Apartment

Luxury apartment on an island in the River Thames in Oxford’s historic centre

Photo gallery for Luxury apartment on an island in the River Thames in Oxford’s historic centre

A traditional brick building with a stone wall and a small garden with flowers.
A bench in a garden area with brick flooring and potted plants.
A neatly made bed with a pillow, two bedside lamps, a small table with a vase, and a window with blinds.
A grey metal gate with a decorative metal fence, a brick wall, and a bench in the background.
A dining area with a round table and two chairs, a vase with flowers, and a window with a view of greenery.

Reviews

9.0 out of 10
Wonderful

Highlights

  • Made for relaxation
    Top-rated for comfort — guests feel right at home here.
  • Centrally-located
    You're never far from where you need to be with this convenient location.
  • Discover nearby landmarks
    Close to University of Oxford

Popular amenities

  • Kitchenette
  • Refrigerator
  • Internet
  • Onsite parking available
  • Dryer
  • Garden

Explore the area

View map
Oxford, ENG
  • Place, University of Oxford
    ‪3 min walk‬
  • Place, Christ Church College
    ‪5 min walk‬
  • Place, Oxford Castle
    ‪9 min walk‬
  • Airport, Oxford (OXF)
    ‪22 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

0 bedrooms (sleeps 2)

Bedroom 1

1 Double Bed

Bathroom 1

Shower only

Spaces

Kitchen
Kitchenette
Garden
Dining area

Add dates for prices

Have a question?

AI iconBeta

Get instant answers with AI powered search of property information and reviews.

Similar properties

About the area

Oxford

Located in South Oxford, a neighbourhood in Oxford, this apartment is in a rural area and on the waterfront. The North Wall Arts Centre and Waterperry Gardens are local attractions and those in the mood for shopping can visit Bicester Village and Covered Market. Millets Farm Centre and Millets Falconry Centre are also worth visiting. Discover the area's water adventures with power boating and fishing nearby, or enjoy the great outdoors with ecotours and hiking.
Map
Oxford, ENG

What's nearby

  • University of Oxford - 3 min walk - 0.3 km
  • Christ Church College - 5 min walk - 0.4 km
  • Oxford Castle - 9 min walk - 0.8 km
  • Bodleian Library - 12 min walk - 1.0 km
  • New Theatre Oxford - 12 min walk - 1.1 km

Getting around

  • Oxford Station - 18 min walk
  • Oxford (OXF) - 24 min drive

Restaurants

  • ‪Black Sheep Coffee - ‬9 min walk
  • ‪Pret A Manger - ‬9 min walk
  • ‪JOE & THE JUICE - ‬9 min walk
  • ‪itsu - ‬10 min walk
  • ‪The Breakfast Club - ‬9 min walk

Frequently asked questions

Is Luxury apartment on an island in the River Thames in Oxford’s historic centre pet-friendly?

No, pets are not allowed at this property.

How much is parking at Luxury apartment on an island in the River Thames in Oxford’s historic centre?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at Luxury apartment on an island in the River Thames in Oxford’s historic centre?

Check-in begins at 3:00 PM.

What time is check-out at Luxury apartment on an island in the River Thames in Oxford’s historic centre?

Checkout is at 10:00 AM.

Where is Luxury apartment on an island in the River Thames in Oxford’s historic centre located?

Located in South Oxford, this apartment building is within a 5-minute walk of River Thames and University of Oxford. Thames Path and Christ Church Meadows are just steps away. Oxford Station is 18 minutes by foot.

Reviews

9.0

Wonderful

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 7 out of 10 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 1 out of 10 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 2 out of 10 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 0 out of 10 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 0 out of 10 reviews

9.8/10

Cleanliness

9.4/10

Check-in

8.8/10

Communication

9.6/10

Location

8.6/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location
The accommodation is well located and in a quiet setting next to the river. The property was clean and tidy. I would however struggle to rate this as excellent owing to some of the small touches missing and small things needing repair, curtains that don'tfully close (there are blind as well) bedside table draw handle coming off in my hand etc and a lack of TV remote. Addressing the small details would change the experience from good to excellent in my mind.
Stayed 4 nights in Sep 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Clean room, pleasant host
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great

Great stay
Stayed 5 nights in Jun 2024
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Perfect apartment

This apartment was a perfect home base for me on my work trip to Oxford. Loved the sunny, serene spot. Would definitely stay here again!
Stayed 4 nights in Apr 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 23 April 2024
Hi Kelly, thank you for your wonderful review. We loved having you with us!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
The studio was very comfortable and had everything you needed (I particularly appreciated the Nespresso machine). The location was scenic with the Thames path adjacent, and perfectly located next to pubs, restaurants, a shopping complex and a short walk to the historic centre.The host of the property was exceptionally nice and helpful. My stay could not have been better. Had a wonderful time.
Stayed 38 nights in Sep 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 16 October 2025
Thank you for your lovely comments! We really enjoyed meeting you and having you with us. Best wishes Catriona
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Unique location in heart of Oxford

Enjoyed our special spot in Oxford. Quiet location just minutes walk from all the must see buildings of the town. The kitchenette was well stocked and allowed us to prepare breakfast, have a coffee before heading out for the day. Owner was very responsive and helpful. Thank you.
Stayed 3 nights in Sep 2024
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, location
Disliked: Communication

You are probably better off at a hotel

This is literally a basement. The room is tiny and you can barely turn around in the shower. Nothing luxury about it. However, if you're here for the historic building, maybe it's worth it? If you're on a budget, this is a good choice. However, I would recommend a hotel instead.
Stayed 8 nights in Oct 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 18 October 2022
I'm sorry that Studio Lavandula didn't suit you. We try our hardest to avoid disappointment by making the size of the studio and the bathroom and the position of the studio very clear on the website. We have learned over the years that size is a very personal thing and that many of our guests have appreciated Studio Lavandula for its cosyness, quietness and the quality of the original artworks by 20th century masters, as well as the warmth of our staff, for which Folly Bridge House has become famous.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Island experience of Oxford

We wanted to see Oxford in a week and we did by staying at this very convenient venue. Matthew Arnold would have been happy to stay at Folly Bridge House since all of his 'dreaming spires' are in easy walking distance. Strolling along the river paths from this Thames island one can enjoy the setting of this ancient city as well as accessing the Christchurch Meadow leading to many of the colleges or, in the opposite direction, visiting the newly-renovated retail and leisure Westgate centre with its rooftop bars and dining. Highly recommended for those wanting a comfortable double bed and then spending most of the day out-of-doors.
Stayed 7 nights in Sep 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 18 October 2022
Thank you for your lovely review. We're glad you had a happy time at Folly Bridge House
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Cozy and Charming

We stayed in the Lavendula suite in the basement area. It was small, but very well appointed. The bed was very comfortable, the shower had good pressure with plenty of hot water and the kitchen was great for cups of tea and toasted snacks. Would not try to cook anything complex there though another person might be a better cook than myself. I also appreciated the eco-consciousness of the proprietors . Oh! The garden is idyllic!! Wonderful place to take a cup of tea and a scone and watch the river and enjoy the greenery and floral explosion . The best part of our stay was the location. Everything was within walking distance, yet the isolation of the little island made one feel like they were isolated from college town noise. Shout out to the management, we had a lot of questions and requests and they were very prompt and cheerful despite our nonsense ;D. Great place to stay!!!
Stayed 2 nights in May 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 8 June 2025
Thank you for your lovely review! We loved having you, and thank you for being so accommodating. Best wishes Catriona
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

BOMBARDED WITH ENDLESS UNWANTED REVIEW REQUESTS

The accommodation was fine apart from the noise from the communal washing machine located on the other side of the wall from the room. However, I have been bombarded for months with endless unwanted review request emails, despite having repeatedly asked you to delete my data and to ensure that you stopped sending me these unwanted emails. This is made all the more frustrating by the fact that VRBO make it very difficult to contact them to complain, providing no contact email address, live chat failing to connect etc, and the web form system failing to work.
Stayed 7 nights in Aug 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 11 December 2023
I'm sorry that you have been bombarded with emails. These don't come from us (except this one) but automatically from VRBO. It is very important for us that we don't badger guests for reviews. Thank you for raising the issue of the washing machine noise. We'll look into it and add more sound insulation.
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback