Located in Chewelah, this holiday home is in a rural area and in the mountains. 49 Degrees North Mountain Resort and 49N Chair 1 Midway are worth checking out if an activity is on the agenda, while those wishing to experience the area's natural beauty can explore City Park in Chewelah and Valley Station Square Park. Take in the nearby slopes with cross-country skiing and snowboarding, or try out other outdoor activities such as ice skating and snowmobiling.
49 Degrees North Mountain Resort - 24 min drive - 22.7 km
Deer Lake - 27 min drive - 31.1 km
Franklin D Roosevelt Lake - 39 min drive - 51.2 km
Getting around
Spokane, WA (SFF-Felts Field) - 66 min drive
Restaurants
Rozy's Expresso - 10 min walk
Sportys - 15 min walk
Gordon Cantina - 13 min walk
dad's espresso - 2 min drive
Yale Press - 17 min walk
Frequently asked questions
Is Chewelah - Home 49N Skiing 🎿 Fishing 🎣 Hunting 🦌🦆Hiking 🥾 Snowboarding 🏂 pet-friendly?
No, pets are not allowed at this property.
How much does it cost to stay at Chewelah - Home 49N Skiing 🎿 Fishing 🎣 Hunting 🦌🦆Hiking 🥾 Snowboarding 🏂 ?
As of 1 November 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Chewelah - Home 49N Skiing 🎿 Fishing 🎣 Hunting 🦌🦆Hiking 🥾 Snowboarding 🏂 on 13 November 2026 start from NZ$1,124, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
How much is parking at Chewelah - Home 49N Skiing 🎿 Fishing 🎣 Hunting 🦌🦆Hiking 🥾 Snowboarding 🏂 ?
On-site parking is available at the property.
What time is check-in at Chewelah - Home 49N Skiing 🎿 Fishing 🎣 Hunting 🦌🦆Hiking 🥾 Snowboarding 🏂 ?
Check-in begins at 3:00 PM.
What time is check-out at Chewelah - Home 49N Skiing 🎿 Fishing 🎣 Hunting 🦌🦆Hiking 🥾 Snowboarding 🏂 ?
Checkout is at 10:30 AM.
Where is Chewelah - Home 49N Skiing 🎿 Fishing 🎣 Hunting 🦌🦆Hiking 🥾 Snowboarding 🏂 located?
Located in the mountains, this ski-in/ski-out holiday home in Chewelah is within 1 mile (2 km) of City Park in Chewelah and Providence St. Joseph's Hospital, and is convenient for winter sports, such as cross-country skiing and sledging. Mistequa Casino Hotel and Valley Station Square Park are also within 9 miles (15 km).
Reviews
9.4
Exceptional
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
The home was wonderful. It was ideally located for our needs. The home is very well kept it had all the amenities you would need. I can’t wait for another reason to go back to Chewelah to stay there again. We had a fantastic time…By the way we stayed there from 9/29/26 and departed on 10/15/26. there was not one thing that we may have needed that they didn’t have available for us… Thank -You
Stayed 16 nights in Sep 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 24 October 2026
We’re so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to share your Feedback - we truly appreciate it and hope to have you stay with us again. We appreciate your business!
Nice spacious place to stay and relax after a day of skiing! Listing was accurate and accommodations were as we expected. Lynda our host was very responsive to our questions.
This is my fourth stay here and the only place I book now when planning a trip to Chewelah!
Stayed 4 nights in Feb 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 1 August 2023
Thank you Gary and we look forward to more of your stays with us!
Archival
10/10 Excellent
8 January 2014
Great Vacation Rental!
The rental home is well located in Chewelah and is new construction with high end finishes. The location is just off of the main road through Chewelah, but was very quiet. Overall it was a great property and I will definitely be staying here again when I am in the area!
Response from VrboOwner on 6 March 2020
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay Chris and we look forward to having you again as our guest!
The check in process was easy, and hosts were extremely responsive and accommodating. Everything was extremely clean. The kitchen was well stocked, and the living room & beds were super comfy and cozy. It was a great home base for our first visit to the area and we’re already looking forward to returning!
Stayed 2 nights in Dec 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 8 January 2024
We are happy you enjoyed our cozy VRBO and look forward to you staying with us again!
