Located in South Lake Tahoe, this condo is near the beach. Heavenly Gondola and Heavenly Ski Resort are worth checking out if an activity is on the agenda, while those wishing to experience the area's natural beauty can explore Lakeside Beach and Zephyr Cove Beach. Looking to enjoy an event or a game while in town? See what's going on at South Lake Tahoe Ice Arena, or consider a night out at The Hangar.
South Lake Tahoe, CA
What's nearby
Ski Run Marina - 3 min walk - 0.3 km
Campground by the Lake - 15 min walk - 1.3 km
Heavenly Gondola - 3 min drive - 2.9 km
The Shops at Heavenly Village - 3 min drive - 2.9 km
South Lake Tahoe Ice Arena - 3 min drive - 2.6 km
Getting around
Lake Tahoe, CA (TVL) - 13 min drive
Restaurants
McDonald's - 9 min walk
Three Pines Coffee Co. - 2 min drive
Starbucks - 2 min drive
Chipotle Mexican Grill - 4 min walk
Driftwood Cafe - 2 min drive
Frequently asked questions
Does Lakeland Sandy Beach Retreat | Private Escape have a pool?
Yes, this property has a pool.
How much does it cost to stay at Lakeland Sandy Beach Retreat | Private Escape?
As of 29 October 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Lakeland Sandy Beach Retreat | Private Escape on 30 October 2026 start from NZ$1,192, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
Is Lakeland Sandy Beach Retreat | Private Escape pet-friendly?
No, pets are not allowed at this property.
How much is parking at Lakeland Sandy Beach Retreat | Private Escape?
On-site parking is available at the property.
What time is check-in at Lakeland Sandy Beach Retreat | Private Escape?
Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.
What time is check-out at Lakeland Sandy Beach Retreat | Private Escape?
Checkout is at 10:00 AM.
Where is Lakeland Sandy Beach Retreat | Private Escape located?
Situated near the beach, this condo building is within 2 miles (3 km) of Ski Run Marina, Heavenly Gondola and Casino at Harrah's Lake Tahoe. Heavenly Ski Resort and Caesars Republic Lake Tahoe Casino are also within 3 miles (5 km).
Reviews
9.0
Wonderful
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Convenient location to lake and good to accommodate our extra family members. Swimming pool and jacuzzi was an added plus our kids enjoyed
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 28 August 2026
Thank you for your review. I’m glad the location worked well for your family and that the home could accommodate your additional members. It’s great to hear the pool and jacuzzi were a hit with the kids. We appreciate you staying with us and would welcome you back to Lakeland Sandy Beach Retreat.
Perfect size for our family, very spacious. The rooms downstairs stayed cool, however the loft was warm. We had to clean the fans before using because they were a tad dusty. Other than that, everything else was great. The house was in the perfect location. Walking distance to everything. The main road was viewable from the balcony but the noise wasn't too bad. Would definitely stay again.
Stayed 4 nights in May 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 11 June 2026
Thank you for the 5-star review! Glad the home was the perfect size for your family and that the location and walkability worked well. Sorry the loft was warm and the fans were a bit dusty — I’ll pass this to our housekeeping and maintenance teams so the fans are cleaned and the loft’s ventilation is checked. Happy the road noise wasn’t too disruptive from the balcony. We’d love to host you again on a future visit.
The check-in process and communication with the host was very easy. The property was very clean and had everything that we needed. Would stay again!
Stayed 3 nights in Mar 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 14 April 2023
We are thrilled you have stayed in one of our Grand Welcome homes and would love to invite you back in the future. Please let us know what we can do to make your stay even better for next time!
The space was perfect for our family of 6. Two bedrooms on the entry level making it easier for my aging parents, second level is the open kitchen/dining and living room, upstairs is a loft that had two twin sized beds. The communication with the host was great, they were fast and super accommodating. Great location with a short walk to the beach. Would definitely stay again.
Easy check in with ample parking. Plenty of space for 6-8 people. Only issue is only one shower if your group isn’t flexible around that but it was fine for us. Great location near shops, dining, and activities. Would definitely stay again.
Great location--5 minute drive to Heavenly. Whole Foods directly across the street and lots of other eating and shopping options close by. Quick walk to the lake as well! Kitchen is well stocked and beds are comfortable. Some road noise for sleeping however the location is worth dealing with that. This place is not a luxury stay property but great for families with kids older than 4 years old (there is a loft with spiral staircase so you may not want to bring your toddlers). Overall a good place to stay.
Loved our stay. Couldn’t beat the location. Private beach only a short walk through the condos. Wonderful pool and hot tub overlooking the lake. House was well supplied and very cozy. Only minor issues. Window was off in the bedroom but we found it and installed it. One bed was minus a comforter but we could have called for one. But overall a very nice place and we would definitely recommend!
Stayed 4 nights in Jul 2024
Verified review
8/10 Good
Beth C.
13 September 2023
Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication
Central Location, Terrific beach... Too much traffic noise
Loved the central location, very close to many restaurants and activities. The best part of this development is the sandy beach, long pier, pool near beach and large paver patio over looking the beach. Quite lovely and convenient. It also pretty grounds of grass and trees. This unit was nice, nice new floors, comfortable furniture and beds. My husband has some mobility issues and we thought based on the description that a bedroom and bathroom would be on the first floor along with the living space. The bedrooms and bathrooms were on the first floor, but the great room, kitchen and dining area were on the second floor. There was also consistent traffic noise from the main street for the South Shore that the condo overlooks. With the windows shut, it turns into background noise.
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 1 November 2023
Hi Beth, thank you for your review and for choosing our property in beautiful South Lake Tahoe. We're delighted to hear that you loved the central location and enjoyed the amenities including the sandy beach, pier, and pool. We understand your concern regarding the layout and the traffic noise from the main street. We do disclose this on the listing in hopes people see it and can plan ahead for the noise. We appreciate your feedback and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future. Grand Welcome South Lake Tahoe.
Drove 5 hours to for a little family get away. Upon arrival, the condo was exactly what we saw online, the interior was clean and presentable. The manager was happy to answer any questions we had via text. No problem with texts myself. We all enjoyed the amenities and the location was ideal for both a walk along the lake, and very close but not close enough to the strip which is a plus in my books. I have no complaints at all that hindered my experience. Only whine i have is the description of where to put the garbage wasn't exactly where it was described but once it was found, i had no problems. I honestly recommend this host and the location. No negatives. Thank you.
Hot water isn’t working, we called to tell them to come to fixing, they said: they came to fix and should be working . We were waiting until the next day still didn’t work, Lake Tahoe have so many resorts in the town if anyone wants to rent resorts, don’t go this resort, it’s bad service
Stayed 2 nights in Nov 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 2 January 2024
Hi Chantha - Thank you for this review although it does not mention that we did visit the home during your stay - we found a leak in the water heater. Our maintenance team was able to buy a replacement water heater in town and install it the same day so you had hot water for the rest of your stay. The previous guests did have hot water so we think this leak was a random event. Apologies you were the ones who were here during this issue but I am happy to report the home now has a brand new water heater. Thank you and happy holidays :)
Lovely home, a few inconveniences, but we made the best of it.
Upon arrival, it was easy entry into the property, all rooms were clean and fully furnished (very comfy). We turned the heat up on the thermostat and the living room and upper corridor warmed up fairly quickly. However, when we went down to the rooms to sleep it was quite chilly throughout our stay luckily, we had blanket and warm clothes.
Also, we noticed since we arrived there was no hot water, we read and followed the instructions how to start up the water heater but failed to get it started (so no warm/hot showers after our long day of travel). The next morning, I texted management services(7:00a.m.) about the issue and they responded maybe an hour later saying they would send someone ever ASAP. Maintenance arrived around 1pm and failed to start the water heater, then informed us they would need to install another one. About an hour later maintenance arrived with another water heater and backup and began to uninstall old water heater and in with the new. The whole process took about 1 1/2 hours, and we had hot water by 5pm.(yay!) the workers we very fast and professional when they arrived. Despite the minor inconveniences (only reason for 3 stars not 5), we were able to make the best of the trip and property and overall had great time with family.
Stayed 2 nights in Nov 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 2 January 2024
Hi Frank, thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay at our property. We're glad to hear that you found the entry and rooms to be clean and comfortable. We apologize for the inconvenience caused by the chilly rooms and the lack of hot water. We appreciate your patience while our maintenance team worked to resolve these issues. Please be assured that we will take your concerns seriously and address them accordingly. We're glad that despite these minor inconveniences, you were still able to enjoy your time with your family. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future. Thank you for choosing Grand Welcome South Lake Tahoe.
Things I had to bring/buy or advice on what to bring (we spent more energy than expected making store runs than by the lake):
Swim towels
Pepper
Paper towels (given 1.5 rolls for 3 nights, 6 guests)
Toilet paper (given 4 rolls)
Ice
Drinking water
Swim Floaties
Air pump
Board games
Cooking pan from home
We enjoyed our stay here. It’s furthest from the pool/beach but still a short walk, and closest to the street and walkway to restaurants stores. You do hear the traffic but not a big deal. We still hung out on the deck but found the dirt cloud from the driveway more irritating than the sounds from cars.
We found that the cleaning missed some areas. We also found a previous guests acrylic nails that broken off and blended into the bathroom counter top.
4pm check in, 10am check out is a bit annoying.
The kitchen was stocked ok but the pans provided were not meant for cooking eggs.
The pool was small and facilities/chairs older, but you’re right there on a private beach and lake!
Construction in parking lot forced us to move our car, not sure why it took for them to use an actual cop to knock on doors (who did not smile at all lol).
Overall, it may not have met standards set by other properties…but it is exactly as described. Hoping owners read the review and include just a bit more amenities and necessities to show their guests their appreciation and desire to have a comfortable stay.
Great location with great amenities. Right on the private beach. We used the two pools, hot tubs, sauna and fitness room. Was a great price for 2 bedrooms and a loft. Fit our family of 5 great and could sleep 8 people if you put two in each of the full beds. The we slept in was really comfy. I know that opinions can vary mattress comfort but my wife and I thought it was great. It was clean as well. Only thing that could make it better was that the condo was a little tired. It could use a fresh coat of paint and could use some updating. So if you need to have a freshly updated place, maybe this one isn’t for you. It was clean so for us it didn’t matter much and you couldn’t beat the price for what we got as a whole. We enjoyed our stay so much that we actually extended a day and they gave us a great deal for the extra day.