Cozy Retreat | 18 MI to YNP | Lake Views

Photo gallery for Cozy Retreat | 18 MI to YNP | Lake Views

Two wooden cabins with a gravel driveway leading to a red car parked in front.
A bedroom with a wooden ceiling, a bed with white bedding, and a large mirror.
A kitchen with wooden cabinets, a granite countertop, and pendant lighting.
A cozy room with a fireplace, a sofa with patterned cushions, and a flat-screen TV mounted on the wall.
A rustic kitchen with wooden walls, a dining table, and a television.

Reviews

8.2 out of 10
Very good

Highlights

  • Discover nearby landmarks
    Walk to Henrys Lake

Popular amenities

  • Barbecue
  • Air-conditioning
  • Refrigerator
  • Internet
  • Washing machine
  • Onsite parking available

Explore the area

View map
Island Park, ID
  • Place, Henrys Lake
    ‪9 min walk‬
  • Place, Hebgen Lake
    ‪21 min drive‬
  • Place, Yellowstone Park West Entrance
    ‪23 min drive‬
  • Airport, West Yellowstone, MT (WYS-Yellowstone)
    ‪31 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

1 bedroom (sleeps 2)

Bedroom 1

1 Queen Bed

1 bathroom

Bathroom 1

Toilet · Shower only

Spaces

Kitchen
Office
Dining area

Add dates for prices

Have a question?

AI iconBeta

Get instant answers with AI powered search of property information and reviews.

Similar properties

About the area

Island Park

Located in Island Park, this cabin is on the waterfront. Mack's Inn Playhouse and Westgate Theatre are cultural highlights, and some of the area's attractions include Yellowstone Big Gun Fun and Grizzly and Wolf Discovery Center. Explore all the area has to offer with mountain climbing and horse riding.
Map
Island Park, ID

What's nearby

  • Henrys Lake - 9 min walk - 0.8 km
  • Hebgen Lake - 21 min drive - 28.4 km
  • West Yellowstone Visitor Information Center - 22 min drive - 34.4 km
  • Grizzly and Wolf Discovery Center - 22 min drive - 34.7 km
  • Yellowstone Park West Entrance - 23 min drive - 35.4 km

Getting around

  • West Yellowstone, MT (WYS-Yellowstone) - 24 min drive

Restaurants

  • ‪Bill's Meadow Creek Lodge - ‬6 min drive

Frequently asked questions

Is Cozy Retreat | 18 MI to YNP | Lake Views pet-friendly?

No, pets are not allowed at this property.

How much is parking at Cozy Retreat | 18 MI to YNP | Lake Views?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at Cozy Retreat | 18 MI to YNP | Lake Views?

Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.

What time is check-out at Cozy Retreat | 18 MI to YNP | Lake Views?

Checkout is at 10:00 AM.

Where is Cozy Retreat | 18 MI to YNP | Lake Views located?

Situated on the waterfront, this cabin is within a 15-minute walk of Henrys Lake and Caribou-Targhee National Forest. Gallatin National Forest and Henrys Lake State Park are also within 6 miles (10 km).

Reviews

8.2

Very good

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 12 out of 22 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 3 out of 22 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 4 out of 22 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 2 out of 22 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 1 out of 22 reviews

8.4/10

Cleanliness

9.2/10

Check-in

9.0/10

Communication

8.8/10

Location

8.4/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Great property very close to Yellowstone! We had a lovely stay!
Stayed 3 nights in Sep 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Overall a very good place to stay, would come back!
Stayed 4 nights in Jun 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
My husband & I stayed here 7 nights and had the best experience! Very clean, the kitchen and bathroom have everything you need, it is located in one of the most beautiful areas! I loved the short walk to the lake in the am with my coffee! Very good location if you’re traveling into Yellowstone and want a peaceful stay in nature! It is a cozy cabin! One note is if you are tall you may not like how low parts of the ceiling are. My husband is 5’6 and I would say that is the limit. Other than that I highly recommend staying here! Thank you Cool Hand Luke’s for an amazing adventure!!! Julie and Dave from California
Stayed 7 nights in May 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Amazing!

Great place to stay and access to Yellowstone
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2024
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Cool Hand Luke

My husband and I enjoyed our stay, great area to get into the West Entrance of Yellowstone.
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2024
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, listing accuracy
Stayed here for three nights four days. Love the easy self check-in. Finding the location was pretty easy too. The convenience of being not too far from West Yellowstone is a huge plus for me.The view from the backyard is beautiful when you walk up to the lake, just to see it. The cabin is nice and cozy, has a full kitchen, which I loved. The bed was very comfortable to sleep in as well as a bedding. I went during spring however we were experiencing winter temperatures, I am from Miami so anything below 60° is cold lol. The bedding kept us nice and warm. There’s easy instructions for checkout on what you need to do prior to leaving the property. Also, very convenient to communicate with the staff via the Expedia app. The family in the main cabin had left some garbage outside, I addressed it with the staff via the Expedia app, and the trash left outside was addressed immediately. I love the convenience of being able to message on the app and communicate. I highly recommend this place. I will say the shower feels a little small, but you definitely have a lot of room. My favorite part was how quiet it is and you’re able to sleep with no disturbances, I am a light sleeper so this is very important to me.
Stayed 3 nights in May 2026
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Disliked: Cleanliness

Cool Hand Luke

We enjoyed our stay. Only objection is that someone opened the garage door before 8AM on two different occasions and the garage is directly below the bedroom.
Stayed 5 nights in Aug 2023
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Needed a good dusting, cobwebs in corners of door frames. Stairway is terrible dark in daytime just dangerous at night. Listing said we would have use of garage and there were trailers parked in it. People opening the garage late in the evening, not the garbage people!!
Stayed 5 nights in Sep 2025
Verified review

4/10 Poor

Cool Hand Lukes June '18

Nice property but quite cramped especially for tall people..Extremely compact. A lot of "must do" notes around the place. First time I've ever had to put on linen washing & take away garbage before I left. If it's remote you're looking for its ideal..All in all, it was very much overpriced.
Stayed 4 nights in Jun 2018
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Check-in, location
Disliked: Communication, listing accuracy

Serviceable

Bed was wobly and a little hard but fixed that by buying more pillows. WiFi is super slow when it works but there’s cell service. Renters of the main house (not this listing) can open the garage below at any time, which we didn’t know when it opened while we were there the first night. Location is pretty great though.
Stayed 4 nights in Sep 2023
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication

Mixed review

The place had a nicely equipped kitchen and a nice bedroom. It lacked a good sitting area to watch TV and relax. The TV was not working our entire stay. The manager never got it working. It would have been nice to have an outdoor sitting area and fire pit. The interior was very dark. A better choice would have been lighter woodwork to
Stayed 4 nights in Sep 2024
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Awesome experience!!

Everything here was top notch! We were very impressed with the decor and also all of the amenities supplied! The kitchen was stocked with cookware, utensils and cleaning supplies! The bed linens smelled clean and fresh! Bathroom was supplied with multiple towels for each of us and our choice of soaps and shampoos. We had access to a washer and dryer and detergents were supplied as well. We had internet password supplied for our Wifi service! This is located on a residential street which worked well for us to get our daily runs in while on vacation. Well manicured lawn which gives a great first impression! We would definitely recommend this Vrbo and would love to stay again sometime while visiting Yellowstone National Park.
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 4 August 2023
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review. We really appreciate you staying with us and we're thrilled you enjoyed the property. We would love to host your stay again!
Verified review

2/10 Terrible

Disliked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

DO NOT STAY HERE

I wish I could give this zero stars. We had originally booked this property to stay at on our honeymoon but that didn’t happen. We walked in and started looking around and fount cobwebs everywhere, the ceiling fan in the bedroom had a good half inch of dust on it and the floors were disgusting and not been cleaned in a long time. There were even mouse droppings in one of the window sills. The property management company and vrbo were not helpful in the least bit either. Avoid this place and the property management company at all costs. We ended up leaving the property and staying somewhere else because we were having trouble breathing within 15 minute of being inside the property.
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 2 August 2023
Thank you for the feedback. Please don't forget that you called the morning before your arrival date to cancel your stay because this wasn't the unit that you supposedly booked on this website. Since we were unable to book this property for you this wasn't a mistake of ours. We informed you that our cancellation policy would still apply and this was dissatisfactory for you. Shortly after your arrival, we got a call from Vrbo claiming that you were severely unsatisfied with the cleanliness of the home. We didn't receive any calls from you. We told the Vrbo rep that we would be more than happy to immediately send someone from our team to address any issues that you had. Once again, we didn't receive a single phone call from you. Since we had not heard from you I took it upon myself to reach out to you directly. We wanted to make sure that you had an enjoyable stay. We weren't able to reach you so we sent you an email and a message on Vrbo. After finally get in touch with you you told us that you went somewhere else and that our place was filthy. You also claimed that there was mice and difficult to breathe. We were not able to find any evidence of mice in the home and yes, we did find dust on the ceiling fans and a few cobwebs. This home is located in the mountains right next to a lake and cobwebs can appear quickly. We went through and did a deep clean of the home and were still unable to find anything indicating that there were mice. Thanks!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great base for Yellowstone NP

This small, A-frame over-garage apartment met our needs well, which were a place to sleep and eat breakfast/make lunch while spending every day as much as possible in Yellowstone NP. A max of 2 people can stay at this cabin due to its small size. The other reviews describing the roof as slanted are accurate, as it's an A-frame over a garage, as are the reviews describing it as dark, as it's a cabin made primarily of wood. The queen size bed was surprisingly comfortable. We also put the address in google maps and it led us right to the cabin, so the specific driving arrival directions were helpful but ultimately unnecessary. We were glad that the AC worked, but we struggled to get it to turn on. Once we got it on, we couldn't adjust the temp, so it was stuck at 66 degrees. We also did not want to turn it off out of fear that we could not turn it back on. Yes, the AC was necessary due to the stuffiness of the apt upon arrival and after being closed all day. (Highs were in the low 80s with overnight lows in the high 50s.) Yes, we asked the staff whether they had any instructions for the AC, and they responded quite quickly but unfortunately had none. We spent most of our awake time in the bedroom because of the temperature difference from the main room (with seating next to the AC) and the bedroom. We think the apt would not have been a comfortable sleeping temp without the AC. Would we stay here again? Yes. It was clean and private and an easy 20 minutes from the apt to NP.
Stayed 6 nights in Jul 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 1 August 2023
Thank you for staying with us & for the great review! We hope you have the chance to come stay again in the future! - IP Reservations
Verified review

4/10 Poor

Liked: Check-in, communication, location
Disliked: Cleanliness
The space was smaller than expected. For a 6’0 guy, I hit my head in the bathroom quite often. Definitely something to be aware of. The shower doesn’t have much light in it so sometimes hard to see. Bedroom was a good size for two people. The garage door was opened at early times in the morning and late in the evening. Not very ideal. Found bugs everywhere, including on us while we were trying to sleep. Needs to be addressed. Floors were very dirty, it didn’t seem like they were cleaned very often. Cobwebs all over the place. Would not be my top choice to stay again.
Stayed 5 nights in Jul 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Relaxed. Yellowstone stone was up the road. Place was as described.

Perfect no problems.
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 1 August 2023
Thank you for coming to stay & leaving a great review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you are able to visit again in the near future! - IP Reservations
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Easy transitions

Easy-to-use
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 9 August 2023
Thank you for leaving us a great review! We're very glad you got to enjoy the cabin and hope you get the chance to stay again! - IP Reservations
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great place to stay

We loved our trip and the apartment was super!
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2022
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Cute an quirky

This is a small apartment above a garage. It has a distinct pitch on the ceiling that if you are not careful you can hit headvbut other that the bathroom it was not really an issue. It has a very large kitchen and a very small living room. The TV is in living room area and not really comfortable to watch.
Stayed 5 nights in Sep 2021
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in
Disliked: Location, listing accuracy

Nothing special here for the money

This listing is not what it portrays. Waterfront- NO, there was a house in the way that had 3 families staying. Lots of notes in the house (to clean, take shoes off, etc) but nothing about how to enjoy even sitting by water. No windows looked at water or nature. There are minimal branches but you see the neighbors out both windows. Sleeping two guests comfortably- It is important to note that you are in an apartment above a garage with slanted ceilings. My husband is only 5'11 and hit his head on multiple parts of the ceiling and the shower bar to get in is standing at about 5' 8. No light in shower so it was hard to see in there. Other than that the place was cleaned and stocked, very tight squeeze through 'tv, table, couch and kitchen counter' area. very tight squeeze in the bathroom. Dark stairway even with lights on. It did have air conditioning even though it stated that it did not. Nice decor. Comfortable bed. Couch is outdoor furniture inside (which is honest in picture).
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2021
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2025
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback