Located in Ellijay, this cabin is in a rural area and on the waterfront. Tabor House & Civil War Museum and Fort Mountain are local landmarks, and some of the area's attractions include Gilmer County Fairgrounds and Ellijay Marketplace. Kayaking and water tubing offer great chances to get out on the surrounding water, or you can seek out an adventure with mountain biking and hiking/biking trails nearby.
Blue Ridge Scenic Railway - 36 min drive - 41.8 km
Amicalola Falls State Park - 40 min drive - 50.8 km
Getting around
Atlanta, GA (PDK-DeKalb-Peachtree) - 88 min drive
Restaurants
Chick-fil-A - 8 min drive
McDonald's - 11 min drive
Buffalo Luke’s - 8 min drive
Mike's Ellijay Restaurant - 9 min drive
Dairy Queen - 9 min drive
Frequently asked questions
Does Deer River Retreat by Mountain Oasis | Waterfront Cabin in Coosawattee River Resort have a pool?
Yes, this property has a pool.
How much does it cost to stay at Deer River Retreat by Mountain Oasis | Waterfront Cabin in Coosawattee River Resort?
As of 31 October 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Deer River Retreat by Mountain Oasis | Waterfront Cabin in Coosawattee River Resort on 26 April 2027 start from NZ$1,737, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
Is Deer River Retreat by Mountain Oasis | Waterfront Cabin in Coosawattee River Resort pet-friendly?
Yes, pets are allowed at this property.
How much is parking at Deer River Retreat by Mountain Oasis | Waterfront Cabin in Coosawattee River Resort?
On-site parking is available at the property.
What time is check-in at Deer River Retreat by Mountain Oasis | Waterfront Cabin in Coosawattee River Resort?
Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.
What time is check-out at Deer River Retreat by Mountain Oasis | Waterfront Cabin in Coosawattee River Resort?
Checkout is at 10:00 AM.
Where is Deer River Retreat by Mountain Oasis | Waterfront Cabin in Coosawattee River Resort located?
Situated on the waterfront, this cabin is 0.5 mi (0.8 km) from Riverside Park and within 3 miles (5 km) of Gilmer County Fairgrounds and Piedmont Hospital. Cartecay River and Talona Lake are also within 6 miles (10 km).
Reviews
9.4
Exceptional
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Home was right on the river. Beautiful location. If you want to splash in the water or raft it's a perfect spot. It was fawn season and we saw deer everywhere. It was wonderful. Definitely felt like we were in the mountains. Check-In was seamless and the host was very helpful. Enjoyed our stay. Thanks for the hospitality!
Stayed 7 nights in Aug 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 25 August 2026
Perfect! Thank you for sharing your 5 Star Experience with us and others! Thanks for choosing Mountain Oasis, we hope to have you as our guest again soon!
Hi Bridgette, thank you for sharing your 5 Star Experience with us and others! We hope to have you as our guest on your next visit to North Georgia!
Verified review
2/10 Terrible
Tabitha J.
21 September 2026
Liked: Check-in, communication, location
Disliked: Cleanliness, listing accuracy
Dirty, scum in the hot tub, tried the tub down stairs and black worms came out! mildew n show curtain up stairs. Huge stains in carpet upstairs, pots and pans were gross. The instruction book was so gross to even flip through . Food stains all over it. Tile the downstairs bathroom was gross! Garage did not open up to get garbage cans. We took 4 days trash home ! Back yard tree had fell no clean up gate up on the top deck was definitely not safe! Fixed with bungy cords, all appliances were from the 90’s . Only one set of batteries for three TV we had to get those ourselves! No will not be back. And it’s a shame because it’s has such great potential. !
Stayed 4 nights in Sep 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 21 September 2026
Wow! This is shocking being that our office called the day after check in to make sure you arrived safely and to ask if there were any issues and either you or your spouse responded there were none.This was documented on your reservation. We did get a message from you the evening prior to your departure about the hot tub being dirty, your stay was for 4 nights, but we have photos that are required prior to arrival and it is sparkling clean. 1st we have heard of these other issues, with exception of garbage which was reported in that call prior to departure. The same key you were provided to the cabin opens the door on garage where garbage cans are kept to keep animals out of them and this is posted on the refrigerator. Not sure why you needed batteries for all 3 TV's since all were turned on and working prior to your arrival. Regardless, a quick call to our office during your stay would have resulted in any issues being resolved promptly. We regret that your stay was obviously not positive. This cabin is a guest favorite and honestly, this is the 1st time we have ever received a 1 star rating. The cabin is not advertised as being a new cabin but it is well maintained and the pictures accurately depict it. Very disappointing for you and us.
Great spot for a family get away. Hot tub was nice to relax in with the river in the background. rooms were spacious and the game room loft was fun for all.
Everything was fine - as described, clean, roomy. The kitchen could be plussed up a little but it was sufficient. We enjoyed our trip and look forward to returning to Ellijay.
Stayed 3 nights in Mar 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 4 April 2026
Thank you for sharing your experience at Deer Run! We hope to have you as our guest again!
We loved this property. The inside was spacious and had a pool table. Outside, we enjoyed the hot tub, river, and fire pit. We will definitely be back!
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 22 September 2025
Thanks for sharing your 5 Star Experience with us and others! We hope to have you back soon!
The cabin was cozy and the listing should really be updated to state 2 master suites because both bedrooms were really master bedrooms. The automatic fireplace was great and the two decks couldn't be beat!
We enjoyed our trip so much! The house was as listed!
Stayed 5 nights in Mar 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 26 April 2024
Thank you Beth, for taking the time to share your 5 Star Experience with us and others! We are so glad you enjoyed your time and look foward to having you back!
This place was a beautiful getaway for my wife and myself. Great views of the river out the back windows and off the back deck. The fire pit was great for sitting around at night and just enjoying the outdoors. We had deer visit daily, and even had them come within about 10-15 feet while we were sitting outside. We would 100% stay here again.
Stayed 4 nights in May 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 6 August 2025
Thank you for sharing your 5 Star Experience with us and others Jarrod! We hope to have you as our guest again soon!
The house was just as advertised! We were 2 couples so having 2 king suites was nice. The house was spacious and clean. We enjoyed the hot tub, fire pit, playing pool, and watching all the deer in the neighborhood. Dog friendly with gates you can use at porch entrance. House was close to lots of fun things to do.
Stayed 5 nights in Sep 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 20 October 2025
Thanks for sharing your Experience with us and others! We hope to have you again soon.
Beautiful Cabin with all the essentials. Jacuzzi, Fire Pit, BBQ, Two large Decks overlooking the river, Pool Table and many games. A lot of Deers and Squirrel's. Very Peaceful.
We really loved our stay here, got away from everything and even our children were peaceful. There are houses close by, but it was still felt very secluded. The river is gorgeous, the hot tub was a favorite. There is SO MUCH wildlife! Deer and geese every day!
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 15 August 2022
Thanks for the 5 Star Review Virginia! We are thrilled you enjoyed Deer Run Retreat and look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to the beautiful North Georgia Mountains!
A few issues with the blinds of the home not working. Otherwise the property was exactly as advertised. Great location on the river with all the comforts of home.
Stayed 5 nights in Jul 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 18 August 2025
Thanks for sharing your 5 Star Experience with us and others! We hope to have you as our guest again soon!
This quaint cabin is tucked away in the north Georgia mountains, right on the Coosawattee River. We thoroughly enjoyed the property, which was well equipped for a relaxing weekend. The highlights of the amenities included an outdoor private hot tub, two levels of decks overlooking the river, and a firepit right on the shoreline. We highly recommend this cabin for a relaxing weekend getaway.
Stayed 2 nights in Mar 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 27 March 2023
Thank you for sharing your 5 Star Experience Holley! We are so happy you enjoyed the cabin and we hope to host you again in the future!
This was our yearly “friends” cation! It was the perfect stay for the 4 of us! Beautiful riverside cabin that had everything you need to make your time there wonderful! I loved sitting in the top deck looking at the river every morning! And of course the pool table and hot tub are awesome touches to the cabin. Check in was stress free and check out the same
Stayed 5 nights in Jul 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 4 September 2024
Thanks for sharing your 5 Star Experience with us Amanda! We are thrilled you and your friends enjoyed the cabin and we hope to have you as our guests again!
I took my wife here for her birthday. Totally amazing!! We had hotdogs and s’mores at the fire pit. There were deer everywhere and geese on the river. We will definitely go back.
My husband and I enjoyed our long weekend get away at Deer River Retreat. The cabin's location on the river was the perfect spot for us to escape and unwind and the cabin was furnished with everything we needed so we could just stay there and enjoy each other and the beautiful, tranquil setting of cabin. We were hoping for some snow but mother nature had other plans...haha. Thank you again for sharing your cabin with us. We definitely hope to visit again!
We highly enjoyed our stay. There were so many deer in the neighborhood. The water was easy to get to since it has flat ground in the back yard. Place was very clean. Driveway was not my favorite but every cabin we have ever stayed at I haven’t been fond of lol. Overall. Great stay !
Stayed 5 nights in Sep 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 29 September 2023
Thanks for sharing your 5 Star Experience with us and others Dana! We look forward to you as our guest again. Mountain Oasis