Entire home

Cottage on the Bay

Photo gallery for Cottage on the Bay

A wooden pathway leading to a beach, surrounded by lush greenery and flowering plants.
A two-story house with a patio area, a small garden, and a large tree in the background.
A two-story house with a front porch, a small garden, and a clear blue sky.
A bunk bed with a blue and white ocean-themed bedding.
A kitchen with white cabinets, a dishwasher, a refrigerator, and a window with curtains.

Reviews

8.8 out of 10
Excellent

Highlights

  • Paddleboard available
    A rare find — hit the water on a paddleboard right here.
  • Discover nearby landmarks
    Close to Chesapeake Bay

Popular amenities

  • Spa pool on site
  • Patio
  • Toys
  • Barbecue
  • Air-conditioning
  • Refrigerator

Explore the area

View map
Saint Leonard, MD
  • Place, Flag Harbor Marina
    ‪8 min walk‬
  • Place, Northern Chesapeake Bay
    ‪2 min drive‬
  • Place, Matoaka Beach
    ‪2 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

2 bedrooms (sleeps 4)

Bedroom 1

1 Queen Bed

Bedroom 2

1 Single Bunk Bed

1 bathroom

Bathroom 1

Soap · Towels provided · Bathtub or shower · Toilet · Shampoo · Hair dryer

Spaces

Deck or patio
Kitchen
Garden

Add dates for prices

Have a question?

AI iconBeta

Get instant answers with AI powered search of property information and reviews.

Similar properties

About the area

St. Leonard

St. Leonard is home to this cottage. Fox Run Center and First Colony Shopping Center are worth checking out if shopping is on the agenda, while those wishing to experience the area's natural beauty can explore Chesapeake Bay and Battle Creek Cypress Swamp Sanctuary. R&J's PlayPark and Kocen Arts Center are also worth visiting.
Map
Saint Leonard, MD

What's nearby

  • Flag Ponds Nature Park - 6 min walk - 0.5 km
  • Flag Harbor Marina - 8 min walk - 0.7 km
  • Northern Chesapeake Bay - 2 min drive - 1.1 km
  • Matoaka Beach - 2 min drive - 1.4 km
  • Calvert Cliffs State Park - 16 min drive - 17.5 km

Restaurants

  • ‪Linda's Produce Stand - ‬10 min drive
  • ‪Frying Pan - ‬15 min drive
  • ‪Gateway Restaurant & Lounge - ‬13 min drive
  • ‪The Tavern - ‬6 min drive
  • ‪Patuxent Seafood Company - ‬19 min drive

Frequently asked questions

Is Cottage on the Bay pet-friendly?

No, pets are not allowed at this property.

How much does it cost to stay at Cottage on the Bay?

As of 28 October 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Cottage on the Bay on 30 October 2026 start from NZ$1,034, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.

How much is parking at Cottage on the Bay?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at Cottage on the Bay?

Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.

What time is check-out at Cottage on the Bay?

Checkout is at 11:00 AM.

Where is Cottage on the Bay located?

Situated in St. Leonard, this cottage is within a 10-minute walk of Chesapeake Bay, Flag Ponds Nature Park and Flag Harbor Marina. Northern Chesapeake Bay and Long Beach are also within 1 mile (2 km).

Reviews

8.8

Excellent

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 2 out of 3 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 0 out of 3 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 1 out of 3 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 0 out of 3 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 0 out of 3 reviews

8.0/10

Cleanliness

10/10

Check-in

10/10

Communication

9.0/10

Location

7.0/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
We had a wonderful visit! The cottage was exceptionally equipped with towels, kitchen, beach chairs, wood for the fire pit, ect.
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2025
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Check-in, communication, location
Disliked: Listing accuracy

Just know what to expect.

This property has some good qualities. For one, it is right on the water, and you have access to three small beaches and good fishing. It was nice to wake up and drink coffee next to the waves. The house was stocked and seemed to have everything we could’ve needed. However, for us, the negatives far outweighed the positives here. Most significantly to me, the property did not mention that the outdoor amenities - the fire pit, grills, and boats - are shared between you and the adjoining property. The adjoining property is actually a studio garage in the same yard. The fire pit sits directly in front of the other “apartment,” so you will stare directly into the other home should you sit out at night. In fact, this house has little to no privacy at all. If privacy is important to you, you will not enjoy this property - at either sides, you stare directly into the windows (and sometimes the eyes) of neighbors. The house was also grubby. There were dirty dishes in the dishwasher; the knob falls off the shower every time you turn it on. The washer/dryer combo works so inefficiently that it’s not worth your time to use it at all (that is, if you figure out how to use the machine via YouTube, as per the owners’ instructions). Yet, the owners were kind and responsive when I reached out to them upon arrival. They even updated their listings to address some of the aforementioned issues. Just know what to expect at this location, and be willing to relinquish your privacy and perhaps some
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 17 August 2023
Victoria, we were prepared for the review about our listing mistake. We did contact VRBO about the import discrepancy. However, the remarks about our property being gruby is false. As you stated in your message to us post check in: “Thank you. We have arrived and are all checked in. The house is beautiful and clean. However, we are incredibly disappointed that the listing did not make clear that we would share the fire pit, the grill, and the boats with the couple in the garage. Moreover, I have no idea how two cars fit on that parking pad. I had to move to the street just to unload my cooler. “ Never once did you mention any other discrepancies other than the shared spaces and the parking pad (which as soon as you mentioned this we reached out to our other guests and arranged alternative parking for them). Thank you for mentioning that I have now added a picture of two cars parked perfectly into the space (large and small SUVs). The privacy, that’s on you. Entire outdoor photos were posted in June and noted that the interior would be updated July 3rd. You booked July 22nd. The shower knob is the first we heard and there was 5 guests before your stay and 5 after your stay. Other than the weekend you stayed I have personally cleaned the property and it’s never fallen off. We will make sure to check on it today. Please note this is a Chesapeake Bay beach community the lots are small. All lots are small, our property (to include Studio on the Bay) sits on 6 of them. As hosts that want to share our community and it’s amazingness of a peaceful get away from the city, our main goal is ensuring the happiness and quality of our guests stay. As mentioned before (and in your review) we attempted to work with you to ensure a nice stay, noted your concerns and updated/fixed them immediately. Communication goes both ways, what we don’t know we can’t fix. Had you mentioned any of the other items we’d have sent a handyman to the house or the cleaning service back.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Stayed 4 nights in Nov 2025
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback