Located in Lake Toxaway, this cottage is in the mountains and on the waterfront. Sapphire National Golf Club and Sapphire Valley Ski Resort are worth checking out if an activity is on the agenda, while those looking for area attractions can visit Pisgah Astronomical Research Institute and Cashiers Farmers Market. Discover the area's water adventures with kayaking and water tubing nearby, or enjoy the great outdoors with cycling and hiking.
Western Carolina University - 42 min drive - 54.2 km
Fred W. Symmes Chapel - 51 min drive - 63.6 km
Getting around
Asheville Regional Airport (AVL) - 53 min drive
Restaurants
Grand Olde Station at Lake Toxaway - 3 min drive
Los Vaqueros - 4 min drive
Panthertown Cafe - 6 min drive
Forks of the River Taproom - 13 min drive
Riverside Pizza - 15 min drive
Frequently asked questions
Is By the Creek | Private 3-Bedroom Creekside Cottage Near Brevard pet-friendly?
No, pets are not allowed at this property.
How much does it cost to stay at By the Creek | Private 3-Bedroom Creekside Cottage Near Brevard?
As of 28 October 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at By the Creek | Private 3-Bedroom Creekside Cottage Near Brevard on 4 November 2026 start from NZ$1,223, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
How much is parking at By the Creek | Private 3-Bedroom Creekside Cottage Near Brevard?
On-site parking is available at the property.
What time is check-in at By the Creek | Private 3-Bedroom Creekside Cottage Near Brevard?
Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.
What time is check-out at By the Creek | Private 3-Bedroom Creekside Cottage Near Brevard?
Checkout is at 10:00 AM.
Where is By the Creek | Private 3-Bedroom Creekside Cottage Near Brevard located?
Situated on the waterfront, this cottage is within a 5-minute walk of Nantahala National Forest and Pisgah National Forest. Gorges State Park is 2.8 mi (4.5 km) away.
Reviews
9.0
Wonderful
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Very clean and comfortable house. Had everything we needed. Great location. Beautiful surroundings. Loved hanging out on the patio next to the creek.
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 12 October 2026
Thank you for your review! We are very happy that you were pleased with your stay.
Verified review
2/10 Terrible
Jennifer H.
8 September 2026
Liked: Check-in
Disliked: Cleanliness, location, listing accuracy
No AC downstairs. Very, very hot The waterfall on property was mad made and was not accessible. Just extremely boring stay. Not all all what was listed. Or expected
Stayed 3 nights in Sep 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 29 September 2026
Thank you for your review. We're very sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. Your comments concerning HVAC performance and listing accuracy have been noted for review and correction.
Awesome property with plenty of room and secluded. Nature trail out front door that leads to spillway from nearby lake. Kids had a great time playing in creek! Would definitely book again.
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 1 January 2026
Thank you for your review! We’re very happy that you were pleased with your stay.
Great location, loved being right on the creek. So peaceful and the home was well stocked with everything you could need. We will definitely be back!
Stayed 5 nights in Jun 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 27 October 2024
Amanda, thank you for 5-stars :) We are thrilled to hear that your stay at By the Creek was so peaceful. We hope you're doing well, and we can't wait to host you again!!
This property is absolutely beautiful! Our family of 4 had a great time, this is by far one of the best places i have ever rented out. There was plenty to do and lots of room to move around! We all absolutely loved it and hated to leave.
Stayed 4 nights in Apr 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 13 April 2026
Thank you for your review! We are very happy that you were pleased with your stay.
We stayed here for a week before Christmas. Very convenient for our Waterfall hikes. Excellent place. Quiet and lovely on the creek. This house had everything we needed.
Clean house in a remote, peaceful location. We wanted to stay somewhere free of any neighbors and this was the perfect get away place!
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 27 October 2024
Drew, thank you for the wonderful review! We're so glad you found By the Creek clean and enjoyed its peaceful, remote location. It’s great to hear that it met your desire for a getaway without neighbors :) We hope to welcome you back for another tranquil escape soon!
We loved the creek and quite area. The cabin is very well supplied, neat and clean. The area is wonderful! Plenty of outside eventutures, restaurants, shopping, museums, waterfalls, nature. And the people are great! The Yonder team was always helpful and kind.
Stayed 8 nights in Mar 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 13 April 2026
Thank you for your review! We are very happy that you were pleased with your stay.
This property is right on a babbling stream! You can sit outside on the porch and enjoy the sounds and sights of the stream. The fire ring is right on the water's edge for wonderful campfires next to the water. This place was lovely and is near lots of great waterfall hikes!
Stayed 5 nights in Jun 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 27 October 2024
Darci, thank you for the fantastic review! We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed the soothing sounds of the babbling stream and the cozy campfires by the water. It sounds like you made the most of your time outdoors! We're glad you found By the Creek lovely, and that the nearby waterfall hikes added to your experience :) We hope to welcome you back for another memorable stay soon!
We enjoyed the house but wouldn't recommend it for older guest. We found it difficult because of the stairs & I could not go to the burn pit due to uneven rocks forsteps. Lovely place just not for us due to our older age.
Stayed 5 nights in Jun 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 6 April 2026
Thank you for your review! We are very happy that you were pleased with your stay. We would also be very happy to suggest more accessible properties appropriate to your needs for your next stay!
Verified review
6/10 Okay
Leslie M.
18 October 2022
Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication
Disliked: Location
Not quite what we expected
The setting for this home is nice. Very secluded and a beautiful creek very close to the home.
The porches were perfect for relaxing and listening to the sound of the beautiful stream.
Although the home was definitely very clean, the furniture in some of the areas was not up to par. The carpet on the stairs needs to be replaced. It would be best to have no carpet in the home and just hardwood floors. The linoleum floors are also outdated. I think there could be many improvements to this home as I think it was very expensive for the quality of the house.
Stayed 3 nights in Oct 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 19 July 2023
Leslie, thanks for your review! We're so pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay at By the Creek. Your suggestions for various home improvements are valued, and we will pass them along for the owners' consideration. We hope you're doing well, and we welcome you back to this or any other Yonder home! :)
Our family of 4 stayed here as a last minute get away in July before school started back up in August. The location is quiet and private. The kids enjoyed the stream, sadly we couldn’t enjoy a fire as it rained almost every day we were there and getting a fire started the 2 nights we could just didn’t happen. The house is stocked with everything you need. One thing to definitely know that we were not aware of is that the only a/c is a mini split in the living room area. The downstairs (2 bedrooms) and upstairs bedrooms do not have a/c. There were floor fans provided in the closets we used, but we are a family that loves it super cold at night so that was a bummer for us. Other than that we had zero complaints and enjoyed our getaway. Thank you for sharing your home with us!
Stayed 7 nights in Jul 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 27 October 2024
Meagan, thank you for your thoughtful review! We’re glad to hear that you enjoyed your family getaway and found By the Creek peaceful and well-stocked. We apologize for the weather not cooperating for your fire pit plans, but it’s great that the kids had fun with the stream! We appreciate your feedback regarding the air conditioning setup. We're always looking for ways to improve, and will certainly pass your comments along to the owner. We hope to welcome you back for another stay at this or any Yonder home, perhaps with more favorable weather!
We thorougly enjoyed a 5 night stay at this property last week. We rent VRBO properties 2-3 times per year at minimum. This home was one of the most thoughtfully renovated, well-equipped homes we have stayed in to date. The kitchen has recently been redone with new cabinets and appliances.The fire pit area has been improved since the listing photos were taken.
The location is easily accessible from hwy 64, and the larger town of Brevard (with restaurants, Ingles, & Walmart) is about 30 minutes away. We enjoyed a few nearby hiking trails (within 15-30 minutes drive), and spent lots of time reading while the kids played in the creek.
The only thing I would mention is that the upstairs bed is very firm - would be good to know when planning the sleeping arrangements. There are two other beds downstairs that are softer. I realize this is more about preference than anything else.
We would consider renting this home again if we decide to stay in the area in the future.
Stayed 5 nights in Apr 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 15 April 2024
Jenn, thank you for your fantastic review of By the Creek! We're delighted to hear that you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your stay here. It's wonderful to know that you found the home to be one of the most thoughtfully renovated and well-equipped rentals you've experienced. We're glad you appreciated the recent kitchen renovations, and improvements to the fire pit area. It's also great to hear that you found the location convenient for accessing nearby attractions and hiking trails. We would be honored to welcome you back to By the Creek if you decide to stay in the area again in the future :) Thank you for choosing to stay with Yonder!
The house is in a truly beautiful spot and the grounds are really well maintained so you can easily explore the creek. The driveway is not difficult to get in and out of and the roads around are easy to navigate. Loved spending time in nearby Brevard and nearby parks. Other reviews have mentioned that having only one AC in the main living area was inconvenient, but we were there in the dead of summer and we were never uncomfortable. Granted, temps were in the high 80s in the day and 70s at night, but each room had a fan and it seemed like the cool air circulated easily. Porches are fantastic. Plenty of toiletries, dish soap, towels - everything you might need. Only issue, and it's a big one, is that the dishwasher doesn't work. I reported it after our stay (didn't want the hassle of dealing with a repairman in our limited time), so I can't say if it's been fixed or not. I would inquire before booking. In addition to having to hand wash all our dishes while there, I noticed that this had clearly been an issue for some time, as all the dishes in the cabinet were filthy, and had clearly been put away after running through the worthless dishwasher. So that was a big bummer. Also, the coffee maker that was out for use is broken (loose parts sitting beside it), but there was an extra in the closet. If not for the disgusting dishes, this would be five stars. So if you're considering booking, just ask ahead of time.
Stayed 4 nights in Jul 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 12 February 2026
Thank you for your review! We’re very happy that you were pleased with your stay. Your comments concerning cleanliness have been noted.
The location was perfect. We absolutely loved the sound of the creek running and spending time out on the decks. There isn’t air conditioning on the lower level, nor in the bedroom upstairs, just a unit in the living room and doesn’t quite cover the upstairs. The beds are not comfortable as a whole. The heat turned on in the middle of the night up to 75 degrees even though it was set on 62. Overarching, not as relaxing of a trip as we wanted.
Stayed 4 nights in Jun 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 30 June 2026
Thank you for your review! We are very happy that you were pleased with the home's location, and your comments concerning air conditioning and bed comfort have been noted.