Located in Mc Grath, this cabin is in a rural area and on a lake. Moose Lake Golf Club and Moose Lake Brewing & Tap Room are worth checking out if an activity is on the agenda, while those wishing to experience the area's natural beauty can explore Snake River and Kettle River. MN Old School Arts Center and Moose Lake Depot Museum are also worth visiting. Enjoy the area's slopes with cross-country skiing, and don't miss out on the snowmobiling.
Is Spiral Staircase Leads To The Lofted Bedroom And Overlooks The Birch Woods. pet-friendly?
Yes, this property allows pets (limit 1 total). Some restrictions may apply, so please contact the property for more details.
How much does it cost to stay at Spiral Staircase Leads To The Lofted Bedroom And Overlooks The Birch Woods.?
As of 31 October 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Spiral Staircase Leads To The Lofted Bedroom And Overlooks The Birch Woods. on 4 November 2026 start from NZ$659, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
How much is parking at Spiral Staircase Leads To The Lofted Bedroom And Overlooks The Birch Woods.?
On-site parking is available at the property.
What time is check-in at Spiral Staircase Leads To The Lofted Bedroom And Overlooks The Birch Woods.?
Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.
What time is check-out at Spiral Staircase Leads To The Lofted Bedroom And Overlooks The Birch Woods.?
Checkout is at 11:00 AM.
Where is Spiral Staircase Leads To The Lofted Bedroom And Overlooks The Birch Woods. located?
Situated on a lake, this cabin is 3.1 mi (5 km) from Snake River and within 20 miles (32 km) of Kettle River and Cedar Lake. Sturgeon Lake and Banning State Park are also within 25 miles (40 km).
Reviews
8.4
Very good
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Loved the Cozy cabin, the property was well maintained and it was just what we needed for a quick weekend in the woods!
Stayed 2 nights in May 2023
Verified review
4/10 Poor
Linda Z.
16 August 2021
Disliked: Location, listing accuracy
Weekend Getaway
This property is NOT in Finlayson. It’s located over 30 miles from Finlayson in McGrath and takes about an hour to get to from Finlayson. Beware of the exotic birds.
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 1 September 2021
Hello and Good day,
Were sorry to hear that you were confused about our location.
Our mailing address is McGrath but we are 13 miles from the actual town.
We are also 15 miles from Willow River and there is an exit just off 35 W N.
for Willow River.
Sometimes people get caught up on back roads from using different map apps.
According to google maps we are 24 minutes from Finlayson.
We are sorry for any inconvenience but are not responsible for the map apps or vrbo suggestions.
We have a project underway for fencing our Swan pond and are not finished. We are sorry for the inconvenience of specific hours for avoiding the unsecured area.
Thank you for visiting
* project goal should be completed before winter, however, the beaver pond on the walkway through the woods ( by the Woodlands cabin) towards the island has a much better view and a large body of water thanks to the beavers.
Bonus: an island trail to walk around.
Have a great day,
Regards
The Shire family
We used this cabin for a two night stay as a sort of base camp as we road-tripped around northern Minnesota chasing autumn leaf color change. It definitely matched my expectations based on the listing, although my wife found it a bit too rustic for her taste. Definitely very cozy - it was awesome rolling out of bed and getting a fire started in the wood stove on a chilly morning! We didn’t explore the immediate area much so I can’t speak to that. But it was a very nice and quiet stay. I’d stay again.
We enjoyed our stay. The cabin was sweet and had what we needed to cook and enjoy our time there. We loved seeing the animals on the property and felt we had plenty of privacy. The proprietor was responsive and brought up a new coffee maker when our's was not working. We would probably like to return in the fall when it is not so buggy.
Hark! This here's a mighty fine establishment indeed!
Twas a a late spring afternoon. The sun shone with it's gentle grace common for the time of year, and a gentle breeze welcomed us as we drove up the driveway. The property manager had greeted us in a timely manner and swiftly we were settling into a cabin most quaint and welcoming. The grounds were sprawling, forested and simply radiant with the pristine majesty of Minnesota's woodlands. All of the amenities left us wanting for nothing. The wood burning stove, who's ambience and warmth, staved off the penetrating blackness of night was a notable highlight. I could not offer a higher recommendation.
Lovely getaway from life. Michael and The Shire offer low key relaxation in cozy spaces with plenty of outdoor access. We love the fireplace and the mini kitchen setup which gives the ability to have a little slice of home comfort while away.
Stayed 4 nights in Mar 2021
Verified review
6/10 Okay
Stacey S.
1 January 2021
Liked: Location
Beautiful spot, quaint cabin
It’s a quaint, unique cabin on a beautiful chunk of property in the woods. so nice to be able to walk out the door and take a hike.
So nice that linens and towels are provided.
Nice to have a small full kitchen.
Description said two bedrooms, which it only has one loft bedroom. The other “Bedroom” is the main small living room where the pull out bed/daybed is.
The description said that some dry goods were available in the kitchen, but only half of them were. Maybe that’s because of Covid, or an oversight.
A few lightbulbs needed replacing.
The owner was more responsive before arrival. But upon arrival I took several hours to respond to texts or calls. It wasn’t anything urgent, and I would hope they would be responsive if it was.
All in all a quaint cabin in a gorgeous location. Next time will prefer to book directly with the owners.
We enjoyed our stay in the Birches cabin. The cabin was cozy and even though there are other cabins close by, it still felt like we were in a remote location. There was always something interesting to see on the trails. We would definitely stay here again.
MY HUSBAND AND I STAYED FOR NEARLY TWO WEEKS. WE HAD A HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE! THE PLACE WAS FILTHY AND FULL OF MOLD AND COB WEBS, DIRTY SHEETS, ETC....AMENITIES LISTED WERE NOT AVAILABLE, LIKE INTERNET, ESSENTIALS, TOILET PAPER, FRESH BEDDING, CLEAN TOWELS....WE WENT INTO TOWN TO PURCHASE OUR OWN BECAUSE THE OWNER THREATENED TO CHARGE EXTRA AFTER AN ALREADY WAY INFLATED PRICE, WE BOUGHT TOILET PAPER, PAPER TOWELS, SHOWER TOWELS...THEY WERE RUDE AND NOT WELCOMING TO 2 FAMILY MEMBERS THAT CAME FOR THE DAY, VERY UNWELCOMING, WE LEFT OUR RESERVATION EARLY DUE TO THESE CIRCUMSTANCES, SAVE YOURSELF FROM THIS EXPERIENCE AND KEEP LOOKING. WE TRAVEL A LOT AND THIS WAS THE WORST EXPEREINCE WE HAVE EVER HAD
Our stay started pretty routine after online booking. We were then notified by the owner that he messed up our booking due to a family issue and offered us another unit on his property to rent, which was appreciated as it was Memorial Day weekend and places were limited. The owner stated the place was a bigger cabin with same amenities. We stated we’d take a look when we got there, attempting to be gracious. Upon arrival, the grounds were covered in horse and chicken poop. The chickens were free range and running everywhere. The place was very unkempt with litter on the grounds. The “cabin” was dirty and old and had a strong chemical smell. The owner was lurking around feeding his horses and chickens, leaving very little privacy. When we told him we wanted to cancel our reservation, he refused to refund our money. He was rude and argumentative and disputed the charge with VBRO. I would never stay here again! Creepy and dirty!
It was nice. Property is cute and clean. Property manager is friendly. Everything is good except too many bugs outside.
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2019
Verified review
4/10 Poor
diana m.
27 August 2018
Mediocre, but not what I was looking for
The Cabin was cute but disappointing. I thought it was more private, not next to others. Staff were friendly and the grounds were okay; too buggy to go anywhere the woods. The cabin was stocked very nicely and had everything we needed. The cabin was full of spiders and cobb webs, dust bunnies, very outdated, had spare items laying around like several tiny used bar soaps in the cupboard, odds and ends of large bathroom hardware in the towel cupboard, dark towels with bleach stains and long strings hanging from them. The grill had a two fuzzy fur balls in it, looked liked dead animals. Cabin next door was smoking THC both nights. Sorry, just wasn't planning on this for a getaway. Spent our time away from the location and only slept there.
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2018
Verified review
10/10 Excellent
Andre G.
22 May 2018
It was amazing
Great get away from the city, my phone and a lot of enjoying nature the beauty that surrounds. Reminds me of where I grew up as a kid, 10/10 would recommend !
Just pack your own drinking water and stay up on gas because gas stations are far!
Stayed 2 nights in May 2018
Verified review
10/10 Excellent
Kris H.
25 January 2018
Super chill
Birches is a really lovely place to relax away from it all. The cabin is very thoughtfully set up - everything you need. It was unseasonably warm for January so we walked instead of skiing. Beautiful. We'll stay again!
Stayed 2 nights in Jan 2018
Archival
10/10 Excellent
Dana B.
9 January 2017
Cozy Winter Getaway
The Birches cabin was a wonderful getaway for my partner and I and our 3-year old. Everything is set up so well for rest and relaxation, and we loved making a fire in the wood stove each day. Reading in the loft, games in front of the fire, and walking the trails around the Shire. Strongly recommend this cabin, and thanks again to the wonderful owners!
Stayed 3 nights in Dec 2016
Archival
10/10 Excellent
Laura C.
22 August 2016
Cozy getaway a perfect distance from the cities
I was looking for a cute and cozy cabin to get away from the hustle of the cities. The Shire was perfect. about 90 minutes straight north, easy to find and in the middle of nowhere, it felt like we were really able to get away. I loved how remote the location was and how focused on nature the Shire was. It was quiet and peaceful, there was no TV, there was plenty of wood to make a fire. The cabin (we stayed in the Birches) was incredibly well thought out with everything you could want or need for the weekend. Be sure to bring your own groceries because there are some dive bars/restaurants but they are a bit of a drive, nothing super close by. And make sure to fill up on gas about 30 miles out because eventually the towns get so small there are no gas stations. But it was fabulous, I can't wait to go back again. I feel so rested, I wish I could have stayed longer.
Archival
8/10 Good
Kristina S.
25 May 2016
A nice place to get away for the weekend
Easy to find, quiet and peaceful. Felt welcomed during the check-in process. Appreciated the screened-in porch - great place to sit and enjoy the weather without being hassled by bugs. Ceiling and floor/oscillating fans were great to keep the temps reasonable inside. Nice to have the kitchen stocked with necessary plates/utensils/pots, etc. Nice to have multiple windows for viewing and cross-breeze. Overall, a pleasant place for a weekend get-away.
Suggestions: perhaps a more comfortable chair in main room (chair currently by the bathroom wasn't easy to sit on for very long). Pricing: include the cleaning fee as part of the standard rate, not as extra charge (especially if guests are expected to do some of the cleaning themselves). Also firewood - we didn't use any, but we were still charged. Perhaps include automatically in winter months, but let guests opt for the extra charge in the summer months.
Thanks!
Archival
8/10 Good
Amy B.
25 March 2016
Adorable!
I would recommend staying here. Very cute place. No complaints at all. We were able to just keep to ourselves, have a nice fire and relax. Thank you!