Great property! Very clean and spacious. Well stocked kitchen. Huge garage made dealing with our ski gear easy Close to ski mountain. Perfect destination for our family. Thank you
Stayed 3 nights in Feb 2024
Verified review
2/10 Terrible
Taunia D.
27 August 2025
Liked: Cleanliness, listing accuracy
Disliked: Communication
No hot water in main bathroom. They ac last 3 days. Wouldn't fix hot water until we left. Bbq didnt work. Oven didnt work.
Stayed 26 nights in Jul 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 3 September 2025
Taunia was not the guest, she rented it for her elderly parents whose home had burned down. We were not aware of this until they arrived to check in and our sympathies go out to them. The Hot water works, so does HVAC and BBQ Grill. The Mom struggled with the shower handle to turn it on, so my husband showed her husband how to turn on and had no further issue, it is on demand water so it works fine. We had the HVAC Annual Maintenance done during the guests stay, no repairs were needed. The oven is gas, so pilot light is lit and then have to wait for temperature to heat up, as usual. We have had 2 different pairs of guests stay directly after these with no complaints of cold water, A/C issues or cooking issues.
Location is always clean and a perfect place for a family gathering. My only request would be that propane is checked/filled for arriving guests. I have arrived to an empty or near empty tank the last three stays. It is minor, but still can be not easy in a small town with limited places and hours.
Stayed 4 nights in Sep 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 15 September 2023
Hi Gary!
We did check the propane tank and when we took it in to get filled based on your information we could not fill it because it was 3/4 full! But we are happy you had another great visit with us!
Archival
8/10 Good
charlie t.
3 February 2016
Nice family setup
Pros:
Location- easy to find and close to town/49 ski mtn.
Secure- Large garage was wonderful after a day skiing
Clean! Updated! Spacious!
Laundry is a bonus after skiing.
Cons:
HVAC was loud in one corner
Never could get TV to operate (not a big deal to us)
Our family of 5 enjoyed the spacious one level home. Very clean, laundry and 2 bathrooms were appreciated. Highly recommend!!
Response from VrboOwner on 6 March 2020
We are happy you enjoyed your ski trip and stay at the Chewelah Getaway!
If you ever have trouble operating the remotes in the future, please don't hesitate to give me a call. I am happy to assist you in any way in my new home!
Verified review
6/10 Okay
Debra K.
6 July 2023
Liked: Check-in, location, listing accuracy
Beautiful place but
The condo was absolutely beautiful with many amenities. Unfortunately, the two amenities that were missing was heat. The furnace did not turn on and no Internet, TV did not work
Stayed 5 nights in Jun 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 7 July 2023
When cleaning the unit, we found the Thetmostat set to Heat, but temperature was set at 63 degrees, so obviously heat won’t come on. As far as Internet goes, I called Spectrum and the system showed Internet was on at the house and no internet outages in the area. I also was advised to let guest know that their phones could be on setting that prevents outside internet source. I did notify guest but of this, but never responded back. But happy you enjoyed your trip otherwise.
- Chewelah Getaway A.S.V.R.
Verified review
8/10 Good
Melissa W.
26 March 2023
Liked: Cleanliness, location
Disliked: Check-in, listing accuracy
Wi-Fi password
The Wi-Fi password sent by VRBO was close, but incorrect. The house manager took no responsibility for it and I wasted an hour with them to figure which letters should be capitalized. And that it was not the weather.
Stayed 3 nights in Mar 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 5 August 2023
I have tried to correct this with VRBO in the past and thought we did have it straightened out. The guest did contact me the next day and I was able to assist her in getting the code correct and enabling her access to the internet promptly. She did enter the spelling incorrectl, which delayed her accessing internet use and seemed upset by that.
Verified review
6/10 Okay
Ashley L.
1 August 2021
Liked: Cleanliness
Disliked: Listing accuracy
Not what we expected
The house said it was 2500sqft, it was not even close. It is advertised as a house but it is actually part of a duplex. Owner said there was an air mattress to use and of course the air mattress had a hole in it. The house said it sleeps 6 but really it only sleeps 4.
Stayed 5 nights in Jul 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 5 August 2021
I built this house myself, so as the owner I do know how large it is. It is not a duplex, but a house with a 2500 square-foot living space downstairs and the upstairs is my owners apartment. I divided the large garage when I decided to use it as a VRBO. My wife spoke with Ashley prior to her visit that the previous guest popped a hole in the air mattress. However, it was relayed to this guest that we went out and purchased a new air mattress. I I think I’m done buying air mattresses, I’ve replaced four in the last year. Every once in a while you just get someone like this, enough said.
Verified review
6/10 Okay
Jo M.
27 July 2022
Liked: Communication
Disliked: Cleanliness, listing accuracy
Easily found, beautiful wood inside, needs more attention to details
2 story home with 1st floor being the rental and upstairs the owners living area. I missed that in the overview when I rented. The garage was nice for our vehicle. There is a creek, but access was restricted with 4-5 ft tall weeds and grass. The exterior windows were dusty and spotty. There was a log tangle of hair pulled from the shower drain our first day. The jetted tub had grunchy brown discharge when filled and ran with bleach. Owners apparently cleaned it, but 2nd attempt resulted in similar results. Last, the BBQ grill had not been cleaned. Owners said because the cover was on it was mistakenly thought cleaned. Not a bad location, just on the corner of a main road heading out of town and next to a Uhaul rental busines.
Stayed 10 nights in Jul 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 5 August 2023
As the Owner of the property, I do like to check on my rental and do maintenance on it. My wife and I stay on our private 2nd floor when we are in town. I wouldn’t know why that would be pertinent to put in a review, however, it came in handy that I was in town when I walked downstairs to respond in person, as they were unaware I was here, when the Mrs. made allegations and wanted a full refund after one night, but then decided to stay after I did not find any genuine merit with her allegations!!! There was NO hair presented at ALL for me to see. The BBQ grill grate had minor spots from the previous renter use that could easily be cleaned with one swipe with a wire brush in 20 seconds, and the bath water that was fine. I also have my suspicions on the whole situation especially when the house key was NOT returned at the end of their visit. I will now be re-keying the lock on my rental. I think all VRBO’ers would be prudent to be cautious of these type of guests. Glad I was around. I think the Mrs. Was looking for a free-bee.
I typically just stay at the Nordlig motel when visiting my brother and his family in Chewelah, but with my fiance joining me for part of the trip, I wanted to have a nice place and have room to allow them to come visit us. What can I say...the home is perfect for 2-4 people, I would put six at a stretch but doable. The home is beautifully updated inside, the outside is deceiving...I am guessing that is why there are no photos. It does not look old, rough or bad by any means, but has the appearance of a shop or something other than this home from the road.
Do not be put off by the location being right off 395, I heard zero traffic except when out on the deck and even then it was not bad as that part of the hwy is a 25 mph zone. The master suite is generous in size, with large walk in closet, complete with extra hangers. The master bath, well it looks big but I never used it as I turned that one over to my fiance and I just used the main/second one lol.
With the home being perfect and everything the owners list it to be, what I like most is the response time and friendliness of the owners. They provided clear instructions for arrival/departure and were very friendly; professional but not "business like"...felt like I was communicating with a friend or relative.
The home is well equipped with plenty of linens and everything you need in the kitchen etc. pretty much just needed food and personal items.
I like to walk down to Sporty's to watch some sports and have a few drinks/beers so walking there is a plus. This is a little bit longer from Main street than most people probably want to walk. I am a 44 year old man in good shape so I enjoyed the walk and found it pleasant to walk into town...I would guess it to be about a mile to main street with Safeway and some other things being much closer...probably half that at most.
The golf course is right up the road and they have tennis courts and a great restaurant, you have to drive there...but it is a nice drive up the hillside. Probably 5 -7 mins.
Notes for owner:
1) I could not get the back outside door to unlock with a key, had to use front or garage.
2) Having a remote for the garage door would be nice. Not awful to not have it, but would have even made it better.
3) When checking out the house before leaving, I noticed the wall and a small portion of the floor were damp near what appears to be a water filter system in the furnace/storage room. You may want to have that checked out.
Response from VrboOwner on 6 March 2020
Thank you for the notations, we will check them all out! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit.
This is my second time staying at this property and I definitely plan to return. The home is nicely furnished, has plenty of what you could need and just works out great for this small community.
We enjoyed our stay immensely. The house has great access to Chewelah and the 49 Degrees North Ski Resort. Check-in was exactly as described and the place had everything we needed to enjoy our three-night stay. Cable/internet worked very well and the kitchen had everything we needed. Highly recommend, would stay again!
Stayed 3 nights in Feb 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 1 August 2023
We are so happy you enjoyed staying and 49 North Skiing!