#3 Chester @ Birchwood Cottages at Loon Lake. Family Friendly Waterfront

Photo gallery for #3 Chester @ Birchwood Cottages at Loon Lake. Family Friendly Waterfront

A rustic cabin with a red roof and large windows, surrounded by a stone wall and green grass.
A compact kitchen with wooden cabinets, a stove, and a dining area with a table and chairs.
A red cabin with a white picket fence, surrounded by snow-covered ground and trees.
A compact kitchen with wooden cabinets, a microwave, and a coffee maker. There is a small dining area with a table and chairs.
A wooden chair near a campfire with rocks.

Reviews

8.6 out of 10
Excellent

Highlights

  • On the beach
    A rare beachfront property in the area - enjoy direct access to the beach and sea.
  • Discover nearby landmarks
    Walk to Loon Lake

Popular amenities

  • Balcony or patio
  • On beach
  • Arcade/game room
  • Barbecue
  • Internet access
  • Pet-friendly

Explore the area

View map
Chestertown, NY
  • Place, Loon Lake
    ‪2 min walk‬
  • Place, Gore Mountain Ski Resort
    ‪20 min drive‬
  • Place, Lake George
    ‪27 min drive‬
  • Airport, Glens Falls, NY (GFL-Floyd Bennett Memorial)
    ‪47 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

3 bedrooms (sleeps 5)

Left bedroom

1 Queen Bed

Livingroom

1 Double Futon

Right Bedroom

1 Queen Bed

2 bathrooms

Left Bedroom

Toilet · Shower only

Right bath

Toilet · Shower only

Spaces

Porch or lanai
Kitchen

Add dates for prices

Have a question?

AI iconBeta

Get instant answers with AI powered search of property information and reviews.

Similar properties

About the area

Chestertown

Located in Chestertown, this cottage is in a rural area and on the beach. Gore Mountain Ski Resort and Beginner Loop are worth checking out if an activity is on the agenda, while those wishing to experience the area's natural beauty can explore Pharaoh Lake Wilderness and Loon Lake. Revolution Rail Co. and North Creek Depot Museum are also worth visiting. Take in the nearby slopes with cross-country skiing and skiing, or try out other outdoor activities such as sledging and ice skating.
Map
Chestertown, NY

What's nearby

  • Loon Lake - 2 min walk - 0.2 km
  • Friends Lake - 9 min drive - 11.1 km
  • Gore Mountain Ski Resort - 20 min drive - 29.8 km
  • Lake George - 27 min drive - 33.1 km
  • Great Escape - 39 min drive - 54.9 km

Getting around

  • Glens Falls, NY (GFL-Floyd Bennett Memorial) - 45 min drive

Restaurants

  • ‪Stewart's Shops - ‬8 min drive
  • ‪Stewart's Shops - ‬15 min drive
  • ‪Black Bear Restaurant - ‬5 min drive
  • ‪Kelly's Good Eats - ‬10 min drive
  • ‪Main Street Ice Cream Parlor - ‬7 min drive

Frequently asked questions

Is #3 Chester @ Birchwood Cottages at Loon Lake. Family Friendly Waterfront pet-friendly?

Yes, pets are allowed at this property. Some restrictions may apply, so please contact the property for more details.

How much does it cost to stay at #3 Chester @ Birchwood Cottages at Loon Lake. Family Friendly Waterfront?

As of 26 October 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at #3 Chester @ Birchwood Cottages at Loon Lake. Family Friendly Waterfront on 28 October 2026 start from NZ$895, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.

How much is parking at #3 Chester @ Birchwood Cottages at Loon Lake. Family Friendly Waterfront?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at #3 Chester @ Birchwood Cottages at Loon Lake. Family Friendly Waterfront?

Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.

What time is check-out at #3 Chester @ Birchwood Cottages at Loon Lake. Family Friendly Waterfront?

Checkout is at 10:00 AM.

Where is #3 Chester @ Birchwood Cottages at Loon Lake. Family Friendly Waterfront located?

