Labrador Mountain House

Photo gallery for Labrador Mountain House

A spacious living room with a high ceiling, wooden beams, a fireplace, and a cozy seating area.
A wooden cabin interior with a kitchen, dining area, and a hallway leading to a bedroom.
A room with exposed wooden beams, a desk with a computer, shelves with books and decorative items, and a view through a window.
A wooden deck with outdoor furniture, a barbecue grill, and potted plants.
A wooden sign reading "Welcome" and "Labrador Mountain House" above a door. A hanging planter with red flowers is visible.

Reviews

9.6 out of 10
Exceptional

Highlights

  • Room to gather
    Enjoy the roomy dining space, perfect for shared meals.
  • Centrally-located
    You're never far from where you need to be with this convenient location.

Popular amenities

  • Ski-in/ski-out access
  • Spa pool on site
  • Private pool
  • Patio
  • On-site fitness centre
  • Dog-friendly

Explore the area

View map
Truxton, NY
  • Place, Cortland Country Music Park and Campground
    ‪11 min drive‬
  • Place, Homer Center for the Arts
    ‪14 min drive‬
  • Place, State University of New York-Cortland
    ‪17 min drive‬
  • Airport, Cortland, NY (CTX-Cortland County)
    ‪22 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

6 bedrooms (sleeps 14)

Bear Room

2 Single Beds and 1 Queen Bed

Birch Room

1 Queen Bed

Chickadee Room

2 Single Beds and 1 Queen Bed

Master

1 King Bed

Rainbow Room

1 King Bed

Whitetail Room

1 Queen Bed

3 bathrooms, 1 half bathroom

Birch Bath

Bathtub or shower · Toilet

Master Bath

Toilet · Shower only

Owl Bath, upstairs

Bathtub or shower · Toilet

Tree Bath

Toilet

Spaces

Deck or patio
Porch or lanai
Kitchen
Outdoor play area
Garden
Dining area

Add dates for prices

Have a question?

AI iconBeta

Get instant answers with AI powered search of property information and reviews.

Similar properties

About the area

Truxton

Located in Truxton, this holiday home is in a rural area. Song Mountain Resort and Cortland Beer Company are worth checking out if an activity is on the agenda, while those wishing to experience the area's natural beauty can explore Tuller Hill State Forest and Cortland Country Music Park and Campground. Homer Center for the Arts and Cascades Indoor Waterpark are also worth visiting. Take in the nearby slopes with snowboarding and skiing, or try out other outdoor activities such as snowmobiling.
Map
Truxton, NY

What's nearby

  • Cortland Country Music Park and Campground - 11 min drive - 18.9 km
  • Homer Center for the Arts - 14 min drive - 21.8 km
  • Central New York Living History Center - 15 min drive - 23.6 km
  • DeRuyter Reservoir - 16 min drive - 22.8 km
  • State University of New York-Cortland - 17 min drive - 22.8 km

Getting around

  • Cortland, NY (CTX-Cortland County) - 20 min drive

Restaurants

  • ‪Dunkin' - ‬17 min drive
  • ‪hiawatha inn - ‬1 min walk
  • ‪Pasta Zanmai - ‬5 min drive
  • ‪Cabin In The Woods - ‬15 min drive
  • ‪Long Branch - ‬9 min walk

Frequently asked questions

Does Labrador Mountain House have a pool?

Yes, this property has an outdoor pool.

How much does it cost to stay at Labrador Mountain House?

As of 29 October 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Labrador Mountain House on 11 January 2027 start from NZ$5,718, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.

Is Labrador Mountain House pet-friendly?

Yes, this property allows dogs (limit 2 total) with a maximum weight of up to 453 kg per pet.

How much is parking at Labrador Mountain House?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at Labrador Mountain House?

Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.

What time is check-out at Labrador Mountain House?

Checkout is at 10:30 AM.

Where is Labrador Mountain House located?

Set amidst the mountains, this ski-in/ski-out holiday home in Truxton is within 12 mi (20 km) of Cortland Country Music Park and Campground, Song Mountain Resort and Toggenburg Mountain. Homer Center for the Arts and DeRuyter Reservoir are also within 12 miles (20 km).

Reviews

9.6

Exceptional

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 11 out of 13 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 1 out of 13 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 1 out of 13 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 0 out of 13 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 0 out of 13 reviews

10/10

Cleanliness

10/10

Check-in

9.4/10

Communication

9.6/10

Location

10/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Wonderful experience

The house, pool, and hot tub are amazing!! The renters are a pleasure to work with and it was just the escape we were looking for over Fourth of July weekend. I would absolutely recommend their home to rent!!
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2020
Response from VrboOwner on 17 July 2020
Thank you Kelly! You and your group are welcome back any time. Labrador Mountain house is a great destination in winter too...hope to host you again soon. Jan and Ken
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great family reunion home

We really enjoyed this house. It has a great kitchen and wonderful dining table that seated our whole group. The living room accomadates a large group and the bedrooms were lovely. The hot tub with a roof was so nice since it rained quite a bit on our trip. The games available were also much appreciated.
Stayed 3 nights in Oct 2023
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Labrador Mountain House near Tully, NY

The Labrador Mountain House is an exquisitely private and naturally beautiful getaway on the top of a mountain near Tully, NY, with everything you could possibly need for a large group of people to have a great time together. The hosts (Jan and Ken) were terrific and very helpful. I hope we get to return someday.
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2023
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

A wonderful time - very accommodating hosts

First of all, the property is very nice. It's the perfect place for a large group to meet up. We had three families of four, with kids ranging from 3.5 to 8 years old. The house, pool, hot tub were all great. An extra special mention to the hosts...we were supposed to come 3 weeks earlier but one of the families got Covid. The hosts were willing and able to move our trip without question. Thank you!
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2022
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Fabulous, well-appointed mountain house

The house is very well equipped with a comfortable rustic mountain vibe. We were a group of cousins in town for a family reunion in East Homer, so the location was perfect for us. The dining table is large and accommodated all. The kitchen is great. The outdoor area with pool, hot tub and grills is in a nice deck area. Including a vegan grill which was a great touch. There are large gathering spaces throughout. We never felt crowded at all. The hosts are super helpful and responsive. Future guests should note waterbed in one bedroom and vehicle limit in driveway.
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 13 August 2025
To whom it may concern. We have since replaced the water bed with a full kingsize mattress.
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, location, listing accuracy
Disliked: Communication
I rented this property because after my wife passed away on Easter Sunday, we would all be back in town for her memorial service and celebration of life. I wanted a place for me, my three sons and their families where we could be together for a time of peace and healing. I will say that the house suited our needs perfectly. We had all the rooms and beds we needed and all the other amenities were great. My problem was with the hosts/owners. You need to understand that this house is their primary residence and when it's rented they live in a little yurt they have built only a few hundred feet through the woods. And they watched EVERYTHING. The morning after we checked in, the messages through the app and texts to my phone started coming and continued all day. We followed every rule, we actually had one less person than originally signed up. But they kept finding reasons why they needed to come to the house, clean the pool, check the weir, who is the extra car, etc, etc. By Friday night I was so stressed I couldn't focus. So much for the "spiritual, dreaming house" I was promised. Where it got really creepy is when we discovered they had been at the house while we were all at the memorial service. I could go on and on but you get the point. So, house 5 stars, Hosts 1 star. Averaged out 3 stars. If you don't mind helicopter hosts then this is the place for you.
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 24 August 2025
We are glad that our house suited Ronald’s group’s needs perfectly. We are sad that as hosts we did not meet his expectations. The feedback is valued, and we take it seriously. Note we allowed for early check in (9 AM) and late check out (mid to late afternoon) Additionally we allowed for two drop in guests for dinner on Friday. We did this although our house rules clearly prohibit drop-ins. Please note our responses to the feedback. Yes we reside in a Yurt which is about 400-500 feet away thru the woods. The yurt is nestled in the woods and does not have view of the house. We do have a security camera for the guests and our safety. On Friday we noticed one of their vehicles bringing an additional (2)guests with suitcases coming into the house with our security camera. We stated our concern about the extra guests we had approved as drop-ins staying overnight. Then two more guests arrived in a different car. We expressed our concerns about the extra guests. When Ronald told us to stop communicating with him about this we did. Concerning our coming over to the house check the pool. Ronald told us “..and you are welcome to pop in anytime you like. We are a pretty easy-going bunch.” The night before they were going to check in there was heavy rain, and we needed to check the pool weir for leaves so the pump would not be stressed the next time it ran. We asked if the weir could be checked but when we received no response we gave notice we were coming over based on the earlier permission. We also picked up garbage. We as hosts are also disappointed that damage was not reported to us. Our vintage Seller’s cabinet door was pulled off its hinges, a floating pool lounge chair was punctured, a pool noodle was pulled apart, a kid’s stuffed toy was chewed on by the dog, the handle on a cleaver was cracked, and the pool weir was now leaking. Fortunately, insurance damage protection was purchased. That said a heads-up about the damage would have been helpful as we need to plan for future guests. Finally, several weeks after booking Ronald asked us to have a party at the location with ten extra guests. We could not accept this since parties are not allowed. This is based on extra traffic for our neighbors, liability of non-booked guests, etc. Ronald brought this up again on the day of check-in and said that it was unfortunate that their group could not spend more time at the house. They found a different venue to meet the need for a party. Perhaps this influenced Ronald’s overall disappointment. Again, we are happy the house perfectly met the needs of Ronalds group. Our actions as hosts are rooted in providing the best service to our current and future guests as well as protecting the venue for future guests and ourselves. We encourage you to look at all of our excellent reviews before letting this one influence your booking decisions. Best Jan and Ken.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great Family Reunion

This property is super nice. Every bedroom was great and the kitchen was well equipped. Dining for 15 was fantastic. We loved the living rooms, the hot tub and sauna. Everything was top notch. The location was beautiful with local walks and trails and a beautiful garden. Very quiet and private. Just a note - there were 3 and a half bathrooms but that was enough for us as we were all related.
Stayed 3 nights in Oct 2022
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Amazing home/everything you need in one place!

Staying at Labrador Mountain House for the week was everything my family had hoped for and more. The pictures on VRBO do not do this place justice. It is a beautiful home filled with everything you would need for some time away – a large family room and dining area, a well-appointed kitchen, and plenty of bedrooms to spread out in. Our favorite places to spend time were on the front porch overlooking the beautiful gardens (esp first thing in the morning), in the large screened in deck, on the outdoor deck, and in the amazing above ground pool. We loved watching all of the birds (especially hummingbirds) that flock to their home and their many birdfeeders. There is a small path that leads to the top of the ski lift. Our stay was in the summer so we enjoyed the lovely views and took a small hike down the mountain. We were also thrilled that the owners had just put in a fiberoptic cable so we had no problem with internet access (even with multiple users on at the same time). Jan was incredibly easy and pleasant to communicate with. She responded to every question before and during our stay quickly, suggested local places/events for us to enjoy, and even told us to help ourselves to vegetables in the garden! Our group of 10, ages 5-75, found this the perfect place to relax and spent time together. We hope to be back soon.
Stayed 6 nights in Aug 2021
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Family Reunion

This was a beautiful location for our family to connect after a hard year of separation due to COVID. There was plenty of space for everyone to enjoy themselves. The surrounding area offered plenty to see, but honestly there would be no need to leave the property of you didn't want to. It's just that nice.
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2021
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great mountain getaway

Jan and Ken were thorough hosts. They were very quick to reply and extremely detailed in their responses. The pictures do not do the home justice! The house was stocked with all items you could think of needing during a weekend or week away. Our entire group had plenty of space and all of the beds were very comfortable. We look forward to returning and would recommend this home to others looking for a quiet, relaxing stay in the mountains!
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2021
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, listing accuracy

Great house for friends, but bad cell service/wifi

The Labrador Mountain House is a great property with rustic charm but new amenities... except for connectivity. Now, I'll admit, the listing warned us, but we weren't quite prepared for the spotty cell service and slow-to-nonexistent Wifi. In order to get work done, we actually had to go to the library in town. But once the weekend came, we enjoyed the hot tub, the spacious living area, and enjoyed ourselves despite the crummy weather. I do note the house is pretty far away from restaurants/grocery stores/pharmacies/etc so it's probably a good idea to make sure you have everything you need before getting in.
Stayed 4 nights in May 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 13 June 2021
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you coming to stay at Labrador Mountain house. We are sorry that the issues you addressed led to disappointment and we were also surprised as no one in your party shared any of these concerns during your stay. We wish you had reached out to us during your stay so we may have helped mitigate what we could. There are ways the internet can be tweaked such as resetting the modem and the extender, or turning off extraneous devices. We list nearby places to get food and groceries in our binder. We communicated with you by text and face to face during your stay and were told all was going well so far and that the house was beautiful. When you reached out for internet information we responded promptly and we sent the baby clothes that were left behind within a day of your request. As you mentioned, our internet is described accurately in our listing, it is HughesNet, a satellite internet provider which is the absolute best you can get in our area at the time. That said, it is not what most non rural folks are used to which is why we take pains to set expectations. The peace and beauty of this wooded setting, the privacy afforded to our guests of Labrador Mountain house, this is the jewel in our crown. There are restaurants and grocery stores within a 20 to30 minute drive, perhaps not convenient, but to most of our guests, part of the charm. Groups that seek to work online and have all they need within a short distance generally do not seek us out. We were disappointed that we were given a lower review score based on things we clearly set expectations for. We wish you and all of your group the very best.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Beautiful Home & Great Stay

The Labrador Mountain House was an amazing home that clearly is well cared for. Jan & Ken communicated with me every step of the way and ensure my friends and I had everything we needed to have a great stay. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a place to get away and enjoy the nature and amenities of a mountain retreat.
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2020
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great house

As advertised and homeowners were very communicative. Great house. Lot of space.
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback