Fredericksburg is home to this holiday home. Fredericksburg Brewing Company and Elk Store Winery & Distillery are worth checking out if an activity is on the agenda, while those in the mood for shopping can visit Main Street and Das Peach Haus. Spend some time exploring the area's activities, including winery tours.
Marktplatz von Fredericksburg - 12 min walk - 1.0 km
Main Street - 13 min walk - 1.2 km
Rockbox Theater - 15 min walk - 1.3 km
Fredericksburg Winery - 17 min walk - 1.5 km
National Museum of the Pacific War - 17 min walk - 1.5 km
Getting around
San Antonio International Airport (SAT) - 75 min drive
Restaurants
Los Tios - 17 min walk
The Auslander - 16 min walk
Mamacita's Mexican Restaurant - 17 min walk
Fredericksburg Brewing Company - 18 min walk
Texas Sunrise - 17 min walk
Frequently asked questions
Is The Painted Buffalo | Firepit | Great Backyard pet-friendly?
No, pets are not allowed at this property.
How much does it cost to stay at The Painted Buffalo | Firepit | Great Backyard?
As of 30 October 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at The Painted Buffalo | Firepit | Great Backyard on 30 November 2026 start from NZ$847, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
How much is parking at The Painted Buffalo | Firepit | Great Backyard?
On-site parking is available at the property.
What time is check-in at The Painted Buffalo | Firepit | Great Backyard?
Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.
What time is check-out at The Painted Buffalo | Firepit | Great Backyard?
Checkout is at 11:00 AM.
Where is The Painted Buffalo | Firepit | Great Backyard located?
Situated in Fredericksburg, this holiday home is within a 15-minute walk of Rockbox Theater, Japanese Garden of Peace and WWII Veterans Memorial Courtyard. Admiral Nimitz Gallery and National Museum of the Pacific War are also within 15 minutes.
Reviews
8.8
Excellent
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Absolutely DO NOT STAY at this location. The listing is inaccurate. AC was not working. There was a handwritten note stating the AC unit could not achieve a temperature less than 20 deg lower than the outside temperature. With Texas being over 105 the past week, the house close to 90 deg on the interior. If your AC will not work, this needs to be disclosed in the listing at time or rental, not a surprise upon arrival.The arrival was late in the evening and phone calls wen unreturned until morning. Had to find a hotel room as the house was unlivable. The service company will not refund the hotel stay and claims we chose the closest and most expensive hotel to stay the night.This rental and follow-up support ruined wat could have been a great experience and trip.
Stayed 3 nights in Sep 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 7 October 2026
We’re sorry the AC issue negatively impacted your stay. However, we do want to clarify a few important points. There was no known issue with the AC prior to your arrival, and unfortunately, mechanical systems can fail unexpectedly at any time. You contacted us around midnight, and while we certainly understand your frustration, HVAC companies are not available to make repairs in the middle of the night. We had a technician out first thing the following morning and the AC was repaired.
As a courtesy, we also refunded your entire first night. While we understand that you chose to stay at a hotel, we are not able to additionally reimburse the cost of your hotel stay and breakfast at one of the most expensive hotels in town. That was a personal choice regarding where to stay after the AC issue occurred.
We regret that this unexpected mechanical failure affected your trip, but we responded as quickly as reasonably possible and provided a full refund for the night affected.
Super cute!! Close to Main Street so easy access to dining and shopping. Beds are firm but comfortable. Great kitchen!! Seating in LR not great but doable. Master bath a bit small but clean. Secondary bath had a slow drain but notified management and they were very responsive. Management company is great to deal with. Very helpful and communicative. Would choose this place or any other by this company again!
We came in 15 minutes early and couldn't get into the property. The door lock is fancy and was set to let us in beginning at 4:00pm. The property manager let us in remotely. How cool! The property is older, but in my opinion, was nicer than the photos. There were plenty of comfort items that made our stay very easy. Blankets in the living room, games, extra pillows, plates, cups, utensils, a place to put my jewelry, coffee grounds with sweetener and creamer. We spent most of our time out on the town, but coming home was cozy and restful. Staying in Buffalo house was cozy. Only the super picky could complain. Come enjoy your stay! We did.
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 7 July 2025
Chris,
Thank you for the wonderful review, You are welcome anytime!
The toilets weren’t cleaned well when we arrived. There was hair in the bathtub before we even showered. The coffee maker didn’t have a brew basket. We didn’t realize it and made a pot. When we tried to pull carafe, coffee and coffee grounds went everywhere. Luckily i got out the way and didn’t get burned. But got to spend 15 minutes cleaning it up. Then had to go buy a coffee maker because we never could locate the basket