Custer is home to this villa. Travellers eager for a bit of culture can stop by Mount Rushmore National Memorial, while those wishing to experience the area's natural beauty can explore Black Hills National Forest and Custer State Park. Needles Highway and South Dakota State Railroad Museum are also worth visiting.
Rapid City, SD (RAP-Rapid City Regional) - 60 min drive
Restaurants
Miner's Cup - 18 min walk
Purple Pie Place - 2 min walk
Dairy Queen - 6 min walk
Baker's Bakery & Cafe - 9 min walk
Buglin' Bull Restaurant and Sports Bar - 8 min walk
Frequently asked questions
Is The Paddle House | Hot Tub + Fire Pit Stay pet-friendly?
No, only service animals are welcome at the property.
How much does it cost to stay at The Paddle House | Hot Tub + Fire Pit Stay?
As of 29 October 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at The Paddle House | Hot Tub + Fire Pit Stay on 26 February 2027 start from NZ$1,157, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
How much is parking at The Paddle House | Hot Tub + Fire Pit Stay?
On-site parking is available at the property.
What time is check-in at The Paddle House | Hot Tub + Fire Pit Stay?
Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.
What time is check-out at The Paddle House | Hot Tub + Fire Pit Stay?
Checkout is at 10:00 AM.
Where is The Paddle House | Hot Tub + Fire Pit Stay located?
Situated in Custer, this villa is within a 10-minute walk of Grand Magic Show, Way Park and 1881 Courthouse Museum. Big Rock Park and Harbach Centennial Park are also within 15 minutes.
Reviews
9.0
Wonderful
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
We’re so happy you enjoyed your stay and the central location! Being right in the heart of town makes it easy to explore Custer, and we’re glad that added to your experience. We’d love to host you again on your next visit to the Black Hills, Joe!
Lovely location! We loved our stay, and enjoyed being close to everything in Custer.
Stayed 4 nights in Aug 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 29 June 2026
We’re so happy you loved your stay! It’s wonderful to hear the location made it easy to enjoy everything Custer has to offer. We truly appreciate you choosing to stay with us and hope to welcome you back on your next trip to the Black Hills, Chelsey!
Cozy, loved the hot tub, saw a baby fawn in the yard.
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 29 June 2026
We’re so pleased you had a cozy stay, Dawn! It’s great to hear you enjoyed relaxing in the hot tub, and spotting a baby fawn in the yard is such a special Black Hills experience. We’d love to welcome you back!
House was as advertised. Great space for our group of four and close to plenty of great activities in the hills. Host communicated quickly and clearly. Would recommend!
Stayed 5 nights in Dec 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 29 June 2026
We’re so pleased the home was just as advertised and that it was a great fit for your group of four. It’s wonderful to hear you enjoyed the convenient location for exploring the Black Hills and that our communication made your stay smooth and easy. We truly appreciate your recommendation and would love to welcome you back for another visit, Megan!
This place was very comfortable. It was very close to restaurants and shopping. There were lawn games in the back yard and the hot tub was a plus! A quiet relaxing place to stay!
We stayed here with our 3 kids (3, 5, and 9) and felt very much at home. The hot tub was a hit and we looked forward to it every night. The house has everything you could need and felt very clean! Having your own garage to park is also a plus! We cooked every night which made it easy and relaxing for the kids to play in the backyard, upstairs or the main living area. I definitely recommend this place for a relaxing stay as you explore the surrounding areas!
Stayed 3 nights in Mar 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 14 April 2025
Thank you for the great review, Emily! We’re so glad your family felt at home and enjoyed the hot tub, backyard, and all the space to relax. It’s great to hear the house had everything you needed. We’d love to host you again anytime!
Our group of four stayed at The Paddle House in Custer for four nights in July 2025 to ride the full 109-mile Mickelson Trail. The cabin was pristine, with a generous kitchen and a deck featuring a hot tub, ideal for relaxing after our rides. The garage was perfect for storing our bikes securely. The host was quick to respond and very accommodating. The only issue was a broken dryer, which we hope is fixed for future guests. Highly recommended for trail riders!
Stayed 4 nights in Jun 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 29 June 2026
We’re delighted you and your group enjoyed your stay at The Paddle House, Terry! It’s wonderful to hear the home was a great base for your Mickelson Trail adventure and that you were able to relax in the hot tub after long days of riding. We’re also glad the garage worked well for securely storing your bikes and that our team was responsive throughout your stay.
We appreciate you mentioning the dryer. That issue has since been resolved, and it’s ready for future guests. Thank you for your recommendation, and we’d love to welcome you back for another Black Hills biking adventure!
Family of 5 stayed for 4 nights. My only reason for not giving 5 stars is that the floor heater in the dining room space was not working so it was pretty cold in the mornings. Host did offer to check on it, but with our stay being that short, we chose to just tough it out. I am sure that was addressed after we checked out. We loved the backyard and hot tub! We would definitely book again.
Stayed 4 nights in Apr 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 29 June 2026
We’re so pleased your family enjoyed your spring break stay, Sadra! It’s great to hear the backyard and hot tub were favorites during your visit.
We’re sorry the dining room heater made the mornings chilly, and we appreciate your understanding. That has since been addressed. We’d be happy to welcome your family back anytime!
There were some definite positives and a few negatives from our stay. During our stay, there was a leak from the upstairs tub that came through the ceiling below. The host responded quickly and addressed the issue. As a result, the upstairs shower was not usable for about 12 hours, and the washing machine was unavailable for the duration of our stay. The host compensated us due to these issues.The home is built on a slope, and the floors are noticeably slanted throughout the house. The upstairs sliding door did not lock, the host did give us the option to have someone come in and fix, but we declined. The king bedroom had a closet but did not have a hanging bar, and there were no dressers in the bedrooms. Because of this, there was no way to unpack clothes during a multi-day stay. There were also no dish towels or dish rags provided. While there was a dishwasher, it would have been nice if we would have known this prior. The hot tub was available and a nice amenity, but we weren't there much so we only used it once. For the future, we don't think we'd want one. Overall, communication with the host was prompt, and they addressed concerns when notified. I would stay here again if the maintenance issues get addressed prior to the stay.
Stayed 3 nights in Feb 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 29 June 2026
Thank you for sharing such detailed and fair feedback, Sarah. We’re sorry the leak and laundry issue disrupted your stay, though we’re glad our team was able to respond quickly and provide compensation.
Since your visit, all of the maintenance items you mentioned have been addressed, including the sliding door, laundry access, storage concerns, and kitchen linens. We also appreciate your honest notes about the layout and sloped floors.
We’re grateful you recognized the prompt communication, and we’d be happy to host you again with those issues resolved.
Avoid. Great location but needs a deep cleaning and remodel. The downstairs toilet leaked, the stove did not have a range cover ( which is not up to code), the smoke detector went off anytime you cooked something, the upstairs shower did not have a drain stopper and you could see the plumbing, you could not take a bath. The sink upstairs leaked, and the hot and cold were opposite. The whole house sloped. The washing machine needed cleaning and the dryer did not work. All the floors were sticky. The shower leaked. Several stuck areas needed repaired. The garage was filty. The key lock on the front door doesn't work. The garbage disposal didn't have a rubber cover so it spit food out. We were disappointed. The whole plane smelled like cat pee especially the couches and carpet. I contacted the management company and they said they would send someone out. They sent out a person that spoke little English. He fixed the sink drain but didn't understand the rest. It was uncomfortable. Overall there are many other choices in Custer.