Located in Pinckney, this holiday home is in a rural area and on the waterfront. The area's natural beauty can be seen at Hudson Mills Metropark and Pinckney State Recreation Area, while The Encore Theatre and Purple Rose Theatre are cultural highlights. Discover the area's water adventures with power boating and sailing nearby, or enjoy the great outdoors with hiking and horse riding.
Ann Arbor, MI (ARB-Ann Arbor Municipal) - 26 min drive
Restaurants
Little Caesars Pizza - 7 min drive
Hell Saloon - 9 min drive
McDonald's - 6 min drive
Zukey Lake Tavern - 12 min drive
Biggby Coffee - 13 min drive
Frequently asked questions
Is Lakefront Cottage on Portage Lake and the Huron River Chain of Lakes pet-friendly?
No, only service animals are welcome at the property.
How much does it cost to stay at Lakefront Cottage on Portage Lake and the Huron River Chain of Lakes?
As of 29 October 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Lakefront Cottage on Portage Lake and the Huron River Chain of Lakes on 16 March 2027 start from NZ$1,678, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
How much is parking at Lakefront Cottage on Portage Lake and the Huron River Chain of Lakes?
On-site parking is available at the property.
What time is check-in at Lakefront Cottage on Portage Lake and the Huron River Chain of Lakes?
Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.
What time is check-out at Lakefront Cottage on Portage Lake and the Huron River Chain of Lakes?
Checkout is at 10:00 AM.
Where is Lakefront Cottage on Portage Lake and the Huron River Chain of Lakes located?
Situated on the waterfront, this holiday home is within a 10-minute walk of Portage Lake and Little Portage Lake. Huron River and Hudson Mills Metropark are also within 1 mile (2 km).
Reviews
9.4
Exceptional
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Very clean and modernized cottage on the lake. Close to Ann Arbor, Dexter, and the town of Pinckney. Be aware that the upstairs has only one enclosed bedroom with a full size bed pushed against a wall so difficult for a second sleeper to get up during the night, the other beds are located in one large room negating privacy of separate rooms.Host was responsive to questions.
Clean, Cozy cottage, great location. Thank you for having us, our family had a great time.
Stayed 4 nights in Jun 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 28 July 2023
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We're delighted you had a wonderful time. Your feedback helps us make sure we're doing all that we can to ensure our guests enjoy their stay and consider returning in the future. We hope to see you again!
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay on beautiful Portage Lake! Very clean, well cared for cottage. Loved the kayaks, paddle boards and hanging out on the dock!
Stayed 8 nights in Jul 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 28 July 2023
It was great hosting you again. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed you stay! We hope to see you again!
We enjoyed the location and property. Daniel was very accommodating and easy to contact.
Stayed 7 nights in Jul 2023
Verified review
6/10 Okay
Jessica L.
28 August 2025
Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, location
Disliked: Listing accuracy
The house is newly updated and has a great location on Portage Lake. We rented a boat and had a lovely time. Unfortunately, the house is listed as 3 bedrooms but it is only 2 which made our stay less comfortable for our family with young children than we were hoping.
We loved staying at the cottage. Great time for a family trip. The water is wonderful. It’s like being in Northern Michigan!
Stayed 7 nights in Jul 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 28 July 2023
Thank you so much for the review! We're delighted you had a wonderful time. Your feedback helps us make sure we're doing all that we can to ensure our guests enjoy their stay and consider returning in the future. We hope to see you again!
We had so much fun in this lakeside home! The home is newly remodeled, spacious, and in a great location. Groceries just down the street. Near Ann Arbor too and not a far drive from Detroit Airport. The owners are SO kind and responsive. Portage Lake is large and perfect for any boating activities. This is a must stay. We will be back!
Adorable cottage in a great location. Quick, easy access to Ann Arbor and nearby is the cute little town of Dexter. Property owner is super responsive and helpful.
We had a wonderful time on the lake! The house had everything we needed to make memories with the kids. Thank you for allowing us to enjoy your cottage!
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 28 July 2023
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We're delighted you had a wonderful time. Your feedback helps us make sure we're doing all that we can to ensure our guests enjoy their stay and consider returning in the future. We hope to see you again!
We had a fantastic stay! Check in was super easy and the whole entire home was spotless. The kitchen is fully equipped and all of the beds were comfy, as were the linens. Appreciated all the extra blankets they have upstairs - plenty of bath and kitchen towels. Being right on the water was heavenly! The 4 kayaks and stand up paddle board were popular with our family. My husband and I traveled with our 2 grown kids and we had plenty of space. Cannot recommend highly enough!
Very clean, very easy check in. Well stocked, plenty of cooking utensils. Almost new, Weber gas grill on back porch. Loved the dock and the location on Portage Lake.
Stayed 4 nights in Aug 2020
Response from VrboOwner on 28 July 2023
Thank you so much for the review, it was wonderful hosting your family. We look forward to seeing you next year! If there's anything we can do to make your stay the very best it can be, please reach out.
This house was perfect for our weekday vacation. It has everything we needed and the view from the backyard was great. Our dog took full advantage of the dock for hours of fetch. Location was perfect for a visit to both Sandhill Crane and Chateau Aeronatique wineries. It was a very relaxing trip and we appreciate the use of your home.
We enjoyed our time at the lake. The dock and paddle boat are fantastic and the welcome binder had good recs for the area. Only minor suggestion would be to get heavier blinds/drapes in bedrooms to keep rooms a bit darker.
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 28 July 2023
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We're delighted you had a wonderful time. Your feedback helps us make sure we're doing all that we can to ensure our guests enjoy their stay and consider returning in the future. We hope to see you again!
We were in Michigan for a tournament for my daughter. We found this property and wanted to take advantage of the lake! The rental came with paddle boards, kayaks, and an aqua cycle. We took advantage of those and being able to fish and have fires. The owner was so helpful. We would definitely stay again!
Property had the following issues:
No dishwasher
No washer/dryer
No electric socket in bathroom
Bathroom sink did not drain
All furniture dated and worn
Shower very small, mold
Water smells
Stayed 10 nights in Aug 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 28 July 2023
We are disappointed when our guest's stay is not all that was hoped for. Please note that we disclose all of our amenities in our listing and not having the items highlighted should not be a surprise. We also work very hard to keep our home clean. We appreciate the feedback. It is our hope that the vast majority of the other reviews will be an accurate reflection of the Quiet Dreams experience.
My family really enjoyed relaxing by the lake for a long weekend before school started up again.
The lake was beautiful, and we enjoyed the kayaks and paddleboards. Previous tenants apparently absconded with the life jackets, but the owner had more delivered very quickly. Traffic was a bit busy on the weekend, as the dock is near the marina, but more peaceful on the weekday.
The house has the charms and quirks of an old building (like needing to duck coming down the stairs), but it is well maintained and we stayed cool with the A/C.
The only slight negative of the experience was that the grill badly needed cleaning, but that was a minor blip.
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2023
Verified review
4/10 Poor
Susan C.
3 September 2025
Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, location
Disliked: Communication, listing accuracy
Not a 3 bedroom
We booked this place because we wanted 3 bedrooms but it is actually a 1 bedroom with additional beds in the open space upstairs. Note that their Zillow listing says 2 bedrooms. Wrong but closer. We were very disappointed but decided we would just make it work. Quickly realized the place wasn't really ready for renting as the shades on the windows were just pleated paper. Certainly didn't darken the rooms. If you put them down, you would have to spend a fair amount of time re-pleating them to put them up. Also, no towel bars or hooks anywhere. Wet towels were laying all over. Owner then lied and said we damaged the counter and cabinets in the kitchen. Absolutely not true.