Located on a lake, this holiday home is in Wangi Wangi, a neighbourhood in Newcastle. The Lake Macquarie Variety Playground and Hunter Ice Skating Stadium are local attractions and those in the mood for shopping can visit Charlestown Square and Westfield Kotara. Take the opportunity to explore the area for outdoor excitement like hiking.
Lake Macquarie State Conservation Area - 2 min drive - 1.6 km
University of Newcastle - 29 min drive - 31.1 km
Merewether Beach - 41 min drive - 38.7 km
Newcastle Beach - 45 min drive - 40.6 km
Getting around
Teralba Station - 17 min drive
Newcastle, NSW (NTL-Williamtown) - 50 min drive
Restaurants
Market St Cafe - 9 min walk
The Watch House Cafe & Pizzeria - 7 min drive
Bay Hotel Motel - 18 min drive
Corner Haus - 11 min drive
The Yoga Place Cafe - 37 min drive
Frequently asked questions
Is Wemberley Lakehouse- Absolute waterfront and pool pet-friendly?
No, pets are not allowed at this property.
How much does it cost to stay at Wemberley Lakehouse- Absolute waterfront and pool?
As of 28 October 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Wemberley Lakehouse- Absolute waterfront and pool on 4 May 2027 start from NZ$1,348, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
How much is parking at Wemberley Lakehouse- Absolute waterfront and pool?
On-site parking is available at the property.
What time is check-in at Wemberley Lakehouse- Absolute waterfront and pool?
Check-in begins at 2:00 PM.
What time is check-out at Wemberley Lakehouse- Absolute waterfront and pool?
Checkout is at 10:00 AM.
Where is Wemberley Lakehouse- Absolute waterfront and pool located?
Located in Wangi Wangi, this holiday home is within 1 mile (2 km) of Lake Macquarie, Lake Macquarie State Conservation Area and Pulbah Island Nature Reserve. Toronto Private Hospital and Sugarloaf State Conservation Area are also within 9 miles (15 km).
Reviews
8.8
Excellent
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Property was in a great location with direct lake access. Didn’t use the pool or table tennis, kitchen had ok gear, enough to cook simple meals.
We would stay again.
Stayed 6 nights in Nov 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 19 December 2024
Thank you for your review.
We look forward to your next stay!
We had a great time on the lake at Wangi. The host Stacy was responsive about our arrival times, etc. And the check-in and check out was easy thank you.Overall, very happy. Lovely deck area that overlooks the water with direct access from the back deck to the grass area and then to public grassy walkway and the water.Lovely walks up and down the bay. Lots of friendly locals.It was quiet at night and the bed was comfortable.
Stayed 2 nights in Nov 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 20 November 2025
Thanks so much for your kind words! We're thrilled you enjoyed the peaceful lakeside setting, easy check-in, and those lovely walks around Wangi. Hope to welcome you back again soon!
All good just need the pool looked after a bit better
Stayed 2 nights in Nov 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 7 August 2023
Hi Daniel, thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Hope to see you again soon. :)
Verified review
8/10 Good
sharron t.
22 February 2019
Location! Location ! Location !
Fantastically maintained older style house , so clean so comfy.
And once you’ve reached the lounge room you are hit with an unobstructed view of the lake !!!!
The house 🏠 s perfectly positioned with a ten minute stroll ( either way ) to the local clubs on the lake .
The pool in the front yard is such a decent size & again , beautifully maintained.
My friends & I had a lovely weekend away and only wish we had the opportunity to stay longer.
If you have a kayak/canoes would recommend to bring , wish we’d brought ours .
Stayed 2 nights in Feb 2019
Response from VrboOwner on 7 August 2023
Thank you for your lovely review Sharron! We are glad you had a great stay on Lake Macquarie. We definitely recommend our guests bring their kayaks and boats! The perfect place for some water activities. We hope to see you again! :)
It was a please to stay there, Everyone loved the feeling of the place
The property was well maintained, There are only a few things to be looked at, There is no light working over the stove. The lounges cushions should be removed to clean as we found a small article of clothing in one of the chairs and also our booking was for 6 adults and there was only 1 spare roll of toilet paper in each toilet, Suggestion that there be 2. Loved the place though and will be booking again
Stayed 2 nights in May 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 7 August 2023
Hi Cheryl, thankyou for your feedback we will pass this onto the owner & our housekeeping team to get this rectified. We hope you enjoyed your stay & we hope to see you next time.
Verified review
6/10 Okay
brian H.
15 July 2020
Liked: Check-in, communication, location
Disliked: Cleanliness
We enjoyed location, but some annoyances
Pros: Big house, nice next to Lake, warm with air con.
Cons:
1. big cockroaches in kitchen, some dirty kitchen equipment, garlic crush terrible,
2. ensuite to main door and shower door can't close at same time,
3. no ping pong balls,
4. no dry firewood for fire or tools to clean soot out,
5. back door does not lock (little bit of wriggling and kids got it open!), 6. If you need dark to sleep you will be up early in master bedroom - very bright.
7. No kayaks or boat to use on Lake.
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2020
Response from VrboOwner on 7 August 2023
Thank you for your review, Brian, we are glad you enjoyed the homes lakefront location. Thank you for your feedback regarding some of the home amenities. We have arranged a pest spray at this home however as we've had terrible weather here the last week, so we suspect they are trying to escape from the cold wet weather indoors. We have also now arranged a firewood delivery and we are discussing ways to improve security on the back door. Unfortunately, due to liability, we are unable to rent out kayaks and boats, however, there are boat hire services available in Lake Macquarie and we always encourage guests to bring their own! There is plenty of parking for boats and it is the perfect spot for kayaks and paddleboards. We hope to see you again. :)
Verified review
6/10 Okay
L b
31 December 2024
Liked: Check-in, location
Disliked: Communication, listing accuracy
Bad property management
The house was great however the net on ping pong table was broken, no coat hangers in most rooms, no brooms,dustpan and brush. Barbecue was left very dirty. Toilet flushing was not working properly, making constant runing water noise. Coffee capsules left to us were wrong sizes! Dead coakroaches found in kitchen and playroom.Spoke to agency about net beeing broken ect...nobody Turned up. We had to fix things ourselves.For the price paid i expected better care and attention to details for this property.
Stayed 7 nights in Dec 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 14 April 2025
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're glad to hear you enjoyed the house, though we're sorry to learn there were aspects of your stay that did not meet your expectations.
We’ve reviewed our communication records and can confirm that we did provide information on the location of cleaning items, including the vacuum.
We did not receive any communication regarding the ping pong table net or concerns about the toilet during your stay. Had we been made aware; we would have done our best to address them promptly.
Regarding the coffee pods, we’ve also rechecked and can confirm the correct-sized capsules were supplied, along with a smaller variety as an additional option.
We appreciate your comments, as they help us continue improving our guest experience. Thank you again for staying with us, and we hope to see you again in the future.
Verified review
6/10 Okay
Sana Q.
2 December 2021
Liked: Check-in, location
Disliked: Communication, listing accuracy
Not worth it
This is a pretty old house , in desperate need of renovations. The biggest issue we had was the wifi. It would connect but there was no internet connection. I tried calling the owners to sort it out but they didn't answer.
All the door handles and drawers knobs are about to fall off. The doors don't close properly. And bathroom doors dont have locks. Kitchen appliances (microwave and dishwasher) don't work properly. And the kitchen crockery and pots and pans were in pretty bad conditions. And the BBQ was disgusting.
Wangi wangi is a beautiful place but we will not be renting this place again. Not worth the money they charged.
Stayed 2 nights in Nov 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 7 August 2023
Thank you for your feedback. We will pass this information on to the appropriate person.
The location and facilities were great.
The cleaning we felt let the property down.
Stayed 6 nights in Jan 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 7 August 2023
Thank you for your review and your feedback, we have taken this into consideration and have taken action.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay!
We hope to see you again!