Located in Boone, this condo is in the city centre and near theme parks. Hawksnest Tubing Park and Sugar Mountain Resort are worth checking out if an activity is on the agenda, while those wishing to experience the area's natural beauty can explore Grandfather Mountain and The Blowing Rock. Travelling with kids? Consider Tweetsie Railroad and Magic Mountain Mini Golf and Arcade. Take in the nearby slopes with cross-country skiing and snowboarding, or try out other outdoor activities such as sledging and snowmobiling.
Boone, NC
What's nearby
Watauga River - 1 min walk - 0.2 km
The Greater Foscoe Mining Co. - 18 min walk - 1.6 km
Kidd Brewer Stadium - 12 min drive - 13.7 km
Sugar Mountain Resort - 13 min drive - 14.4 km
Appalachian State University - 13 min drive - 14.3 km
Getting around
Tri-Cities, TN (TRI-Tri-Cities Regional) - 93 min drive
Restaurants
Taqueria La Monarca - 10 min drive
The Pedalin' Pig - 8 min drive
Mountain Dog Coffee - 6 min walk
Circle K - 8 min drive
The Town Tavern - 15 min drive
Frequently asked questions
Does WINTER MTN RETREAT- Appalachian views of Grandfather Mountain & Blue Ridge Mtns have a pool?
Yes, this property has an indoor pool. Pool types include heated pools.
How much does it cost to stay at WINTER MTN RETREAT- Appalachian views of Grandfather Mountain & Blue Ridge Mtns?
As of 31 October 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at WINTER MTN RETREAT- Appalachian views of Grandfather Mountain & Blue Ridge Mtns on 1 March 2027 start from NZ$1,757, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
Is WINTER MTN RETREAT- Appalachian views of Grandfather Mountain & Blue Ridge Mtns pet-friendly?
No, pets are not allowed at this property.
How much is parking at WINTER MTN RETREAT- Appalachian views of Grandfather Mountain & Blue Ridge Mtns?
On-site parking is available at the property.
What time is check-in at WINTER MTN RETREAT- Appalachian views of Grandfather Mountain & Blue Ridge Mtns?
Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.
What time is check-out at WINTER MTN RETREAT- Appalachian views of Grandfather Mountain & Blue Ridge Mtns?
Checkout is at 11:00 AM.
Where is WINTER MTN RETREAT- Appalachian views of Grandfather Mountain & Blue Ridge Mtns located?
This family-friendly Boone condo building is located in a rural location, within a 15-minute walk of Watauga River and The Greater Foscoe Mining Co.. Grandfather Vineyard & Winery and Julian Price Park are also within 3 miles (5 km).
Reviews
9.6
Exceptional
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Beautiful condo in a great location convenient to Boone, Blowing Rock, Banner Elk and all ski areas. Amazing Mountain View. Comfortable beds and great tv setup and kitchen. We would stay again.
Perfect getaway in the mountains with a wonderful view and a cozy condo
Stayed 3 nights in Dec 2024
Verified review
10/10 Excellent
Jessica M.
15 January 2018
Fantastic High Country Getaway
We enjoyed a wonderful winter weekend at this Echota property. The condo is very comfortable, very clean and well appointed. Beautiful mountain views, close to Boone, Blowing Rock and surrounding attractions. Would definitely return to this beautiful mountain property!
This well appointed condo is high on the mountain in the gated community of Echota. The deck and sunrise views of Grandfather Mountain were exceptional. The grandkids came over for a visit and enjoyed the indoor pool and Hot Tub. This condo was everything we needed and more! We'll be back!
Stayed 3 nights in Oct 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 21 October 2025
Thank you so much! We are glad you had a great time!
My family and I enjoyed staying at this condo very much. The accommodation felt like home, but better because we were in Boone <3 The view, a well stocked kitchen, comfortable environment with cozy items like throw blankets... comfortable bedrooms. I highly recommend staying here. Our only regret was that we couldn't stay longer.
Stayed 3 nights in Oct 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 16 November 2024
Thank you so much!!
Verified review
10/10 Excellent
Alex C.
17 February 2025
Liked: Check-in, communication, location
Condo with a beautuful mountain view
Overall a comfortable stay and a very attentive host. The king bed in the master bedroom is very comfortable & we slept well. Echota is a super organized community with a nice pool and perfect roads. The internet is also very fast. Only problem is is a bit of clutter arounfnd the condo.
It was very helpful that the host offered us to get in early and stay later because the place was not rented before or after our stay. The fact that dishes were not microwaveable was hard luckily I brought paper plates. The kitchen could have better utensils like a whip, rubber spatula, measuring cups and measuring spoons.The view is awesome and furniture was comfortable.
Stayed 3 nights in Nov 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 3 December 2025
Thank you!!!
Hi Loren!! I'm glad you enjoyed the view!! We will make sure the vintage dishes are moved to the top shelf so the other microwavable dishes are more obvious. Also, last we were there the other things were there next to the stove but I will order new. You never know what happens with things.... Have a great holiday season!!
We enjoyed the unit. The view is beautiful and the condo was nicely appointed. There were some nice decorating touches. We caught 4 trout in the pond which was fun. Our only issue with the unit was that one of the circuit breakers kept tripping. I suspect it needs to be replaced. Other than that, it was a great visit and unit.
The description and pictures do not do justice to this gem vacation vacation home! There is a great view of Grandfather Mountain. You can see the beautiful mountains from almost every room. There is plenty of outdoor space for dining and lounging. The indoor space feels like home; comfortable and very clean! Seriously, the cleanest vacation home I have ever rented. The owners have really thought through what guests need and enjoy while in a vacation home. The owners were fabulous, great with answering questions.
I strongly recommend this home, especially if you want to enjoy a cup of coffee while taking in a beautiful view. We will be back!
This is the perfect location to enjoy the beautiful views, the proximity of Boone, Blowing Rock and Banner Elk, and get out and play or unwind and enjoy a glass of wine on the back porch. Everything you want is thought of and the owners and thoughtful and available for any question or need. We will definitely be back!!!
This was really a great spot for us during Labor Day. It was comfortable, easy to access and had lovely views! And, there were lots of nice homey touches that made our stay even more pleasant and relaxing.
This condo is in a lovely community within easy reach of Boone, Blowing Rock, Valle Crucis and Banner Elk. The home was exactly as advertised, very well stocked, comfortable and offering jaw dropping views from the large porch. Communication with the owner was easy. We would definitely return.
I regularly rent condos for summer and winter trips. The Presnells go above and beyond. You get exactly what you should expect in a condo rental, and a little bit more. Like plenty of paper products, access to basic kitchen supplies, simple and clear instructions for operation of appliances, a supply of clothes detergent, dish soap, as well as an ample supply of towels, sheets and pillows. Having rented dozens of houses/condos over the years, I found it refreshing to be able to "pop" in for a quick, long weekend and not have to run to the grocery store twice a day when you realized you forgot some random but necessary item. Would definitely recommend this place and stay here again!
The Unit was nice, But it was very frustrating that I had to be constantly resetting the fuse box for the lights inside. Also the refrigerator was not clean and all the closets were locked and we could not properly unpack our clothing. Very disappointed. The Grill outside in the balconey was not clean as well.
We had an amazing stay at this condo, over Christmas. Thankfully, we have a four wheel drive, given it snowed and there was not a lot of plowing. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would love to go back.
We love staying in this area and do so several times a year! Great place & convenient to all that we like to do when in the High Country!
Stayed 3 nights in Nov 2020
Verified review
6/10 Okay
Lisa C.
28 October 2020
Liked: Check-in, location
Disliked: Cleanliness, listing accuracy
Not Sanitized
I was told the property was sanitized and I Asked a second time due to the fact I have a compromised immune system as a two time cancer survivor and was told yes it will be....Absolutely was NOT....Very dirty condo...We had to wash all the counters in the kitchen, bathroom, living area with antiseptic wipes we brought with us....The bathroom hasn’t been cleaned including the shower, glass or floors in At least a couple months...As for the kitchen we had to Clean all the counters off from stuck on food, the stove top was disgusting and we had to remove shelves from out of the refrigerator and put into the dishwasher to be cleaned before unloading our small amount of food...Food all over the refrigerator door handles and front door....These folks charged us a large cleaning fee for a 3night stay and this property was dirty...We spent the first hour and half wiping everything off....THANKFULLY we have learned from past experiences and brought our own bedding, so happy we did... I would not stay in this unit again...The floors haven’t been cleaned in a few months....Beautiful view, well appointed property but very dirty....
Response from VrboOwner on 28 October 2020
Lisa,
That’s very weird.. the place was in fact sanitized and we’ve got nothing but fantastic reviews about our place until now. I also have a compromised immune system as well and I am a stickler for cleanliness. I really wish you would have reached out to us when you first arrived. We never heard a word from y’all. I’m sorry you weren’t happy. We would have had our cleaners come immediately and have them fix whatever you pointed to. It’s not really fair of you to leave this kind of review without even reaching out to us WHILE you were there. We are very sad...we love our place and really strive to have everything exemplary for our guests.
Wishing you guys the best and hope you had a very happy birthday and great anniversary.