Lake Views & Private Dock! | The High House

Photo gallery for Lake Views & Private Dock! | The High House

A wooden deck with a glass table set for a meal, surrounded by chairs and a view of trees.
A living room with a beige sofa, a blue patterned rug, a wooden coffee table, and a large window with blue shutters.
A dining area with a wooden table, benches, and a chandelier.
A bedroom with a large bed, wooden headboard, bedside tables, and a ceiling fan.
A wooden pathway leading to a row of houses with a grassy lawn and trees.

Reviews

9.2 out of 10
Wonderful

Highlights

  • The great outdoors
    Guests love the outdoor space here.
  • Centrally-located
    You're never far from where you need to be with this convenient location.

Popular amenities

  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Pet-friendly
  • Air-conditioning
  • Internet access
  • Refrigerator

Explore the area

View map
Mount Pleasant, SC
  • Place, Sea Island Shopping Center
    ‪13 min walk‬
  • Place, Mount Pleasant Square Shopping Center
    ‪4 min drive‬
  • Place, Shem Creek Park
    ‪6 min drive‬
  • Airport, Charleston, SC (CHS-Charleston Intl.)
    ‪26 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

3 bedrooms (sleeps 8)

Bedroom 1

1 Single Bed and 1 Queen Bed

Bedroom 2

1 King Bed

Bedroom 3

1 King Bed

2 bathrooms

Bathroom 1

Bathroom 2

Spaces

Kitchen
Office
Balcony
Garden

Add dates for prices

Have a question?

AI iconBeta

Get instant answers with AI powered search of property information and reviews.

Similar properties

About the area

Mount Pleasant

Located in Mount Pleasant, this holiday home is on the waterfront. USS Yorktown and Charleston Music Hall are notable landmarks, and travellers looking to shop may want to visit Charleston City Market and Charleston Tanger Outlets. Looking to enjoy an event or a game? See what's going on at Credit One Stadium or North Charleston Coliseum.
Map
Mount Pleasant, SC

What's nearby

  • Sea Island Shopping Center - 13 min walk - 1.1 km
  • Mount Pleasant Square Shopping Center - 4 min drive - 1.6 km
  • Mount Pleasant Sports Complex - 5 min drive - 2.1 km
  • Alhambra Hall - 5 min drive - 2.1 km
  • Shem Creek Park - 6 min drive - 2.3 km

Getting around

  • Charleston Station - 19 min drive
  • Charleston, SC (CHS-Charleston Intl.) - 21 min drive

Restaurants

  • ‪Saltwater Cowboys - ‬3 min drive
  • ‪Page's Okra Grill - ‬17 min walk
  • ‪Red's Ice House - ‬3 min drive
  • ‪Circle K - ‬2 min drive
  • ‪Shem Creek Crab House - ‬19 min walk

Frequently asked questions

Is Lake Views & Private Dock! | The High House pet-friendly?

Yes, pets are allowed at this property.

How much does it cost to stay at Lake Views & Private Dock! | The High House?

As of 29 October 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Lake Views & Private Dock! | The High House on 1 March 2027 start from NZ$1,543, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.

How much is parking at Lake Views & Private Dock! | The High House?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at Lake Views & Private Dock! | The High House?

Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.

What time is check-out at Lake Views & Private Dock! | The High House?

Checkout is at 11:00 AM.

Where is Lake Views & Private Dock! | The High House located?

Situated on the waterfront, this holiday home is within 2 miles (3 km) of Shem Creek Park, Mount Pleasant Square Shopping Center and Mount Pleasant Sports Complex. Alhambra Hall and Mount Pleasant Memorial Waterfront Park are also within 3 miles (5 km).

Reviews

9.2

Wonderful

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 20 out of 29 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 5 out of 29 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 3 out of 29 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 1 out of 29 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 0 out of 29 reviews

9.0/10

Cleanliness

9.8/10

Check-in

10/10

Communication

9.8/10

Location

9.2/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Husband and I visited SC for our 37th wedding anniversary. High House was perfect. Accessible to Charleston and beaches. Pet friendly. Enjoyed the dock to watch nature at its best. Clean and comfortable. Would highly recommend.
Stayed 5 nights in Oct 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
We loved this house! It was the perfect location to visit Charleston and the surrounding area. The backyard was peaceful and the view was breathtaking! We would definetly rent this house again. The house was a perfect choice foe our vacation.
Stayed 4 nights in Aug 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 16 September 2026
Thank you so much for the wonderful review Priscilla! We’re thrilled you loved the home, peaceful backyard, and beautiful views. It was a pleasure hosting you, and we’re so glad the house was the perfect choice for your Charleston vacation. We can’t wait to welcome you back! Blue Skies, Duvet Team
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Super clean, cute and welcoming!
Stayed 3 nights in Apr 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
We loved the dock and enjoyed the sunset each night. Such a beautiful setting. Quiet neighborhood. Convenient for touring IOP, rice plantations, Mt Pleasant’s Old Village.
Stayed 3 nights in Apr 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 7 May 2026
Thank you so much for the kind review DeAnna! We’re so glad you enjoyed the home and that the location worked well for exploring IOP, the rice plantations, and Mount Pleasant’s Old Village. We really appreciate you staying with us and would love to host you again anytime! Blue Skies, Duvet team
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
We had a great time!! The location was easily accessible to the beach towns and Charleston. The dock was the highlight for me! Enjoying the peace and tranquility of what felt like a wildlife sanctuary was unbeatable. Be aware, the master bedroom does not have an en suite bathroom. Somehow, I missed that in the property details so it was a surprise. I would definitely stay there again!!
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 7 July 2026
Thank you for your wonderful review Alisa! We're so glad you enjoyed the convenient location, and the dock. We appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear you had a great stay. We would love to welcome you back again soon! Blue Skies, Duvet Team
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Everything was as pictured. We had an amazing stay at the high house and will definitely be returning when in Charleston!
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 27 February 2026
Thank you so much for the review John! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and everything was just as pictured. We hope to host you again. Blue Skies, Duvet Team
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
This might be the best place we’ve ever stayed! Loved everything about it! Host was very nice and responsive and informative. Great great great location! Wonderful home! Our family very much enjoyed our stay.
Stayed 4 nights in Nov 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 26 November 2025
Wow, thank you so much! We’re over the moon to hear your family had such a wonderful stay and loved the home and location. It was a joy hosting you, and we’d be thrilled to welcome you back anytime! 😄 Blue Skies, Stay Duvet
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Wonderful stay

Very homely and comfy! Perfect for what we needed!
Stayed 2 nights in Mar 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 23 March 2024
We appreciate you staying with us for your recent visit to Charleston! We hope to have the opportunity to host you again. Be sure to book with Stay Duvet when you return!
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
The house was very nice. Up dated/modern but not over board. Unfortunately the weather prevented us from enjoying the awesome outside area. Only one negative comment is that the house smelt musty and old. Would book again if we return to the area.
Stayed 4 nights in Jan 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 9 February 2026
Thank you so much for your kind review and for staying with us! We’re happy to hear you enjoyed the home and its comfortable style, and we’re sorry you werent able to the outdoor space. We also appreciate you sharing your feedback regarding the smell; we’ll be addressing it with out team. We are so glad to hear you’d consider booking with us again — we’d love to host you on your next visit to the area. Blue Skies, Stay Duvet
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Check-in, communication, location
Disliked: Cleanliness, listing accuracy
Overall we were very disappointed in the property. Very old and run down. Needs much work as there were cracks on many of the tiles and could use fresh paint. Bathroom with shower had dripping from ceiling due to condensation. Not enough washcloths to accommodate the number in our party..4 adults and three children. Wasp nests on front entrance. Lawn not mowed. Plastic in water off dock. Trash was not put out from previous tenants. Would not return.
Stayed 6 nights in Jul 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 14 August 2026
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are sorry to hear that certain parts of your stay did not meet your expectations and we certainly will address them for our future guests. While some of the items you mentioned are outside of our control, like the city's designated trash day, the trash in the lake behind the home and unfortunately the weather preventing the lawn team from making it the home prior to your arrival, we will address the issues within our control with our team to ensure an even better experience for our future guests. Wishing you safe and comfortable travels ahead! Blue Skies, Stay Duvet
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Visit

Relaxing!
Stayed 5 nights in Jun 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 24 June 2025
Thank you Tammy! We hope to see you again. Blue Skies, Team Duvet
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Overall fantastic

Check in and out was very easy!! Location was fantastic!! Would definitely recommend!
Stayed 6 nights in Jul 2024
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Perfect Location

We love staying in this house with our family, There were turtles at the end of the dock that kept our teenagers entertained. It was the perfect location for going downtown too! I would definitely recommend this house to staying in the Charleston area.
Stayed 3 nights in Apr 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 1 June 2024
I appreciate the feedback! It was a pleasure to host you all! : ) We would welcome you all back at any time. Thanks again! Blue Skies, Team Duvet
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Family Vaca

Great house, great location, clean and roomy. Everything worked no problems with anything .Highly recommend staying in Charleston area.
Stayed 4 nights in Aug 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 24 September 2023
I want to start off and say: home run stay! We are just a short drive to the hustle and bustle of the city. Thank you again for staying with us, as it was a pleasure to host you and family! We would welcome you all back at any time .
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Wedding Weekend Retreat

From the minute we arrived we were happy with the attentiveness of the owner and VRBO communication was excellent, anything you would need is right here , perfect for our family and the outside area overlooking the water was as relaxing as could be!
Stayed 3 nights in May 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 24 June 2024
I appreciate the feedback! It was a pleasure to host you all! : ) We would welcome you all back at any time. Thanks again! Blue Skies, Team Duvet
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Convenient To Go Out, Fun To Stay In

Great location to go out: beach, restaurants, historic Charleston. Fun to stay in: lovely property, on a small lake observing wildlife (no alligators fortunately!) Bathrooms could have been better for several adults in a stay. Would stay here again.
Stayed 7 nights in Jul 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 24 September 2023
Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you appreciated the home, and the location. As with the bathrooms, we would love to know what can be done to further improve. Thank you for staying, and we would love to host you again. :)
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Weekend Family Trip

Family had a great time in Charleston. Close proximity to The Citadel and downtown Charleston. Family spent hours on the deck & dock enjoying the sights and sounds of nature. Felt like we were on a nature preserve. Hard to believe we were less than 20 minutes from Charleston.
Stayed 2 nights in Mar 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 14 May 2025
Thank you for you awesome review of your stay with us - We are so happy to see that you had a great time in our home and Charleston! We hope to welcome you back again soon! Blue Skies, Stay Duvet
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Beach cottage in quiet convenient neighborhood

Lovely decor as pictured. Beds comfy with white linens. Loved coffee on the dock each morning. Turtles expect a snack. Very convenient to food, fun, beaches but quiet as a mouse neighborhood. Would stay there again. Enough room for everyone.
Stayed 4 nights in Oct 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 4 November 2024
Thank you for the wonderful review! We’re so happy to hear that you enjoyed the decor, comfy beds, and peaceful mornings on the dock with the friendly turtles. It sounds like you had a great time exploring the nearby food, fun, and beaches while enjoying the quiet neighborhood. We’re thrilled that the space was comfortable for everyone and that you’d consider staying with us again. We’d love to welcome you back anytime! Blue Skies, Team Duvet
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Graduation weekend!

Wonderful time celebrating our son and daughter’s graduations. Beautiful setting and well appointed. Only glitch was spotty internet but easy communication with concierge to assist with troubleshooting. Would def stay again!!
Stayed 3 nights in May 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 24 September 2023
We're glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for bringing your concern to our attention right away, thus giving us an opportunity to resolve it. Thank you for choosing us and we would love to see you again in the future!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Wonderful home away from home.

The house was perfect for the whole family with the exception of only one shower. That being said, the house and the back yard and dock was fabulous. It’s not too fancy but comfortable and homey. It was situated between Sullivan Island beach and
Stayed 7 nights in Aug 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 16 October 2024
Thank you for your feedback Sheila! We're so glad to hear the house was a great fit for your family and that you enjoyed the backyard and dock area. We designed the space to feel comfortable and homey, so it's wonderful to know that came through. We understand that the single shower may have been a bit of an inconvenience, and we truly appreciate your understanding on that. We do make sure to include in the listing that there is only one shower for the two bathrooms so guests are aware! It sounds like the location between Sullivan's Island and the beach worked well for you too! We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the future. Blue Skies, Team Duvet
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
We had a wonderful stay. The location is absolutely beautiful- right on the water. We woke up to the sound of birds, geese and other wildlife each morning and sat on the dock watching the turtles. It was peaceful, making it the perfect place to relax and unwind. The home itself was very spacious, with large, comfortable bedrooms that easily accommodated our family. There was plenty of room for our family gathering- in the living room, dining room or outside deck. The home is nicely decorated, however the appliances could use updating. The only other downside was the bathroom setup. While there are two bathrooms, there is only one shower, which proved to be a bit challenging with five adults sharing the space. It’s manageable, but something to keep in mind when planning your stay.On a positive note, the management company/host was very responsive and helpful, promptly answering all of my questions and making the overall experience smooth and enjoyable. Overall, it’s a great place to stay, especially if you’re looking for a scenic/peaceful getaway, within a close drive to everything in Charleston.
Stayed 3 nights in Apr 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 7 May 2026
Thank you so much for your kind review Valerie! We’re so glad you enjoyed your stay and the wildlife. We are glad to hear our teams communication made your stay easy! It was a pleasure hosting you, and we’d love to welcome you back to Charleston anytime! Blue Skies, Duvet Team
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Communication

We didn’t stay

Property manager called and informed us that there was major plumbing problems and we wouldn’t be able to stay at this location. We are getting a full refund
Stayed 4 nights in May 2025
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Overall, I would stay here again with my kids. The cons list sounds long, but they are mostly minor things.Pros: huge yard, views of the lagoon and nature, big house, great location! communication was good and response time was quick.Cons: maintenance could be better... Multiple lights out (kitchen dining), bathroom window would not shut once opened, door knob to get out back broke, ice machine from fridge would not work, multiple chipped glasses in the cabinetsonly one kitchen towel was wrapped around the oven handle when we arrived. no more than that. one cereal bowl. one black towel provided per bathroom that they want you to use amongst everyone for makeup removal. deck boards need to be replaced and are splintering. the shed door off of the deck would not stay shut either. dehumidifier was leaking. jacuzzi tub jets were also out of order. the little dirt devil vacuum is not enough for a longer stay if you want to keep the rugs clean in the house.
Stayed 4 nights in Mar 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 9 April 2026
Thank you so much for your thoughtful and detailed feedback—we’re really glad to hear you enjoyed the yard, views, location, and overall space for your family. We truly appreciate you taking the time to share these notes, as they help us improve, and we’re actively working with our team to address the maintenance and inventory items you mentioned. It means a lot that you’d stay with us again, and we’d love the opportunity to provide an even better experience next time! Blue Skies, Stay Duvet
Verified review

4/10 Poor

Liked: Check-in, communication, location
Disliked: Cleanliness

Needs some TLC

The home is in a great location which is why we chose it, but the home is in need of some love. Outside furniture has mold on it and is very uncomfortable, baseboards have dirt on them, there are a few holes in the drywall, kids stickers in random locations, sticky marks on bedside furniture, whirlpool did not work, kitchen floor tiles are broken and need replacing, when we arrived there was a pile of dirt in the hallway. You can tell a corporation owns this home and not an individual who is looking for repeat business.
Stayed 4 nights in Mar 2024
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location

Great in many ways! But overall only 3 stars.

Most importantly this only has one shower! The second bathroom only had a tub, it was ok for washing feet after a beach day, but that's it. I highly suggested to the company that they clarify the bathroom description in their listing as most adults expect a "two bathroom" to mean two showers.The entire property is a little tired looking. Bathrooms are more worn than they appear in the photos. And the house was very musty smelling, the one dehumidifier running at the far end of the house did not help.Coffee on the dock was WONDERFUL in the mornings! The nesting heron were so much fun to watch. There are comfortable plastic chairs on the dock. And yes, lots of turtles!Location was super quiet in a neighborhood. We never walked around, but it appeared very safe. Easy access to sights via car as long as you managed crossing the bridges off peak hours. Beds and pillows very comfortable. Linens and towels clean and plush. Stay Duvet responded quickly to all communications. We did not use the washer/dryer but it would have been super handy had we stayed longer. The long table was great with a pretty view out the back window. Plush sofa was cozy for evenings chatting. Kitchen had everything you need for cooking.The basics were provided, soaps, shampoo, conditioner, detergent. We did have to find extra TP. They provided extra rolls, but the single ply doesn't last very long!This property was a nice place to stay.
Stayed 4 nights in Mar 2025
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback