Butler is home to this cabin. Banner House Museum and The Bonnie Kate are cultural highlights, and some of the area's attractions include Fish Springs Marina and Lakeshore Marina.
Appalachian State University - 46 min drive - 49.6 km
Getting around
Tri-Cities, TN (TRI-Tri-Cities Regional) - 74 min drive
Restaurants
Smoky Mountain Bakers - 37 min drive
Puerto Nuevo Mexican & Seafood - 38 min drive
Americano Steak House - 37 min drive
Bob's Dairyland - 37 min drive
Subway - 37 min drive
Frequently asked questions
Is Secluded Mountain Top Cabin! NEW Starlink Internet! pet-friendly?
Yes, pets are allowed at this property. Some restrictions may apply, so please contact the property for more details.
How much does it cost to stay at Secluded Mountain Top Cabin! NEW Starlink Internet!?
As of 30 October 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Secluded Mountain Top Cabin! NEW Starlink Internet! on 4 November 2026 start from NZ$1,401, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
How much is parking at Secluded Mountain Top Cabin! NEW Starlink Internet!?
On-site parking is available at the property.
What time is check-in at Secluded Mountain Top Cabin! NEW Starlink Internet!?
Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.
What time is check-out at Secluded Mountain Top Cabin! NEW Starlink Internet!?
Checkout is at 11:00 AM.
Where is Secluded Mountain Top Cabin! NEW Starlink Internet! located?
Situated in Butler, this cabin is within 9 miles (15 km) of Watauga Lake, Watson Island and Watauga Lake Winery. Watauga River and Fish Springs Marina are also within 12 miles (20 km).
Reviews
9.4
Exceptional
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Had the absolute best stay for our Anniversary! Fun games on the porch and the cozy fireplace were so amazing. Thank you so much for allowing us to stay there!
Such a beautiful house. The house was fully stocked with everything you need, which was such a pleasant surprise. The host was quick to respond to any questions. The best part of our stay was sitting on the porch which wraps around most of the house.
The view of the mountains at this location are unmatched to any other places I’ve stayed at. It’s very peaceful and relaxing. The host is very knowledgeable and informative on best roads to take to get to the location. They were also kind enough to let us check in earlier than the normal check in time. We had a great time and thank you very much for having us!
Great get away, very secluded and peaceful. No issues with check in or out. Property was as advertised. Definitely recommend a 4WD vehicle, due to the steep unpaved roads.
Love staying at this cabin again. It's quiet - the master bedroom is very nice - the porch/deck is a great viewing spot. The Fall colors were beautiful. Definitely recommend.
This cabin is very comfortable, private, and a relaxing place to stay. Everything you need is provided in the kitchen and there's even wood for the fire pit. Owners were gracious to allow an early check in for us too. Overall a nice experience.
The property is designed well and in a great location. The roads are excellent and well maintained. We had family ranging in age from 13 to 93. Everyone had a nice time.
Our stay could not have been better. Excellent secluded mountain cabin, fully stocked for all of our needs. Owners provided all the information needed to make our stay trouble free. A most relaxing 3-day stay with family from Johnson City. Highly recommended!!
We had a nice relaxing getaway. The cabin was mostly clean and very well stocked with everything you need. The location is easy to find using google maps but as others have mentioned,4 wheel drive is recommended. We didnt have any cell service, but the cabin has reliable wi-fi. It was a perfect vacation
One of our best stays in the mountains. The cabin was clean and had a lot of amenities as well. Very peaceful and an excellent destination atop the Tennessee mountains. The owner was available and provided all that we had needed. The wrap around porch was great and provided nice views. We had many hummingbirds visiting us as we enjoyed our morning coffee on the porch. We highly recommend this cabin.
Stayed 5 nights in Jul 2024
Verified review
10/10 Excellent
Haley
25 September 2024
Liked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities, communication
We loved this property! It was completely secluded and had beautiful surroundings. You will definitely need an SUV/truck getting to it as other reviews state so keep that in mind if booking! For us, this added to it experiencing th mountains. We will be back if the opportunity arises for us!
We love the cabin… And the surrounding mountains. The only issue we had was the drive away going up. Very steep and windy. We had a great time in the mountains.
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2023
Verified review
8/10 Good
Jodi E.
23 June 2021
Liked: Check-in, communication, location
Nice getaway weekend
The house is in the middle of a great little neighborhood sitting on the top of a mountain. It was well stocked with anything you might need and the porch was very relaxing. Only small complaint is that the carpets are probably near the end of their life and it would be great if there were more comfortable chairs on the porch itself.
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 23 June 2021
Thanks very much for your feedback and we agree!
We recently purchased the cabin and have these suggestions already on our list!
Verified review
10/10 Excellent
Michael
23 October 2023
Liked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities, communication
Brought my wife back this time - we both love it - especially the proper cabin-style fireplace - love the porch/deck. Thanks again!
Stayed 3 nights in Oct 2023
Verified review
2/10 Terrible
Holly L.
7 August 2026
Liked: Check-in
Disliked: Cleanliness, location, listing accuracy
BEWARE: cabin looks beautiful, but the location wasn’t good. There's no views in the Summer. You spend 15 minutes driving up a narrow, winding road that has a cliff on one side & you don’t even get a view of anything. You have to be careful walking up the steps, we saw a Copperhead curled up on top where the stones are broken. It’s not a walk friendly area. It’s steep all around. The living room furniture was miserable to sit on. They did have a plywood board under the seat cushions so idk if that’s the reason. We just felt stuck and trapped in the cabin because the surrounding area isn’t enjoyable. The owners communicate fast, but when an issue arises, the owners turn rude, disrespectful, and unnecessarily mean. I thought I found a bedbug because I saw a bug on the seams of a pillow & the owners are mad because I didn’t stay at the place until an inspection was done. I apologized when I realized it was a carpet beetle larvae so not as bad as a bedbug (but I wouldn’t call the place immaculate if I found that without even looking). There were dead flies on the countertops when we checked in, also wouldn’t use the word immaculate when I saw that. I asked for a partial refund so I won’t struggle paying bills. Had to get a 2nd rental the day we left. They could’ve said no respectfully but they didn’t and used exclamation marks at me. Hope my money can buy them a chill pill and manners. But tbh leaving this rental for the other one made our vacation way better lol.
Stayed 15 nights in Jul 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 25 August 2026
Good morning,
I would like to clarify a couple of things you pointed out.
1. We checked on you promptly after you arrived and you informed us that the cabin was perfect and everything was to your liking.
2. We did not hear for 7 days until the day you falsely said we had bed bugs.
3. You decided to leave asap without giving us the opportunity to have someone come inspect for bed bugs.
4. The following morning, the inspection results came as expected. No evidence of bed bugs.
5. You decided to leave your luggage in the cabin which required a special trip to the local dump as our trash area does not except these items.
6 For some reason you decided to put all the master bedroom beddings in the tub and were soaked with water.
7. The hallway wall was stained with some kind of oil while you were there and required us to re paint the entire wall.
8. We could have decided to hold out your security, but we decided to refund you the full amount.
9 We also could have given you a bad review as a renter, but we didn't.
Regards
Verified review
6/10 Okay
Joe H.
24 September 2023
Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication
Disliked: Location, listing accuracy
Road
The last part of the road on the cabin was pretty rough. And there was a copperhead at the top of the stairs on the back side. Then the next day there was two of them. Other than that excellent cabin. Very clean very nice
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 28 September 2023
As stated in our listing, the last 1.5 miles up to the cabin are unpaved. We have had an unusually wet fall which impacts our roads. The copperheads, as well as other wildlife are inherent to a mountaintop location.
Unfortunately, guest had no communication with us during the stay and chose to leave this review.
Verified review
10/10 Excellent
DENISE
26 September 2022
Liked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities, communication
This was a gorgeous property to stay at. Mountain views were beautiful and the cabin itself was very nice. We were very comfortable. It had a steam shower, shower, and jacuzzi. 2 and half bath and 3 bedrooms with the master on the first floor. Wrap around porch was just perfect for a peaceful sunrise. Truly loved the fire pit where we roasted hot dogs and made smores. We would definitely stay here again and for longer. The road up to the cabin was an adventure and gorgeous as well. We made it up easily with our 2 wheel drive pick up truck. Thank you for allowing us to stay at this gorgeous cabin.
If you want to get away from everything and enjoy a quiet, peaceful retreat, this is the place to go. As the host warned, it is best to have a 4 wheel drive vehicle, but our friends made it with a Ford Escape w/o it. Everything was clean, well-stocked kitchen, and a nice open space to relax it. We spent much of our time on the back deck enjoying morning coffee or in the evenings playing games and enjoying a cocktail. Our dogs LOVED being there! The hosts are easy to communicate with if you need anything and were very helpful. Would have liked a better mattress in the upstairs bedroom, but that’s the only issue for us. It was a lovely stay!!
Stayed 5 nights in Jun 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 12 July 2024
Thank you for your feedback. We have replaced the bed in the upstairs bedroom with a new queen memory foam mattress.
Wonderful cabin for seclusion. There are a few other rentals in the neighborhood, but they are not right next door like other cabin neighborhoods. The fireplace is great - it is the exact kind of fireplace you expect to find in a cabin. 4x4 or all wheel drive is advisable - you might can get away with front wheel drive. This adds to the secluded ambiance of the cabin. The owner is great at communicating. Wifi is good - you will have no signal on your journey to the cabin, but you'll have great service once you're in the cabin. Will stay here again.
We decided to take a last minute trip to take advantage of perfect skiing/snowboarding weather this past weekend and this location was perfect! Beautiful cabin with amazing sunrise views! Given the rural nature of the cabin we had to go the long way through Boone to access the mountains on Saturday but by Sunday things cleared up enough for us to take the shorter route. We hiked the nearby Twisted Falls trail on Monday morning and didn’t see anyone else the whole way down to the falls. It was a tough hike but the falls were fantastic. The hosts Rob and Carolyn were communicative and seemed willing to help had we run into any issues but everything went smoothly along the way. Would recommend this cabin to anyone looking for a cabin/mountain getaway!