Nestled on the beach, this Chestertown cottage is steps from Loon Lake and 3 mi (4.9 km) from Loon Lake Beach. Hudson River and Schroon Lake are also within 6 miles (10 km).

Reviews

8.6

Excellent

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 4 out of 7 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 1 out of 7 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 2 out of 7 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 0 out of 7 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 0 out of 7 reviews

8.4/10

Cleanliness

9.6/10

Check-in

9.6/10

Communication

9.8/10

Location

8.4/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Thank you!!!
Stayed 3 nights in Sep 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 16 September 2026
Dear Charleen, Thank you for the 5-star review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Birchwood Cottages at Loon Lake, and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Check-in, communication, location

Our family enjoyed ourselves thank you.

Love the lake!!
Response from VrboOwner on 30 June 2020
Allison, we're so glad you were able to get away for a long weekend at the lake and enjoy the outdoors! Thank you for being great renters!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great

Was great! We can’t wait to stay again! Affordable price and we could bring our dogs, thank you! Really enjoyed the beach too!
Stayed 3 nights in May 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 31 May 2023
Erin - thank you for choosing Birchwood, and for the wonderful review. We appreciate your business, and we're glad you got to enjoy the beach and beautiful weather!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

ADK MDW

This property was just what we needed, close to my family that lives in Riparius. Everything you need for the night or a week, and in a beautiful location :) Would definitely bring my family back
Stayed 3 nights in May 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 25 June 2023
Rachael - thank you for choosing Birchwood, we are so glad you were able to enjoy yourself and be close to your family! Look forward to seeing you again!
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, communication, location, listing accuracy

Unique & cute

Had trouble unlocking door because I was not familiar with key fob. Easy after that. Beds were very comfortable, even the sleeper sofa was. The coffee pot didn't work, but I didn't bother to notify Patrick as I was the only person that wanted hot coffee. Nice tight screened in porch, no bugs. Will be visiting that area again.
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 29 June 2023
Hi Ann - we're glad you enjoyed your stay! Wish you would have mentioned the coffee pot to us, we have spares in our office for this type of thing, and Pat tested it this morning and got to enjoy a hot cup from the porch of #3! If you choose to come back, we'll gladly treat you to coffee from my favorite place, 9 Mile in Schroon!
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location

Things you should know

For people who are ok with disconnecting and bringing everything to the rental, this is perfect for you. Otherwise, you might want to reconsider. Pros: 1) The lake is across the street. Very beautiful. 2) Kitchen is well-stocked with expected appliances and utensils. MIcrowave and oven worked. I didn't use the stove. 3) Property manager responded quickly to messages and referred me to the caretaker for questions. 4) I felt safe. 5) All lights and hot water worked. Cons: 1) Property is very dark at night. There are no outside lights near the cottage so I used a flashlight to find it. 2) To me, if a property has such a strict cancellation policy, I need all details to make a decision prior to booking. When staying here, you have to bring your own sheets, pillowcases, towels, toilet tissue, paper towel, dish soap, hand soap. I HATE that you don't know what until after you book. I booked within the 30 days so I couldn't cancel if I wanted to. 3) The wi-fi is pretty much nonexistent. So much so that it shouldn't be labeled as a feature. They should market it as off the grid. Phone signal can be spotty but I had great service in the bedroom closest to the kitchen area. I have T-Mobile but when roaming, AT&T would pop up. So I think if you have AT&T, even better. 4) The property could be better maintained. All the flags hanging outside were pitiful in appearance and part of a window frame was peeling off in the kitchen. 5) The TV didn't work. Said no signal. I didn't care that much but you might. 6) No central temperature control. They provided 2 radiators for heat. So when we checked in, the cottage was freezing! 7) They have you take the trash to the local dump after your stay. Stay was ok but not a good fit for me and my family. I want to be informed of things that make a stay unique, like bringing your own sheets. If you're used to these things, however, you'll have a great stay.
Stayed 3 nights in Sep 2020
Response from VrboOwner on 31 October 2020
Prisca, we thank you for choosing Birchwood, and providing such a detailed review for future renters! We have a much more relaxed cancellation policy this year (especially due to Covid), and while it is not explicitly reflected on VRBO due to their user interface options, we hope that if there was an issue with cancelling you could reach out to us directly and we could definitely work something out. It's also stated in our contract and emails that are sent, about the relaxed cancellation policy this year. We are reviewing and updating (if necessary) our descriptions for (all) of our units on VRBO to reflect that you need to bring your own sheets and towels and the other items you mentioned. A few of our other listings for the other cottages on our property do state that you need to bring your own, but it was a miss in #3s description. We do state this in the contract that is sent to you after booking, but that is after the fact -- so we will edit it to make it more apparent! A quick reset of the TV is all that is needed (that our caretakers are happy to do for you if it can not be figured out)...if the power goes out -- the cable boxes provided by the company need to be reset. The garbage responsibility is again, listed within the contract sent to you - but we will work to find a way to make it apparent on VRBO as well. We hope overall you were able to get away off the grid for a short time and enjoy the peace and quiet and beauty that the Adirondacks have to offer. Thank you!
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Check-in, communication, location

Better off paying a little extra somewhere else

A bit run down and could just some renovations. We've stayed at many cottages and this one just feels moist and gross. Door handles and floors are gross. Microwave was brand new. Both showers are extremely tight. You basically have to stand in one position while using it. It got pretty cold at night and they only supplied one heater (we had two bedrooms-pretty awkward to keep the bedroom doors open to share the heater). We only had hot water on the first night. The next two nights one 1 of us was lucky to get hot water. The remaining 4 of us had freezing cold showers. The TV didn't work and we had to text/call for the Wifi PW (which barely worked). One of the beds had a huge pee stain on it. They definitely didn't change the sheets. Luckily, we brought our own but that was pretty gross. We were charged a cleaning fee which i feel is a complete rip off because there were notices left stating we had to mop/sweep/vacuum before leaving. Also, we were responsible for dumping our trash at the town dump. It isn't far (10 mins away) but you have to pay and we ended up waiting on line for about 20 mins. Why charge us a cleaning fee if we had to do it ourselves? The most annoying thing was we weren't allowed to use the boats/kayaks. And the rec room was closed. We totally understand it's due to the pandemic but we should've been given a heads up! Why isn't the description updated? We wouldn't have chose this place if we knew. That's just wrong. Lastly, on our third night, we sat on the front deck chatting and had to go inside because someone starting pointing a spot light on us from the mainhouse. So rude.
Stayed 3 nights in Sep 2020
Response from VrboOwner on 3 November 2020
Sara, we do thank you for choosing Birchwood, and we appreciate the feedback from our renters. In the 5 years we have owned Birchwood, we've taken on renovating 3 of the cottages, with 3 remaining to be renovated, one of them is the cottage you stayed in. Our units are cleaned to CDC / BOH guidelines, but if something was not up to par with your standards, we hoped you would reach out to us or our onsite caretakers immediately, and we could have had our cleaning company come back immediately to rectify the situation. For the water heater, as soon as we read your review, we called a plumber and found out it was a bad element, had you let us know - it could have been fixed same day -- that is why we have 24/7 on site caretakers to help with these items (as well as an additional heater for these unpredictable Adirondack weather swings. As is stated on VRBO, within our contract, entrance instructions and email reminder - sheets / towels are not provided, cleaning no longer needs to be done by the renter (you must have been reading an old sheet in the cottage, of which we have removed), and garbage disposal is to be handled by the renter as well. The pandemic has caused us many obstacles in regards to what shared equipment we are allowed to lend out, of which the rec room and boats / kayaks being some of them...we are hoping this pandemic does not rear it's ugly head for our next season! Our Covid-19 tab on our website is updated pretty regularly with all of these DOH guidelines included for our upcoming renters to read. As for the spotlight from the Lodge -- that unit had renters in it - and we will be addressing that with them directly, we apologize that other renters caused you a little bit of discomfort! We do hope overall you enjoyed your mountain lake getaway in the midst of these trying times. Thank you!
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback