Cottage, 1 Bedrooms, 1 Bathrooms, (Sleeps 2)
What makes this Cottage unique
Excellent night sky views
Check-in: 2:00 pm
Check-out: 10:00 am
Max guests:2 (sleeps up to 2 adults)
100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date. 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
A week at Kaka Lodge
Great location. Peaceful and secluded.
Social club not far away if we didn't feel like cooking. Great grocery store and cafe just down the road. We didn't get to the Irish Bar-next time maybe. Lots of sightseeing and walking tracks throughout the island. A great place to enjoy life at a slower pace.
Kaka cottage delightful
Our stay was everything we hoped for. Solitude, beautiful bush and endless entertainment from the prolific bird life.
Beautiful space to enjoy the Great barrier island in all its natural glory. We really enjoyed looking up at the stars from the back patio and found the location very convenient for getting around the island. Property manager was easy to communicate with and helpful
Great rustic cabin in excellent location. Driveway is steep so wouldn’t suit all vehicles.
Great place to chill out. Loved it!
Worst Experience - Would not Recommend
No instructions or signs on how to get to property , its up a long driveway, ended up walking in rain to neighbors property to get directions .
Went to property and contacted number on wall and mentioned that there was no hot water or gas at 2pm.
Was given instructions to turn taps on so ended up outside in rain and crawling around under house in mud trying to turn taps on . Still no hot water as No gas. Couldn't contact any numbers available on wall and left feeling helpless.
Came back 6pm and even though owners were aware of our issues nothing was done about it.
Place was filthy with dead bugs everywhere and fridge full of thick mould. I had taken my partner across for her 30th birthday so I booked another place . Didn't end up staying at all.
The view was nice, but no working power outlets to charge phone , no hot water or gas, very poor communication and place was filthy.
I was advised later on that car battery was flat when owner flew over - She could have called me or communicated by email. GBI Airport has great reception so no excuse really.
Asked for refund and was given 85% of funds paid back by owner - Had to go through a process with bookabach and chase up remaining money refunded.
I chose this property as it had good reviews. I hope this review will educate future victims .
I'm sorry for your "bad" experience Ben, our first in 12 years of being a very popular Barrier destination.
Below is my communication with you when you booked two days before arrival
" Hi Ben,
Kaka is available,Orla my cleaner on island is away at the moment but I'm coming up from Hawkes Bay on Friday as well so I won't be able to check everything is ready for you until after 4pm, I'm sure it will be but the water and gas won't be on.
So you were well aware of the situation and yet checked yourself in at 2pm and checked out again at 6pm before I had even met you or serviced the cottage.
Off the Grid requires a little initiative and patience.