Located in Boone, this cabin is in a rural area and on a river. Horn in the West and Hickory Ridge Living History Museum are cultural highlights, and some of the area's attractions include Tweetsie Railroad and Turchin Center for the Visual Arts. Travelling with kids? Consider Schaefer Center for the Performing Arts, or check out an event or a game at Ted Mackorell Soccer Complex. Take the opportunity to explore the area for water adventures such as canoeing.
Ted Mackorell Soccer Complex - 15 min drive - 15.0 km
Boone Mall - 19 min drive - 19.0 km
Appalachian State University - 19 min drive - 18.7 km
Kidd Brewer Stadium - 21 min drive - 19.4 km
Getting around
Tri-Cities, TN (TRI-Tri-Cities Regional) - 113 min drive
Restaurants
7 Brew Coffee - 19 min drive
Chick-fil-A - 20 min drive
Cook Out - 18 min drive
Pepper's Restaurant and Bar - 20 min drive
Local Lion - 18 min drive
Frequently asked questions
Is 4BR/3BA, views, deck, hot tub, pool table, walk to the New River pet-friendly?
Yes, this property allows dogs (limit 2 total) with a maximum weight of up to 453 kg per pet.
How much does it cost to stay at 4BR/3BA, views, deck, hot tub, pool table, walk to the New River?
As of 1 November 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at 4BR/3BA, views, deck, hot tub, pool table, walk to the New River on 2 November 2026 start from NZ$2,269, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
How much is parking at 4BR/3BA, views, deck, hot tub, pool table, walk to the New River?
On-site parking is available at the property.
What time is check-in at 4BR/3BA, views, deck, hot tub, pool table, walk to the New River?
Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.
What time is check-out at 4BR/3BA, views, deck, hot tub, pool table, walk to the New River?
Checkout is at 10:00 AM.
Where is 4BR/3BA, views, deck, hot tub, pool table, walk to the New River located?
Located on a river, this family-friendly cabin is within 9 mi (15 km) of The Mill at Rock Creek, Turchin Center for the Visual Arts and Schaefer Center for the Performing Arts. Appalachian State University and Boone Mall are also within 9 miles (15 km).
Reviews
9.6
Exceptional
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
We stayed for a few days before and over Thanksgiving. The trip was an opportunity for extended family that doesn’t see each other a lot to spend some time together. River Ridge was great - great space for togetherness as well as enough room for alone time. And close enough to town to run errands or get away for a few hours. The fire pit and hot tub were both popular with our group, as was the tree swing and proximity to fishing. Would stay here again, for sure.
This was everything we expected and more. Our youngest grandchild is a year and a half old and loved the toys. My mother in-law is 90+ years old and found the house, and her room to be very comfortable. We had a few questions for the owners and they responded quickly, positively, and were very pleasant.
The cleanliness of the inside was a little disappointing. There were cobwebs lining the stairway down to the bottom level. When we turned on the oven the first night, we smelled smoke. The oven then caught on fire, there was a large amount of greese left on the bottom of the stove that was 🔥 burning, not just smoke but an open flame.
Stayed 5 nights in Sep 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 14 February 2024
Thank you for your review. We take all feedback and concerns seriously as we want to provide a wonderful retreat for our guests, so we reviewed this feedback with our cleaner. After your visit, we were at the house and did not see any cobwebs on the interior stairs, but there were certainly cobwebs on the exterior stairs, so I assume these are the ones you were referring to. In the fall, the spiders are very active. While we do try to clear them off the exterior, it is hard to keep all spiders from making webs outside the house, and sometimes they decide the middle of the stairs would make a cozy home. We appreciate your feedback about the oven. Our cleaning staff lines the oven rack with aluminum foil and should replace it after each visit. I did see in the oven after your visit that there was a small pile of grease on the foil which may have burned. We did not get any notification from our SimpliSafe system during your stay alerting us of the kitchen smoke alarm going off. I apologize if there was something left in the oven that caused an issue. Usually the cleaning staff is quite good about changing the aluminum foil, but I reminded them to do so after every visit to ensure this doesn’t happen again.
We can start with the positives -Very clean, well-kept cabin. Location was central to quick drives to downtown West Jefferson or Boone which was convenient for afternoon trips. Pool table was in good shape for a rental and lots of other small touches for activities to occupy your time while at the cabin. Spaces were ample and this is a great rental for families. When there was an issue, the owners were available and apologetic.Negatives:Several key items listed in the amenity description were not functioning when we arrived and some were not able to be fixed during our short stay. Grill not working, hot tub was not serviced when we arrived (they did have someone out the next day), downstairs fireplace was not ready to use (they did offer to get on the phone to help troubleshoot). As a renter on vacation, we want to arrive and have things ready to go, not alert the owners and then be asked to be a property-management/repair company for them. I'm not sure if they use one or not, but it did not appear so. The most disappointing part is that no compensation was offered.Again, owners were responsive and kind, but it isn't the kind of experience we expect when renting a property, some people may not mind some DIY when they arrive. One item would have been understandable, but the number of issues and inability to fully remedy them was frustrating. Hopefully based on other reviews this was just bad luck on our end, but the overall experience did not meet our expectations.
The cabin is a nice place for larger groups to stay. We had our adult children (2 with their spouses, and one single son) along with our 3 grandkids ages: 7, 4, and 9 months.Most of the adults enjoyed the hot tub. I didn’t get to try it out, as going up and down stairs is a bit difficult for me. I mostly stayed on the main floor once I managed to climb the outside stairs to the main level.The cabin has many amenities. About the only thing we could have used in the kitchen would have been some tongs when cooking and another spatula. Bring your own decaf k-cups for the Keurig, if this is what you prefer to have. There were plenty of caffeinated k-cups for those who enjoy those along with a regular coffee maker for making those larger amounts of morning coffee.Be sure not to drive too close to the entry gate and then have to back up to put in the code on the keypad. We didn’t see the keypad so my husband walked back to locate it. He put in the code, the gate opened, but then shut before he could get back into the vehicle and drive through. We then backed the vehicle up to the key pad and managed to get through the gate that time. )There is plenty of parking space, but the steep incline into the driveway takes some getting used to. We had 4 parked vehicles, and eventually learned the value of figuring out how to turn the vehicle around to drive out of the driveway (backing out of the driveway is very difficult, even with backup cameras). Our stay was nice.
Wonderful cabin This property did not disappoint plenty of towels Very clean It had everything we needed we had a wonderful stay turn location was perfect we had a great Thanksgiving gathering we really enjoyed our stay .
The house was very adequate for our needs. It was clean and well stocked. The owners have thought of everything that would make our stay comfortable. The river access near the house was not good for children as it was very brushy with drop offs but we went to Todd Island Park and it was a great place for the children to wade and swim.
The cabin is wonderful condition and was exceptionally clean. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. This was a family weekend trip and everyone was pleased to twin 1.5 yos to the 4 yr old to the grown, seniors.
We are very pleased the cabin so cleaned and also a short distance to where you needed to go. Definitely will come back. Thank you. Happy New Year 2022!.