking around with access to the security code and were authorized to just enter the house at anytime. I didn't feel like we had any privacy or security. The house itself was beautiful. The pool and pool table and hot tub were big hits with the kids and the upstairs was perfect. The entire basement seemed to be in disrepair. It was freezing in the basement and we realized that if we had people staying down there (which we didn't this time) they would have been miserable. The fireplace and tv in the basement didn't work. One of the sliding glass doors was jammed and unable to be locked properly - another issue that added to feeling unsafe in the house. Overall, we had a nice time, but I would not book this home again without communication from the owner/property manager that these things had been fixed and without clear expectations regarding who was scheduled to stop by during the stay.
Stayed 3 nights in Sep 2021
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Enjoyed my stay

We had a blast everything was beyond wonderful.
Stayed 3 nights in Mar 2021
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Check-in, communication, listing accuracy

It was ok

Overall it was ok but it is not very clean and we saw a mouse inside the house which was a turnoff. Good thing was that the indoor pool was warm enough for kids to comfortably play and that’s why four stars.
Stayed 3 nights in Feb 2021
Verified review

8/10 Good

Nice place for large group!

Great place. Great location. Dock slip a bonus. New grill. Had a great time. Pool. Hot tub. Disappointed with oven not working. Needed to cook some of our meals for the 20 people we had. Appreciate a discount next year. Garbage dosposal not working. Check plumbing please. Replace shower curtains. Deck splintering. Accomodates our large group. Beautiful house.
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2019
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Deep Creek Lake Prati family vacation

Great for our group of four families from four states! Grandkids loved the indoor pool, billiard table; loved the hot tub, lots of bedrooms for us, close to what we wanted to try; first time @ Deep Creek Lake & State Park. Beautiful area. We played and laughed a lot. Minor Repairs done well in good time. Thanks🤤
Stayed 7 nights in Aug 2018
Response from VrboOwner on 17 March 2020
Hello John- Awesome!! So happy you got to enjoy some wonderful time together. Such special memories! Hope to see you again soon. All the best, Railey Vacations
Archival

8/10 Good

very convenient, house great for large group

The house is perfect for a large group, the views are great and the house has a hot tub, a pool and a pool table plus plenty of sitting areas. We had 22 people in the house for 2 rainy days and had a great time using all the amenities playing cards, board game and reading. This house was perfect for our family.
Stayed 4 nights in Jul 2017
Response from VrboOwner on 17 March 2020
Hello Lynn- So happy to hear that our home was a perfect fit for your family! With that many people in one house, things can sometimes get a little overwhelming, but that is a big part of the appeal of this home. With space to spread out and activities to keep everyone busy, the environment stays intimate and inviting. We are so glad that you were able to come for a stay; we hope to see you again soon! Best- Your Friends at Railey Mountain Lake Vacations
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback