Entire home

Sopris House - Luxury Home Town of Crested Butte

Photo gallery for Sopris House - Luxury Home Town of Crested Butte

A cozy living room with a stone fireplace, wooden beams, large windows, and a television.
A wooden-framed bed with two bedside tables, a mirror, and a light-colored carpet.
A living room with a sofa, wooden dining table, and chairs, a television, and a kitchen area with wooden cabinets and a staircase.
A kitchen with wooden cabinets, granite countertops, stainless steel appliances, and a window with blinds.
A spacious kitchen with wooden bar stools, a central island, and a dining area with a table and chairs.

Reviews

9.4 out of 10
Exceptional

Highlights

  • Family fun awaits
    Top-rated for families.
  • Private garden
    A rare find — relax in the peaceful, private garden space.
  • Discover nearby landmarks
    Near Crested Butte Town Park

Popular amenities

  • Balcony
  • Toys
  • Barbecue
  • Pet-friendly
  • Refrigerator
  • Washing machine

Explore the area

View map
Crested Butte, CO
  • Place, Crested Butte Town Park
    ‪2 min walk‬
  • Place, Center for the Arts
    ‪3 min walk‬
  • Place, Crested Butte Mountain Theatre
    ‪13 min walk‬
  • Airport, Gunnison, CO (GUC-Gunnison-Crested Butte Regional)
    ‪35 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

4 bedrooms (sleeps 9)

Bedroom 1

1 Queen Bed

Bedroom 2

1 Queen Bed

Bedroom 3

1 Single Bunk Bed

Bedroom 4

1 Queen Bed

3 bathrooms, 1 half bathroom

Bathroom 1

Bathtub · Toilet · Shower only

Bathroom 2

Bathtub · Toilet · Shower only

Bathroom 3

Bathtub · Toilet · Shower only

Bathroom 4

Toilet

Spaces

Kitchen
Balcony
Garden

Add dates for prices

Similar properties

About the area

Crested Butte

Downtown Crested Butte, a neighbourhood in Crested Butte, is home to this holiday home. Crested Butte Mountain Heritage Museum and Crested Butte Mountain Theatre are cultural highlights, and some of the area's activities can be experienced at Crested Butte Mountain Resort and Crested Butte Nordic Center. Center for the Arts and Trailhead Children's Museum are also worth visiting. Fishing offers a great chance to get out on the surrounding water, or you can seek out an adventure with horse riding, mountain climbing and rock climbing nearby.
Map
Crested Butte, CO

What's nearby

  • Crested Butte Town Park - 2 min walk - 0.2 km
  • Center for the Arts - 3 min walk - 0.3 km
  • Crested Butte Nordic Center - 5 min walk - 0.5 km
  • Crested Butte Chamber of Commerce - 7 min walk - 0.6 km
  • Crested Butte Mountain Theatre - 13 min walk - 1.2 km

Getting around

  • Gunnison, CO (GUC-Gunnison-Crested Butte Regional) - 38 min drive

Restaurants

  • ‪The Secret Stash - ‬10 min walk
  • ‪A Bar Above - ‬8 min drive
  • ‪Teocalli Tamale - ‬10 min walk
  • ‪Ryce Asian Bistro - ‬13 min walk
  • ‪Coffee Lab - ‬8 min drive

Frequently asked questions

Is Sopris House - Luxury Home Town of Crested Butte pet-friendly?

Yes, pets are allowed at this property.

How much does it cost to stay at Sopris House - Luxury Home Town of Crested Butte?

As of 31 October 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Sopris House - Luxury Home Town of Crested Butte on 4 November 2026 start from NZ$3,899, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.

What time is check-in at Sopris House - Luxury Home Town of Crested Butte?

Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.

What time is check-out at Sopris House - Luxury Home Town of Crested Butte?

Checkout is at 10:00 AM.

Where is Sopris House - Luxury Home Town of Crested Butte located?

Located in Downtown Crested Butte, this holiday home is within a 5-minute walk of Crested Butte Town Park and Center for the Arts. Crested Butte Chamber of Commerce and Crested Butte Nordic Center are also within 10 minutes.

Reviews

9.4

Exceptional

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 31 out of 42 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 9 out of 42 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 1 out of 42 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 0 out of 42 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 1 out of 42 reviews

9.0/10

Cleanliness

9.8/10

Check-in

9.8/10

Communication

10/10

Location

9.4/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great Getaway

Really enjoyed this property - amazing location & beautiful home with mountain charm.
Stayed 3 nights in Oct 2020
Response from VrboOwner on 23 July 2023
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We would love to host you again.
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Beautiful rental! Needs a good cleaning
Stayed 5 nights in Nov 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great home for wedding gathering

Spacious and comfortable for a group of 7-8 both bedrooms, large dining table, well appointed kitchen. Good location for walking to town
Stayed 5 nights in Sep 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 23 July 2023
Thank you, Karen. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed the property.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great house and great location

My friends and I couldn’t have been more pleased with this rental. Great house that is walking distance to town. Would recommend to anyone
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2023
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Wedding

House was great gathering spot for family and friends in between wedding events.
Stayed 5 nights in Aug 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 23 July 2023
We are happy to hear your enjoyed you stay!
Archival

10/10 Excellent

Awesome Christmas in Crested Butte at the Sopris House!

We just got back from staying at this house for 5 nights over Christmas. It was perfect! Plenty of room, immaculate, spacious, kitchen was fully equipped, bedrooms were very comfty, amazing views, steam shower, great vicinity to down town and CB mountain shuttle....I can't say enough about it. We will be back!
Response from VrboOwner on 23 July 2023
Hi Aimee! Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay at the Sopris House! We would love to have you back anytime!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Perfect House Perfect Location

This is the perfect place to spend time and relax after a day at the slopes. We were very happy with how well the house was equipped for all our needs. Location Location Location, short walk to all the town Restaurants , Shops and Free Bus Transportation was a bonus....if you cant have a good time here it’s nobody’s fault but your own, despite the snow conditions. Cheers, Jeff VT
Stayed 5 nights in Jan 2018
Response from VrboOwner on 23 July 2023
Hi Jeff ~ Thank you for sharing your great experience staying at Karla's Cottage! We think it's one of our best properties for a small group getaway. We would love to have you return!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Perfect Christmas!

The house worked great for our group of 6...plenty of room and great layout. The bunk room is not usable due to creaky beds but other rooms were comfortable. The living area could use an update. Furniture was broken, old television, but the big room with gas stove was great for gathering. Short walk to town and close to the bus depot. Will book again in the future, if updated.
Stayed 5 nights in Dec 2022
From a partner site

8/10 Good

I

Incredible home with convenient location that is in desperate need of a few upgrades: furniture, bunk beds, towels/linens, TV Always prompt and friendly
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

This house was amazing! The living area was perfect to enjoy and be comfortable😉

Absolutely amazing!
Stayed 7 nights in Sep 2022
From a partner site

8/10 Good

Your team was great.

Your team was great.
From a partner site

8/10 Good

Your team was great.

Your team was great.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Nice place. Very nice holiday. Walk to downtown. Hiking biking running telemarking

Easy and nice
Stayed 5 nights in Nov 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 23 July 2023
Hi Douglas, We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Well appointed and great location

Very comfortable stay! So handy to walk to town. Kitchen had everything we needed. This home perfectly suited our family’s stay…age 8 months to 80! 😁
Stayed 8 nights in Jul 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 23 July 2023
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We would love to host you again.
From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

The property was very well equipped for cooking, dining, entertaining and family game night.

The property was very well equipped for cooking, dining, entertaining and family game night. Thank you for accommodating us and our four legged friends. The Howard Family Prompt, efficient and friendly
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great location, well stocked

We so enjoyed our trip thanks to this property. Location is great and the property is well thought out/stocked. Everything you need to feel like you’re home away from home. Highly recommend!
Stayed 5 nights in Dec 2020
Response from VrboOwner on 23 July 2023
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We would love to host you again.
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location

Ok, but not great

Our experience staying here was mixed some good, and some bad. The good. The location was good, with easy walking distance to Elk Street and all the shops. The garage was nice but small for one car. The house has a pleasing open kitchen and living area, and the wood stove made it warm. There was plenty of firewood stacked on the front porch. The kitchen work area was spacious, and this was the main reason we wanted to stay here. Our family loves to get together and cook, eat, play games, and just hang out since we all live far apart in different states. The bad. The floors are not insulated above, and you can clearly hear people talking in the rooms overhead. My son spilled a glass of water upstairs, and it immediately went through the board cracks and came though the ceiling and leaked in the living room downstairs. The kitchen was advertised to be well appointed, but there was no cheese grater, no crock pot or instant pot, and the blender was smaller than usual. The Bosch oven quit working and in spite of repeated efforts made to fix it, the parts never arrived in time for us to use it. We ended up throwing away all the food we had purchased to bake . They brought us us a toaster oven, and refunded us $1250 and told us that since we had a stovetop to cook on they would not refund us more than that. Sadly Since there was no crock pot or instant pot, we did have to use the stove, which was irritating, because the center Burner ignition would start firing repeatedly if you turned on the two back burners at the same time., (you just can’t bake lasagna on the stove. ). We ended up having to eat out more than we had planned. There were only 6 coffee cups, and eight of us, so we had to take turns drinking coffee. The property managers were nice, and even brought us pizza the first night when it became apparent that the meatloaf in the oven was never going to get done. They tried to get the oven fixed to no avail. Other than that, They really need to invest in new mattresses that are higher quality. The downstairs bedroom has a very hard mattress, and the largest upstairs bedroom mattress is Very soft so those two extremes are available. If you were to ask me if I would stay here again, I would have to say no.
Stayed 6 nights in Dec 2020
Verified review

2/10 Terrible

Liked: Location
Disliked: Cleanliness, listing accuracy

no regard for cleanliness/hygiene or maintenance

Upon arrival, it was immediately clear the "cleaning crew" barely attempted a surface run through of the home. I have many photos I would upload if possible. Filthy wall to wall carpet in bedrooms, mold in shower grout, dirty glasses, silverware and pots and pans put away in the cupboards. Walls with dirt on the walls. Soiled towels displayed on the towel racks and dog chewed hole in bathmat on the floor in master bathroom. Master bedroom bedskirt that was dirty. The leather recliner chair in the living room was broken and not replaced yet. I cleaned before I unpacked groceries and kept cleaning for a whole day to even remotely feel "comfortable". Every drawer I opened in the kitchen had things that needed cleaning before use. Really everywhere that you went in the house there was poor decision making from cleaners and maintenance company in terms of not managing the calendar well enough to take the home out of circulation to bring the property back to the condition that a paying visiting guest would expect, let alone during a pandemic. While the property management company offered to send a crew back to address and properly clean the home- we declined. This is something that should be done before guests arise. We had carefully kept our family of 4 bubble between our home and this house we had booked months ago. 60 day cancellation policy factored into our choice to travel but was committed not to interact with others. We brought all of our food and only hiked, fished and cross-country skiied in order to keep our family and the community we were visiting as safe as possible. This home has a great layout/ location- unfortunately, requires attention and not running a business on autopilot and expecting paying guests to deal with that on their vacations.
Stayed 7 nights in Nov 2020
Response from VrboOwner on 23 July 2023
Hi Amiee, Thank you for taking the time to make a review. I know we have discussed this on multiple occasions, however, I want to sincerely apologize again about the items you came across during your stay. I wish we had the opportunity to make it right, but I understand that you didn't want us to enter the home. As we discussed, this is not up to our standards. We take pride in this beautiful home that historically always gets 5 star reviews, which I know is why you rented it to begin with. Please know, that the cleaner felt horrible that her new hire had dropped the ball. The home received a deep clean upon your departure and everything has been brought back up to our standards. I hope that you felt the generous monetary compensation we gave you was a reflection of us wanting to do what we could to make it right.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Early Christmas in Crested Butte

We highly recommend this home! So warm and cozy, with plenty of room for a family of 8 adults. This home has all of the essentials that you will need - we only needed to stop for groceries. The Christmas season is off to a great start and we will definitely be coming here again. We were very happy with this rental.
Stayed 4 nights in Dec 2020
Response from VrboOwner on 23 July 2023
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We would love to host you again.
From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

Sopris house is in a very quiet neighborhood just minutes away from the bike park, play park and bik

Sopris house is in a very quiet neighborhood just minutes away from the bike park, play park and bike trail. Perfect location. It’s spacious and beautiful! Thank you for working with us in reducing the minimum stay length. We live only two hours away so five days is just right.
From a partner site

8/10 Good

Property location was excellent.

Property location was excellent. Property condition was good. Only downside was the number of trees around the property. Sunlight was limited. Outdoor space could have been a bit nicer
From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

The house was great.

The house was great. It is showing its wear especially the carpet (Maybe it is time to replace with hardwood?) The BBQ is a little rough, too. We had an amazing time. Thanks! Rebecca is very responsive and professional.
From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

The Sopris house was beautiful.

The Sopris house was beautiful. I loved the wood details everywhere, including the ceiling in the living room. I loved the windows and the evergreens outside. The house was beautifully designed and well-kept. I felt at home, and it was easy to come and go. When Crested Butte opened back up after quarantine, Alpine Getaways worked with me to adjust my schedule slightly so that my vacation could move forward as planned. With additional changes, they also helped me find a beautiful house at the last minute.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Perfect location

Wonderfully kept home in a great neighborhood.
Stayed 14 nights in Jun 2019
Response from VrboOwner on 23 July 2023
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We would love to host you again.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Very nice to stay for an extended skiing weekend

Great house with plenty of room. Well equipped and furnished. Very nice response from management regarding a few minor issues (we overheated the oven and requested a late checkout). Parking was a little difficult as the garage is small and the second spot outside the garage had 5 feet of snow. We just parked in front of the garage. Would definitely come back. First trip to Crested Butte and the very nice town is an easy walk from the house.
Stayed 4 nights in Jan 2019
Response from VrboOwner on 23 July 2023
Hi David, I am happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Sopris House as well as, Crested Butte! I apologize for any confusion, but the there is not an additional parking spot in the back next to the garage that is for snow storage. The additional parking is in front of the house. We hope to have you back again soon!
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback