Located in Beaver Island, this cabin is on a lake. Lake Michigan and Font Lake reflect the area's natural beauty and area attractions include The Marine Museum and Beaver Island Community Center. Take in the nearby slopes with cross-country skiing, or try out other outdoor activities such as sledging and snowmobiling.
Beaver Island Community Center - 23 min drive - 16.7 km
Beaver Island Harbor Lighthouse - 25 min drive - 18.5 km
CMU Biological Station - 25 min drive - 13.8 km
Restaurants
Circle M Restaurant - 20 min drive
Paradise Bay Coffee Shop - 10 min drive
McCafferty's Unfinished Farms Riding Stable - 18 min drive
The Old Rectory - 20 min drive
Donegal Danny's - 21 min drive
Frequently asked questions
Is Gorgeous Rustic Northern Michigan Island Getaway pet-friendly?
Yes, pets are allowed at this property. Some restrictions may apply, so please contact the property for more details.
How much does it cost to stay at Gorgeous Rustic Northern Michigan Island Getaway?
As of 29 October 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Gorgeous Rustic Northern Michigan Island Getaway on 21 May 2027 start from NZ$1,559, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
How much is parking at Gorgeous Rustic Northern Michigan Island Getaway?
On-site parking is available at the property.
What time is check-in at Gorgeous Rustic Northern Michigan Island Getaway?
Check-in begins at 3:00 PM.
What time is check-out at Gorgeous Rustic Northern Michigan Island Getaway?
Checkout is at 10:00 AM.
Where is Gorgeous Rustic Northern Michigan Island Getaway located?
Situated on a lake, this cabin is 0.1 mi (0.1 km) from Lake Michigan and within 9 miles (15 km) of Feodar Protar Cabin and Font Lake. CMU Biological Station and Jewell Gillespie Park Beach are also within 9 miles (15 km).
Reviews
8.8
Excellent
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
We enjoyed our stay and enjoyed the property. Our dogs enjoyed it also. Our dog enjoyed walking around in the warm waters of Lake Michigan. The price was decent for the September Month.
I'm going to try to address some of the common complaint/concerns I read about this property. If you're expecting to be in a spotless, pristine resort-style room on the Caribbean, look elsewhere. This is a home that is clearly still being worked on, and there are definitely some imperfections. The most obvious is in the bathroom, where a soaker tub (I think?) is still under construction. It doesn't impact the usability of the room, but it is noticeable and feels odd. The shower itself is great, and I look forward to seeing the tub when it's complete. Some mentioned a "smell"; there is a bit of a fishy smell, and that's because your backyard is Lake Michigan. It's gorgeous. The sunsets are unbelievable. It does get damp at night and the house could possibly benefit from a dehumidifier, but keeping the windows shut on the Lake side when you go to bed seemed to solve any problems. As for the Lake itself, yes, it's rocky (wear boat shoes or sandals). Yes, it's a little marshy on the edges and there is algae. But it's also shallow enough to wade in for about a quarter mile from shore, the water is clear and warm, and it's perfect for kayaking and splashing around on a warm day.Last thing I'll mention is that the ladder to the kitchen loft is a bit terrifying. A spiral staircase would do wonders there, but that would probably be an expensive fix. Just be aware that if you have acrophobia, it might not work for you. Overall, we loved it, and hope to be back next year!
Very nice and away from everyone. I can see there are items in progress (shower) with upgrades as in a new TV. It was a little dirty but I do not blame the owner . I can imagine it is hard to find help on the island plus it is rustic. Wonderful views of the water and plenty of space. Some privacy on the large windows in bathroom would be nice as more than once people were walking by looking into the house. This is the place if you want to get away from everything and enjoy peace and quiet.
Pretty rough. Glad it was just the two of us. Would not have wanted our kids trapped in the lofts. Good luck figuring out the electric system. Switches that go to nothing. No over head lights.
Stayed 3 nights in Oct 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 11 October 2024
I’m sorry to hear that you didn’t love the rustic cabin experience like many others do here on Beaver Island. Thank you for your feedback! We do have safe access to our lofts, along with lamps and overhead dining lights to help brighten things up.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this property. The pictures do not do the view justice! The lake Michigan shoreline is beyond gorgeous and we were visited by eagles and loons. I am convinced this is the best location on the island as it is close enough to town when you need supplies but definitely feels off the beaten path. The king bed was very comfortable and there are beautiful views from every room of the house. My teenagers loved the loft sleeping spaces as well. I also highly recommend Happy Paddle for kayak rental. Mark brought the boats right to the cabin and we were able to put in on our own shore. I was glad we brought water shoes as the beach is lovely but rocky. We enjoyed the large fire pit as well. Visiting the toy museum and the Beaver Head Light House were highlights. We are so glad we decided to explore Beaver Island and will definitely be back!
Stayed 5 nights in Jun 2025
Verified review
4/10 Poor
timothy f.
19 August 2025
Liked: Check-in
Disliked: Location, listing accuracy
Beaver Island Disappointment
The house inside was clean and looked as in pictures. The pictures from back of house to lake are very deceiving. The beach is basically a swampy marsh that has terrible rotting smell and full of flies. You cant go within 30 yards of lake. The 2 grills were terrible. One is disgustingly dirty and the other is dirty and only 1/2 of one burner works. Forget grilling anything on them. I do not recommend staying at this property.
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 19 August 2025
Thank you for your feedback. We’re glad to hear the inside of the house was clean and as pictured.
Regarding the lakefront, the shoreline and surrounding area can vary naturally with the season, weather, and water levels. At times, this can result in marshy conditions, smells, or more insects than usual, which are aspects beyond our control. Most of our guests, including many repeat renters, enjoy the lakefront and the property, and have had a wonderful experience there.
As for the grills, we appreciate you letting us know. We will make sure they are thoroughly cleaned and any issues fixed for future guests.
We appreciate you sharing your experience and are glad you enjoyed the home itself.
We loved staying at Eagle’s Rest! The view is spectacular, especially for sunsets! You can see Lake Michigan and High Island from inside the cabin, and you get an even better view from the deck and fire ring. We really liked the cabin too, even with the unfinished bits, it was so cozy and charming. Everything was really clean, although we recommend bringing your own blankets in addition to sheets and towels. Be prepared for a ton of bugs — you will need bug spray, hats, and long socks to enjoy an evening fire. I wish the loft above the king bed had a railing —while it would be hard to fall off the ends of the beds, it seems like this would be a necessary safety feature to have in place. We also wished that the window screens weren’t so ripped — if it would have been warmer, we would have definitely appreciated opening the windows to get the lake breeze. With the bugs and the ripped screens, almost all of the windows facing the lake are not able to be opened. We would stay here again in a heartbeat, though! It was so peaceful listening to the waves and birds and seeing the rocky shore and stars right from the cabin. 10/10 if you’re looking for natural beauty and rustic cabin charm!
Stayed 6 nights in Jun 2024
Verified review
6/10 Okay
Michelle U.
5 November 2019
Liked: Check-in, communication, location
Disliked: Cleanliness, listing accuracy
Lovely location
We had a marvelous time on Beaver Island. The owner Jerry was very responsive, but unfortunately the place was quite dirty especially the mouse droppings in the kitchen and the upstairs bedroom. One of the beds was listed as a queen size and actually is a king which, since you have to bring your own sheets, is a bit of a pain, but not a huge deal. The advertised two bicycles were there but one had a flat and one of the two kayaks is actually for a child so if everyone is tall it could be challenging. These are not huge deal breakers for us- other than the cleanliness -but we recommend that the owner update the listing information to be more accurate and also invest in proper cleaning. Jerry offered a 50% refund of the cleaning fee which frankly should have been 100%., but since we have not received any of the refund - two months later - it seems a moot point. All that said though, this island is pretty special and we appreciated the opportunity to explore it.
Stayed 4 nights in Aug 2019
Response from VrboOwner on 3 April 2020
I have hired an exterminator who has taken care of the mice issues. The flat tire has been repaired and Michelle did eventually get her promised refund after she sent me her correct address. Thanks Gerry
This cabin is a treasure on Beaver Island - nestled in the woods, looking northwest over the beach and water to High Island, with great biking, walking, and kayaking right from the property. You can watch the sunset from the cabin or walk down the beach to watch from a nearby point.
The beds are comfortable, with plenty of options between two lofts and a large king bed. The kitchen is well-equipped, with plenty of pans, utensils, and storage in the large french-door fridge and freezer drawer.
That said, the cabin is definitely a labor of love and a work in progress. The bathroom is unfinished, as pictures show, but usable. Doors and windows are missing trim and quite drafty when a fall wind blows from the north/northwest. The electric baseboard heaters help but can't deal with a serious cold -- this is likely a three season cabin. An exposed electrical outlet in the loft shocked my curious four-year-old (a good life lesson to learn, with no harm done). Some wiring is unfinished - switches for lights not yet installed. Honestly, the cabin made me wish I had my tools so I could make some quick fixes.
All in all, I highly recommend the cabin to any family with children or small group of adults.
Stayed 6 nights in Oct 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 4 November 2021
James,
We are so pleased to hear you utilized the bikes and kayaks while vacationing at our cabin. It is indeed a labor of love, there are many updates planned for this upcoming season. Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We will take notes on your comments and improve accordingly.
If it's peace and quiet with beautiful views, this is the place for you! Great fire pit (although some type of lighter or matches would have been nice, thankfully local hardware store had plenty) and deck to relax.
If you're looking for large space for many to sleep...keep looking. The main bedroom has a king bed, very comfy. The two usable lofts (best one in main bedroom) are not ideal for grown adults. Dusty with low ceiling and slanted walls. Ladder to get up and down is straight up and down, zero slant. The saggy short sofa is a hide-a-bed, we didn't use. Bring extension cords if you're a CPAP user.
We were inundated with fruit flies from 4 nicely ripe tomatoes on window sill. Thankfully he had Apple cider vinegar we could use to trap them.
The smoke detectors were in a cupboard. Electrical wires sticking out EVERYWHERE. Mind you we booked this place in May and arrived early September. Plenty of time in my estimation to complete this important task.
The bathroom STILL is not finished. Outlets not working.
Just want to make those aware so you know what you're getting.
Stayed 3 nights in Sep 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 8 October 2023
We appreciate all of your feedback, and have added the items you addressed to the list of things to do before re-opening next season.
Admittedly, our family cabin is a work in progress. Although the bathtub is not completed (sadly, finding reliable labor on Beaver Island has proven to be a challenge in the last few years). Fortunately, we have received many compliments on how wonderful the pewabic/stone rain shower is.
We are happy to hear you enjoyed the peace and quiet and spectacular views that being in a waterfront cabin on Lake Michigan allows.
Again, thank you for bringing to attention the necessary updates.
Overall, great trip. The island is wonderful, the location was good, and we really appreciated it being a dog friendly property. That said, my expectations were higher for cleanliness. Main points: mattresses are stained/need vacuuming and do not have covers. I am very glad we brought blankets. The blankets that are in the house are dirty. There is mess in every drawer/shelf. It is clearly a family vacation home, but it is difficult to get comfortable when there’s no place to put your stuff away. As the pictures show, part of the bathroom is unfinished. That was understood, but the inside of the unfinished bathtub has gotten dirty/moldy and is no longer covered like it is in the picture. The shower needs a very good cleaning, the floor had quite a bit of mildew. There was a persistent smell in the kitchen. Possibly from the disposal or from the cabinet under the sink. We had to find an extension cord in a drawer somewhere to run the disposal (we did not put any food down there). There were cobwebs and spiders in every corner. I suspect that the owners live downstate and rely on someone to clean the place. But it is not being cleaned very well, despite a high rental price and a decent cleaning fee. Other notes: beach is beautiful, but rocky. Chairs by fire pit are broken/uncomfortable, need replacing. Loft sleeping spaces are open to living room and bedroom and accessible by ladders. Kitchen counter/sink needs repair, gap lets water leak into cabinet below.
The best getaway spot. Basically have your own little bay. It’s so peaceful here. A few areas where cleaning could be improved but not bad. The house is in the middle of being updated but this for the most part didn’t hurt our stay at all. Such a cool place to be
Beautiful cabin. Some stuff unfinished, like the bathtub. But did not effect enjoyment of trip at all. Beautiful cabin and property. Remember to bring your own sheets! Loved biking the island!
Eagle's Rest was a lovely remote haven for our family to spend time together. There was some mix-up when we arrived, but the manager handled this very quickly and all was resolved. We loved walking on the rocky beach, enjoying looking for unusual rocks and skipping stones, watching the lovely sunset, reveling in the quietness and seclusion. We also loved exploring the island, lighthouses and points of interest. There were beautiful walks to be enjoyed in the woods and on the road.
The property is very beautiful and secluded. We had our own private beach. We saw bald eagles and swans and various other wildlife. We enjoyed sitting out on the back deck watching and listening to the waves. It was a perfect getaway. We hope to return next year.