Entire home

Steps to Beach | Pool, Hot Tub, Fire Pit • 7BR, Sleeps 18 | Cobalt Coast

Photo gallery for Steps to Beach | Pool, Hot Tub, Fire Pit • 7BR, Sleeps 18 | Cobalt Coast

A two-story house with a pool, outdoor seating, and a fire pit.
A bar area with four wooden chairs and a flat-screen TV mounted above.
An outdoor dining area with a pool, white picket fence, and palm trees.
A two-story house with a covered patio, outdoor dining area, and a white picket fence.
A hot tub with a control panel, a pool, and a covered area with a view of the surrounding neighborhood.

Reviews

8.6 out of 10
Excellent

Highlights

  • Room to spread out
    Enjoy spacious layout that give everyone more room to relax.
  • Firepit available
    One of the few properties with a dedicated outdoor firepit.
  • Centrally-located
    You're never far from where you need to be with this convenient location.
  • Discover nearby landmarks
    Close to Folly Field Beach Park

Popular amenities

  • Balcony
  • Spa pool on site
  • Private pool
  • Barbecue
  • Pet-friendly
  • Air-conditioning

Explore the area

View map
Hilton Head Island, SC
  • Place, Folly Field Beach
    ‪6 min walk‬
  • Place, Folly Field Beach Park
    ‪6 min walk‬
  • Place, Driessen Beach Park
    ‪15 min walk‬
  • Airport, Hilton Head Island, SC (HHH)
    ‪5 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

7 bedrooms (sleeps 18)

Bedroom 2

1 King Bed

Bedroom 3

1 King Bed

Bedroom 4

1 King Bed

Bedroom 5

1 King Bed

Bedroom 6

3 Double Beds

Bedroom 7

2 Single Beds and 2 Double Beds

Primary bedroom

1 King Bed

6 bathrooms, 1 half bathroom

Bathroom 1

Toilet · Shower only

Ensuite Bathroom 1

Ensuite Bathroom 2

Ensuite Bathroom 3

Ensuite Bathroom 4

Ensuite Bathroom 5

Half Bathroom

Toilet

Spaces

Deck or patio
Kitchen
Balcony
Garden
Dining area

Add dates for prices

Similar properties

About the area

Hilton Head Island

Located near the beach, this holiday home is in Mid Island, a neighbourhood in Hilton Head Island. Fort Howell and Fort Mitchel are local landmarks, and travellers looking to shop may want to visit Coligny Plaza and Shelter Cove Towne Centre. Travelling with kids? Consider Adventure Cove, or check out an event or a game at Van Der Meer Tennis Center.
Map
Hilton Head Island, SC

What's nearby

  • Folly Field Beach - 6 min walk - 0.5 km
  • Folly Field Beach Park - 6 min walk - 0.5 km
  • Driessen Beach Park - 15 min walk - 1.3 km
  • Adventure Cove - 16 min walk - 1.4 km
  • Port Royal Golf Club - 3 min drive - 2.0 km

Getting around

  • Hilton Head Island, SC (HHH) - 9 min drive

Restaurants

  • ‪McDonald's - ‬4 min drive
  • ‪Circle K - ‬4 min drive
  • ‪Starbucks - ‬4 min drive
  • ‪Nala’s Beach Bar & Grill - ‬14 min walk
  • ‪Coconutz - ‬8 min walk

Frequently asked questions

Is Steps to Beach | Pool, Hot Tub, Fire Pit • 7BR, Sleeps 18 | Cobalt Coast pet-friendly?

Yes, pets are allowed at this property.

How much does it cost to stay at Steps to Beach | Pool, Hot Tub, Fire Pit • 7BR, Sleeps 18 | Cobalt Coast?

As of 30 October 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Steps to Beach | Pool, Hot Tub, Fire Pit • 7BR, Sleeps 18 | Cobalt Coast on 7 November 2026 start from NZ$5,579, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.

How much is parking at Steps to Beach | Pool, Hot Tub, Fire Pit • 7BR, Sleeps 18 | Cobalt Coast?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at Steps to Beach | Pool, Hot Tub, Fire Pit • 7BR, Sleeps 18 | Cobalt Coast?

Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.

What time is check-out at Steps to Beach | Pool, Hot Tub, Fire Pit • 7BR, Sleeps 18 | Cobalt Coast?

Checkout is at 10:00 AM.

Where is Steps to Beach | Pool, Hot Tub, Fire Pit • 7BR, Sleeps 18 | Cobalt Coast located?

This family-friendly Hilton Head Island holiday home is located by the sea, within a 5-minute walk of Folly Field Beach and Folly Field Beach Park. Adventure Cove and Islanders Beach Park are also within 15 minutes.

Reviews

8.6

Excellent

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 9 out of 14 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 1 out of 14 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 3 out of 14 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 0 out of 14 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 1 out of 14 reviews

8.0/10

Cleanliness

9.4/10

Check-in

9.6/10

Communication

9.8/10

Location

8.6/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Everything was wonderful we really enjoyed the trip.
Stayed 3 nights in Sep 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 1 October 2026
Wonderful trips are what we're here for! We'd love to host the next one.
Verified review

2/10 Terrible

Liked: Check-in, communication, location
Disliked: Cleanliness, listing accuracy
The pictures of this place are not accurate. There is no gate to the pool. There are broken and missing tiles on the pool. There are broken and missing pieces of trim and broken baluster on upstairs deck. Inside there are noisy window unit a/c in all the bedrooms. The upstairs living area is very warm. The toilet in the powder room did not flush. The garage is cluttered with junk and garbage. It was generally not properly maintained.
Stayed 7 nights in Sep 2026
Response from Steps to Beach | Pool, Hot Tub, Fire Pit • 7BR, Sleeps 18 | Cobalt Coast on 29 October 2026
Thank you for sharing your feedback. We’re sorry the home’s condition did not match your expectations. The home is scheduled for renovations during the off-season, and a cleanup of the property is already underway. Your comments have been shared with the team responsible for the home to help guide those updates. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and would welcome the chance to host you again once the work is complete.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Beautifully update house! Pool, hot tub, games, and beach items including towels all available at the house. Host was very responsive for any need. Would definitely stay again.
Stayed 3 nights in May 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 16 May 2026
Thank you for the wonderful review! We're so glad you enjoyed the updates to the home and made the most of the pool, hot tub, games, and beach essentials during your stay. It's also great to hear that communication was helpful throughout your visit. We'd love to welcome you back anytime!
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Communication, location
Disliked: Cleanliness, check-in, listing accuracy
I have a list of 20 things that need to be fixed with this house to bring it up to the price listed for a 6 night stay. The house was once a very nice house. The house has been used and abused and not maintained. The biggest issue: floors need replacing on the main floor but specifically the master bath and kitchen. Boards are coming up and warped. Broken porch railings, smell on main floor at pantry when the a/c comes on- mold? There is mold around the light switch on that wall. The list goes on. I am so mad at myself forPaying so much money for this rental. I have reached out to AvantStay and they have agreed to refund a very minimal amount. VRBO has been no help either. Feel free to contact me for specifics.
Stayed 6 nights in Sep 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
A terrific house for a large family or multiple couples. Our 5 couples all enjoyed comfortable king beds and private ensuite baths. The TWO laundry rooms were a bonus as were the numerous refrigerators. All amenities were top-notch including the swimming pool (serviced twice during our stay), hot tub, deck loungers, kitchen, and wood fire pit.
Stayed 7 nights in Sep 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 21 September 2025
Thank you! We’re delighted to hear that your group enjoyed the comfortable beds, private baths, and all the great amenities. It sounds like the pool, hot tub, and outdoor spaces really added to your stay. We’d love to welcome you all back anytime!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Phenomenal spot for a large group

Very spacious house with plenty of nice features, especially when traveling with lots of kids. Big bedrooms, awesome bunkbeds, two laundry rooms, great pool and one short walk from the beach. 18 of us, 8 kids under 10, fantastic week.
Stayed 7 nights in Apr 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 24 April 2025
Thanks, Brendan! It’s wonderful to hear the house worked so well for your group, especially with the kids. Sounds like a fantastic week with all the space, great features, and easy beach access! I'm glad everyone had a great time.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

21 Sand Dollar rd

Wonderful place enjoyed time and easy access to beach, and restaurants. House well equipped as well as house worked extremely well for our family!
Stayed 5 nights in Aug 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 13 February 2025
Hi Betty! Thanks for your great review! We’re so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at 21 Sand Dollar Rd and found it easy to access the beach and nearby restaurants. It’s wonderful that the house worked so well for your family. We hope to have you back for another visit soon! 😊
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Perfect Family Retreat

Wonderful family home with great gourmet kitchen and abundant bedroom and bath accommodations - Avantstay was very responsive and available. Super comfortable home with fantastic beach access. Spent New Years week with four of our adult children and their families! Priceless!
Stayed 7 nights in Dec 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 20 January 2025
Thank you for your wonderful review, Bill! We’re so happy to hear that your family had a memorable New Year’s week together and that the home worked well for everyone. It’s great to know you enjoyed the gourmet kitchen, comfortable accommodations, and beach access. We're also glad AvantStay was able to assist promptly during your stay. We’d love to welcome you and your family back for more priceless moments in the future!
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Disliked: Cleanliness
We recently returned from a week-long family vacation. It isn’t often we can get the whole family of 8 adults and 4 children together. We have been to Hilton Head many times and picked this property for its proximity to the beach, pool on site and number of bedroom/bathroom combinations. Tom, our Avanstay was courteous, responsive and did the best he could to attend to our concerns. That said, there were a number of issues we encountered that impacted our one week stay.. Kitchen: Upon arrival, we encountered soiled dishes in the dishwasher and large food particles near the pump. The cleaning service ran the cycle but the filter was clogged. Some of the pots in the cabinet had food stains and the cookie sheets and baking pans were stained, worn out and unusable. The cooking utensils were thrown in the drawers and most were plastic. The kitchen cabinets were sticky and the floor had not been mopped. There were no mixing bowls or prep items, and the plastic cutting boards were heavily worn. The handle was missing on the tea kettle, and we did not find grill tools.. Tom sent a lovely couple to clean the kitchen and care for the dishwasher. He sent over some brand new baking pans and some long handled spoons and spatulas. Pool: The first evening while swimming on the edge of the pool, my granddaughter brushed up against an unprotected suction pipe. Like a vacuum, it sucked and pulled on her abdomen causing a circular mark and slight bruising. She was frightened, but
Stayed 7 nights in Aug 2026
Response from Steps to Beach | Pool, Hot Tub, Fire Pit • 7BR, Sleeps 18 | Cobalt Coast on 18 October 2026
Thank you for sharing such a thoughtful account of your family’s week together, and it’s good to hear our team was responsive and able to help with your concerns during the stay. We were concerned to read about your granddaughter’s experience at the pool, and we’re truly sorry for the issues your family encountered. The home is currently undergoing a series of updates, and your feedback on the kitchen and pool has been shared with the team responsible for the home for a thorough review. Should you plan another family gathering in Hilton Head, it would be a pleasure to host you.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
We had a fun family reunion at Cobalt Coast, located in a quiet neighborhood. Thirteen family members were able to sleep in comfortable beds. The layout of the house was perfect for us. There were plenty of kitchen supplies for cooking meals, a washer and dryer on each floor, nice pool to swim in, hot tub to soak in, short walk to the beach. We all enjoyed sitting outside on the upper decks, around the pool and fire pit. Many indoor games, beach towels, and beach paraphernalia are available. AdvantStay was a great host, promptly taking care of minor issues that came up. A pool service even came by mid-week to clean the pool and hot tub. Wi-Fi was adequate for daily use but one guest had some difficulty staying connected in a business meeting. It was a wonderful place to stay!
Stayed 7 nights in Aug 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 14 August 2025
Thank you, Diane. I’m glad Cobalt Coast worked so well for your family reunion and that everyone enjoyed the comfortable beds, pool, hot tub, and outdoor spaces. It’s great to hear that the home’s amenities and our team’s responsiveness helped make your stay wonderful.
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Poorly managed

Upon arrival the exterior broken fences and gates that surrounded the pool along with landscaping of weeds that were so high some came up to your armpits. Furniture was dry rotted and unappealing to use. The house itself was a perfect size for us. It wasn't the cleanest. The sofas were stained and torn. Your socks were dirty in minutes. I wasn’t happy to clean when I got there. The house itself was great but it needs better management over the property.
Stayed 7 nights in Jun 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 29 July 2025
Thank you for your feedback, Yvonne. We’re glad to hear the house size worked well for your group, but we’re sorry for the issues you encountered with the exterior, cleanliness, and furnishings. Your comments have been shared with our team so we can address these concerns and ensure improvements are made.
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
The property is a great location across the street from beach access. The house was big with plenty of space for our large group.Communication with the rental company prior to arrival was challenging, it didn’t seem they were familiar with HHI but more generic customer service. Communication was better after we got a text on arrival date from someone more local and knowledgeable about the property.We had issues with trash not being collected for several days. The property management was responsive and ultimately addressed it midweek. We reported some lighting and bathroom fan issues that were not resolved and had some decor fall off the wall that was broken.There was no gate to the pool which was an issue for our family with small kids. The property management delivered a pet gate which was not large enough and not secure. We had to create our own gate to ensure safety during our stay. Property management did acknowledge this was a problem and gave us some credit back to our rental price.Overall we really enjoyed our stay and the size and location of the house outweighed some of these issues and some general noticable wear and tear on the property. I appreciate the response to issues but encourage the management to stay on top of the maintenance issues.
Stayed 7 nights in Jun 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 20 June 2026
So glad the home's size and that fantastic location across from beach access made it work for your group! Really appreciate the detailed, fair feedback though — the early communication, trash collection, lighting, and fan issues, broken decor, and especially the pool gate situation are all things we want to know about. It's good that the team was responsive and offered credit on the pool gate, but the maintenance items definitely need to stay ahead of guest arrivals, and we'll be sure to pass all of this along. Hope to welcome you back for a smoother stay next time!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, listing accuracy
Stayed 7 nights in Sep 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, listing accuracy
Stayed 7 nights in May 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 20 June 2026
Thanks so much for the rating! We're glad you chose to stay with us and hope you had a great time. We'd love to welcome you back anytime!
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback