Cabin

Great Views, Unique Modern Rustic Cabin near Terry Peak w/ Hot Tub, Open Plan

Photo gallery for Great Views, Unique Modern Rustic Cabin near Terry Peak w/ Hot Tub, Open Plan

A two-story log cabin with a metal roof and a wooden porch.
A hot tub under a wooden pergola with a view of a forested area.
A wooden deck with a metal railing overlooking a forested area.
A spacious living area with a wooden floor, a sofa, a television, and a staircase.
A room with a fireplace, a television mounted above it, and large windows offering views of trees.

Reviews

8.8 out of 10
Excellent

Highlights

  • Discover nearby landmarks
    Walk to Black Hills National Forest

Popular amenities

  • Spa pool on site
  • Patio
  • Barbecue
  • Air-conditioning
  • Refrigerator
  • Washing machine

Explore the area

View map
Lead, SD
  • Place, Black Hills National Forest
    ‪1 min walk‬
  • Place, Terry Peak Ski Area
    ‪7 min drive‬
  • Place, George S. Mickelson Trail
    ‪16 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

4 bedrooms (sleeps 14)

Bedroom 1

1 King Bed

Bedroom 2

1 King Bed

Bedroom 3

1 Queen Bed and 1 Single Bunk Bed

Bedroom 4

1 Queen Bed and 1 Single Bunk Bed

3 bathrooms, 1 half bathroom

Bathroom 1

Toilet

Bathroom 2

Toilet · Shower only

Bathroom 3

Toilet · Shower only

Bathroom 4

Toilet · Shower only

Spaces

Deck or patio
Kitchen

Add dates for prices

Similar properties

About the area

Lead

Located in Lead, this cabin is in a rural area and in the mountains. Living Map Theater and Historic Homestake Opera House are cultural highlights, and some of the area's attractions include Homestake Gold Mine and Matthews Opera House & Arts Center. Looking to enjoy an event or a game while in town? See what's going on at Lyle Hare Stadium, or consider a night out at Outlaw Square. Take in the nearby slopes with snowboarding and skiing, or try out other outdoor activities such as sledging.
Map
Lead, SD

What's nearby

  • Black Hills National Forest - 1 min walk - 0.0 km
  • Terry Peak Ski Area - 7 min drive - 3.5 km
  • Homestake Gold Mine - 10 min drive - 12.5 km
  • Deadwood Mountain Grand - 14 min drive - 18.1 km
  • George S. Mickelson Trail - 16 min drive - 17.0 km

Getting around

  • Rapid City, SD (RAP-Rapid City Regional) - 82 min drive

Restaurants

  • ‪Boars Nest - ‬9 min drive
  • ‪Lewies Saloon & Eatery - ‬8 min drive
  • ‪Cheyenne Crossing - ‬18 min drive
  • ‪Dakota Shivers Brewery - ‬10 min drive
  • ‪Pizza Lab - ‬12 min drive

Frequently asked questions

Is Great Views, Unique Modern Rustic Cabin near Terry Peak w/ Hot Tub, Open Plan pet-friendly?

No, pets are not allowed at this property.

How much does it cost to stay at Great Views, Unique Modern Rustic Cabin near Terry Peak w/ Hot Tub, Open Plan?

As of 1 November 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Great Views, Unique Modern Rustic Cabin near Terry Peak w/ Hot Tub, Open Plan on 3 November 2026 start from NZ$1,194, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.

How much is parking at Great Views, Unique Modern Rustic Cabin near Terry Peak w/ Hot Tub, Open Plan?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at Great Views, Unique Modern Rustic Cabin near Terry Peak w/ Hot Tub, Open Plan?

Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.

What time is check-out at Great Views, Unique Modern Rustic Cabin near Terry Peak w/ Hot Tub, Open Plan?

Checkout is at 10:00 AM.

Where is Great Views, Unique Modern Rustic Cabin near Terry Peak w/ Hot Tub, Open Plan located?

Situated in the mountains, this cabin is within 6 miles (10 km) of Living Map Theater, Historic Homestake Opera House and Black Hills Mining Museum. Homestake Gold Mine and Sanford Lab Homestake Visitor Center are also within 6 miles (10 km).

Reviews

8.8

Excellent

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 22 out of 43 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 17 out of 43 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 3 out of 43 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 1 out of 43 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 0 out of 43 reviews

8.8/10

Cleanliness

9.2/10

Check-in

9.6/10

Communication

9.6/10

Location

9.8/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Booked for family reunion great for large group
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Easy to travel to. Plenty of amenities in the kitchen and house. Beautiful views and lots of room to relax. Excellent experience.
Stayed 5 nights in Sep 2026
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
A fire pit was present but was hooked to a propane tank. That was disappointing.
Stayed 3 nights in Oct 2026
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Property could use a deep cleaning. It wasn’t terribly dirty, but you could tell that just the basic cleaning was all that had been performed in a while. Communication with host and location were great. Very nice home
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
everything was great the house had everything we needed. The only issue was the wifi quit working after the first night. other than that the stay was nice.
Stayed 3 nights in Mar 2026
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Cozy Get away

Very nice place,a little drive up but well worth it..
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Property was amazing. Very clean great amenities!
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Everything was perfect
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Miners Roost

Great space, clean, well stocked. Would definitely stay there again with family.
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2021
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great sleeping space

Very relaxing & beautiful view
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2023
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

A family trip

This place was a little place of heaven. Just what our family needed after a rough and emotional winter.
Stayed 3 nights in Mar 2023
From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

WEEKEND GETAWAY

Rating Details: The property manager was very helpful. The vacation rental was very clean. I was very happy with the location. I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental. Overall, I recommend this vacation rental. Reviewer Comments: THE LOCATION WAS PERFECT FOR OUR SIDE BY SIDE TRIP.3 COUPLES AND EACH HAD THEIR OWN BATHROOM. CLEAN AND VERY COZY TO COME BACK TO AFTER A DAY OF RIDING. WOULD STAY THERE AGAIN.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

40 th anniversary

We had our kids and their families here, everyone seemed to enjoy the time together. We celebrated a 1 year and a 40th anniversary.
Stayed 4 nights in Jun 2023
From a partner site

8/10 Good

As described, but needs a better cleaning crew

Rating Details: The property manager was very helpful. The vacation rental was clean. I was very happy with the location. I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental. Overall, I recommend this vacation rental. Reviewer Comments: Everything was great except the cleanliness.
From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

Loved our stay

Rating Details: The property manager was very helpful. The vacation rental was spotless. I was very happy with the location. I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental. Overall, I recommend this vacation rental. Reviewer Comments: We had a group of 9 at the cabin. We loved the cabin and good location. Well stocked with everything needed in the kitchen and plenty of towels, bedding etc which was great. Was clean and easy to check in. Our only wish was that the mattresses would have been better. But overall we enjoyed our time there.
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Miners Roost Review

Great cabin, perfect location! Cab drivers will come back and forth to town. Overall clean, other than floors and under furniture. Walls are pretty thin so be cautious of that if you are with a larger group. Set up very well for a big group, rooms are spaced out to ensure everyone has their own space!
Stayed 2 nights in Mar 2024
Verified review

4/10 Poor

Disliked: Check-in, communication
Communication with the host was difficult. No one would ever answer the phone and when we finally did get a text back in reference to our problem they were of no help and didn’t offer to send anyone to check on it. They just didn’t really seem concerned with the quality of our visit.The WiFi did not work. The only solution we were offered was for me to try and reset the router myself. In a location with little to no cell service I would expect the WiFi to work since it was advertised as available. Next was the hot water. In a house that is advertised to sleep 14 people there is only enough hot water for maybe 3 showers before you loose hot water for over an hour. When we asked about it we were told that that is just normal and that’s how it is. Definitely do not plan on more than a couple of showers at a time and especially if you want to wash any clothes. We happened to be there during an extreme heat wave so I understand that the air conditioning had a hard time keeping up but it was extremely hot in the upstairs bedroom and bathroom. Did these issues ruin our trip? No. But were we disappointed in the service we received for the money we paid? Yes. I will not rent from this host ever again. It was not what we expected.
Stayed 4 nights in Jul 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 7 October 2026
Thanks for your feedback Kyle. We did answer your call and text on several occasions, as well as many messages back and forth through Vrbo. We did let you know to reset the router, a very simple request, which easily fixed the issue with the Starlink internet. The home has a tank water heater that works great. If guests use a lot of water, it will take a bit to get the water to heat back up again, the nature of a tank water heater. The AC unit works great, and we tested it again after seeing your review. For our future guests, Kyle became enragingly and unprofessionally belligerent when trying to access the home after more than 20 attempted points to contact before their arrival, to confirm they were coming since they provided no contact with us for months before their visit. Finally once they arrived, they contacted us to get access. From there, Kyle was hostile to all of our team members, including our maintenance team.
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

great ski cabin

We had 4 families that went skiing for multiple days and the cabin fit all of us well. The driveway fit two suburbans, full size pickup, and a smaller SUV. The location was excellent and was well set up with 4 bedrooms. The kitchen was well stocked with pots, pans, utensils, crockpot, etc. Kids enjoyed the shuffleboard table. The hot tub was great after a full day of skiing. 4 wheel drive is necessary to get up the road after it snows. only two negatives: -the beds were very hard and I hurt worse from the beds than I do from three days of hard skiing. -the sheets were rough and scratchy. if these two things could be addressed the place would have gotten a perfect score in our book.
Stayed 4 nights in Jan 2023
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, communication, location, listing accuracy
Disliked: Check-in

Troubled start, but 1st place finish.

Well, there were some issues, like 4 foot of snow that hadn't been removed before our arrival, and when I finally made it into the home it was 38° and took 2 whole days to warm up. The house was beautiful, and spacious. We truly enjoyed it once it warmed up. Budi, the gal who runs this show was pretty overwhelmed and we had a decent argument at first, but we both realized we weren't being very easy to work with, and apologized, moved forward and it was a kick ass weekend. I get it there was a huge snowstorm, and I was told they may not be totally ready when we get there. That's dandy that the snow wasn't removed, you can only work so fast in those conditions, but the house being 38° wasn't okay. I'm not joking when I say it took 2 days to warm up. We had an 8 week old baby, and 2 year Olds, as well as other children in the cabin. We packed warm, thank God, because the cold was hard on me, and I'm a grown man. I felt awful for those kids, one of them was so cold he was crying in the middle of the night. Anyway, I'd rate this at a 4 star, because the amazing time I spent with my family was so worth the brutal cold. I also want to give budi and her crew some slack. They have a lot of properties to take care of, and that storm was insane! Once I called her and told her there was still 4 foot of snow, she had a plow at our cabin within 20 minutes.
Stayed 4 nights in Dec 2022
From a partner site

8/10 Good

Nice an cozy retrwat

Rating Details: The property manager was more than helpful. The vacation rental was very clean. I was more than happy with the location. I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental. Overall, I recommend this vacation rental. Reviewer Comments: House was cozy easy to find. Quite area. Large house parking was alright the beds were a little stiff but a place to drop your head.
Stayed 4 nights in Oct 2024
From a partner site

8/10 Good

Very satisfied with this property

Rating Details: The property manager was more than helpful. The vacation rental was spotless. I was more than happy with the location. I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental. Overall, I recommend this vacation rental. Reviewer Comments: This place was clean, easy check in-out. It’s a little ways off the main road, very quiet area.
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2024
From a partner site

6/10 Okay

Nice location!

Rating Details: The property manager was more than helpful. The vacation rental was very clean. I was more than happy with the location. I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental. Overall, I recommend this vacation rental. Reviewer Comments: Our overall stay was good. We did find some dishes & pans in the cupboards that were not clean!!! We also found some towels in the downstairs bathroom that seemed not clean! The dryer was also filled with towels, that’s probably why one bathroom had no towels! We will stay in the area again! Thanks
From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

Friends vacation

Rating Details: The property manager was very helpful. The vacation rental was very clean. I was very happy with the location. I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental. Overall, I recommend this vacation rental. Reviewer Comments: Good communication, great location, quiet community.
Stayed 5 nights in Jun 2024
From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

So much room.

Rating Details: The property manager was very helpful. The vacation rental was very clean. I was very happy with the location. I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental. Overall, I recommend this vacation rental. Reviewer Comments: This home is so big and beautiful! The hot tub is everything. There so much room for kids to hang out. We just had 6 adults this time. Next time will be with all the kids. Great spot too.
Stayed 3 nights in Oct 2023
From a partner site

6/10 Okay

Beautiful & Peaceful

Rating Details: The property manager was very helpful. The vacation rental was clean. I was more than happy with the location. I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental. Overall, I recommend this vacation rental. Reviewer Comments: Miner Roost was a great place for our family of 6. We could have easily ans comfortably added another family because it was so spacious and had plenty of beds & couches. Lots of linens, blankets and towels in every closet. Beautiful views, safe, clean and quiet neighborhood. The decks were great. The property is very steep and didn’t leave much outside play space for the kids, but still overall a very nice place to stay that would certainly be perfect during ski season!
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback