Big Wave | Private Pool Optional Heat, Hot Tub

Photo gallery for Big Wave | Private Pool Optional Heat, Hot Tub

A swimming pool with a white fence, lounge chairs, and a water feature.
A hot tub area with a wooden bench, two stools, and a safety sign.
A ping pong table with wheels in a room with white walls and a mounted television.
A modern kitchen with white cabinetry, a central island, and a dining area with wooden chairs.
A modern living room with a white sofa, patterned cushions, a blue ottoman, and a large abstract painting on the wall.

Reviews

9.2 out of 10
Wonderful

Highlights

  • Dive into relaxation
    Unwind in the top-rated pool, your perfect spot for relaxation.
  • Arcade/game room
    A rare find - fun for all ages with on-site arcade/game room.
  • Centrally-located
    You're never far from where you need to be with this convenient location.
  • Discover nearby landmarks
    Close to Tybee Island Beach

Popular amenities

  • Spa pool on site
  • Patio
  • Private pool
  • Barbecue
  • Arcade/game room
  • Air-conditioning

Explore the area

View map
Tybee Island, GA
  • Place, Tybee Island Beach
    ‪3 min walk‬
  • Place, Tybee Island Fishing Pier and Pavilion
    ‪7 min walk‬
  • Place, South Beach
    ‪7 min walk‬
  • Airport, Savannah, GA (SAV-Savannah - Hilton Head Intl.)
    ‪62 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

4 bedrooms (sleeps 10)

Bedroom 1

1 King Bed

Bedroom 2

1 King Bed

Bedroom 3

1 Queen Bed

Bedroom 4

2 Single Beds

4 bathrooms, 1 half bathroom

Bathroom 2

Bathroom 3

Bathroom 4

Bathroom 5

Bathrooom 1

Spaces

Deck or patio
Porch or lanai
Kitchen

Add dates for prices

Similar properties

About the area

Tybee Island

Located near the beach, this holiday home is in South Beach, a neighbourhood in Tybee Island. Shoppers can check out Coligny Plaza, while everyone can enjoy the natural beauty of Tybee Island Beach and Coligny Beach. Tybee Arts Center and Tybee Island Marine Science Center are also worth visiting. Jet skiing and kayaking offer great chances to get out on the surrounding water, or you can seek out an adventure with hiking/biking trails and ecotours nearby.
Map
Tybee Island, GA

What's nearby

  • Tybee Island Beach - 3 min walk - 0.3 km
  • Tybee Island Fishing Pier and Pavilion - 7 min walk - 0.7 km
  • South Beach - 7 min walk - 0.7 km
  • Back River Beach - 11 min walk - 0.9 km
  • Mid Beach - 16 min walk - 1.4 km

Getting around

  • Savannah Amtrak Station - 32 min drive
  • Hilton Head Island, SC (HHH) - 100 min drive

Restaurants

  • ‪The Crab Shack - ‬8 min drive
  • ‪Fannies On The Beach - ‬9 min walk
  • ‪Huc-A-Poos Bites and Booze - ‬5 min drive
  • ‪Spanky's Beachside - ‬10 min walk
  • ‪Pier 16 Seafood Restaurant - ‬7 min walk

Frequently asked questions

Is Big Wave | Private Pool Optional Heat, Hot Tub pet-friendly?

No, pets are not allowed at this property.

How much is parking at Big Wave | Private Pool Optional Heat, Hot Tub?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at Big Wave | Private Pool Optional Heat, Hot Tub?

Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.

What time is check-out at Big Wave | Private Pool Optional Heat, Hot Tub?

Checkout is at 10:00 AM.

Where is Big Wave | Private Pool Optional Heat, Hot Tub located?

Located in South Beach, this holiday home is within 1 mi (2 km) of South Beach and Tybee Island Beach. Back River Beach and Tybee Island Fishing Pier and Pavilion are also within 10 minutes.

Reviews

9.2

Wonderful

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 14 out of 21 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 5 out of 21 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 1 out of 21 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 1 out of 21 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 0 out of 21 reviews

9.4/10

Cleanliness

9.8/10

Check-in

8.6/10

Communication

9.8/10

Location

9.6/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
This home is absolutely beautiful. Location is wonderful as well. If you’re headed to Tybee Beach, this is the place you wanna stay!
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 14 September 2026
Thank you so much for your kind words about the home and location. We’re glad you enjoyed your time on Tybee Beach and appreciated the property.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Wonderful place to stay with the family. Great location!
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 13 July 2026
Thank you for sharing your experience and kind words. We are glad you and your family enjoyed the stay and the location, and we hope to welcome you again.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Wonderful property and close to shopping, restaurants and beach access.
Stayed 4 nights in Dec 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 5 January 2026
Thank you for your positive feedback on the property and its convenient location. We appreciate your kind words.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Girls Trip

We truly enjoyed our stay at Big Wave! The house was amazing!
Stayed 3 nights in Mar 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great location!

Big Wave was perfect for our annual beach vacation with friends and family! Plenty of space for everyone in the home- close to the beach and a great walkable location to shops and restaurants!
Stayed 6 nights in Jun 2024
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Tybee

Great property and location!
Stayed 5 nights in Dec 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 20 May 2022
Thank you for choosing Tybee Vacation Rentals! We are so happy to hear you loved your experience. Please let us know when you are ready to come back! It will be our pleasure to welcome you back for a little more Tybee Time.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Beach Fun

Excellent. Pool was awesome
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2025
Verified review

4/10 Poor

Liked: Cleanliness, location
Disliked: Communication
4/10 The house itself was in a wonderful location and had a great layout for a large group. Unfortunately, the house difficulties and our experience with the woman we spoke with at Tybee Vacation Rentals were extremely disappointing and the main reason for this review. We had multiple issues with hot water, showers not working, wasp nests, the fridge cutting on and off, bathroom outlets not working, and delayed responses during business hours. If she had simply been kind, understanding, or even said, “We apologize for the inconveniences,” I would never be leaving this review.The first night, an upstairs shower was completely clogged, forcing us to shower in standing water, and the master shower would not turn on and required maintenance.When we reached someone the next day, she was incredibly condescending and rude. She spoke to us as though we simply could not figure it out. Even the maintenance man had difficulty getting it to work. When I mentioned the clogged shower, she asked, “Have you tried plunging the shower?” When I asked for explanation, she rudely replied, “It’s just a yes or no question.”There were also approximately 20–30 wasp nests around the roof, creating a concern when at the pool. When I mentioned this, there was no apology or acknowledgment, she replied “the wasps are protected & can’t just be killed.”Problems happen, but how they are handled matters. The property issues &lack of empathy and professionalism made this experience extremely disappointing.
Stayed 3 nights in Sep 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 13 October 2026
Thank you for sharing your detailed feedback. I am very sorry for the issues you experienced with the home and for the way you felt treated during your stay. The problems with the showers, hot water, outlets, fridge, and wasp nests, along with delayed and unhelpful communication, are not the experience we want for our guests. Your comments will be shared with our team so we can address both the property concerns and how we communicate with guests in situations like this.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great Tybee Rental

We were in town for a week...the house is in a great location off the main drag! Close to everything on the island and only a short drive to Savannah. The house was very clean, the pool and hot tub were great. Everything made for a very enjoyable visit.
Stayed 7 nights in Mar 2024
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Family Trip

Big Wave was great for our family trip. We enjoyed cooking meals together and the screened in porch was wonderful. Although the weather wasn’t quite Warm enough, we couldn’t resist the pool.
Stayed 5 nights in Apr 2024
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Fun in the rain

It poured buckets the whole weekend and we had a blast. Left the place only for brief forays to find food. A great porch to play games on with the family and watch the rain. Close enough to restaurants to walk. Would definitely stay again when we could see the beach
Stayed 3 nights in May 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 20 May 2025
Thank you for your positive review. We are delighted to hear that you and your family had a wonderful time despite the rainy weather. We appreciate your feedback about the porch and the convenience of the nearby restaurants. We look forward to welcoming you back when you can fully enjoy the beach. Your satisfaction is our top priority, and we are grateful for your business.
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Check-in, communication, location

Pretty nice

The ovens do not work properly need to repaire Gas grill was excellent Overall it was pretty nice
Stayed 5 nights in Jun 2024
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Wonderful property very close to beach

Overall very happy with my stay. One issue, upon arrival the pool was dirty and had to call to have it cleaned. Also they charge for pool heating and still the pool was not heated very much. Had to call and still the maintenance was not able to increase temperature.
Stayed 2 nights in May 2020
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, location, listing accuracy
Roomy and clean
Stayed 4 nights in Sep 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 10 October 2026
Thank you for sharing this feedback. I’m glad you found the place roomy and clean.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Fabulous location! We were able to walk just a few blocks down to the main road with shops, restaurants, and ice cream as well as the pier. If we wanted calmer waters with not as many waves we simply walked out the other direction!The house had everything we could ask for with plenty to keep the kids busy, and plenty of space for everyone to relax as well! Everything was just as the pictures showed. It was such a great week! Thankful we could walk to either beach, and several restaurants and not have to drive everywhere!
Stayed 7 nights in Jun 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 23 June 2026
Thank you so much for sharing this thoughtful review. We are very glad you enjoyed the location, the easy walks to the beaches and restaurants, and that the house suited your family’s needs. It is great to hear the kids had plenty to do and that everyone had space to relax. We truly appreciate you staying with us and hope to welcome you back for another visit.
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, location, listing accuracy
Disliked: Communication

No hot water, one shower didn't work

Tybee Vacation Rentals manages this property for the home owners and they weren't great to deal with. We didn't have hot water the first day. They told us that its b/c the hot water heater is located outside and takes minutes to make its way to the showers, but we had two different maintenance guys out and the second one who arrived while we were there told us there was a definite issue. On the second day, the shower in the master bath upstairs simply wouldn't turn on. I communicated with Tybee Vacation Rentals several times. They sent out a maintenance guy who was completely baffled and didn't know how to fix it and said they'd have to send a plumber. Despite repeated follow-ups with Tybee Vacation Rentals, they never sent a plumber and we didn't have use of the shower for the remainder of the trip. When I called after the trip to complain about the lack of service, they explained that there's two handles in the shower and we must have not been using the right one. Which is not true and at all and is completely condescending. They refused to give us any reimbursement for the stay other than return of the $100 service fee. With 8 people staying in the house, loss of one of the showers was less than ideal. And Tybee Vacation Rentals are not helpful nor do they apparently care for return business as they wouldn't do any refund (other than the $100).
Stayed 4 nights in Sep 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 15 November 2021
We are sorry that your stay was less than perfect. We were happy to send out maintenance to resolve the shower issue, and offer a discount on a future stay as a resolution. Again, we are terribly sorry that this impacted your vacation. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to Tybee Island.
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Take me to Tybee

Overall we had a really wonderful experience! The house is in a great location within easy walking distance to both the beaches and the main strip, on a quiet street, beautifully decorated, and has plenty of space for a crowd. Only two very minor issues; the pool wasn't clean when we arrived, but we knew this would be the case as the prop mngr called to inform us their vacuum broke prior to our arrival. The grill also ran out of gas the first time we tried to use it, but they brought us a replacement tank the next morning. Other than that, the only other thing worth noting is there was only a bare minimum of bath towels provided, and the floors were rather sandy upon arrival. Otherwise we really enjoyed our stay and will definitely be booking again!
Stayed 4 nights in Aug 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 29 September 2021
Thanks Sarah for choosing Tybee Vacation Rentals! We are happy that we could address the issues during your stay. Our office is open Monday through Saturday from 9am-6pm as well as Sundays from 10am-5pm to assist with any of your needs. We hope to welcome you back for some Tybee Time soon!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great family vacation

Perfect location, lots of room, loved the double dishwasher, and was thrilled it was right in between the big beach with waves..yet also next to the calm inlet for the little ones to swim in.
Stayed 5 nights in Jul 2021
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, location, listing accuracy
Disliked: Communication

Family/Friends Fun

We chose this property to enjoy Tybee Island and have a girls weekend. The location was great with a short walk to the beach. The heated pool was amazing and the perfect temp. There are some small things that need to change like, the toilet seat was broken in the master, the floors needed to be clean a little more, and there was lights out throughout the house. But overall we would recommend this home.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Beautiful place!

This is a beautiful house and was just right for our family of 9 (parents, teens, and young adults).
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2020
From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

June 2020 Stay

Big Wave is beautiful and so comfortable! Plenty of room for our family of 10. so close to everything! Also Tybee Vacation Rental was so responsive, kind and helpful. Great vacation!!
Response from VrboOwner on 8 July 2020
Thank you for choosing Tybee Vacation Rentals for your stay at Big Wave on Tybee Island! We are so pleased your trip was memorable. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again for some more Tybee time!
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback