Entire home

Hickory Hideaways/Nelson Lake/Pontoon Rental/Dog Friendly/Sauna

Photo gallery for Hickory Hideaways/Nelson Lake/Pontoon Rental/Dog Friendly/Sauna

A lakeside campsite with a fire pit, chairs, and a dock with a boat.
A living room with a fireplace, a ceiling fan, and a large window overlooking a deck.
A cozy cabin-style bedroom with a large bed, a smaller bed, and a nightstand with a lamp. There is a window with a view of trees and a sign about North American fish.
A modern kitchen with wooden cabinets, a stainless steel refrigerator, a central island with bar stools, and pendant lighting.
A snowy forest scene with a wooden fence in the foreground.

Reviews

9.2 out of 10
Wonderful

Highlights

  • Arcade/game room
    A rare find - fun for all ages with on-site arcade/game room.
  • Discover nearby landmarks
    Near Nelson Lake

Popular amenities

  • Balcony
  • Dog-friendly
  • Arcade/game room
  • Barbecue
  • Air-conditioning
  • Refrigerator

Explore the area

View map
Hayward, WI
  • Place, Nelson Lake
    ‪1 min walk‬
  • Place, Hayward Lake
    ‪14 min drive‬
  • Place, Round Lake
    ‪23 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

3 bedrooms (sleeps 12)

Bunk Bed Room

2 Single Beds and 2 Double Beds

Living Room 1

1 Queen Sofa Bed

Living Room 2

1 Double Sofa Bed

Lower Bedroom

1 Queen Bed and 1 Double Bed

Master

1 King Bed

2 bathrooms

Downstairs Bathroom

Soap · Towels provided · Toilet · Shower only · Shampoo

Upstairs Bathroom

Soap · Towels provided · Bathtub or shower · Toilet · Shampoo · Hair dryer

Spaces

Deck or patio
Porch or lanai
Kitchen
Balcony
Number of living rooms
Outdoor play area
Garden

Add dates for prices

Have a question?

AI iconBeta

Get instant answers with AI powered search of property information and reviews.

Similar properties

About the area

Hayward

Hayward is home to this holiday home. Hayward Golf Club and HookStone Winery are worth checking out if an activity is on the agenda, while those wishing to experience the area's natural beauty can explore Totagatic Wildlife Area and Nelson Lake. Travelling with kids? Consider National Fresh Water Fishing Hall of Fame and Museum and Wilderness Walk Zoo and Recreation Park.
Map
Hayward, WI

What's nearby

  • Nelson Lake - 1 min walk - 0.1 km
  • Hayward Lake - 14 min drive - 14.0 km
  • Round Lake - 23 min drive - 29.1 km
  • Grindstone Lake - 24 min drive - 28.1 km
  • American Birkebeiner Trail - 25 min drive - 24.1 km

Restaurants

  • ‪Louie's Bar And Bites - ‬14 min drive
  • ‪Coop's Pizza - ‬15 min drive
  • ‪Angler's Bar & Grill - ‬15 min drive
  • ‪Wild River Bar - ‬17 min drive
  • ‪Dairy Queen - ‬14 min drive

Frequently asked questions

Is Hickory Hideaways/Nelson Lake/Pontoon Rental/Dog Friendly/Sauna pet-friendly?

Yes, this property allows dogs (limit 1 total).

How much does it cost to stay at Hickory Hideaways/Nelson Lake/Pontoon Rental/Dog Friendly/Sauna?

As of 28 October 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Hickory Hideaways/Nelson Lake/Pontoon Rental/Dog Friendly/Sauna on 10 January 2027 start from NZ$3,066, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.

How much is parking at Hickory Hideaways/Nelson Lake/Pontoon Rental/Dog Friendly/Sauna?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at Hickory Hideaways/Nelson Lake/Pontoon Rental/Dog Friendly/Sauna?

Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.

What time is check-out at Hickory Hideaways/Nelson Lake/Pontoon Rental/Dog Friendly/Sauna?

Checkout is at 10:00 AM.

Where is Hickory Hideaways/Nelson Lake/Pontoon Rental/Dog Friendly/Sauna located?

Located in Hayward, this family-friendly holiday home is steps from Nelson Lake and within 6 mi (10 km) of Smith Lake and Eytcheson Park. Totagatic Wildlife Area and Little Round Lake are also within 6 miles (10 km).

Reviews

9.2

Wonderful

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 6 out of 7 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 0 out of 7 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 0 out of 7 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 1 out of 7 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 0 out of 7 reviews

9.6/10

Cleanliness

10/10

Check-in

9.6/10

Communication

9.8/10

Location

9.2/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
We had a great time at this lake house. Jenny was responsive. The rooms were comfortable, plenty of towels and well stock kitchen warehouse. Beautiful scenery. Location was easy for a stay in Hayward.
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2026
Verified review

4/10 Poor

Liked: Check-in, location
Disliked: Listing accuracy
We have rented plenty of cabins before for various reasons as a group and usually are pleasantly surprised with the accommodations. This one left us not feeling so pleasantly surprised. There were various cosmetic things right off the bat that we were disappointed with. Lots of loose and lifted deck boards that were tripped on all weekend, a used and unflushed toilet upon arrival in the cabin, mold, spiders and debris covering the pontoon, bird poop on all the outdoor seating and mice poop on most surfaces in the garage. Beyond those cosmetic things, there were functional things that also were disappointing. No gas grill, like what was pictured in the listing and lights and all mechanics on the pontoon that we paid 200 a day for didn't work at all. None of this was mentioned ahead of time in the rental agreement for the boat. We wanted to be out on the lake at night watching fireworks, seeing as we rented over the 4th, and couldn't do that. Nor did we get an explanation or even a response from the owner when we reached out about it. There was also no cover on the gas can to even try to put gas back in the boat at the end of the stay. This was a requirement per the rental agreement, which we were happy to do, but a gas can with no cover and water in it from rain was obviously not something we could use.There were some positives, though. We were able to check in a little earlier than what was listed for the rental and the games available in the garage was a plus. It was a pla
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 21 July 2026
Thank you for your feedback. This was our first review that was not five stars, and it was also the first time our cleaning team has ever assessed an additional cleaning charge due to the condition in which the property was left. We appreciate constructive feedback and have already addressed the loose deck boards that were mentioned. We also thoroughly tested the pontoon lighting after your stay and confirmed that it was operating properly. During your stay, we made every effort to respond promptly to your questions and concerns. However, after late-night messages regarding non-emergency matters became increasingly hostile, we concluded that further communication would not be productive. We remain committed to providing every guest with a clean, well-maintained property and responsive service, as reflected in our long history of five-star reviews.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Great place to stay. Plenty of room for a group of friends to stay and a lot of activities to keep us all entertained for the whole weekend. The host was very responsive when we had questions. We had a great time on the lake the day we took the pontoon out. We would definitely stay again.
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Wonderful for a relaxing vacation on the lake!
Stayed 4 nights in Aug 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Out of the way spot with a central location! Had a great time!
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Everything was just right!
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, listing accuracy
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2026
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback