Located in Murphy, this holiday home is on the waterfront. Travellers eager for a bit of culture can stop by Valley River Arts, while those wishing to experience the area's natural beauty can explore Nantahala National Forest and Hiwassee Lake. Discover the area's water adventures with jet skiing and kayaking nearby, or enjoy the great outdoors with hiking and mountain biking.
Harrah's Cherokee Valley River Casino & Hotel - 39 min drive - 51.7 km
Blue Ridge Scenic Railway - 50 min drive - 69.9 km
Getting around
Chattanooga, TN (CHA-Chattanooga Metropolitan) - 112 min drive
Restaurants
Krystal - 33 min drive
Kerns Bread Co. - 48 min drive
Frequently asked questions
Is Beautiful Lake House on Lake Hiwassee in Bear Paw with Dock and majestic views pet-friendly?
Yes, this property allows cats and dogs (limit 2 total) with a maximum weight of up to 23 kg per pet. Some restrictions may apply, so please contact the property for more details.
How much does it cost to stay at Beautiful Lake House on Lake Hiwassee in Bear Paw with Dock and majestic views?
As of 1 November 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Beautiful Lake House on Lake Hiwassee in Bear Paw with Dock and majestic views on 10 April 2027 start from NZ$1,743, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
How much is parking at Beautiful Lake House on Lake Hiwassee in Bear Paw with Dock and majestic views?
On-site parking is available at the property.
What time is check-in at Beautiful Lake House on Lake Hiwassee in Bear Paw with Dock and majestic views?
Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.
What time is check-out at Beautiful Lake House on Lake Hiwassee in Bear Paw with Dock and majestic views?
Checkout is at 10:00 AM.
Where is Beautiful Lake House on Lake Hiwassee in Bear Paw with Dock and majestic views located?
This family-friendly Murphy holiday home is located on the waterfront, just steps away from Nantahala National Forest and Hiwassee Lake. Hiwassee River and Mountain View Marina are also within 3 miles (5 km).
Reviews
8.8
Excellent
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
We loved staying in the neighborhood and enjoying the lake. Very comfortable with everything you need. Easy walk to the lake. The pool in the community wasn’t functional but I’m sure that will be fixed in the future.
We stayed an extended weekend at this house and it was exactly what we wanted; fun, cozy, and extremely relaxing. 10/10, would recommend!
Stayed 4 nights in May 2023
Archival
10/10 Excellent
Kimberly A.
23 August 2011
Loved the House and the Lake
My family and I really enjoyed our stay. The house was clean and and cozy. The decor is just right for a house in the mountains. We enjoyed the swings and hammock on the deck and the downstairs game room. If you want a relaxing, peaceful yet fun vacation, this is the place. We plan to return next year.
Response from VrboOwner on 23 March 2020
Thank you Kimberly. I am glad you enjoyed our little piece of heaven! Please come back!
Verified review
6/10 Okay
Lee E.
23 August 2026
Liked: Location
Listing lists a dock for your boat but it’s way too shallow for a boat. Part of the dock was on the ground. The listing mentions to take your garbage to the dumpsters across the street from the entrance to the subdivision, but those dumpsters have been removed for several years. Luckily, I live in North Carolina and I’m allowed to use the county to dispose of garbage but had to drive 35 minutes to the closest place that was open because the hosts wanted me to get rid of the trash. This subdivision has local companies that will pick up trash and this place should be one that includes that. Luckily, I had a truck to take the trash off. I would hate to have had an SUV and have to put the trash in my vehicle with my luggage. The outside needs pressure washed and the deck had some rot that needs taken care of. The driveway was muddy until it rained and washed the mud off. Also the driveway is very steep and slick and luckily we had 4 wheel drive. The WiFi and password needs to be updated on the listing. The basement areas where the game room is has a very musty smell to it. The inside and the decorations were very nice
A restful and comfortable cabin with mountain view and private dock.
This cabin is perfect! We were so comfortable and had so much room . Along with a spacious living area and master bedroom, it had an upstairs with a great view as well as a basement with a ping pong and pool table and other games. Perfect for my teen and college aged daughters. The house was updated and the dock was great. It's so fun to just hang out and float and swim . Bear Paw and Lake Hiawassee do not disappoint. Definitely plan to stay here again.
Stayed 7 nights in Jul 2023
Verified review
10/10 Excellent
michael k.
14 August 2024
Liked: Cleanliness, communication, location
On line info
Online information was out of date check code was incorrect. Garbage information was incorrect.
We had a great time at this lake house. We stay at Bear Paw nearly every year, and this year's trip did not disappoint. Yes, the driveway is steep, but we no real issues with it. I laugh at some of these reviews. It's the mountains, guys. The basement was a big hit for ping pong and pool. We docked our boat at the home's dock and enjoyed the lake and hanging out at the dock. Beds were comfortable. The home was well-stocked, but as with any home in Bear Paw, we always bring plenty of extra stuff due to its isolated location. The home didn't have wifi or a landline, and my only suggestion would be maybe adding one or the other, just in case of emergencies, but I actually enjoy being unplugged for a few days. Thanks for a great trip.
Stayed 4 nights in Jul 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 5 August 2022
I am so glad y'all enjoyed your stay! We are in line to get WIFI. It is unavailable to us right now. Loved your comment on the driveway. They should have seen it before it was paved! LOL! Please come back!
We rented this house for $200 a night for a week. It is a steal of a deal. Where else can a family of 5 stay for that price?? Its not perfect, but none of the downsides are deal breakers. The main parts of the house are nicely appointed. Nice kitchen with enough utensils and cookware to make whatever you want (you will need to because the nearest restaurants are 30 minutes away). Master bedroom has a great king bed and a large bathroom. Upstairs bedrooms (one queen and one with 2 twin beds) where comfortable and well appointed. My kids had no problems with the upstairs bathroom. Dining area had a huge 8 person table. Fireplace/tv area had plenty of seating. House also now has Wifi. Basement has a definite 80s rec room vibe. A little musty but has another TV area, card table, pool table, dart board, and ping-pong table. My kids wore out the ping-pong and pool table at night Deck has a beautiful view and a nice charcoal Weber grill. The deck furniture is functional and working but was in need of some care and cleaning. The steps to the dock were in good shape and the dock had plenty of seating. A ladder for swimmers on the dock is needed. The community also has a pool, tennis/basketball/volleyball courts. The driveway is very steep and can only hold 2 cars. I wouldn't trust the driveway with any ice or snow (which doesn't happen too often because the road to the house would be questionable in ice or snow). We enjoyed our week and would definitely rent again.
The property was very nice. The one thing I was disappointed about was the WiFi. I was under the impression I could walk to the club house for the WiFi not so. Other than that we had a great time. Thanks
Stayed 3 nights in Mar 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 24 May 2022
I'm sorry. The clubhouse is a long walk but a short drive. We are hoping to have WIFI at the house soon.
Home beautiful, Property a little dangerous, driveway dangerous. I would not drive down my husband did,I'm thankful there was no snow and I had a buick enclave and not a truck to maneuver. Basement very nice with gameroom.
We had wonderful time! Very comfortable cabin with everything you might need plus a beautiful view! We spent our Christmas time , we are all going to treasure this memory.
Our family loved our trip to Bear Haven! We were able to cook a FULL Thanksgiving dinner in the ample kitchen, all the while enjoying the beautiful mountain and lake views. We made good use of the fireplace and enjoyed the pool table, foosball table, and ping pong table in the cozy walkout basement. We also enjoyed taking long walks along the lake bed and the neighborhood roads. All the beds are comfortable, and there was plenty of room for our gathering of 7. Owners were prompt with all communication, friendly, and went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable. Some confusion about whether we were to bring our own towels or use the ones in the cabin, so be sure to check with owners about this.
House was nice,comfortable and had plenty of room for the six of us.The dock was nice has stairs most the way down to it,the last stretch is a little treacherous, really had to watch your step going down and coming up.Overall our stay was very nice.
We love Hiwasse Lake & the Bear Paw Community & have been going for years. The cabin was perfect for our getaway. We took our boat & housed it at the marina. We also enjoyed the fireworks provided by the marina.
Thank you for allowing us to stay in your home. We had a wonderful long weekend. Your home was very clean and properly advertised. Thank you for the special accommodations as well.
Verified review
8/10 Good
Laurie H.
9 March 2021
Liked: Cleanliness, communication, location
Disliked: Check-in
Overall great but NO WIFI or service
Overall we really enjoyed our stay! The house is comfortable and the views are beautiful. But there is NO WIFI and in the winter the clubhouse is closed which does have WiFi. We never got any phone service unless sporadically while we were leaving the bear paw area heading into Murphy. The big issue we had was the lock box code was wrong, and thank goodness for the neighbors being home or else we would not have been able to get ahold of the owners to get the code, as neither of our phones had service. That was the big issue! Overall gorgeous area and nice house!
Stayed 3 nights in Feb 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 9 March 2021
I am so sorry about the change of the code. I completely forgot but I did get your message and got back to you right away. The WIFI is available anywhere near the clubhouse. You don't have to go inside and there is no password required. Sorry for the inconvenience.