South Kansas City, a neighbourhood in Kansas City, is home to this holiday home. Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art and Harrah's Casino are cultural highlights and Kansas City Zoo is a popular area attraction. Looking to enjoy an event or a game? See what's going on at GEHA Field at Arrowhead Stadium or T-Mobile Center.
University of Missouri-Kansas City - 10 min drive - 6.4 km
Kansas City Zoo - 11 min drive - 9.6 km
Starlight Theatre - 12 min drive - 7.8 km
Getting around
Plaza Tram Stop - 9 min drive
Lee's Summit Station - 20 min drive
Kansas City International Airport (MCI) - 40 min drive
Restaurants
Chick-fil-A - 3 min drive
BB's Lawnside BBQ - 3 min drive
McDonald's - 10 min walk
Culver's - 4 min drive
McDonald's - 3 min drive
Frequently asked questions
Is Waldo Retreat House 3BD - Master Suite, Pet Friendly, Walking Trail & Shops pet-friendly?
Yes, pets are allowed at this property.
How much does it cost to stay at Waldo Retreat House 3BD - Master Suite, Pet Friendly, Walking Trail & Shops?
As of 28 October 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Waldo Retreat House 3BD - Master Suite, Pet Friendly, Walking Trail & Shops on 28 February 2027 start from NZ$1,559, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
How much is parking at Waldo Retreat House 3BD - Master Suite, Pet Friendly, Walking Trail & Shops?
On-site parking is available at the property.
What time is check-in at Waldo Retreat House 3BD - Master Suite, Pet Friendly, Walking Trail & Shops?
Check-in begins at 3:00 PM.
What time is check-out at Waldo Retreat House 3BD - Master Suite, Pet Friendly, Walking Trail & Shops?
Checkout is at 11:00 AM.
Where is Waldo Retreat House 3BD - Master Suite, Pet Friendly, Walking Trail & Shops located?
Located in South Kansas City, this holiday home is 2.5 mi (4.1 km) from Research Medical Center Brookside Campus and within 6 miles (10 km) of St. Joseph Medical Center and University of Missouri-Kansas City. Swope Park and Plaza Tennis Center are also within 6 miles (10 km).
Reviews
8.4
Very good
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
We had a really nice stay—one parent was working and our whole family came for a few days. The location was convenient and having off street parking behind the house was a nice bonus.
Was in a charming neighborhood, felt safe.Had a lengthy stay after a medical procedure.Was comfy had everything you could need.And was always able to reach the owner, who was extremely gracious.
yet still close to everything there is to love about the Waldo neighborhood.
the house is pet friendly and there's a beautiful walking/running trail just a half block away.
Welcoming host with good communication. Property was clean. Comfortable beds. We replaced a couple of lightbulbs and had a concern about inability to lock the outside garage/basement access, although there is a lock at the top of stairs which accesses the kitchen. Older home could use some repair to stairways, but overall it suited our needs as a clean comfortable place to sleep.
Great place, spacious, quiet, really awesome! Property Manager communication was EXCELLENT. There was a short power outage (city, not just us), and the PM was all over it communicating with us, etc. Would definitely stay here and/or work with these folks again.
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 10 July 2023
Thank you for staying at our spacious house. We look forward to hosting you again soon!
Very quiet street. Back yard parking not quit ready to use yet, but street parking was safe with the light traffic. The code access convenient with group not all coming and going together. All of house seemed recently re-done, bright and cheery.
Located near Waldo with shopping and dining options. Comfortable beds and great shower. Comfortable house with Updated kitchen. Disappointed to find the King Bedroom was up a set of narrow stairs but is paired with a 1/2 bath. Parking and entry situation was a little confusing and not described well in the check-in instructions. Parking in back of home with entry by the deck but entry key pad at front door. It is fine once you figure it out - good off-road parking. Overall good stay - met our needs for the weekend.
Was the perfect space for our family of 6, and was perfect for our fur baby! 3 cars easily parked in the back, everything seemed to work properly. Walls could use a paint job, but main areas were dusted, mopped. And sheets smelled like Clorox, so that tells me they were clean. Curtains and walls need some attention, but super convenient location and was comfortable
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2023
Verified review
6/10 Okay
Charlotte E.
20 April 2023
Liked: Check-in
Surprise!
The property was much smaller than expected. Also, there were 1 1/2 baths instead of two full bathrooms. One of the bedrooms was upstairs. Who knew there was a second floor?
Location was nice - close to restaurants and some KC attractions.
When we first arrived the code for entry would not work...attempts to call, text and email took about 25 minutes til we got response...but once owner responded we were able to get in. All other communication was efficient. Perfect location for our destinations for concert, brewery tour, trivia night and lots of bbq and baseball!
Stayed 4 nights in Jun 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 10 July 2023
Thanks for the five star review! We are so glad you had a great time in Kansas city and our house. Please come back again soon!
Verified review
8/10 Good
Chris R.
16 June 2022
Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication
Very nice, but.....
Very nice place for what we needed for our weekend visit to KC.
Plentiful street parking to me wasn't exactly accurate. The street isn't very wide and we had a bigger truck and didn't want to have a mirror missing/busted in the morning. Parking in the back would've been an issue with a car but not our truck. Chatted with the neighbors and everything was good with us. But apparently there's an easement dispute. Be aware.
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 10 July 2023
The temporary issue we had is now fully resolved. We appreciate your feedback and hope to host you again soon!
Verified review
4/10 Poor
Gin S.
3 September 2023
Liked: Listing accuracy
Disliked: Cleanliness, communication
Can not recommend
Upon arrival the house is not welcoming, from the confusing sidewalk to the front door that does not extend all the way to the street, to the large dead (think haunted house dead) tree in the front yard.
The house had a strange odor but otherwise seemed fairly clean, but on the second night the origin of the odor was realized when we were joined hy a mouse on the living room couch.
The outside of the home has rotted wood and there were piles of animal droppings on the srairs leading up to the porch. We left before our reservation ended.
Not a place I could possibly recommend.
The listing described the home as "sparkling clean," "professionally sanitized," and equipped with "brand new appliances, flooring, and fresh paint." It also claimed to have "three living spaces" but there is only one living room.Upon arrival, it was immediately clear that the property was in poor and unacceptable condition. Specifically:The floors and carpets were disgustingly dirty and stained.Toilet seats and toilet paper holders were broken.The stovetop was greasy and unclean.Ceiling fans were not functioning properly.Several window screens were torn.The lawn was not mowed.Most disturbingly, the home reeked of marijuana, creating an overwhelming and uninhabitable environment.The condition of the property did not align at all with the promises made in the listing, and we did not feel safe or comfortable staying there. As a result, we left immediately and checked into a hotel for two nights at our own expense.This property was clearly not maintained to the standards promised and should not be advertised in its current condition. I would not recommend this rental to anyone.
Stayed 2 nights in May 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 27 May 2025
The guest stayed two hours past move out time and declined to pay late checkout fee. We have thorough documentation proving that the house was spotless before the guest's arrival. The guest is local and appears to be moving between different properties every few days. We've hosted hundreds of guests over the years and consistently maintain the highest standards of cleanliness and service.
Verified review
6/10 Okay
Catherine S.
3 August 2023
Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, listing accuracy
Nice house but not managed well
Nice house, clean and decent beds. The shower pressure and shower head was amazing.
Had a code for front door but no communication about back door access (key lock-where you park). Found a lock box out front so after inquiry got access to key for back door. Kitchen cabinets were old and wouldn’t stay shut so that was frustrating. No sharp knives and limited silverware and pans for cooking. Every lamp in the house had bad lightbulbs and the only light out back (where you park) had a bad bulb as well. Requested this be changed on day 1, was told maintenance would address on day 2 but never happened-safety hazard! Trash all over the backyard and under the deck due to previous renters and failure to remove was disgusting. Had to clean up twice during a 3 day stay due to rodents/animals. Had a mouse in a bedroom the last night. The care/upkeep is failing. Communication was delayed with limited responses.
Overgrown yard was cut on day 2 but most neighbors neglected their lawns.
Probably wouldn’t stay again.
Stayed 4 nights in Jul 2023
Verified review
6/10 Okay
Sherri M.
26 July 2026
Liked: Check-in, communication, location
Not a bad little house but could use a refresh. Host was very responsive.