Daweswood - Luxury cottage, lake access & hot tub

Photo gallery for Daweswood - Luxury cottage, lake access & hot tub

A cozy room with a hammock, a sofa, a table, and a view of a garden and parked cars.
A living room with a sofa, a coffee table, and a hammock. There is a large window with plants on the windowsill.
A garden with a metal trellis structure, lush green grass, and purple flowers.
A hallway leading to a kitchen with a dining area.
A room with a hammock, large windows, and a view of a backyard.

Reviews

8.0 out of 10
Very good

Highlights

  • Your own private chef
    One of the few properties offering private chef services.

Popular amenities

  • Balcony
  • Spa pool on site
  • Barbecue
  • Pet-friendly
  • Refrigerator
  • Onsite parking available

Explore the area

View map
Kent, England
  • Place, University of Kent
    ‪5 min drive‬
  • Place, Gulbenkian Theatre
    ‪6 min drive‬
  • Place, Canterbury Cathedral
    ‪11 min drive‬
  • Airport, London (SEN-Southend)
    ‪122 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

5 bedrooms (sleeps 12)

5 bathrooms

Bathroom 1

Bathroom 2

Bathroom 3

Bathroom 4

Bathroom 5

Spaces

Deck or patio
Kitchen
Balcony
Garden

Add dates for prices

Similar properties

About the area

Canterbury

Canterbury is home to this cottage. Chestfield Golf Club and Whitstable and Seasalter Golf Club are worth checking out if an activity is on the agenda, while those wishing to experience the area's natural beauty can explore West Blean & Thornden Woods and Tankerton Slopes. Travelling with kids? Consider Solly's Orchard and Lady Wootton's Green.
Map
Kent, England

What's nearby

  • University of Kent - 5 min drive - 1.7 km
  • Gulbenkian Theatre - 6 min drive - 2.3 km
  • Marlowe Theatre - 11 min drive - 5.0 km
  • Canterbury Christ Church University - 11 min drive - 5.4 km
  • Canterbury Cathedral - 11 min drive - 5.0 km

Getting around

  • Canterbury West Station - 9 min drive
  • London (SEN-Southend) - 97 min drive

Restaurants

  • ‪Caffè Nero - ‬4 min drive
  • ‪The Thomas Tallis Alehouse - ‬6 min drive
  • ‪The Penny Theatre - ‬5 min drive
  • ‪Mama Suki Hotpot & Dimsum - ‬5 min drive
  • ‪Sibson Café - ‬4 min drive

Frequently asked questions

Is Daweswood - Luxury cottage, lake access & hot tub pet-friendly?

Yes, pets are allowed at this property.

How much does it cost to stay at Daweswood - Luxury cottage, lake access & hot tub?

As of 1 November 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Daweswood - Luxury cottage, lake access & hot tub on 1 February 2027 start from NZ$1,986, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.

How much is parking at Daweswood - Luxury cottage, lake access & hot tub?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at Daweswood - Luxury cottage, lake access & hot tub?

Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.

What time is check-out at Daweswood - Luxury cottage, lake access & hot tub?

Checkout is at 11:00 AM.

Where is Daweswood - Luxury cottage, lake access & hot tub located?

This family-friendly Canterbury cottage is within 1 mi (2 km) of University of Kent and Gulbenkian Theatre. Solly's Orchard and Lady Wootton's Green are also within 3 miles (5 km).

Reviews

8.0

Very good

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 1 out of 2 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 0 out of 2 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 1 out of 2 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 0 out of 2 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 0 out of 2 reviews

8.0/10

Cleanliness

7.0/10

Check-in

7.0/10

Communication

10/10

Location

8.0/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great place for a family and friends get together

Stayed for my wifes birthday with 2 other families. Loads of space for 3 families with younger kids and teens to all hang out without being on top of each other. Only 15min drive to Whitstable. Sleeps 10 in 5 bedrooms and we brought two blow up mattresses for the young ones rather than utilising the sofa bed in the communal spaces. Hot tub was fun for everyone, and great big garden for the kids to run around in. Would recommend.
Stayed 2 nights in May 2024
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Location
Disliked: Communication

A mixed bag experience

We enjoyed our stay. Bathrooms were excellent, hot tub glorious, large outdoor area was great and kitchen/dining area fabulous. Problems with no cushions on outdoor chairs, cobwebs in the house, bedding scruffy and un-ironed, glass shards on patio, patio lighting not working and patio area clearly not swept for some time, mess under table etc. Exterior area could do with some work on untidy seating areas, mouldy chairs etc. Response from Host to our questions and requests were disappointing. Venue is marketed as a 'luxury' venue and this is not realistic given our experiences.
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 18 June 2023
This is a guest who was problematic from the outset. The duvet covers aren't always ironed but they're not scruffy. There are brand new cushions on the outdoor seats as of yesterday because this is the first guest to complain about the previous ones being too thin. (We always respond to feedback as a postive to way to improve future guest experiences) The cushions seemed to bother this guest so greatly that they wanted a discount, despite them successfully using other cushions from the garden room. This is the first time since opening the property 5 years ago that we have been asked for a discount, and especially over something so trivial. I inspected the patio before arrival and if there were small glass shards then they were minimal and we apologise for that. The property is surrounded by trees and leaves and twigs end up on the patio and woodland animals are in abundance in the garden who also use it. The outside area is swept regularly. My responses were helpful, respectful, but disappointing to the guests because I refused to give a discount for their irrational offence taken to some outdoor cushions. There is plenty of patio lighting, despite some garden bollards briefly not working during their stay (now fixed as advised to them). This property has a 5/5 Star and 10/10 star ratings online so this guest really seems to want to cause problems over some trivial points due to me not offering a discount for their entirely irrational request. This would be somewhere around my 1,000th guest staying at this property and also the only one causing problems so I would suggest to all fellow hosts, that you do not accept a reservation from this gentleman, in order to avoid a similar poor experience intent on damaging your business and livelihood.
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback